Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

niallo27 wrote: »
    Whaaaaaa I don't have it

Do you know that for sure? Have you been tested recently? You could be asymptomatic and be a spreader without even being aware of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

And people still wonder why there has been a rise in cases when attitudes like yours are out there. Jesus wept.:rolleyes:

A case in point as to why every smartphone should be smashed off the ground within 100m of an "event".

The holier than thou types gazing down their nasal - RTE and Oireachtas types, exactly like the Church types they supposedly hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Imagine scenes like people going to see the Christmas lights in Cork last night!!!

calm down lads, christ. people can go outside.

Only an issue if I happens in Dublin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Do you know that for sure? Have you been tested recently? You could be asymptomatic and be a spreader without even being aware of it.

Ah sure if I am I am. Have met **** all people, kept my 2m when I have, work is unreal strict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,212 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Wouldn't be hugely surprised if there's clusters linked to the GAA wins and the celebrations, hopefully it won't happen, but people shouldn't dismiss the possibility.

My parish was one of those that won their county championships a couple of weeks back and there was upwards of 80 cases locally linked to the celebrations afterwards - a situation that was repeated in a few different locations across the country. I felt a pronounced sense of deja vu looking at some of the videos from Cavan and Tipperary this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,155 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Arghus wrote: »
    Wouldn't be hugely surprised if there's clusters linked to the GAA wins and the celebrations, hopefully it won't happen, but people shouldn't dismiss the possibility.

My parish was one of those that won their county championships a couple of weeks back and there was upwards of 80 cases locally linked to the celebrations afterwards - a situation that was repeated in a few different locations across the country. I felt a pronounced sense of deja vu looking at some of the videos from Cavan and Tipperary this evening.

My thoughts exactly. We were doing well here and then we had a large cluster in this and the neighbouring parish when they both won County titles. We lost a couple of neighbours to it. We're still picking up the dregs from it.

The scenes today just hit me with a deep sadness that people don't seem to learn or give a damn.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Odds on there will be but as a poster put it earler on this thread "**** covid the celebrations are more important ". That`s the attitude among a substantial section of the population that has us where we are now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭political analyst

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    My thoughts exactly. We were doing well here and then we had a large cluster in this and the neighbouring parish when they both won County titles. We lost a couple of neighbours to it. We're still picking up the dregs from it.

The scenes today just hit me with a deep sadness that people don't seem to learn or give a damn.

The difference now is that all pubs are closed.

Ah, well, sure, ya know yourself - there were rules and limits in place about pubs at the time of club championship celebrations too, but they were pretty quickly forgotten for a few nights around here - with predictable results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭mrmoonlight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Not sure if it's been posted but Dr John Campbell has a video up about MMR vaccine giving some protection against covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

The UK plans to let their citizens socialise for Christmas with two other households for five days, from the 22nd to the 27th of December.

The north of this country is belong to that place.

Is there any way we can cut the actual landmass off using boring machinery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭FinglasFollain

At least the inter county teams do have access to private testing if needs be. The clubs didn’t to be fair. And the club finals had small crowds, these haven’t. Also Cavan and Tipp both have games within 2 weeks - they won’t be stupid enough to have multiple piss ups to piss a semi final away. The club finals were the end of the season for them teams.

It’s the trade off. If elite sports are given exemptions, and gaa is included in elite then we can’t be surprised that human emotion comes through after a win. If people are going to go outside to celebrate their counties win then they will. Whether we like it or not, and whether the rules let it or not. You’re allowed outside your house.

At least the inter county teams do have access to private testing if needs be. The clubs didn’t to be fair. And the club finals had small crowds, these haven’t. Also Cavan and Tipp both have games within 2 weeks - they won’t be stupid enough to have multiple piss ups to piss a semi final away. The club finals were the end of the season for them teams.

It’s the trade off. If elite sports are given exemptions, and gaa is included in elite then we can’t be surprised that human emotion comes through after a win. If people are going to go outside to celebrate their counties win then they will. Whether we like it or not, and whether the rules let it or not. You’re allowed outside your house.

You raise some fair points and I do understand the emotions involved for the players and the fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Not sure if it's been posted but Dr John Campbell has a video up about MMR vaccine giving some protection against covid.

Like Vitamin D and all the other video's he put's up that give protection, it's anecdotal, coincidence stuff mostly imo.

Young people got MMR and are normally not D deficient, they do well with Covid.

How do you prove it was them being young or the MMR/Vit D, whatever else that helped

Without a challenge trial and actually infecting people deliberatley all those studies are worth jack.

Put Covid in the air, have 50 MMR and 50 placebo sit in that room for a few hours, we will know if it works then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

From the start at Princess diamond and Charles de gaulle it has appeared that approximately a third of people have some level of immunity or resistance to the virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

From the start at Princess diamond and Charles de gaulle it has appeared that approximately a third of people have some level of immunity or resistance to the virus.

Or had it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭political analyst

Ah, well, sure, ya know yourself - there were rules and limits in place about pubs at the time of club championship celebrations too, but they were pretty quickly forgotten for a few nights around here - with predictable results.

The closure of pubs means that what happened in Ballyjamesduff after a Cavan county match isn't happening in towns at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Thierry12 wrote: »
    Like Vitamin D and all the other video's he put's up that give protection, it's anecdotal, coincidence stuff mostly imo.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-020-77093-z

Abstract
    COVID-19 is characterized by marked variability in clinical severity. Vitamin D had recently been reviewed as one of the factors that may affect the severity in COVID-19. The objective of current study is to analyze the vitamin D level in COVID-19 patients and its impact on the disease severity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

I would love to know what smart aleck came up with 'social distancing' and getting people to keep metres apart. Social distancing is very new. I never heard of it before this year. It was very clever.

A lad I know who owns cattle says it's what vets do when cattle are sick or diseased. The sick cattle are isolated to protect the rest of the herd. Did social distancing emerge from that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

I live in one of the global metropolitan epicenters where Covid is "raging out of control" according to the mainstream media. I unexpectedly needed an x-ray last Friday and so popped along to local ER. Empty car park, nobody in waiting rooms, doctors/nurses chatting away casually, I was in and out in less than two hours. So great experience for me :-)

So, rather than fixating on the statistics from RTE News in-between binging on Netflix, go down to your local hospitals and see how your local services are coping. You can then reconcile whether what you experienced there correlates with what you are being told. Simples :-)

(And remember the names of people who try to tell you things that contradict your personal experience of the world. But that is just common sense.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

hse op report

In Hospital 292 +19
    31 icu -1
    20 ventilated + 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

72sheep wrote: »
    I live in one of the global metropolitan epicenters where Covid is "raging out of control" according to the mainstream media. I unexpectedly needed an x-ray last Friday and so popped along to local ER. Empty car park, nobody in waiting rooms, doctors/nurses chatting away casually, I was in and out in less than two hours. So great experience for me :-)

So, rather than fixating on the statistics from RTE News in-between binging on Netflix, go down to your local hospitals and see how your local services are coping. You can then reconcile whether what you experienced there correlates with what you are being told. Simples :-)

(And remember the names of people who try to tell you things that contradict your personal experience of the world. But that is just common sense.)
    Would you cop on?

Telling people to go down to the hospital, when healthy, during a pandemic, so they can have a nosy around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,570 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

72sheep wrote:

I had a hospital appointment on Friday, no procedures or anything. I rang up and told them I couldn't make it and they arranged a phone appointment instead. Saved me an hour and a half drive each way. I'd rather that than nosing around a hospital while we have a virus like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

Stay calm folks! I'm not exhorting you to invade the hospitals; rather just go and have a look.

If said hospital is deathly quiet then, perhaps some of the braver amongst you might, step out of your vehicles and venture into the reception area to have a chat with the medical staff there. Congratulations are in order as you now have some first-hand information about the virus and can build on that to inform your own world view. You would use that as a measure against which to assess the future media reports.

If the prospect of "driving to" the hospital is too daunting then maybe you can start with "driving by" the hospital at a decent speed. Once you have satisfied yourself, perhaps after a couple of test runs, that you are not entering a scene from Apocalypse Now you can then park in the hospital grounds and cautiously advance to the reception area.

Remember that unless citizens take an active interest in the functioning of their society then they deserve what's coming to them.

Finally, again, make no mistake that generational wealth is being created right now. Remember the names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Glad to see you understand how a hospital is run. Has is crossed your mind that saying an area is out of control may have to do with numbers rising not that the hospital is over run yet? I remember at the beginning of this pandemic around MArch or April, some gob****e released a video from St. James Hospital videoing the out patients and a corridor as proof the pandemic was all lies.

The eejit didn't realise she was nowhere near the wards or any of the busy parts of the hospital for these occasions, more than likely the same as yourself. You were seen and dealt with and left. You do know most hosiplats have covid and non covid A/es now? You also know that medical and nursing can function in a relaxed state during a busy situation, it is what they are trained to do. The reality is different to whatever tv programme you are basing your ideas on.

People who watch tv programmes and see the drama that occurs on the likes of Greys Anatomy or some such would be surprised to hear the reality is a little different when they hear something is raging out of control,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,577 ✭✭✭JTMan

The Irish Times are reporting that Phase Five restrictions will be lifted in two stages which will be two weeks apart.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-level-5-restrictions-likely-to-be-eased-in-two-stages-as-planning-to-roll-out-vaccine-begins-1.4416294?mode=amp

Yesterday it was reported that non-essential allowing retail, gyms and churches reopen where the top priorities so I guess these activities and maybe barbers and beauticians will be included in the first batch restrictions to be lifted on 1 December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Danonino.

Stay calm folks! I'm not exhorting you to invade the hospitals; rather just go and have a look.

If said hospital is deathly quiet then, perhaps some of the braver amongst you might, step out of your vehicles and venture into the reception area to have a chat with the medical staff there. Congratulations are in order as you now have some first-hand information about the virus and can build on that to inform your own world view. You would use that as a measure against which to assess the future media reports.

If the prospect of "driving to" the hospital is too daunting then maybe you can start with "driving by" the hospital at a decent speed. Once you have satisfied yourself, perhaps after a couple of test runs, that you are not entering a scene from Apocalypse Now you can then park in the hospital grounds and cautiously advance to the reception area.

Remember that unless citizens take an active interest in the functioning of their society then they deserve what's coming to them.

Finally, again, make no mistake that generational wealth is being created right now. Remember the names.

Cop on to yourself. What are you expecting? Sirens and red light, silent hill scenes with wailing and bodies piled head high in the corridors?

The restrictions are a preventative measure to avoid hospitals being overrun, not a reactionary measure after the fact.

Boiled down to ‘have a visit to a hospital if you’re brave enough’ ... really. This has to be trolling.

Tell you what, if you’re brave enough go catch a flight to Italy and visit a hospital in Naples where they have resorted to giving patients oxigen in the car park. Tell us how they can improve the situation by taking an active interest in the functioning of their society. Generational wealth? Mup ourra tha.

Edit: account less than 3 days old and 4 posts ha ha explains a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Just wondering if you drive too far would you not drive off the edge of the earth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

"The group tasked with rolling out a Covid-19 vaccine in Ireland will meet on Monday for the first time amid growing hopes a working vaccine will be available within weeks."
    Well, it did seem from MM's words the other day that they had made no preparations for a vaccine, but I guess this confirms it.