Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

First off, I am not anti vaccine at all.

However I hope the rollout will not take forever either. And then again it is (early days yet) only 90% effective on the latest data.

We have to be realistic, but continue to have hope. It will take longer than many think to get back to any kind of normal. Those who observed the restrictions for the sake of everyone will be wary for a long time.

The on street party goers are the vectors as are schoolkids IMO. Both cohorts more than likely asymptomatic. But I still hope for the best, and will do my best. Life is ok, can cope. Thanks for asking!

Only 90% effective, is that supposed to sound like a bad thing when around 60% might have been acceptable ??

90% effective would be better than anyone imagined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭KaneToad

jackboy wrote: »
    Sorry, but the majority are not following the restrictions. Almost no one is following the 5k rule and limiting visitors as per the rules. There is a great pretence going on.

I'd have to agree with this.

Which points to the other restrictions being the more effective measures at suppressing the spread. Working from home, indoor dining/drinking banned, essential shops only...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Sorry, but the majority are not following the restrictions. Almost no one is following the 5k rule and limiting visitors as per the rules. There is a great pretence going on.

Enough people are following enough of the restrictions to decrease infections though, otherwise our case numbers wouldn't have halved in the last few weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Enough people are following enough of the restrictions to decrease infections though, otherwise our case numbers wouldn't have halved in the last few weeks?

it seems to me like irish people are only capable of following any level of lockdown for a few weeks at most before getting fed up and going back to their usual routine, particularly younger people. so we're probably going to be in this version of level 5 until next summer at this stage.

lemonTrees wrote: »
    Just listening to a expert in the field there on BBC world news who is saying the restrictions in Europe aren't enough and it will be next October at the earliest before life can return to normal. People need to prepare themselves mentally now for a very difficult few months ahead.

German finance minister reckons 4-5 months of ‘severe’ restrictions. Which sounds about right to me. Common sense. We’ll be coming into nicer weather and hopefully most of our vulnerable will be vaccinated, even though it won’t be until much later in the year that vaccine is widely distributed such that we have ‘herd immunity’. I’d expect pretty much normality after Easter, albeit still wearing masks for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Almost no one or almost no one you know ? Because most people I know are sticking to the 5 kms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,852 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

So the rising incidence in older people means we must now blame older people?

No, we simply examine the manner of transmission...in each case.

If a person say 85, goes off to spend the afternoon with friends, playing cards, no distancing, gets covid, you don’t blame the AA, Cadbury’s chocolate or fox’s glacier mints... you blame the people not adhering to restrictions and enabling through their behaviors the transmission of a potentially deadly virus... if that’s older people, they get the blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Shelly66 wrote: »
    There has been bars doing takeaway pints and this is issue as people drinking in the vicinity of these bars , one near dublin dockland I know of . Am really annoyed by what's happening in temple bar we all want to get back to level 2 at least.

Yes , I was posting last night about this .
    Temple Bar, Portobello, Dunlaoghaire , South William St., this has been going on for the lat 2 weekends .
    Not just a few people either , crowds gathered mixing and socialising , and by another post it is Cork as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Strumms wrote: »
    No, we simply examine the manner of transmission...in each case.

If a person say 85, goes off to spend the afternoon with friends, playing cards, no distancing, gets covid, you don’t blame the AA, Cadbury’s chocolate or fox’s glacier mints... you blame the people not adhering to restrictions and enabling through their behaviors the transmission of a potentially deadly virus... if that’s older people, they get the blame.
    You and I both know that's not going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭mcburns07

German minister reckons 4-5 months of tight restrictions. Which sounds about right to me. Common sense. We’ll be coming into nicer weather and hopefully most of our vulnerable will be vaccinated, even though it won’t be until much later in the year that vaccine is widely distributed such that we have ‘herd immunity’. I’d expect pretty much normality after Easter, albeit still wearing masks for a while

Can't see it tbh, feeling fairly despondent this weekend about our chances of returning to 'normal' anytime soon.

It wouldn't surprise me at all if it was 2022 before any semblance of normality returned. Grim.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Yes , I was posting last night about this .
    Temple Bar, Portobello, Dunlaoghaire , South William St., this has been going on for the lat 2 weekends .
    Not just a few people either , crowds gathered mixing and socialising , and by another post it is Cork as well.

yup, saw a pic of a group of at least a hundred young people in cork city, no masks, all bunched up, giving zero fcuks.

it really doesn't seem to register with the young people that if they cop on we might get back to some level of normality, whereas the not giving a single **** means we have 6 more months of this ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,036 ✭✭✭jackboy

Not really, a lot of these restrictions are not relevant for controlling the virus. The spike a while ago was down to large gatherings indoors.

The end of the GAA club championships was a major issue in lots of counties. Those outbreaks have run their course.

We have outbreaks again in hospitals and nursing homes. If they are not sorted soon the level 5 unfortunately will be extended, to deflect again from the real issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭prunudo

igCorcaigh wrote: »

When the figures are low any increase is always going to look bad on a graph, Wicklow has been consistently in the bottom 3 for the past month.
    Last seven days are 18, 1, 2, 13, 8, 6, 11, 10 and a 69/100k figure.

Check Gavan Reilly's tweet for the other counties.

I can only tell by the people I know, family and friends...

They are, maybe because it’s in their extra interest being in 4 families there are asthma sufferers all be it one of them did get Covid and recover completely...

Unless you KNOW the majority it’s a bit of a step to claim that the majority are not following them...

By the nature of the restrictions those NOT following are a LOT more visible then those in the background who are.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

wadacrack wrote: »

Reading the majority of posts, it seems that most people in Cork think it's all a conspiracy. The people on twitter looking at this post anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

froog wrote: »
    it seems to me like irish people are only capable of following any level of lockdown for a few weeks at most before getting fed up and going back to their usual routine, particularly younger people. so we're probably going to be in this version of level 5 until next summer at this stage.

So you think retail, hotels and restaurants will be closed until next summer. Cases have halfed, hospital numbers are dropping fast, icu numbers are down but your right all us Irish are a shower of ***** while the rest of Europe are doing so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

yup, saw a pic of a group of at least a hundred young people in cork city, no masks, all bunched up, giving zero fcuks.

it really doesn't seem to register with the young people that if they cop on we might get back to some level of normality, whereas the not giving a single **** means we have 6 more months of this ****.

I know some of us sound like right Grinches, but you are right.

However, if there is any chance of a pint, a bit of craic and a possible shift, it will continue. In fairness if I was in my twenties again I'd probably be the same.

But it ain't helping us get back to any kind of life either. Freedom and being the rebel is great for them, but not for society overall, but they don't care.

And there is the problem really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Neil Prendeville is definitely not one to talk about following laws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

So the rising incidence in older people means we must now blame older people?

Why do you keep saying this when you know it's just wrong ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Leitrim my arse. They have had about 30 cases max in a fortnight. but sure look if the had 2 one day and 4 the next thats a 100% increase.;)

niallo27 wrote: »
    So you think retail, hotels and restaurants will be closed until next summer. Cases have halfed, hospital numbers are dropping fast, icu numbers are down but your right all us Irish are a shower of ***** while the rest of Europe are doing so well.

with schools open, and young people not giving a fcuk in general, yes i can't see any lifting of restrictions for at least 6 months to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,036 ✭✭✭jackboy

Strumms wrote: »
    I can only tell by the people I know, family and friends...

They are, maybe because it’s in their extra interest being in 4 families there are asthma sufferers all be it one of them did get Covid and recover completely...

Unless you KNOW the majority it’s a bit of a step to claim that the majority are not following them...

By the nature of the restrictions those NOT following are a LOT more visible then those in the background who are.

I live in a rural area and pretty much no one is following the 5 k rule. The general attitude is that the rule is nonsense. The guards are not enforcing it either. Maybe it is different in urban areas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Boris is in self isolation again.

It will come as no surprise to anyone who read my posts when he first got it that I greatly hope he is reinfected.

Not just because I rate him as the third or maybe fourth worst person in the world, but because this idea that only thirteen people have been reinfected is utter bullsh!t.

3 hours ago :

Dr Tony Holohan, the Chief Medical Officer, said the average daily five-day case count "is rising and is now over 400 per day".

"This is a worrying development which has persisted for the last few days," he said.

"We are seeing a number of things which concern us. There are examples of small numbers of people congregating for social purposes and simply ignoring the important public health messages. They are putting our collective progress at risk.

"We are also seeing number of outbreaks across the country. These include outbreaks in association with funerals. We understand that this is a difficult time for families but it is really important that we do everything we can to avoid the circumstances which promote transmission of the virus," said Dr Holohan.

I know some of us sound like right Grinches, but you are right.

However, if there is any chance of a pint, a bit of craic and a possible shift, it will continue. In fairness if I was in my twenties again I'd probably be the same.

But it ain't helping us get back to any kind of life either. Freedom and being the rebel is great for them, but not for society overall, but they don't care.

And there is the problem really.

There will be no craic as you call it until there is a vaccine and people know this so will just make do with whatever bit of craic they can have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Why do you keep saying this when you know it's just wrong ?

Except the incidence rate in older people is still increasing unfortunately.

Not sure whats wrong by stating that its growing

with schools open, and young people not giving a fcuk in general, yes i can't see any lifting of restrictions for at least 6 months to be honest.

We can't afford that and public won't accept it whether you think its for the best or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

People socialising in the open air is quite safe, if you have proof of parties use that please, I think we still have better numbers than would have been projected when we started level 5 now, numbers were better and that is disappointing as our expectations changed, overall irish people need some credit for having some of the best numbers in Europe

People socialising in open air is not safe, they should still social distance by 2 metres..... been the case for months now....

I don't go around checking on house parties but lets all be honest, they are happening.

I agree the Majority of Irish people deserve the credit and the majority of Irish people do get the credit they deserve, however the low numbers compared to Europe are due to our Government putting in the restrictions earlier than most of Europe.

So overall we agree that the majority of people are doing good and deserve the credit, however those minority who aren't deserve to also get the blame they deserve. It is them stopping us from getting go level 2 or less for Christmas, not the governments fault.

We can't afford that and public won't accept it whether you think its for the best or not.

But the public will accept it when they see a handful of people from respectful circles of life being given a criminal record and 10 days in the joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

I am really hoping for the best, that the vaccine will be available soon, however, I fear Groundhog Day is just going to continue. We’ll be in rolling lockdowns till at least the end of April, moving between level 3 and 5 depending on the covid infection rates. It’s so hard to accept that, so much has been taken from us already in terms of quality of our lives. I genuinely don’t believe what Nphet are spinning us either. It just seems this will run on and on for a lot longer than anyone wants it to. Just fed up of covid now, fed up hearing of it, reading stats, listening to Holohan and the government, I’m kinda numb to it at this stage and nothing actually surprises me, nor do I care anymore.