Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Plenty of hospital staff live with other hospital staff, they are married or in relationships with other hospital staff, they travel to work together. Do you think every staff member can just leave the hospital and go home to a room on their own?

They can't perpetually maintain two metres distance in a well ventilated environment from everybody, tasks at work require close contact, I know of hospital workers that do admin work in their car because they don't have enough space inside the hospital.

If you get cases in the community you get cases in the hospital. It will then get to staff as things stand, remember wave 1, where over a third of confirmed cases were in healthcare workers?

And what words did you use "zero infection control"? I never said good. I personally think the PPE provided is inadequate and our lack of being able to track outbreaks properly is dreadful, but "zero"? Cop on.

You always seem to look for convenient fault as otherwise it would conflict with your toxic positivity.
    I know very well how hospitals work, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,587 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

KrustyUCC wrote:
    NPHET will use the figures as a stick to best the rest of society with though

Healthcare workers accounted for 23% of yesterday's cases
    It's a great help to try take the narrative off schools. Hey look.over there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

There must be zero infection control for upwards of 200 staff to be affected.
    As I said yesterday - absolutely ****ing scandalous.

Have you ever worked as a frontline member of hospital staff ? The pressure the are under , the viral load they are exposed to and the sheer stress they face daily should not be disrespected like that .

They deal with every bodily fluid from covid patients from sputum to urine to airborne virus in the room . Cut them some slack

KrustyUCC wrote: »

And in the first wave it was over a third, is it any surprise that the group most exposed is also the group getting infected the most?

If you look across Europe, around 20% is close to what you expect for infection rates for healthcare workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭robbiezero

"What will it be today Tony - The 3, 5, 7 or 14 day average"

"The usual - Whichever is the worst".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,188 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

If US has a normal Thanksgiving with all the travel that involves, things could get a bit dicey. Will be interesting to see if there's a spike in cases a few weeks after it. Here's just latest example of an apparent superspreader event there.

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/nearly-half-83-people-who-attend-ohio-wedding-test-positive-n1248055?cid=sm_npd_nn_tw_ma

I know very well how hospitals work, cheers.

Yet fail to understand how infection will inevitably spread. Because you think there is "zero infection control"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Have you ever worked as a frontline member of hospital staff ? The pressure the are under , the viral load they are exposed to and the sheer stress they face daily should not be disrespected like that .

No one is blaming the staff ffs!

Why is such a high level of infection of health care workers not happening in other countries?

It is, especially in Europe and the Americas. Asia seem to be better at protecting staff.

eagle eye wrote: »
    That doesn't matter. NPHET's job is to study data and make recommendations off them. They don't manage anything.

Why are they not recommending better controls in Hospitals and Nursing homes?
    Why are they not criticising shortcomings there and getting them fixed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

A poster saying “ There must be zero infection control “ at some level is blaming staff. Infection control is multi disciplinary including the staff using it effectively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Limerick hospital group reporting 221 staff off work due to positive test results or self isolating, up from 161 last week

Majority are in UHL with Ennis also impacted

Without Covid that hospital is a complete disaster. Pre Covid they where usually the hospital with most patients on trolleys. So I am not surprised that it’s UHL with such a large outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

lemonTrees wrote: »
    I suppose it's a sign of the times but i do find it rather sad the amount of tin foil hatery that i read on this thread. "It's all NPHET's fault", "RTE are out to scare us" etc...

Nobody is out to get you lads.

Ask yourself , why have we lost so much personal autonomy regarding the law of the land? Why has the minister for health been given such wide ranging powers till june 2021 to decide , on a whim if he wishes, to fine the citizen for whatever he feels is necessary and doesn't need to get approval from the Dail.

Why did the cabinet propose allowing the gardai to enter family homes and only didn't proceed for constitutional reasons?

Every week we read about new considerations being about cabinet to restrict our lives and freedoms , while the media ramps up the fear factor of this plague and fuels the notions of snitching on your neighbour and demonisng sections of society?

All for a virus that doesn't effect a huge number of people - most people wouldn't know they had it except for the PCR Tests?

How can you accept all this and tell us "nobody is out to get us" - they are getting us every day for the last 9 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

And in the first wave it was over a third, is it any surprise that the group most exposed is also the group getting infected the most?

If you look across Europe, around 20% is close to what you expect for infection rates for healthcare workers.

Sure of course some heslthcare staff will be exposed

Others are definitely avoidable

I know personally of HSE admin staff who got covid in hospital who didn't wear face masks at any point in their day

Stuff like that is easily fixable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

I see Halloween is the latest thing they are blaming the spike in numbers on. Anything to deflect blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,587 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

paw patrol wrote:
    How can you accept all this and tell us "nobody is out to get us" - they are getting us every day for the last 9 months.
    Our health service is crap, we can't handle big covid numbers.
    That's the reason for our lockdowns.
    There's nothing else needs to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,134 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

And the whole world's lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,134 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Donnelly hasn't a breeze.

Useless.

What's he said now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

elefant wrote: »
    Has there been any/much discussion on the phrase 'house parties' being used so often to explain where COVID spread is happening in Ireland? I'm not in the country at the moment, but I hear it used in Irish media all the time.

'House party' to me suggests a big session with music blaring and loads of people hanging around drinking cans for hours on end. Is this what is meant every time a 'house party' is mentioned, or is it a catch-all phrase that includes multiple household meeting up for dinner etc.?

Either way, wouldn't a more clear phrase help with messaging around situations to avoid?

House party is a catch all phrase. Includes a visit to friends or family for a cup of tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,117 ✭✭✭prunudo

House party is a catch all phrase. Includes a visit to friends or family for a cup of tea

Exactly, should be classed as household gatherings, house parties just feeds into the narrative that it drunk fuelled youngsters spreading covid.
    Whether we were meeting Mary for a cup of tea or having the lads over to watch a match we all need to be vigilant.

Plenty of hospital staff live with other hospital staff, they are married or in relationships with other hospital staff, they travel to work together. Do you think every staff member can just leave the hospital and go home to a room on their own?

They can't perpetually maintain two metres distance in a well ventilated environment from everybody, tasks at work require close contact, I know of hospital workers that do admin work in their car because they don't have enough space inside the hospital.

If you get cases in the community you get cases in the hospital. It will then get to staff as things stand, remember wave 1, where over a third of confirmed cases were in healthcare workers?

And what words did you use "zero infection control"? I never said good. I personally think the PPE provided is inadequate and our lack of being able to track outbreaks properly is dreadful, but "zero"? Cop on.

You always seem to look for convenient fault as otherwise it would conflict with your toxic positivity.

Hospital canteens are open with doctors and nurses sharing tables with no masks.

More can be done, do you think?

KrustyUCC wrote: »

How many of the other cases were contacts of that 23%? It is beyond a joke at this stage. Heads need to roll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I find it strange that other countries that are not led by megalomaniac Dr Evil type characters of NPHET have a bigger problem than us.

I mean if it's all NPHETs fault how come other countries are in a much worse state.

Why don't the politicians bin them? I'd say it's because that will cement them not being reelected.

I mean lots of people unemployed is depressing and terrible.

Hospitals not working, lots of people unemployed is worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

I bet when it's raining you just accept that you will get wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭mcburns07

elefant wrote: »
    Has there been any/much discussion on the phrase 'house parties' being used so often to explain where COVID spread is happening in Ireland? I'm not in the country at the moment, but I hear it used in Irish media all the time.

'House party' to me suggests a big session with music blaring and loads of people hanging around drinking cans for hours on end. Is this what is meant every time a 'house party' is mentioned, or is it a catch-all phrase that includes multiple household meeting up for dinner etc.?

Either way, wouldn't a more clear phrase help with messaging around situations to avoid?

Social gatherings in a private home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Here's what having an open septemeber looks like in Italy. It was a great idea getting back to normal while it lasted. That's an A and E in Rome.

Do you think the government did the right thing by listening to science? I do.
    Don't get me wrong, lockdown or whatever this is is a pile of crap but it's better than the alternative.

No room at the inn.

Same in lots of areas all over Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

polesheep wrote: »
    I bet when it's raining you just accept that you will get wet.

And there we have it, something we can all agree on (except, NPHET, the HSE and government of course who would never admit it).

Of all the money we have spent, lost and squandered due to our reaction to this pandemic, very little has gone towards improving our health care system.
    that's the biggest scandal.

Ibec and Retail Excellence call for early exit from Level 5 for retail, hospitality and travel sectors

"Danny McCoy also called on the Government to allow the retail, hospitality and travel sectors to reopen as a priority ahead of Christmas, with a sequential easing of restrictions beginning in the last week of November.

He said the current measures impact upon a large swathe of businesses and claimed the blanket suppression of these sectors continues to lack any refinement, despite learnings and evidence accumulated since last March.

"This approach lacks empathy and is at this point in the crisis creating much greater economic and social damage than is necessary," he said.

The Ibec boss described how the manner of communications in the media from members of the National Public Health Emergency Team continues to be a source of "uncertainty and irritation for businesses and the public in making necessary plans for the coming crucial period of Christmas".

"This pattern, now seemingly embedded, in limiting the choice for Government is one we understood you and colleagues were going to address," he said.

https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2020/1118/1178847-ibec-on-covid-restrictions/

Good to see business putting a bit of pressure on the government