Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

COVID-19: Vaccine/antidote and testing procedures Megathread [Mod Warning - Post #1]

AstraZenecca / Oxford Vaccine only achieved higher 90% efficacy because there was a cock-up :pac:

half-dosing was by accident, not plan
    The Oxford University and AstraZeneca vaccine trials reached 90% efficacy by accident thanks to the “serendipity” of an error that led to some participants receiving half doses, it has emerged.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2020/nov/23/oxford-covid-vaccine-hit-90-success-rate-thanks-to-dosing-error?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

tom1ie wrote: »
    Why the need to call people eejits because they are asking questions about a brand new vaccine?

Yours is the kind of post that causes people to double down on their views and what causes this one way or the other arguments. There’s no middle ground with people like you.

questions in good faith are fine. but a lot of the "questioners" are very thinly veiled anti vaccers with the sole intent of sowing doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

glasso wrote: »
    AstraZenecca / Oxford Vaccine only achieved higher 90% efficacy because there was a cock-up :pac:

half-dosing was by accident, not plan

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2020/nov/23/oxford-covid-vaccine-hit-90-success-rate-thanks-to-dosing-error?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other

“So we went back and checked … and we found out that they had underpredicted the dose of the vaccine by half,” said Pangalos.

Of course that error couldn't have been the result of fast-tracking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

Am I right in saying UK is approving Friday and jabbing people Monday? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

stevek93 wrote: »
    Am I right in saying UK is approving Friday and jabbing people Monday? :eek:

Roll out here will be health care workers and vulnerable first, then the rest of us should be vaccinated by mid May.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

If I’ve had self diagnosed Covid a few times in the last few months do I still need a vaccine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

begbysback wrote: »
    If I’ve had self diagnosed Covid a few times in the last few months do I still need a vaccine?

As in you went on to Web MD, self-diagnosed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

The government have opted into the Curevac EU advanced purchase agreement, per Micheal Lehane of RTE. We're now down to receive 2.5 million doses of said vaccine which does not need ultra cold storage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Will it be possible to get the vaccine done privately as in pay for it quicker than if have to wait. Non vulnerable cohort. I just want to get on with living and not wanting to wait around for the next 6 months. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Will it be possible to get the vaccine done privately as in pay for it quicker than if have to wait. Non vulnerable cohort. I just want to get on with living and not wanting to wait around for the next 6 months. Thanks

Nope not at the moment anyway. Vaccines will only be supplied to countries not private companies

The government have opted into the Curevac EU advanced purchase agreement, per Micheal Lehane of RTE. We're now down to receive 2.5 million doses of said vaccine which does not need ultra cold storage.

Curevac only in stage two trials according to the sky news vaccine tracking ?!?

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-tracking-every-global-effort-to-find-a-covid-19-vaccine-12030675

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Nope not at the moment anyway. Vaccines will only be supplied to countries not private companies

Thanks for that. Just have to get in line so.

There maybe other vaccines available via (AZD1222) e.g

VHI clinics, and the rest of the private. Not till mid March, just a guess.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Steve012 wrote: »
    Curevac only in stage two trials according to the sky news vaccine tracking ?!?

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-tracking-every-global-effort-to-find-a-covid-19-vaccine-12030675

Indeed. It is an mRNA vaccine though which has been the fastest through trials and high efficacy.

Anyone able to explain why CureVac’s is stable at fridge temperature but Pfizer and Moderna require freezing?

marno21 wrote: »
    Indeed. It is an mRNA vaccine though which has been the fastest through trials and high efficacy.

Anyone able to explain why CureVac’s is stable at fridge temperature but Pfizer and Moderna require freezing?

Cool! Can you enlighten us and save the goooogling ?

Would have thought they would have gone for the Oxford one since its very close for approval.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

marno21 wrote: »

Lipid shell formulation and solution that it's suspended in. The solution most likely is still standard saline, the tricky bit is to make the emulsion with the lipids in it stable. The lipid nanoparticles (little fat blobs) will stratify if not fixed in place somehow, messing up the dosages (there are multiple doses peer vial). They might have found a better way how to stabilize the emulsion for longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Steve012 wrote: »
    Cool! Can you enlighten us and save the goooogling ?

Would have thought they would have gone for the Oxford one since its very close for approval.

Ireland will be getting the Oxford one as well (I would not be all too surprised if some doses are already waiting in hospitals), along with Prizer/BNT, Moderna, J&J, Sanofi and now also CureVac. They're all part of the EU purchase deal and get allocated pro rata to each member state per population size.

Edit: would be great to get a bunch of Novavax doses as well, their phase 1/2 and NHP challenge studies had fantastic results. They'd make perfect boosters after a year if we need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Sigh of relief.

I thought that meant we were getting CureVac only, which would be another few months away..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,831 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Hmmzis wrote: »
    Ireland will be getting the Oxford one as well (I would not be all too surprised if some doses are already waiting in hospitals), along with Prizer/BNT, Moderna, J&J, Sanofi and now also CureVac. They're all part of the EU purchase deal and get allocated pro rata to each member state per population size.

Edit: would be great to get a bunch of Novavax doses as well, their phase 1/2 and NHP challenge studies had fantastic results. They'd make perfect boosters after a year if we need them.

Can a different vaccine be used by an individual as an annual booster?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Water John wrote: »
    Can a different vaccine be used by an individual as an annual booster?

Is Hmmsis a virologist or something?

What are his medical qualifications?

He answers and gets asked alot of questions here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,831 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Thierry12 wrote: »

I'm not going to hound any poster who puts up whatever knowledge they have. If that poster wants to qualify by saying TMK, it's fine by me. It's a discussion forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Water John wrote: »
    I'm not going to hound any poster who puts up whatever knowledge they have. If that poster wants to qualify by saying TMK, it's fine by me. It's a discussion forum.

Was just asking

I know a few work in the field and post here

Thought he might be one

Thomas Ryan on virgin media banging on that we'll have no vaccine available until Q4 2021, he absolutely loves this nonsense, continually trying to push zero covid.

I really do find it hard to believe these lads believe what they preach, when other countries are expecting to start rollout very early in new year we've this lad on TV telling people nope another 9 months.

No wonder the country is so divided, the sooner he's out of the media spotlight the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Thomas Ryan on virgin media banging on that we'll have no vaccine available until Q4 2021, he absolutely loves this nonsense, continually trying to push zero covid.

I really do find it hard to believe these lads believe what they preach, when other countries are expecting to start rollout very early in new year we've this lad on TV telling people nope another 9 months.

No wonder the country is so divided, the sooner he's out of the media spotlight the better

Are you serious? I switched it off before it started. This is nonsense. You had Tomas Byrne on Prime Time saying it was possible people could be vaccinated in the next few weeks. Ryan is taking some of Killeen’s wacky tobacco id say

Cork2021 wrote: »
    Are you serious? I switched it off before it started. This is nonsense. You had Tomas Byrne on Prime Time saying it was possible people could be vaccinated in the next few weeks. Ryan is taking some of Killeen’s wacky tobacco id say

Luke O Neill on after him and as usual he's talking up the timeline. He's a breath of fresh air

O Neil knows it’s near the end game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Tomas Ryan is a national embarrassment

At this stage the Irish media are to blame for continuing to give this guy airtime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Polar101

Thierry12 wrote: »

You know how it is here.. some posters actually know stuff (but doesn't mean they are always right), some posters think they know stuff, and some posters don't know a lot about vaccines.

I'm in the "don't know a lot" brigade myself. I don't know or care what anyone's qualifications are, but I'm more inclined to believe certain posters than others.

Just trying to say, no-one gets paid to post here (I hope) - but many are willing to share information, which makes the thread interesting to read. So thanks to anyone who bothers.

El Sueño wrote: »
    Tomas Ryan is a national embarrassment

At this stage the Irish media are to blame for continuing to give this moron airtime

They won’t stop either. You saw RTE today with the gravy boat headline. They’d want to be changing their tune and start giving out proper news not that crap.