Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

GazzaL wrote: »
    Everything (apart from live sporting events) is there if you know the right people.

Enough said. WUM obviously.

We were talking about normal life for normal people. Seeking out a gym that's operating illegally, sneaking about in a shebeen, or getting access to a clothes shop with a secret knock on a back door is not normal life.

Good luck in that imaginary bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,667 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    This teenager was.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/1001/1168767-covid-19-dublin-teenager/

Either way, it's hardly a topic worthy of jeers and sarcasm.

How awful that he had to go through that alone with no visitors. I can't imagine how badly his parents would have wanted to be with him. Thats one of the most inhumane parts of this whole thing IMO. Denying comfort to even non covid patients when they need it most.

Hopefully, being so young, he can make a full recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    No children’s activities , no dancing , no swimming , no babies ot toddler groups , no visitors in hospitals , no visitors in care homes , no respite for carers of children with multiple special needs , no respite for eldery caring for partners with dementia

In your world maybe everything is normal
    In many peoples it sure is not

It's about time they re-started then. The lack of support and services for people with special needs in particular is a disgrace. I have called this out before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,566 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

lukas8888 wrote:
    While it's your right to beat the school spreader drum constantly over the last months,but with hundreds of similar posts from you on a daily basis i don't think you will ever win the debate.If i remember correctly you told us that you have kept your children home from school since the summer break.If the vast majority of parents are happy to send their kids to school while you refuse why are you so concerned with schools remaining open.

Because I care about society, about our national health. I have always wanted this virus eradicated and it's not hard to get to a situation where we are capable of keeping it really low.
    That takes sacrifice from us all, it takes organisation from our leaders like putting quarantine in place for those coming in until they are properly tested and cleared.
    The fact that many are not willing to do these things means we've let this virus run wild twice already and are about to for a third time.
    I'd love to have my kids in school and the measures mentioned above would have enabled me to send them back.
    The longer this thing has went on the less confidence I have in all those in government. My respect for them has all but disappeared. My opinion on the people in this country has taken a big hit too.
    And that's taking into account that many have themselves up to their eyeballs in debt trying to keep up with the Jonses and as a result need to work or lose everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Thierry12 wrote: »
    It doesn't mean that

They used antigen tests in Liverpool which are much less specific than PCR tests we use here

Antigen won't catch many asymptomatic
    PCR doesn't catch many asymptomatic/pre-symptomatic hosts either.
    PCR test isn't a wonder test. Neither it nor antigen will catch virus when it isn't being shed in quantity by the host.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭muddypuppy

Hi guys. What do you make of this ? Really interesting read. I'm not so sure about these tests anymore with this plus the news from Portugal and Germany recently

Italian fact checking sites are having a pretty good time debunking this. You know, it's actually a pretty good tactic - take conspiracy theories from other countries, and translate only the part that help your agenda, so that most people won't be able to research further.

Takeaway is that this Scoglio guy is not a medic (as he doesn't work as a medic, and he didn't study medicine) and there is no proof that he was ever a Nobel prize candidate. He works an an homeopathist, which is about as further
    away from being a proper doctor that you can be, and has a company that sell that snake oil.

For the PCR results, what that actually means is that WHEN they find traces of the virus only with an high number of cycles "Ct >35" you're not very likely to be able to spread it. it doesn't mean that 95% of the total positive people are not likely to spread it. This is usually the case of people having a second or third swap >14 days after having their symptoms.

I don't think I will ever understand this conspiracy theories.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

Everything (apart from live sporting events) is there if you know the right people.

No it's not. Stop making stuff up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Government considering advising people not to travel to the North, Tánaiste tells party

"TÁNAISTE Leo Varadkar aid it was not clear to what extent hospitality can be reopened and at what point people will be allowed to leave their county or whether it will be longer than Christmas week.

He said that this could mean restrictions may have to be reimposed for a shorter period than the current lockdown and that it would be possible for two weeks or three in January or February.

Mr Varadkar said he was confident people will be able to attend mass from next week, but was said to be less optimistic about the pubs reopening.

Later in the meeting, Mr Varadkar said he would not assume that Nphet would advise the reopening of the hospitality sector.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/government-considering-advising-people-not-to-travel-to-the-north-tanaiste-tells-party-39792172.html

I often wonder is Hugh O'Connell actually on the zoom meetings such is the leaks that goes on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭FinglasFollain

Another night, another virgin media guest looking for continued lockdown that seems to think we can just close off every single county in the country with the stroke of a pen. Sigh..

By opening up, we’re “losing our nerve” apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

It's about time they re-started then. The lack of support and services for people with special needs in particular is a disgrace. I have called this out before.
    for a lot of people life is back to normal, going out to work every day, socialising (safely, before someone has a fanny attack!), and generally enjoying life

Oh make up your mind! We're either back to normal or we're far from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

Another night, another virgin media guest looking for continued lockdown that seems to think we can just close off every single county in the country with the stroke of a pen. Sigh..

From Trinity college too, same as last nights guest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,311 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

eagle eye wrote: »
    Because I care about society, about our national health. I have always wanted this virus eradicated and it's not hard to get to a situation where we are capable of keeping it really low.
    That takes sacrifice from us all, it takes organisation from our leaders like putting quarantine in place for those coming in until they are properly tested and cleared.
    The fact that many are not willing to do these things means we've let this virus run wild twice already and are about to for a third time.
    I'd love to have my kids in school and the measures mentioned above would have enabled me to send them back.
    The longer this thing has went on the less confidence I have in all those in government. My respect for them has all but disappeared. My opinion on the people in this country has taken a big hit too.
    And that's taking into account that many have themselves up to their eyeballs in debt trying to keep up with the Jonses and as a result need to work or lose everything.

Thats your view of the world?

Covid is happening because of people coming into the country who aren't being quarantined?
    You dont send your kids back to school?
    And people need to work because they are keeping-up-with-the Jones kind of people?

I cant say I paid much attention to your general stance previously but this explains a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Government considering advising people not to travel to the North, Tánaiste tells party

"TÁNAISTE Leo Varadkar aid it was not clear to what extent hospitality can be reopened and at what point people will be allowed to leave their county or whether it will be longer than Christmas week.

He said that this could mean restrictions may have to be reimposed for a shorter period than the current lockdown and that it would be possible for two weeks or three in January or February.

Mr Varadkar said he was confident people will be able to attend mass from next week, but was said to be less optimistic about the pubs reopening.

Later in the meeting, Mr Varadkar said he would not assume that Nphet would advise the reopening of the hospitality sector.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/government-considering-advising-people-not-to-travel-to-the-north-tanaiste-tells-party-39792172.html

I often wonder is Hugh O'Connell actually on the zoom meetings such is the leaks that goes on

Sent another email to my TDs about county borders. Maybe if the back benchers are shouting about them they might lift them to feck. They are the ****test part of all this for me right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Car99

Sent another email to my TDs about county borders. Maybe if the back benchers are shouting about them they might lift them to feck. They are the ****test part of all this for me right now

What the deal with county borders surely a 50km radius of your home would make more sense or as little sense whatever way you view it. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's a difficult situation, people are beaten down and businesses are beaten down - I understand completely how people feel they can't do much more of level 5 and the government feels it can't do much more of level 5 either. I do get why there is a clamour to leave the current restrictions.

But we are deluding ourselves if we think the outcome is going to be anything but a sharp rise in cases and eventually more disruption, chaos and closures. This isn't grim fantasy - This has already happened over the Summer and Autumn. It will surely happen all over again.

And now we'll have the extra fuel of cases still in the hundreds, as opposed to the low double and single figures like they were when restrictions were lifted initally during summertime, prevailing weather conditions that are already favorable to the spread of respiratory illnesses and, of course, the added element of all the socialising and meet-ups that will inevitably happen at Christmas.

Just reading there earlier that FG TD's were arguing in favour of opening all pubs at the party meeting this evening - what can you say? People just still don't get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Sweden mask sales going through a boom. The article refers to them as ‘mouth guards’.

https://twitter.com/zorinaq/status/1331724777036267521?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Arghus wrote: »
    It's a difficult situation, people are beaten down and businesses are beaten down - I understand completely how people feel they can't do much more of level 5 and the government feels it can't do much more of level 5 either. I do get why there is a clamour to leave the current restrictions.

But we are deluding ourselves if we think the outcome is going to be anything but a sharp rise in cases and eventually more disruption, chaos and closures. This isn't grim fantasy - This has already happened over the Summer and Autumn. It will surely happen all over again.

And now we'll have the extra fuel of cases still in the hundreds, as opposed to the low double and single figures like they were when restrictions were lifted initally during summertime, prevailing weather conditions that are already favorable to the spread of respiratory illnesses and, of course, the added element of all the socialising and meet-ups that will inevitably happen at Christmas.

Just reading there earlier that FG TD's were arguing in favour of opening all pubs at the party meeting this evening - what can you say? People just still don't get it.

It is not like there will be a free for all. Many people are still very nervous. Restaurants may be open but not everyone will be flocking to them.

Key issue (where we know the risks) is private houses/parties etc. That is the messaging that needs to be right. Not getting knickers in a twist over some outside drinking.

Yes I feel your pain

I'd much prefer open borders to open pubs

Car99 wrote: »
    What the deal with county borders surely a 50km radius of your home would make more sense or as little sense whatever way you view it. ?

Stay within your own county for several weeks it seems

May get to travel outside your county weekend of the 18th until new years if the leaks are to be believed

Back to within your county after new years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

nj27 wrote: »
    He's actually a pretty cool guy. When I was younger, I got roped into watching my 3 month old niece while my sister got her hair done. So there I am, sitting in the waiting area of a hair salon with my niece, and who walks in but George Lee!

I was kind of shy, and just kept looking at him as he read a magazine and waited, but didn't know what to say. Pretty soon though my niece started crying, and I'm trying to quiet her down because I didn't want her to bother George, but she just wouldn't stop. Pretty soon he gets up and walks over. He started running his hands through her hair and asking what was wrong. I replied that she was probably hungry or something. So, George put down his magazine, picked up my niece and lifted his shirt. He breast fed her right there in the middle of a hair salon. Chill guy, really nice about it.

I miss the old normal too.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,566 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Thats your view of the world?
    No it's my view of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Car99 wrote: »

It's meaningless really but shure the 5km limit was meaningless too because an empty shopping bag is your passport to anywhere.
    The Gardaí are turning back nobody.
    Where will Athlone people go? They should blow the Shannon bridges now.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

So a few articles out there saying food pubs getting ready to open next Friday 4th December.

Haven't heard if they are pushing this silly idea of only food pubs where the food is cooked onsite by a chef.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/whats-on/food-drink-news/restaurants-pubs-serving-food-ready-19347527

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,465 ✭✭✭pauldry

So 10 cases in Connaught yesterday and none in Sligo Leitrim or Roscommon. Surely everything in Connaught can open next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

So a few articles out there saying food pubs getting ready to open next Friday 4th December.

Haven't heard if they are pushing this silly idea of only food pubs where the food is cooked onsite by a chef.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/whats-on/food-drink-news/restaurants-pubs-serving-food-ready-19347527

Pubs ordering in pizzas and chips from next door were not abiding by the rules set by government

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭FinglasFollain

My point was that it was another guest on basically from the zero Covid train of thought. It’s pointless really - neither NPHET nor government have given any indication that it would ever be a goer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Maybe not in your world, but for a lot of people life is back to normal, going out to work every day, socialising (safely, before someone has a fanny attack!), and generally enjoying life while ignoring the bull****.

The sooner everyone gets back to normal the better. Some people have unfortunately been mentally destabilised as a result of the constant barrage of negativity and nonsense spouted by the likes of RTE.

Hundreds of thousands are out of work living anything but normal lives, tens of thousands of elderly and vulnerable completely reorgaising their lifestyles to minimise daily risk. But great for you that it feels so normal you can almost forget about it

Perhaps it is you that still doesn’t get it?

If this was actually a “deadly” virus, do you think the government would be lifting lockdown? Would RTÉ be partying behind closed doors? Would TDs be partying in hotels? Would the public be desperate for shops, restaurants and pubs to be open again?

Deep down, we all know the virus is very mild, particularly the 2nd wave. Hospitals are quieter than ever, ICU is low, death rate is tiny.

We’ll probably have one more lockdown at some point. Then once the elderly are vaccinated it’s curtains for Covid.

pauldry wrote: »
    So 10 cases in Connaught yesterday and none in Sligo Leitrim or Roscommon. Surely everything in Connaught can open next week.

I have advocated blowing the Shannon bridges since march now and still no one is listening. A checkpoint at Tarmonbarry with two bridge drops a day for anyone who wants to get in. Block the N15 out of Bundoran and at that point if anyone wants to get in, the wilds of Leitrim will take care of them