Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Share Picks 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,643 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Looks like PLTR is going to continue its run, up 5% in premarket, maybe $25 on board this week, might re-enter that for a quick in and out.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Site Banned Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭RIGOLO

Supercell wrote: »
    Looks like PLTR is going to continue its run, up 5% in premarket, maybe $25 on board this week, might re-enter that for a quick in and out.

Most stocks are up pre-market what with all the positive news.

My 2 runners today will be GEVO ,already holding but will buy more and DPW which has already gained alot but Im going to follow the price action and volume on it.

RIGOLO wrote: »
    Most stocks are up pre-market what with all the positive news.

My 2 runners today will be GEVO ,already holding but will buy more and DPW which has already gained alot but Im going to follow the price action and volume on it.

Can I ask what's the catalyst for the GEVO spike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Anyone holding Arrival CIIC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭treatyman

Anyone got any views on DRIV ?

With all the EV action lately and into the future seems like a less risky investment to me but looking for some counter arguments.

Would be investing with a view to hold long term.

Can I ask what's the catalyst for the GEVO spike?

I think the whole world has been asking that questions, whats the catalyst for the spike in all things bio,ev, renewables.
    Its the result of a number of things, alot of fomo, but alot of Biden and green new deal and vaccines etc..

As to GEVO their spike is mostly due to their development of renewable low carbon bio-fuels for airplanes. Aviation fuel has very stringent standards and GEVO claim to be meeting them and are a bio-fuel.
    Plus the cows and the piggies get to eat their animal feed byproduct of production . Although feedstuff prices are down, its still another string to their bow.
    Sometimes with these runs , I dont need to know ALL the details, just some , and then follow the action.

My plan today is to get in early on some trades then play a few hours of Fortnite and come back to a green screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

Rigolo - you still in AYRO...they seem to be much safer bet than compared to other EV's at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Meleftone

Anyone holding HLMA and if so what are your thoughts. Have been looking at them recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Take Your Pants Off

Fundamentals are out the window.. when a company makes 30 electric scooters a month and is worth $20 billion, you really gotta give your head a shake lol

Rigolo - you still in AYRO...they seem to be much safer bet than compared to other EV's at the moment?

I exited AYRO , before some of the recent spike, I didnt like the look of their cars/minivans. And I exited BLNK also and missed out on some of their pop.
    No need for violins, some of that money I moved to bitcoin miners and reaped the rewards there. I never thought Id see the day I left a stock that gained 40% but was happy cos I moved it to a stock that gained 50%.

Market is mad, I dont think you can use the word SAFE when talking about investing in EV stocks. Im wary to recommend anything at these incredible values. Its all caveat emptor

Pre-market looks great on alot of my holdings and if they open as is compounding on recent gains, then I will try to swing trade a few GEVO, DPW, HIVE . Bitcoin is gaining more and more legitimate interest, its seems the only way is up.
    Thats my plan today once I get past a few levels in Fortnite, which this thread is holding up.
    Ultimate goal is to scalp some profit from the mad run and add to cyclicals and more long term holds.
    I just hope Biden doesnt do any press conferences and remind the world what they signed up for until I get the portfolio rebalanced.

Good luck to y'all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Liamo_mu

Anyone looking at Viatris?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Stablelad123

Fundamentals are out the window.. when a company makes 30 electric scooters a month and is worth $20 billion, you really gotta give your head a shake lol

Identical to dotcom era. Momentum stocks went up multiples daily. Great trading environment as long as you have strict money management practises.

Looks like it's going to drop hard, profit taking?

Anyone else buying airline stocks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭jams100

For now, this is when you have to manage risk. Fundamentals has and will always win out for the vast, vast majority of stocks in the long term. Be careful everyone with these EV stocks, reopening stocks etc. they are all going a bit out of control. Live nation, McDonalds, Eventbrite, airlines all getting really ahead of themselves now. Sold off another bit of my oil play today just to ensure no one sector makes up too much of my portfolio.

TSLA breaks the 500Billion mark.. and Chinese EV stocks drop at open.. does not compute.

I think this is a bear trap , looking to scare out some weak hands and pick up the likes of LI, XPENG and NIO cheaply. They already look to be recovering some.

Rome wasnt built in a day . Forward charge ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭virginmediapls

Whoever got me in on 4d pharma, you're a fecker.

Entire portfolio is green today except for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭daithi7

bizidea wrote: »
    Would anyone recommend a good book or website where I could learn about investing I want to start investing this coming year probably a couple of hundred a month but nothing too risky

'The Intelligent Investor', by Benjamin Graham, is the Bible of value investing.

Also the little book series on investing, are easy, concise & well written short books on investing.

Good luck.

Anyone else buying airline stocks?

Already had some but was about to go back in for more. The slow rise back has started it seems.

Who you thinking?

Delta and American being the obvious ones. Delta seems safer but less money to be made imo

I realise your tongue in cheek here , but lets nip this in the bud.

NO ONE HERE IS ADVERTISING THEMSELVES AS A PROFESSINAL FINANCIAL ADVISOR.

ANY POSTS HERE ARE IN GOOD FAITH BUT AT THE END OF THE DAY THEY ARE JUST THE OPINION OF THE POSTER.

YOU MAKE A TRADE AND YOU OWN IT .. NO BLOW BACK FOR THE OP IF IT GOES SOUTH .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭DutchYurt

It'll come back with the Nasdaq listing, fret not!

Liamo_mu wrote: »
    Already had some but was about to go back in for more. The slow rise back has started it seems.

Who you thinking?

Delta and American being the obvious ones. Delta seems safer but less money to be made imo
    Yeah I was thinking Delta myself. Or possibly even Ryanair at 15 quid a share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Sold 34% of my NIO this morning (for the original capital amount plus 20%), sold half my Tanh that I took a handy 40% gain from yesterday, trimmed 1/4 my Novacyt for a 25% loss (Rigolo worst share tip ever!!!, Lol nay absolutely no regrets and I'll see how the future goes, hopefully get back to breakeven next negative covid news and trim more then, can't win them all). Bought more NNDM on the dip this morning and have buy orders in for it and UMC.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Looks like it's going to drop hard, profit taking?

Got out at $9. Just couldn't find a shred to back up the stock at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

Yeah I was thinking Delta myself. Or possibly even Ryanair at 15 quid a share.

Ryanair would be too defensive at the moment, Long haul airlines like AAL or IAG were hammered..so look at them

disclaimer : it's totally upto you, don't go by my suggestion. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭virginmediapls

RIGOLO wrote: »

I realise your tongue in cheek here , but lets nip this in the bud.

NO ONE HERE IS ADVERTISING THEMSELVES AS A PROFESSINAL FINANCIAL ADVISOR.

ANY POSTS HERE ARE IN GOOD FAITH BUT AT THE END OF THE DAY THEY ARE JUST THE OPINION OF THE POSTER.

YOU MAKE A TRADE AND YOU OWN IT .. NO BLOW BACK FOR THE OP IF IT GOES SOUTH .

Ahaha Jaysus, there was me thinking I'd be getting a refund?!??!

"But, Mr Degiro, someone on the internet said it would be a good stock - sale and goods and supply of services act??!?!".

Of course I am messing !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,643 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Stayed away from PLTR in the end today, volatility is too nuts for my heart.
    Instead invested in LADR, its a covid recovery play , a fat dividend and I think could double in the next year, less stress all round :)

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Not exactly stock related but how are you all converting your money from euro to dollars. Right now I just use revolut but you can only do 1K a month before you start paying fees.

I'm wondering if I'm better off adding dollars to revolut and avoid their exchange fees?

That said AIBs fee for exchange rate isn't very transparent and is possibly worse I'd say.

Am I missing anything obvious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭cefh17

Currency fair I've used in the past for >1k, but idk how good it is these days

cefh17 wrote: »
    Currency fair I've used in the past for >1k, but idk how good it is these days

That might be a good shout. Will look into it more this week.