Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

support of Biden because some random farmer lad said his great great Grandfather was 3rd cousins with Bidens great great grandmother in the 1800,s so hes a fully fledged mayo man now.

*Rolls eyes*

Not sure there’s any need for that. The random farm lad is a buddy of mine. Why shouldn’t they celebrate being related to the president elect?
    Imagine if Biden visits Mayo, it’ll be some boost for Ballina and it’s tourism

Wouldn’t be confident of that team winning tomorrow. Too light around the middle third for my liking
    I’d be very surprised if both Walsh and ROD start in the half forward line and Plunkett and McLaughlin in the half back line.

Need a massive performance from our full forward line tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

If the rainfall in Roscommon town is anything similar to that here the Hyde will do very well to hold up today.

Forecast is decent enough.

No sign of substitutes named as yet.

Do or die.We know for certain the team will leave it all out on the pitch today.

Muigheo Abu.

Was out for a run with a few lads this morning

We agreed that if we’re here at 3.30pm saying that we were defensively naive and didn’t protect our FB line that it’s time for Horan to go

Hopefully he’s learned from the Tyrone game. IMO we have the forwards to win this with Cillian playing the way he is

Green&Red wrote: »
    Was out for a run with a few lads this morning

We agreed that if we’re here at 3.30pm saying that we were defensively naive and didn’t protect our FB line that it’s time for Horan to go

Hopefully he’s learned from the Tyrone game. IMO we have the forwards to win this with Cillian playing the way he is

I fear you're in for a disappointment,everything points in the direction of him setting up the team going man for man.

Horan mantra is playing on the front foot,our forwards will score more than yours.Our full back line does appear very vulnerable.Harrison's absence is massive,I think Eoin O Donoghue has a lot to offer but I'm not the person observing see him at training....I worry more so Roscommon have a greater physicality around the middle 8 and it may cost us.

Roscommon have a lot of quality in the forwards department.The Smiths,Cox,Cregg.

Lennon and the Murtaghs.

TBH I would not be calling for James Horan if we see a performance today irrespective of the result.Time is required to rebuild a team very much in transition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

I echo a lot of what ye are saying
    I called it early that he has just taking a weird set on EOD. It makes no sense but Horan can be like that .
    The middle sector has been our platform for years. We have bullied most teams. Now we look very light in that area. Not much point having AOS in there if we can’t win the ball to give it into him. I hope he starts midfield.
    Horan won’t go if we lose and I wouldn’t be calling for it either tbh. I had hoped he would be less tactically naive this time around however . If we could blend himself and Rochford together we would have the perfect manager ! But like our keepers :D

All that said
    Mayo by 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

We will go short all day long today which is another problem if Clark isn't on song today.

naughto wrote: »
    We will go short all day long today which is another problem if Clark isn't on song today.

Apparently Hennelly is back...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

km79 wrote: »
    Apparently Hennelly is back...........

Is he?

I'd heard from pretty reliable sources that he walked after the Donegal challenge game. He'd just been informed that Horan was going with Clarke for the Galway game and then he didn't come down for training on that Tuesday.

Be delighted though if some sense has come into it and he's back in the fold.

Is he?

I'd heard from pretty reliable sources that he walked after the Donegal challenge game. He'd just been informed that Horan was going with Clarke for the Galway game and then he didn't come down for training on that Tuesday.

Could be BS
    I heard the same as you and assumed that was that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭muddle84

He is the number 2 today I'm afraid.... so much for that!!

Robbie, Swanny, Zippy, Boyle, Plunkett, Brickenden, Carr, Flynn, Moran, Coen, McLoughlin.

Nice mix in the subs.

Fir Ionaid

Robert Hennelly
    Padraig O Hora
    Michael Plunkett
    Rory Brickenden
    Colm Boyle
    Keith Higgins
    Jordan Flynn
    Mark Moran
    Kevin Mc Loughlin
    Darren Coen
    James Carr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Panrich

Robbie, Swanny, Zippy, Boyle, Plunkett, Brickenden, Carr, Flynn, Moran, Coen, McLoughlin.

Nice mix in the subs.

Not much to shore up the middle there if we need to make a change.

Panrich wrote: »
    Not much to shore up the middle there if we need to make a change.

Flynn could do a job there.i hope where all wrong on loftus and that he plays out if his skin

Nice mix in the subs.

We are desperately short in midfield
    Madness imo to be moving our best midfielder into FF now

km79 wrote: »
    We are desperately short in midfield
    Madness imo to be moving our best midfielder into FF now

He doesn't have the legs for it any more and the ground will be wet as sh1te

No new midfielders jumped out at me from all the club championship games I watched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Panrich

naughto wrote: »
    Flynn could do a job there.i hope where all wrong on loftus and that he plays out if his skin

I could see that or Diarmuid moving there if Conor needs to be replaced but if we’re looking at replacing Ruane for any reason, I’d be worried. As someone else said, AOS might get bogged down around the middle now and the only other option would be moving Coen out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Panrich wrote: »
    I could see that or Diarmuid moving there if Conor needs to be replaced but if we’re looking at replacing Ruane for any reason, I’d be worried. As someone else said, AOS might get bogged down around the middle now and the only other option would be moving Coen out.

Keegan wouldn't be lost out around the middle. Did great job against the rossies there some years ago albeit he was in prime condition back then.

McLoughlin in for Walsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

No new midfielders jumped out at me from all the club championship games I watched.

I thought the same. Jason Gibbons and Conor O'Shea were the 2 best I saw.

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    I thought the same. Jason Gibbons and Conor O'Shea were the 2 best I saw.

Dark times !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

This is going to be a struggle, but enough about listening to Dessie!

Dessie Dolan must be the worst commentator on telly

Clearly a free inside Conroy for that first point

PARlance wrote: »
    This is going to be a struggle, but enough about listening to Dessie!

Snap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,622 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Breeze doesnt seem as bad as theyre making out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Midfield definitely an issue

Getting destroyed in midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

Can anyone break a ball at midfield.