Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,356 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Your contempt for publicans in the throes of despair is all too apparent, I'll be having a pint in December regardless of your impotent posturings from the sanctuary of your bedroom. And yes, there will be an open contravention of restrictions if Tony doesn't relent in three weeks whether you like it or not.

Got me confused with someone else buddy, I've been openly in favour of the pubs been reopened, but if the publicans didn't rebel in June, July or Dublin in September, why would they rebel now? Why is this the tipping point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,719 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Could we see a common ground and pubs will be allowed open with restrictions BUT 'they have too close Dec 23rd, Xmas Eve, Stephens Day, New Years eve and New Years day' ???

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Could we see a common ground and pubs will be allowed open with restrictions BUT 'they have too close Dec 23rd, Xmas Eve, Stephens Day, New Years eve and New Years day' ???

Wouldn't be worth a publicans while opening the doors if that was the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,634 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

PTH2009 wrote: »

What, so we can have maximum number of house parties on those days?

I know where will be safer, and its not some dodgy relatives gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,043 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Probably just me that can’t believe the obsession that’s gotten into Irish people about getting pubs open and drinking to excess.

Not much wonder hospitals have serious ongoing issues with alcohol related disease consuming so much of resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Where are yis having the office party lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,719 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Who is talking about drinking to excess?

yeah i was just want pubs to be open so i can have the freedom too go for a few. It may be hard to find one with the restrictions but too have the option is great

No way will they be shut all over Europe/UK for December, like in the summer they could be only closed here. Not good enough if that's the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭heffo500

The problem is the govt know the rules werent abided with at all when pubs that served food were allowed open.

It was a free for all in some pubs and with wet pubs closed, it further condensed people.

I think people need to face up to the reality that restrictions will not be lifted any time soon, nothing has changed until people start getting the vaccine.

With all the holly and ivy drinkers that come out at Christmas, Dublin would be a free for all, you just have the look at the crowds that were on Grafton Street the night before this lock down.

Angry towards the govt is unwarranted to a certain extent, they don't want to be in this situation any more than we do. They know the state can't afford this so it's a fine balance between keeping as much business open as we can safely so we don't end up in a full lockdown.

The LVA will begin a campaign starting tomorrow to have pubs open in December so it'll be interesting to see the feedback from the government.

_Brian wrote: »
    Probably just me that can’t believe the obsession that’s gotten into Irish people about getting pubs open and drinking to excess.

Not much wonder hospitals have serious ongoing issues with alcohol related disease consuming so much of resources.

I can walk into aldi and buy 24 cans of lager for 17 quid or 25 quid if I'm feeling fancy, I don't want pubs open so I can pay 150 for the same effect.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭MelbourneMan

MM and Leo should tell him in no uncertain terms to f*ck off. Two days now where consecutive case numbers are under 300, one-quarter the tallies of three weeks ago. We have made the necessary sacrifices, now the Government need to hold up their end of the bargain. The pubs simply have to re-open on December 1st, subject to social distancing guidelines. Most of these businesses are hanging on by a thread, rates and bills don't disappear behind closed doors. And the mental health of people throughout Ireland is being pushed to breaking point, most of us have had quite enough of Tony's glorified power trip and will rise up accordingly if reasonable concessions are not made soon.

Hello. The thinking that there is a bargain with the government is quite fallacious. The actions taken are in the interest of all in Ireland. It is not a gratuitous inflicting of hardship with a promise of a reward at the end of it. It may be difficult, but the most expert analysis is that it is the least worst option available to us.

And more of a personal opinion this one, but I think the mental health angle is pushed far too much and too frequently by those many looking to find fault or expression frustration with the restrictions - boredom, disruption, unhappiness, and even financial stress, should not be mistaken for the serious issue of mental health difficulties.

Hello. The thinking that there is a bargain with the government is quite fallacious. The actions taken are in the interest of all in Ireland. It is not a gratuitous inflicting of hardship with a promise of a reward at the end of it. It may be difficult, but the most expert analysis is that it is the least worst option available to us.

And more of a personal opinion this one, but I think the mental health angle is pushed far too much and too frequently by those many looking to find fault or expression frustration with the restrictions - boredom, disruption, unhappiness, and even financial stress, should not be mistaken for the serious issue of mental health difficulties.

How's she cuttin'. The government should be alert to the blunt reality that they will be given a flying kick out of Dáil Éireann in the next election if they behave as passive vessels to Tony Holohan and his messianic complex. And there you go again appropriating my sentiments on mental health, all proportion is lost with you. The strain is showing now on your lofty and detached government insider persona, on your bike before the wheels fall off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,468 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Your whole post is personal opinion, not sure why you keep posting as if your in a position of knowledge here with inside info, happening across multiple threads. Quite frankly its embarrassing that your continuing with this sort of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭heffo500

How's she cuttin'. The government should be alert to the blunt reality that they will be given a flying kick out of Dáil Éireann in the next election if they behave as passive vessels to Tony Holohan and his messianic complex. And there you go again appropriating my sentiments on mental health, all proportion is lost with you. The strain is showing now on your lofty and detached government insider persona, on your bike before the wheels fall off.

Say we give the current government a flying kick out, who do you propose we vote in as now that two big parties are in bed with each other? To me there is no actual alternative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Dont know if your serious or having a laugh but lets imagine your serious. Only if they are in the vacinity of someone who has the virus. You do not and I repeat, do not, catch the common cold virus from just cold weather!

I think we all know you will not catch the common cold from cold weather. However you will catch a chill from sitting outside a pub in December for 2 hours which is probably going to effect you more. I sat outside a pub the last Friday before lockdown and after an hour and a half my teeth were chattering. No one wants this, at least lets inside for a couple of weeks before Xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

_Brian wrote: »

It's a terrible shame to think that people wanting the pubs to reopen are going to drink to excess and have a serious problem with alcohol.

It says alot about your own relationship with alcohol. Don't fear. Help is available.
    https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/list/5/addiction/drugshivhelpline/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭AssetBacked2

How can pubs open on the 4/5th of December if they are only given a week's notice? It will be bedlam with bookings but I'm wondering how they will manage to find staff to fill shifts at the drop of the hat? Is it the case that the part-timers are on standby at the moment waiting to get the nod or how is it working? Also, what about stock?

It beggars belief that the government do not have any sort of plan post-lockdown which they can convey to people and businesses, Like with travel, it should be pretty clear when we are at each of the five levels so then, as cases come down like they have (dramatically) people can see "oh, good; 90 per 100,000 in Dublin, that means level 2/3 most likely". It is a complete farce and the health crisis is disproportionately given attention to the ignorance of the severe social and economic crisis simmering.

It is not a coincidence that TH returning has lead to this lockdown with no exit strategy. He took a leave of absence during the midst of the pandemic and missed out on valuable weeks of data and discussion regarding reopening. It is so unprofessional of him to take such a leave and assume the senior role again, despite the tragic personal circumstances which are ongoing at home, arguably explaining his perpetually depressive demeanour.

If pubs open at the start of December then everyone needs to remember that when they can't visit their families at Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,081 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Friend of mine works in a prominent dublin pub

They were told a few days ago it’s looking very likely they will be closed completely until some time in late spring 2021 depending on vaccine

If pubs open at the start of December then everyone needs to remember that when they can't visit their families at Christmas.

TH, is that you? Dr Doomer

A lot of you just need to come to the reality that you can't have it every way.

Anyway, it's irrelevant as things have come too far to undo them by opening pubs. They'll remain closed.

When should they open (ie level 2/3)? How many cases average during a week or two week period?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

When the pubs do reopen I think it should be 24 hours a day like Penny's so we can make up for lost time.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

I cant see the government giving into to the desperate vintners and doltish alchos this time.

It's clear to even the most cognitively challenged now that the pubs are way too high risk.

Hopefully they can continue supporting them until april/may when they can reopen under safer conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

I cant see the government giving into to the desperate vintners and doltish alchos this time.

It's clear to even the most cognitively challenged now that the pubs are way too high risk.

Hopefully they can continue supporting them until april/may when they can reopen under safer conditions.

how are they high risk, where is the evidence of a spike in cases that has supposedly came from pubs, there is none whatsoever, NPHET/Holohan has had it in for pubs and foreign travel since the very start, even the most cyncical of people can see this.

xmas wont be the same if you cant go to the pub, we've done enogh sitting in this year and people are sick to the back teeth of this and NPHET and their economy wrecking decisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

I detest this government, they are the worst ive ever seen in my life, but if they had any backbone at all they would ignore NPHET and go to level 2, people have suffered very badly this year the knock on effect from all of this will be worse than this virus ever will be, more and more pubs will just close completely if they cant open in December, not that bothers overlord Holohan who is effectively running the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭opinionated3

What's the difference between me going to a socially distanced small rural pub complete with all the signage and perspex screening paraphernalia and going to work each morning in a factory with over 100 workers where social distancing is negligible and the same signage and screening is erected in the canteen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭gigantic09

Was only in a pub once since March (that brief window when normal pubs were allowed open). It was very well marshled ré social distancing, masks etc. As previous poster said, many of are working since last March every day in environments that are often not up to this standard. If they want to they should be allowed reopen (many publicans have probably given up though at this stage). If not allowed open December, no point opening till paddies weekend. No doubt people will then say its too dangerous then as well.

What's the difference between me going to a socially distanced small rural pub complete with all the signage and perspex screening paraphernalia and going to work each morning in a factory with over 100 workers where social distancing is negligible and the same signage and screening is erected in the canteen?

Because the pubs aren't socially distanced. Everyone was on here doing the big fella glorifying the fact that they were operating as normal back when they did open. Few empty pizza boxes or fake chipper menus - we're all fooling the system sticking it to the government like right lads altogether.

If they operated properly they'd still be open. Everyone just wants to blame everything else while taking zero responsibility on themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭DSN

Guess you'll be told your work is essential, whereas going to the pub is for pleasure & sure you can forget about that for now arent we in the middle of a pandemic!
    I cant see a lot of pubs just opening for Christmas, a lot of cost & effort to set up to work crazy hours only to be told in Jan to pack it all away again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

we should ask MelbourneMan when the are the pubs going to reopen. He seems to have the inside track:)