Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Youtubers

• Registered Users Posts: 4,054 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Is there a lot of work with making videos and editing? I'm thinking about setting up an Instagram page to cover the new adventure for myself and maybe a few YouTube videos down the line. I'd like to do it to see the changes rather than publicity.

The only thing I'm weary of is everything is out there for everyone the see and criticise.

• Site Banned Posts: 32 ShlugMurphy

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Is there a lot of work with making videos and editing? I'm thinking about setting up an Instagram page to cover the new adventure for myself and maybe a few YouTube videos down the line. I'd like to do it to see the changes rather than publicity.

The only thing I'm weary of is everything is out there for everyone the see and criticise.

If I was to start a channel, I wouldn't put up videos right away.

I would record the videos, edit etc as normal but don't publish them. See if you keep it up consistently.

This helps two ways - you will see if you have the motivation to keep making videos or if you just give it up after a while. If it was me, then people knowing I went to start and then gave it up would embarrass me.

Second, if people like your vids, they'll have a few videos to binge and more likely to give a subscribe than if you only have one video.

Editing depends on what type of equipment you have, internet, etc.

2 screens, fast broadband, a proper video editor it wouldn't be too bad if you saw the worth in an hour doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭emaherx

There is a lot to editing the sort of episodes these lads do.

But if you want to keep it simpler do a blog or instagram or even a Twitter account. You can also just use YouTube as a video hosting site for short clips and add links from your instagram/blog/ twitter etc.

I was weary of the blog for exactly the reasons you say, but the feedback I've received has been positive enough. If you get lots of interest and followers etc great and if you get none you've lost nothing so I'd say go for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Gillespy

I heard a few say it's on average one hour of editing to make one minute of video. Seems a lot to add on top of the actual filming, setting up shots, having cameras charged etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I find most of them entertaining and if I don’t, I don’t go back....I have to laugh at the lads complaining about them...there free and no one is forced to watch. They put themselves out there for all to see. Maybe I’m getting old and grumpy but the “hurlers on the ditch” really are getting on my nerves. If someone thinks it’s easy then take at it and I’ll be the first to critique.

• Site Banned Posts: 32 ShlugMurphy

Gillespy wrote: »
    I heard a few say it's on average one hour of editing to make one minute of video. Seems a lot to add on top of the actual filming, setting up shots, having cameras charged etc.

Absolutely not true. IFarm wefarm would be very little editing.

All you'd need is your camera, once you have the footage, plug into your computer and load into a video editor. Trim the videos (basically not needed for most vids of iFarm wefarm), edit a thumbnail if you want it to look snazzy and you're away.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Gillespy

All you'd need is your camera, once you have the footage, plug into your computer and load into a video editor. Trim the videos (basically not needed for most vids of iFarm wefarm), edit a thumbnail if you want it to look snazzy and you're away.

Not talking about him. It might have been Welker's I heard it. On his bigger videos where it's showing a Big Bud being rebuild or something. Weeks of clips, adding music, different angles, drone shots things like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    I find most of them entertaining and if I don’t, I don’t go back....I have to laugh at the lads complaining about them...there free and no one is forced to watch. They put themselves out there for all to see. Maybe I’m getting old and grumpy but the “hurlers on the ditch” really are getting on my nerves. If someone thinks it’s easy then take at it and I’ll be the first to critique.

All social media is going the same way, a lot of it is down to how many likes they get for spouting nonsense.
    Getting on my nerves too.
    Others will say I'm wrong myself for saying this and that I'm as bad for disputing.
    Always gonna be a differences and arguments, tho unlike in person, these arguments can seldom never be put to bed properly.

I read all the comments. I think I have enough going on at the moment without taking that on, I won't rule it out altogether but I might set up an Instagram page to get me going if any of ye are on Instagram

• Registered Users Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭emaherx

I read all the comments. I think I have enough going on at the moment without taking that on, I won't rule it out altogether but I might set up an Instagram page to get me going if any of ye are on Instagram

I think you could find a couple of followers here. We're a nosey bunch

emaherx wrote: »
    I think you could find a couple of followers here. We're a nosey bunch

I'll keep ye posted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Jb1989 wrote: »
    All social media is going the same way, a lot of it is down to how many likes they get for spouting nonsense.

There was a popularish account on instagram who put up a photo of a new shed they were building on their story.

About a week later they won one of those like share competitions, for an product that would be used in the shed.

In my opinion it was no coincidence and that company chose them in the hope that they fully fit out the new shed with their product.

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

Okportugal is based in Central Portugal but great content.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Tileman

Okportugal is based in Central Portugal but great content.

I like farmer Phil he seems a genuine lad and a hard worker. As others have said the family gave great interaction. However the father is starting to steal the show now. Young Phil just repeats what the father says when they are reviewing anything. Also it comes across as he has no power or decision making what do ever. It’s whatever the father says. It’s meant to be a farm partnership.

He has good potential for that show but he is too quick to endorse any product. The competition for rock salt or the website provider. I’d say he will do well out of the channel though and more power to him as he shows it like it’s is. Himself and the girlfriend are a great match. I enjoy the long videos. The harvest ones were very good.

I farm we farm drives me mad with his click bait headlines. As others have said the silage on on Sunday was a disgrace . Pure tabloid headline. Otherwise good and enjoyable.

Gerry 6420 is ok. Can’t warm to him the Same as others. Seems to be in it more for the money than a genuine interest in the channel. How the fcuk he is buying all the new equipment and going plumbing twice a week I don’t know. Maintains his equipment very well.

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭mengele

The worst I have come across is olly farms. He drives me nuts.

I like the funky farmer too. He tells it how it is and battles away with what machinery he has. Always gets on with what he has rather than saying I'm going to buy this that and the other next year like others do. You can only buy so much in a year in a farm. I do think he skimps a bit with the fertilizer though haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

I like Phil's channel. He's got so many irons in the fire, it helps keep things fresh. The only bit of advice I'd give him is to cut out the swearing. Even bleep over it. While it's no issue for me, I'm sure he's losing a fair amount of his audience due to it, ie young kids where the parents stick it on the smart TV to keep them occupied for half and hour. You'd see Tom P referring to messages he gets from these types from time to time. I'd say this audience would be a big player in the 'merch' sales

Instagram is fairly good too for farming content. You tend to get a less polished, more real output on it. The advertisers are active on it as well Eg I recently started following Mairead Barron, new to farming in Waterford and I see she's after getting a hook-up with Magenta. She did a few vids showing how she uses their snap test and to be fair, it was informative as I haven't used them before.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I like Phil's channel. He's got so many irons in the fire, it helps keep things fresh. The only bit of advice I'd give him is to cut out the swearing. Even bleep over it. While it's no issue for me, I'm sure he's losing a fair amount of his audience due to it, ie young kids where the parents stick it on the smart TV to keep them occupied for half and hour. You'd see Tom P referring to messages he gets from these types from time to time. I'd say this audience would be a big player in the 'merch' sales

Instagram is fairly good too for farming content. You tend to get a less polished, more real output on it. The advertisers are active on it as well Eg I recently started following Mairead Barron, new to farming in Waterford and I see she's after getting a hook-up with Magenta. She did a few vids showing how she uses their snap test and to be fair, it was informative as I haven't used them before.

Instagram is good, good to see the real farming as you say
    I had to unfollow that girl and another one from up the country, couldn't listen to the BS they were spewing about themselves and all the happy clappy fan club stuff they go on about themselves and others plus the sly posts and stories trying to run down other Instagramers who were stealing the lime light from them

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭gav86

I would say Ifarm Wefarm takes him plenty of time but maybe not the editing, more the setting up of the camera's to get all the angles etc. I know he has a few go-pros but still would make the job he is doing take a fair bit longer.
    Father Phil fairly gives out about this..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Buying new gear every second week. If they were hard up they wouldn't be buying a new agitator just because!

New to them, but not new!
    He said himself they didn't need a new one, just someone traded it in and they decided to buy it.

I wouldn't see a problem with that, considering its a second hand agitator (not really an expensive item in the grand scheme of things), and the amount of slurry work they do. Handy to have a second one sitting in the yard if one breaks and you are under pressure.

I think people are being a bit harsh on some of the youtubers, if you don't like them, then don't watch them. Gerry6420 was reported for spreading slurry during a yellow rain warning, I believe the person that reported him was in the south of the country where there was a rain warning, but there was no rain where Gerry was spreading. I thought for the last year or so, that there are people watching the videos waiting for them to slip up (or slip up in their eyes) on something, and report them.

I loved the Big Bud restoration by Welker Farms, and the restoration of Gerry's 2850. It would be great if Phil could do a series of the 6290 in the shed being restored.
    Just to add, the Welker Farms video where "Leg Arms" had his arm broken was a tough watch, very lucky man.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭jd_12345

I enjoy most of the farming YouTubers. In fairness they all do things differently and often get slack for going against the status quo.

Imo IFarmWeFarm is a great example of what Irish dairy farms represent to the consumer. No massive herds of cows, the place spotless and a real passion for his job. His videos are excellent and really good quality but the click bait he is using now is sickening. The silage waste, loader drama, etc. But an excellent channel that tries to show people how he goes about things.

I'm really enjoying watching back the positive farmers conferences atm https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmzBnNVPPUcr-Evi77u0iyw especially Shinagh and Pat Hickey.

Farmer Phil has a serious dedication to the whole thing but it looks like he almost has to. By the sounds of things he's getting very little out of the farm and the contracting is about the only thing bringing in any sort of cash. Calf mortality seems to be a big issue as they're so busy with slurry and mixing so many calves. They look like people that are racing around at 1000mph to get everything done and progress seems slow - i.e. it seems impossible for them to make any investment. I know beef is bad atm but maybe management isn't the greatest. They put up something recently about the bulls being only about (450kg/500kg). He also mentioned that even though they could more than justify having his girlfriend work on the farm they wouldn't be able to eat (i.e. she's the only person bringing in regular cash) From what I can make out Phil's main income is YouTube and that's why it has to work. Anybody looking to come home farming after school should take a good look at Phil's 13/14 hour days and realize that they should try something else fr a couple of years anyway! Last year during the winter himself anf the girlfriend booked their annual holiday in Centre Parks over Xmas and Phil had to go home for 5/6 hours each day to feed cattle etc. That to me sounds like hardship! Fantastic hard workers that maybe didn't think out how to justify having him at home!

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Fred Daly

mengele wrote: »
    The worst I have come across is olly farms. He drives me nuts.

I like the funky farmer too. He tells it how it is and battles away with what machinery he has. Always gets on with what he has rather than saying I'm going to buy this that and the other next year like others do. You can only buy so much in a year in a farm. I do think he skimps a bit with the fertilizer though haha.

Olly farms he is a disaster if there was work in the bed he would sleep on the floor, the funky farmer is real life struggles on a medium dairy farm. Tom Pemberton and the ginger i enjoy as well ginger sniffing eating the grass silage, as regards farmer phil he puts himself in for a lot of hardship the two older boys will never change and as for the younger brother should be made do more like feeding the cattle last christmas that was messing i could imagine what would be said to me if i had to come home everyday from a break hardship is there game.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I have an Instagram page set up for the farm just for sharing stuff and I find that the best platform to get my point across. One thing I've noticed lately is the amount of promotion some farm accounts are doing, especially two sisters who have a farming page, every second post is like an add for something they have gotten for nothing. Helps that they are two good looking girls I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I don't have the patience for watching Youtube much but must check a few of these out.
    Tried Instagram, not for me I don't think, too many posed pics and tagging companies of what they're wearing or working with. Give me a bit of muck and dirt and people having the craic any day, rather than filters and perfect pictures. Maybe I'm following the wrong people though!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭lab man

jd_12345 wrote: »
    I enjoy most of the farming YouTubers. In fairness they all do things differently and often get slack for going against the status quo.

Imo IFarmWeFarm is a great example of what Irish dairy farms represent to the consumer. No massive herds of cows, the place spotless and a real passion for his job. His videos are excellent and really good quality but the click bait he is using now is sickening. The silage waste, loader drama, etc. But an excellent channel that tries to show people how he goes about things.

I'm really enjoying watching back the positive farmers conferences atm https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmzBnNVPPUcr-Evi77u0iyw especially Shinagh and Pat Hickey.

Farmer Phil has a serious dedication to the whole thing but it looks like he almost has to. By the sounds of things he's getting very little out of the farm and the contracting is about the only thing bringing in any sort of cash. Calf mortality seems to be a big issue as they're so busy with slurry and mixing so many calves. They look like people that are racing around at 1000mph to get everything done and progress seems slow - i.e. it seems impossible for them to make any investment. I know beef is bad atm but maybe management isn't the greatest. They put up something recently about the bulls being only about (450kg/500kg). He also mentioned that even though they could more than justify having his girlfriend work on the farm they wouldn't be able to eat (i.e. she's the only person bringing in regular cash) From what I can make out Phil's main income is YouTube and that's why it has to work. Anybody looking to come home farming after school should take a good look at Phil's 13/14 hour days and realize that they should try something else fr a couple of years anyway! Last year during the winter himself anf the girlfriend booked their annual holiday in Centre Parks over Xmas and Phil had to go home for 5/6 hours each day to feed cattle etc. That to me sounds like hardship! Fantastic hard workers that maybe didn't think out how to justify having him at home!

The one thing I see about Phil's farm is how badly its laid out they seem to be going back and forth to low sheds all the time and a guy with 28/30 tractors should have a serious machine shed with the price of gear

• Registered Users Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭jaymla627

lab man wrote: »
    The one thing I see about Phil's farm is how badly its laid out they seem to be going back and forth to low sheds all the time and a guy with 28/30 tractors should have a serious machine shed with the price of gear

Their backstory on their tb issues that where ongoing for 5 plus years and I'd say a modest enough sfp given they where dairy farming and sucklers in the reference years where they where in the middle of getting depopulated with tb, explains alot to be fair, its handy to criticize a place but in all honesty the difference between been profitable and having a good clean yard and our struggling at beef is usually down to how large our small the sfp is

• Registered Users Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

Dont think it's that badly laided out myself he can house 500 cattle , not bad
    I like him and he looks to have a good woman with him to help him out..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Good women should be kept in the house.
    Other wise you'll have to let them off early to go in &make the dinner e.t.c

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

ruwithme wrote: »
    Good women should be kept in the house.
    Other wise you'll have to let them off early to go in &make the dinner e.t.c

Wheres me popcorn!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

https://youtu.be/UXWKEbP7A50

Watched a few from this woman, down to earth stuff too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭Odelay

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    https://youtu.be/UXWKEbP7A50

Watched a few from this woman, down to earth stuff too.

She knows her stuff too. Well able to work as well.