Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

Let's not forget too that we've had a NPHET member bringing her own anti alcohol views into the thinking too "our on-going problem with alcohol"... Personal bias don't help.

That could be an observation rather than a personal view. I'm supportive of opening hospitality but there is an issue with alcohol in this country. Now lookit that doesn't mean we should all suffer of course and I don't think it should be used as a reason for restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭MOR316

His job is to fight crime and ensure the security of the State.

Batman fights crime...

Makes ya think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    It's nice to able to pick and choose just to add a bit more fear to people

That and him being 'increasingly concerned'

No mention of positive work done by the majority of people

I can imagine him talking down to a reporter in a news conference if they asked questions based on 5 day data, they would get the stare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

It's a public health team. Their recommendations are considered by cabinet and a cross departmental civil servant group.

Let the health team do the health stuff and have other groups do their thing and let government decide.

Public health is more than Covid

They are the most powerful group in Ireland at the moment as their remit is so narrow

The media in particular are constantly harping on about NPHET recommendations as if NPHET can't be wrong

If the government do ever go against NPHET they will be crucified in the media the same way we got 2 weeks of constant why didn't we go to level 5 sooner

Something has to change and that should be to change NPHET

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Limerick hospital group reporting 221 staff off work due to positive test results or self isolating, up from 161 last week

Majority are in UHL with Ennis also impacted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Limerick hospital group reporting 221 staff off work due to positive test results or self isolating, up for 161.

Must of been one hell of a house party to cause that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

We are doing a good job, it'll just be a slower progress south for next 10 days as we still have big contributors to the R number still operational.

Schools around 0.2
    Necessary essential jobs, healthcare around 0.3

Then you have all other quasi essential jobs which are adding around 0.2

Then the so called awful people meeting each other are prob adding 0.1

I'd say our R rate around 0.9 at the moment.

Unfortunately to go lower than this we need to chop something out.

--we got through summer easier due to no schools, increased outdoor activity, this enabled some hospitality but our R was still around 1.1 or 1.2 but we had a very low base

Limerick hospital group reporting 221 staff off work due to positive test results or self isolating, up for 161.

That's a serious rise in numbers

Doesn't look like that large cluster will burn itself out anytime soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Let's not forget too that we've had a NPHET member bringing her own anti alcohol views into the thinking too "our on-going problem with alcohol"... Personal bias don't help.

We were down to single digits for a week in June and they still resisted opening pubs.

Not to be forgotten that Holohan is in bed with Alcohol Action Ireland
    https://alcoholireland.ie/dr-tony-holohan-chief-medical-officer-delivers-the-opening-address-at-alcohol-action-irelands-have-we-bottled-it-alcohol-marketing-and-young-people-conference/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

When I read their restrictions I thought how I'd put up them for a period of time if it meant normality at the end. You are right though. One case and they are straight back.

I feel we are in a constant limbo state. When we exit level 5 then life will remain curtailed and kind of hovering between what we can and can't do. The last few months felt very delicate to me. I knew cases would rise as soon as we eased up and I knew the Government would act with a tightening.

I have no faith in them or Nphet. That frightens me a little because we need them to manage this effectively. Fear isn't always an appropriate measure to force people to act. I think the delivery of the measures is as important as the the measures themselves. The daily briefings are always gloomy. Hope and positivity isn't the tone in case it causes complacency. I believe it's possible to communicate the facts and light at the end of the tunnel.

There is a behavioural psychology arm to Nphet I believe but maybe it needs to be more focused. It should concern itself more with the complexities of human nature rather than applying broad strokes.

This time next year I'm hopeful things will be better but not the same as last year or the year before that. We will still be wearing masks and social distancing will continue to be encouraged. Mass gatherings won't be happening.

It's sad isn't it? How the world has changed. All those lives lost and jobs gone. I was listening to Morning Ireland earlier and the director of Dublin Zoo was on. They are in trouble financially so are launching a fundraising drive. I hope they pull through. That's my hope for all of us.

I'm a little more optimistic than that.
    I'm convinced when vaccines arrive there will be people calling for restrictions to carry on regardless and - I dont want to say forever but lets say - for the time being. Because - you know - you can never be safe enough.
    But I genuinely dont think thats a flyer even mid term. People wont have it, I know I wont.

There is simply no way we can trot out 'we need to wait for a vaccine' and then when its there we say 'sorry but we need to restrict anyway'. Not for a virus with such numbers which will undoubtedly be reduced drastically again by a vaccine. Once the immediate scare of overwhelming the health service is out of the way people will not buy into a 'second narrative' for want of a better word. I know I wont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

We need a complete lockdown for 2 weeks including schools with a Level 2 opening promised from 7 December.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭lemonTrees

I suppose it's a sign of the times but i do find it rather sad the amount of tin foil hatery that i read on this thread. "It's all NPHET's fault", "RTE are out to scare us" etc...

Nobody is out to get you lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

but but but, we need full scale Lockdowns. The economy will be fine.....:confused:

Perhaps the time since last March should also have been used to form a more balanced plan for reopening/keeping open sectors, activities etc. that pose a lower risk to the spread of the virus when appropriate measures, regular testing and precautions are taken.

https://www.thejournal.ie/dublin-zoo-facing-closure-pandemic-5270558-Nov2020/

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/children-s-hospital-contractor-seeking-hundreds-of-millions-of-euro-extra-1.4412440?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fireland%2Firish-news%2Fchildren-s-hospital-contractor-seeking-hundreds-of-millions-of-euro-extra-1.4412440

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Cork2021

lemonTrees wrote: »
    I suppose it's a sign of the times but i do find it rather sad the amount of tin foil hatery that i read on this thread. "It's all NPHET's fault", "RTE are out to scare us" etc...

Nobody is out to get you lads.

Nobody is out to get anyone but it’s the language and constant fear being pushed onto people is where I’ve the problem. ACE just posted the figures from UHL it’s an absolute disgrace but NPHET or RTÉ don’t acknowledge this. If these hospital clusters and outbreaks were more under control we wouldn’t have that negative drivel coming from Holahan.
    We need positive news now and again, when that happens then they’ll be the first to downplay it and see how it can be spun into a negative news or passive aggressive tweet.
    The vaccines is a prime example. Also the outside drinking thing has been blown out of all proportions. Kieran Cuddihy from news talk hit the nail on the head yesterday by saying the permanently outraged would be better to get their kids the flu vaccine then to be worried about a few plebs having a drink outside

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭lemonTrees

Cork2021 wrote: »
    Nobody is out to get anyone but it’s the language and constant fear being pushed onto people is where I’ve the problem. ACE just posted the figures from UHL it’s an absolute disgrace but NPHET or RTÉ don’t acknowledge this. If these hospital clusters and outbreaks were more under control we wouldn’t have that negative drivel coming from Holahan.
    We need positive news now and again, when that happens then they’ll be the first to downplay it and see how it can be spun into a negative news or passive aggressive tweet.
    The vaccines is a prime example. Also the outside drinking thing has been blown out of all proportions. Kieran Cuddihy from news talk hit the nail on the head yesterday by saying the permanently outraged would be better to get their kids the flu vaccine then to be worried about a few plebs having a drink outside

Nobody is out to get you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭elefant

Has there been any/much discussion on the phrase 'house parties' being used so often to explain where COVID spread is happening in Ireland? I'm not in the country at the moment, but I hear it used in Irish media all the time.

'House party' to me suggests a big session with music blaring and loads of people hanging around drinking cans for hours on end. Is this what is meant every time a 'house party' is mentioned, or is it a catch-all phrase that includes multiple household meeting up for dinner etc.?

Either way, wouldn't a more clear phrase help with messaging around situations to avoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Limerick hospital group reporting 221 staff off work due to positive test results or self isolating, up from 161 last week

Surely questions have to be asked of NHPET in the next press conference.
    Similar issues in Naas, Letterkenny, Dundalk and Drogheda.

This incompetence is now a driver of our daily numbers and is falsely inflating the numbers of patients in hospital with Covid (they didn't have it when they went into hospital). Since people in hospital generally tend to be at their weakest state, it is no doubt driving deaths as well.

froog wrote: »
    I guarantee if there was no press conferences loads including probably you would be giving out about lack of communication, transparency etc

There should be press conferences, but led by a member of government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Cork2021

lemonTrees wrote: »
    Nobody is out to get you. :)

I’d say you suck plenty of lemons!!

I'm a little more optimistic than that.
    I'm convinced when vaccines arrive there will be people calling for restrictions to carry on regardless and - I dont want to say forever but lets say - for the time being. Because - you know - you can never be safe enough.
    But I genuinely dont think thats a flyer even mid term. People wont have it, I know I wont.

There is simply no way we can trot out 'we need to wait for a vaccine' and then when its there we say 'sorry but we need to restrict anyway'. Not for a virus with such numbers which will undoubtedly be reduced drastically again by a vaccine. Once the immediate scare of overwhelming the health service is out of the way people will not buy into a 'second narrative' for want of a better word. I know I wont.

Oh I want to be! If by Spring we had our freedoms returned that would be amazing. I think it's a defense mechanism of mine, if I stretch out the time of this in my head then I won't be so disappointed when my hope doesn't materialise. It is so important for us I know to have hope. When the vaccines roll out for the general population Calamari I'll be first in line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

“They must all be living together, nothing to see here”

There must be zero infection control for upwards of 200 staff to be affected.
    As I said yesterday - absolutely ****ing scandalous.

No one will ask about this. NHPET control the narrative and the questions they get asked.
    They are causing deaths and hospitalisations.
    Everyone else gets blamed and the numbers the health service incompetence have caused will be pointed at the public to make them comply.
    It's a fcuking disgrace

Oh come off it "zero infection control"?

Limerick is the most overcrowded hospital in the country, you will inevitably have outbreaks in that environment. This is a highly infectious virus, it's airborne, staff have to have close contact with patients, they will get it and they go into work knowing that. It's insulting for you to suggest zero infection control.

Oh come off it "zero infection control"?

Limerick is the most overcrowded hospital in the country, you will inevitably have outbreaks in that environment. This is a highly infectious virus, it's airborne, staff have to have close contact with patients, they will get it and they go into work knowing that. It's insulting for you to suggest zero infection control.
    If you think that 200 workers off isolating = good infection control then roll with it, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,582 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

No one will ask about this. NHPET control the narrative and the questions they get asked.
    How do come to the conclusion that NPHET are to blame?
    The HSE are responsible for hospitals.

eagle eye wrote: »
    How do come to the conclusion that NPHET are to blame?
    The HSE are responsible for hospitals.

How many members of NPHET are high ranking HSE officials?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,582 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

That doesn't matter. NPHET's job is to study data and make recommendations off them. They don't manage anything.

If you think that 200 workers off isolating = good infection control then roll with it, I guess.

Plenty of hospital staff live with other hospital staff, they are married or in relationships with other hospital staff, they travel to work together. Do you think every staff member can just leave the hospital and go home to a room on their own?

They can't perpetually maintain two metres distance in a well ventilated environment from everybody, tasks at work require close contact, I know of hospital workers that do admin work in their car because they don't have enough space inside the hospital.

If you get cases in the community you get cases in the hospital. It will then get to staff as things stand, remember wave 1, where over a third of confirmed cases were in healthcare workers?

And what words did you use "zero infection control"? I never said good. I personally think the PPE provided is inadequate and our lack of being able to track outbreaks properly is dreadful, but "zero"? Cop on.

You always seem to look for convenient fault as otherwise it would conflict with your toxic positivity.

NPHET will use the figures as a stick to best the rest of society with though

Healthcare workers accounted for 23% of yesterday's cases