Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

And despite all of that the only age group where case numbers are rising are in the elderly.
    Health care workers are getting infected at a rate of 50/day and over 60% of patients in hospital with covid acquired it in hospital.

You're adding 2 and 2 together her and coming up with 5.

Austria have shut down schools btw.

Austria announced Saturday that it is tightening its partial lockdown, including by closing non-essential stores and shifting schools to online teaching, amid galloping coronavirus infection rates in the Alpine nation.

Their are also performing rapid testing pupils in schools.

https://www.thelocal.at/20201112/austria-to-roll-out-nationwide-rapid-testing-in-schools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭nofools

This is, perhaps, the dumbest question I've seen on here.

Take a bow.

It is a very clever question actually. Purposefully simplistic.

Side note...The modern school system is just a hoop jumping test for pencil pushers and shouldn't be allowed to interfere too much with a real education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    If that was the case, then the spread would be uncontrollable. The lack of distancing in the yard would mean it would rip though a school, it would take little time to infect practically all the kids. If a hundred kids from a school are bringing it home to Mammy and Daddy who are then bringing it to work and infecting Mick and Mary then we would be seeing exponential growth. That hasn't been the case and schools have been open several months.

Ah I was being a bit tongue in cheek with my post. At the end of the day, there are cases everywhere, it would be naive to think there is no spread associated with schools. They certainly aren't causing massive spread but it is there.
    At present it just suits nphet to blame workplaces, but sure that covers many bases, hospitals, carehomes, prisons and schools are all workplaces too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

wadacrack wrote: »
    Austria have shut down schools btw.

Austria announced Saturday that it is tightening its partial lockdown, including by closing non-essential stores and shifting schools to online teaching, amid galloping coronavirus infection rates in the Alpine nation.

Their are also performing rapid testing pupils in schools.

https://www.thelocal.at/20201112/austria-to-roll-out-nationwide-rapid-testing-in-schools

Why did Austria close their schools?

Hi thanks for the response but I have no interest in a dialogue with someone who places no value on education, I could go further but I have my suspicion as to your agenda here.

I am a curious to hear whatever outlandish theory might emerge from this.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Well life has certainly improved for children thanks to schooling, not digressed. Unless you think they were better off down the mines lol

I am talking way before the industrial revolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

European case country watch the last 14-days per 100,000 population.

Luxembourg 1264.4
    Liechtenstein 1130.9
    Czechia 1112.4
    Austria 1042.9
    Slovenia 931.9
    Poland 877.1
    France 847.5
    Croatia 802.5
    Italy 777.3
    Portugal. 710.0
    Belgium 761.4
    Lithuania 681.4
    Hungary 661.8
    Bulgaria 631.2
    Spain. 581.4
    Romania 585.2
    Sweden 511.9
    Netherlands 508.6
    United Kingdom 501.8
    Slovakia 492.1
    Greece 310.3
    Germany 308.7
    Cyprus 298.6
    Denmark 255.5
    Latvia 229.7
    Estonia 200.2
    Norway 143.8
    Ireland 120.3
    Iceland. 83.8
    Finland 54.8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Did continuous testing stop in those factories?

The company told the local radio that it was uncovered in routine testing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Luxembourg 1264.4
    Liechtenstein 1130.9
    Czechia 1112.4
    Austria 1042.9
    Slovenia 931.9
    Poland 877.1
    France 847.5
    Croatia 802.5
    Italy 777.3
    Portugal. 710.0
    Belgium 761.4
    Lithuania 681.4
    Hungary 661.8
    Bulgaria 631.2
    Spain. 581.4
    Romania 585.2
    Sweden 511.9
    Netherlands 508.6
    United Kingdom 501.8
    Slovakia 492.1
    Greece 310.3
    Germany 308.7
    Cyprus 298.6
    Denmark 255.5
    Latvia 229.7
    Estonia 200.2
    Norway 143.8
    Ireland 120.3
    Iceland. 83.8
    Finland 54.8

Amazing that the highest incidence rates are many of the countries renowned for their amazing performance in April...almost seems like it's inescapable

wakka12 wrote: »
    Amazing that the highest incidence rates are all of the countries renowned for their amazing performance in April...almost seems like it's inescapable

Or they ended up having a false sense of security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,212 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

nofools wrote: »
    Why?

A child can easily go two years without formal education once some socialisation need is met (and can be done within smaller safer social circles vs mixing with 30+ households daily)

It is not an essential human need. Growing brains are elastic and learning takes many shapes beyond Irish poetry and long division in a classroom.

I don't agree with your opinion on the benefits a, lets say, formal education provides for a child. I think it's a bit reductionist to be honest, but I don't really want to get into an argument of whether a child can do with or without school for up to a period. We could be here all night.

Is it essential is it non-essential? I think it's essential up to a point. Is it essential in the same way food and air is? Well, no, but is that what we're arguing here - semantics? About what constitutes essential in the most literal sense of the word?

Furthermore, I also think the question of schools is about more than just a child's education. There's also the wider considerations about how it effects the life of the parents. Will they be able to work if they have to potentially look after a gaggle of young kids all day. How will that effect their employers etc, etc. Not every parent can provide the necessary level of socialisation or education by themselves - it isn't just something that's eminently doable right across the board en masse for an indefinite period of time. Not everybody has the means.

And I also think realistically the government felt that they had little choice but to stick to their guns as regards schools - and yes, being closed from March did stiffen their resolve. Parents wanted their kids back in school, kids wanted to go back. Imagine the absolute political firestorm that would have ensued if they'd closed the schools and said "don't worry provide them with a bit of socialisation and they should be okay for up to two years" - that would absolutely never fly in the real world, no matter how theoretically sound it may or may not be.

wakka12 wrote: »
    How is it going up in the 85+ group, less than 1% of Irish population is over 85. You'd think it would be easy to keep it away from such a small minority. We will now see deaths increase even as cases go way down which is quite disheartening because the whole point is to keep deaths down

I think it highlights that a "shield the vulnerable" strategy is unworkable. Sadly most people that age can't practice distancing as they often require close physical contact as a matter of routine. If it's in the community it will get to every age group.

They do need to look at the quality of PPE in care environments though, I don't think surgical masks, plastic gowns and single pairs of gloves is enough. Ventilation is also problematic in some of these places. Staffing levels are well short of what is required too. No easy answers unfortunately.

Arghus wrote: »
    I don't agree with your opinion on the benefits a, lets say, formal education provides for a child. I think it's a bit reductionist to be honest, but I don't really want to get into an argument of whether a child can do with or without school for up to a period. We could be here all night.

Is it essential is it non-essential? I think it's essential up to a point. Is it essential in the same way food and air is? Well, no, but is that what we're arguing here - semantics? About what constitutes essential in the most literal sense of the word.

Furthermore, I also think the question of schools is about more than just a child's education. There's also the wider considerations about how it effects the life of the parents. Will they be able to work if they have to potentially look after a gaggle of young kids all day. How will that effect their employers etc, etc. Not every parent can provide the necessary level of socialisation or education by themselves - it isn't just something that's eminently doable right across the board en masse for an indefinite period of time. Not everybody has the means.

And I also think realistically the government felt that they had little choice but to stick to their guns as regards schools - and yes, being closed from March did stiffen their resolve. Parents wanted their kids back in school, kids wanted to go back. Imagine the absolute political firestorm that would have ensued if they'd closed the schools and said "don't worry provide them with a bit of socialisation and they should be okay for up to two years" - that would absolutely never fly in the real world, no matter how theoretically sound it may or may not be.

Yes sure but by that logic the extremely invasive and destructive presence of covid in all our lives and the desire to stamp it down as much as practical should be the over riding "quality of life" argument and priority.

You are just arguing for a marginal improvement on an already untenable situation (which in effect hurts us all).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

From today......
    Michigan and Washington are the latest US states to bring in strict measures to try to curb the spread of Covid-19.

High schools and colleges are to halt on-site teaching while restaurants are prohibited from offering indoor dining in Michigan from Wednesday.

Indoor restaurant dining is also banned in Washington State, and gyms, cinemas, theatres and museums will close.

Education is essential. OK, will give you that one. But people a missing out on something here. Education can continue remotely, off site.

Of course we can't go there either for fear of the teaching unions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Luxembourg 1264.4
    Liechtenstein 1130.9
    Czechia 1112.4
    Austria 1042.9
    Slovenia 931.9
    Poland 877.1
    France 847.5
    Croatia 802.5
    Italy 777.3
    Portugal. 710.0
    Belgium 761.4
    Lithuania 681.4
    Hungary 661.8
    Bulgaria 631.2
    Spain. 581.4
    Romania 585.2
    Sweden 511.9
    Netherlands 508.6
    United Kingdom 501.8
    Slovakia 492.1
    Greece 310.3
    Germany 308.7
    Cyprus 298.6
    Denmark 255.5
    Latvia 229.7
    Estonia 200.2
    Norway 143.8
    Ireland 120.3
    Iceland. 83.8
    Finland 54.8

And yet we have one of the strictest lockdowns with little prospect of getting out of it and health experts sneering at our 'bad behaviour'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

Yeah you're comparing like for like.

2020 to 100s of years ago.

Would you agree humanity has improved massively since before the modern school system?

Hmmm I wonder why...

But education and the school system we have for over 100 years { childrmn crammed in a room all day) should not be equated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Wombatman wrote: »
    From today......

Education is essential. OK, will give you that one. But people a missing out on something here. Education can continue remotely, off site.

The national Boardband structure is brilliant, oh wait....
    Arghus gave an excellent response. I can't add anything further to his response.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

From today......

Most universities are doing this already. You can’t teach younger kids online it doesn’t work, we got an email a week for our smallie last lockdown, that was it. They are loving being back in school, it really can’t be underestimated. I would hate to seem them out of school again, they are missing seeing their pals outside of school so I’d hate them to miss out again. It’s not just the educational side but the social, especially for the younger ones.

And yet we have one of the strictest lockdowns with little prospect of getting out of it and health experts sneering at our 'bad behaviour'.

You can't hazard a guess at why that might be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Wonder how the ski season will go this year..

Doubt there will be any school trips from here anyway. But what about the adults?

Must be terrible not being able to go on the piste. Lol sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

It's been a clown show for a long while but each day takes the cake more and more.

So we are in Level 5 lockdown, all non essentials closed, schools opened - and cases still very high.

So.....I guess it wasn't the coffee shops spreading the virus. I guess it wasn't the bookstore. I guess it wasn't everything that is now closed.

Is there really no one holding these people accountable? Is the EU aware of this level of total incompetence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

pc7 wrote: »
    Most universities are doing this already. You can’t teach younger kids online it doesn’t work, we got an email a week for our smallie last lockdown, that was it. They are loving being back in school, it really can’t be underestimated. I would hate to seem them out of school again, they are missing seeing their pals outside of school so I’d hate them to miss out again. It’s not just the educational side but the social, especially for the younger ones.

If they can spend most of their spare time dicking around of Minecraft or Fortnight they can manage online schooling for a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

But Arghus, do you see the fundamental problem with saying that it can be understood before saying it cannot be justified? Ask yourself why you think it’s understandable. It’s understandable because, ultimately, you know full well that people are penned in and just want some form of social outlet. We have crap weather, it’s winter, people are fed up and stressed. Going to grab a few takeaway pints with a couple of friends is a small respite from months of life being turned into mere existence.

Whatever one wants to say about its necessity, it’s the natural consequence of people’s ability to have social outlets be suppressed that they will simply crave a social outlet — it is simple human nature, regardless of how necessary it is. You may as well ask why people ever talk to eachother and why people ever make friends — it is part of our instinct. The problem with this latest idiotic example of outrage reactionism is that it only makes even more inevitable the very things people on here claim they want to avoid. The more people are prevented from doing these things, the more inevitable it is made that even light loosening of restrictions at Christmas will lead to an outpouring of peoples’ pent up desire to, basically, have a bit of craic and a taste of normality.

The hypocrisy laden in these decisions is sometimes head spinning. We are told house parties are a terrible issue and yet at every turn we seem determined to create the environment where even people long past the housepartying stage of their lives will fancy it. We are told we must suppress getting a feckin pint in a window and drinking it outside, all with the apparent goal in mind of getting numbers to such a point that we can open up more at Christmas — which only makes it more likely that the virus will spread all the more, only this time the young spreaders will be more likely to be around older relatives.

Yes, in the grand scheme of the universe, getting a takeaway pint doesn’t feature too highly in the hierarchy of needs — but the absolute strict necessity of something is not the only determining factor in saying whether a decision to ban it is stupid or disproportionate.

I always enjoy your contributions. You put thought into them unlike a lot of reactionaries in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,376 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

FFS.

There was always going to be a downward trend because there was less activity on movement to level 5.

The reason for the present concern is that the downward trend is now levelling off at 300-400 cases per day. . . In other words that's it . . further action must be taken to bring the caseload down further unless, of course, we are happy with these figures. If so then carry on. . .

The trajectory of the reduction was at its greatest in the first week in November because the schools were closed in the last week in October.

Your correlation does not equal causation is a daft quote designed to make yourself look clever.

So rates fell for several weeks despite schools being in, then schools are off for a week and there is a small increase (but too early to tell if that is an ongoing trend) and schools are the problem. You are drawing conclusions based on one week and ignoring all others.

If they can spend most of their spare time dicking around of Minecraft or Fortnight they can manage online schooling for a few weeks.

Yes and also maybe the smallies are loving being back at school but the rest of us are not loving the consequences of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Luxembourg 1264.4
    Liechtenstein 1130.9
    Czechia 1112.4
    Austria 1042.9
    Slovenia 931.9
    Poland 877.1
    France 847.5
    Croatia 802.5
    Italy 777.3
    Portugal. 710.0
    Belgium 761.4
    Lithuania 681.4
    Hungary 661.8
    Bulgaria 631.2
    Spain. 581.4
    Romania 585.2
    Sweden 511.9
    Netherlands 508.6
    United Kingdom 501.8
    Slovakia 492.1
    Greece 310.3
    Germany 308.7
    Cyprus 298.6
    Denmark 255.5
    Latvia 229.7
    Estonia 200.2
    Norway 143.8
    Ireland 120.3
    Iceland. 83.8
    Finland 54.8

We’ll never qualify with those rankings.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Well had just turned 6 and had never played either so doesn’t dick about as you suggest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Luxembourg 1264.4
    Liechtenstein 1130.9
    Czechia 1112.4
    Austria 1042.9
    Slovenia 931.9
    Poland 877.1
    France 847.5
    Croatia 802.5
    Italy 777.3
    Portugal. 710.0
    Belgium 761.4
    Lithuania 681.4
    Hungary 661.8
    Bulgaria 631.2
    Spain. 581.4
    Romania 585.2
    Sweden 511.9
    Netherlands 508.6
    United Kingdom 501.8
    Slovakia 492.1
    Greece 310.3
    Germany 308.7
    Cyprus 298.6
    Denmark 255.5
    Latvia 229.7
    Estonia 200.2
    Norway 143.8
    Ireland 120.3
    Iceland. 83.8
    Finland 54.8

Nice juxtaposition to the meltdown on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

Wonder how the ski season will go this year..

Doubt there will be any school trips from here anyway. But what about the adults?

Must be terrible not being able to go on the piste. Lol sorry

I'd love to be heading over, sadly just don't think its worth the risk or money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭lalababa

Eod100 wrote: »
    So conclusions changed based on new evidence? That's as it should be. Science can't be based on guestimating or speculating

Oohhh what a knockdown. It wasn't the real scientists.It was the pseudo scientist posters on here. Who said anybody saying c-19 was here before February was a simpleton.
    Pseudo scientists -0
    Dog on the street. -1
    Yee-haw