Gemma not taking enforced retirement too well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭PhoneMain

The only people who have the right to force treatment on her are medical professionals. we all know that. Nobody is suggesting that a member of the public commit her.

Yes and the point I'm trying to make is that even medical professionals are only allowed to force treatment on someone in limited circumstances - which, based on her utterings on social media, Gemma is a long way from, despite how much anyone dislikes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,285 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

PhoneMain wrote: »
    Yes and the point I'm trying to make is that even medical professionals are only allowed to force treatment on someone in limited circumstances - which, based on her utterings on social media, Gemma is a long way from, despite how much anyone dislikes it.

we know the criteria, it has been posted multiple times. We disagree on how close she comes to meeting those criteria.

Dont let your own feelings get in the way of facts.

what are the facts, do you think?

The facts are that I have not seen anything on social media, in my professional opinion, that would warrant sectioning under the mental health act. Nor would any other medical professional I'd imagine consider her behaviour sectionable. But if you want to lock up someone for touching another person on the face then that's your opinion I suppose.

I never said she should be. The district court generally doesn't give custodial sentences for assault to women. the question is is she a danger to others and i think she very much is. Maybe not by means of direct assault but by what she inspires others to do.

I'm talking about detaining a person against their will under the mental health act which would allow someone to be treated against their will. To force treatment on someone, you have to detain them in a psychiatric hospital. When someone is on about giving mental health treatment to another person who doesnt want it, then detention in a psychiatric hospital is what that entails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Penfailed wrote: »
    Sorry, where was I trying to put her in a positive light? She's an abhorrent woman.

She's mentally ill rather than deliberately wicked (in my opinion).

I'm talking about detaining a person against their will under the mental health act which would allow someone to be treated against their will. To force treatment on someone, you have to detain them in a psychiatric hospital. When someone is on about giving mental health treatment to another person who doesnt want it, then detention in a psychiatric hospital is what that entails.

If it's the best thing for her than perhaps that should happen. There's no framework for it though. She isn't really a danger to herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Are these eejits still marching around the streets crying about the lockdown and masks and shouting about 'freedom'.

Such nonsense and I don't know why they bother wasting their time. We are in lockdown but we are still free and many of us are using our heads and are glad to curtail non essential stuff so that we can hopefully come out healthy without disease. Many of us still are free.

Thankfully the government doesn't listen to this minority and basing pandemic measures on the wishes of a group who only have one aim and that is to spread disease.

I'm not a huge fan of this winter lockdown but I'm getting on with it and jot wasting my time marching around the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

If it's the best thing for her than perhaps that should happen. There's no framework for it though. She isn't really a danger to herself.

I would absolutely agree with this. I think most people deep down probably know this is the reason for her behaviour. If she was a man I don't think people would be of this opinion (people rarely give the benefit of the doubt of mental competency to men in that regard) , but an assessment definitely should be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,235 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I dont know if any of that is true or not.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,138 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The mentally ill angle is just the usual cop put

I think she is just one arrogant unlikable unpleasant devious conniving sullen nasty woman..

She could, also, be mentally ill....on top of the above!

There is also the possibility that this is a desperate career move for her - a deliberate attempt to capture the market of extreme right wingers and attract funding from at home and abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭NovemberWren

by no means am I a fan of the Gardai. - sometimes though one wonders are they now, the victims of a culture that they, 'formerly', espoused.?

at Gemma's website there is a video of GPO/Gardai/protestors; something like, 'Gestapo' ........ then 'gardai'.
    - not really sure this is accurate?

seems to me, Gardai, [formerly], were? and are/can be - subtly blackmailed, by: local Fine Gael, Fianna Fail, Sinn Fein; Labour? -
    mainly to oversee what local power-needy politicians want.

The Gardai are, - workers and in a union? They have accessed a very good and interesting job;- and some of these 'local' politicians....... begrudge them that???

btw - the Gestapo in Germany were, in fact, Thugs?, that were organised. And the comparison here would be: Sinn Fein.

There is also the possibility that this is a desperate career move for her - a deliberate attempt to capture the market of extreme right wingers and attract funding from at home and abroad.

Exactly. Katie Hopkins says a lot of the same sort things as Gemma and I think nearly says worse stuff given that she knows she could speak to millions given her previous Twitter platform, radio show and column but I dont think anyone would accuse her of mental illness......she's just a cnut.

Hopkins doesn't take it to the streets and assault people.

by no means am I a fan of the Gardai. - sometimes though one wonders are they now, the victims of a culture that they, 'formerly', espoused.?

at Gemma's website there is a video of GPO/Gardai/protestors; something like, 'Gestapo' ........ then 'gardai'.

seems to me, Gardai, [formerly], were? and are/can be - subtly blackmailed, by: local Fine Gael, Fianna Fail, Sinn Fein; Labour? -

The Gardai are, - workers and in a union? They have accessed a very good and interesting job;- and some of these 'local' politicians....... begrudge them that???

btw - the Gestapo in Germany were, in fact, Thugs?, that were organised. And the comparison here would be: Sinn Fein.

What?

What?

Hopkins doesn't take it to the streets and assault people.

Assault?

What?

Finally something we agree on :D

Assault?

the old guy with the mask.

I wouldnt class that as assault. If you feel it is, then its a matter for An Garda Siochana.

It is up for the man to make a complaint. whether he does or not it doesnt change the fact that it meets the criteria for assault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

I've not seen grammar and punctuation abused like this since I was tricked into reading a Ben Shapiro novel.

I'd rather read ulysses.

It is up for the man to make a complaint. whether he does or not it doesnt change the fact that it meets the criteria for assault

Assault
    An assault is defined as “a person shall be guilty of the offence of assault who, without lawful excuse, intentionally or recklessly –

(A) directly or indirectly applies force to causes an impact on the body of another, or

(B) causes another to believe on reasonable grounds that here she is likely immediately to be subjected to any such force impact, without the consent of the other.

from an Irish solicitors website. Maybe there's other definitions, if there is feel free to share them but I dont think the actions in the video meet the above. Maybe they do, I'm not a Guard or a Solicitor and maybe you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

I'd rather read ulysses.
    I'd rather listen to comedy review of Shapiro's novels more than either. :D

https://www.iheart.com/podcast/105-behind-the-bastards-29236323/episode/what-we-learned-from-ben-shapiros-61013395/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

This might make more sense in Braille ...perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,235 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yeah - in general Gemma is really disrespectful of the Gardai; often calls them scum, paedophile protectors and she gets very aggressive and threatening towards them going right upto them - almost goading them.

I really havent a clue what the rest of your post is about to be honest. It seems like a weird ramble suggesting out of nowhere that lots of local politicians are subtly blackmailing lots of Gardai. I dont even know what "subtle" blackmail is and frankly your point seems nonsensical.

EDIT: Glad I am not the only one struggling to understand what you were saying here.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

have you been letting a bunch of lads down the pub feed an AI bot a load of theories, because thats the only conclusion I can reach on this.