Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 25/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Need to steady the league results and forget about the EL

We can't steady the league results when we're getting hammered by a 2nd string Sparta team.

This isn't a case of concentrating on one competition over another, the team is a shambles this season. Not one area of the team is playing to a consistent level and confidence looks to be shot.

Any well drilled team is capable to tearing us apart. If it was any other season Lennon would be gone, the board might decide to stick with him if they haven't been working on a replacement but it's looking less likely he can turn this around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Surely the failed Bolton & Hibs manager won't survive this. Get rid before it's too late. He won't turn it around

You might want to revisit hes record at Hibs there!

And I'm sure the 5 time league winner will get time to turn things around

Who would you replace him with as a matter of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,037 ✭✭✭Soups123

Either Lenny has lost the dressing room or the pressure of 10 in a row is killing them

Celtic haven’t found there way at all this season labouring to wins and the performance against Rangers was diabolical

Something has to change fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

No team has conceded more than us in the whole Europa league.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Have to think now that Lennon is on borrowed time. Simply can't continue to keep getting results like that.

Duffy and Bitton though, sweet Jesus, and not even Forster there to bail out the odd error. I've always hated seeing Bitton at CB, I just don't see him bringing anything to that position. Frimpong a bit naïve at times, and cost a goal tonight. Very few pass marks out there, and I've said it before, but Laxalt must be thinking to himself "what the f**k did I do to deserve this". Only player out there who showed a bit of guile. Moi had some promising touches but should have done better. Ntcham, dreadful. Edouard, I don't know where his head is at these days, but he shouldn't be starting.

More tappy tappy side to side stuff for a lot of the 2nd half, until the young lads who haven't played a league game all month decide to rip us a new one again and score their 3rd and 4th.

Everything needs to be thrown at the league now, but it's not looking good. A few dropped points and it is all over realistically. Our problem now is that every team - literally every team - that plays against us knows how soft we are defensively, and will play us home or away full of confidence. A few draws and the league is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭polarbearhead

Pogue eile wrote: »
    You might want to revisit hes record at Hibs there!

And I'm sure the 5 time league winner will get time to turn things around

Who would you replace him with as a matter of interest?

He lost the dressing room at hibs, won 5 leagues with no challenge really.

I don't know who to replace him with but things are getting worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,847 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Spot the ball competition

Em-F0-YKa-XYAEn2-1a.jpg

One win in 6 games isn’t acceptable. 13 goals conceded. Three home defeats in a row. We’re breaking records this season for all the wrong reasons. Currently our worst run since 1990!!

He lost the dressing room at hibs, won 5 leagues with no challenge really.

I don't know who to replace him with but things are getting worse

Well he took Hibs from third in the championship to third in the SPL and qualified for Europe, how in anyones logic is that a failure?

Getting Hibs out of the Championship is hardly a great managerial achievement. Did well in the SPL the following season alright but then it all imploded.

RoryMac wrote: »
    Getting Hibs out of the Championship is hardly a great managerial achievement. Did well in the SPL the following season alright but then it all imploded.

They were in the championship for 3 years, I completely disagree, what he did with Hibs was imo a very good achievement, certainly not a "failure"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭henke

Regardless of opinions on whether Lennon is a good manager or not he needs to start getting positive results soon. It doesn't matter how good a manager you even the best ones get sacked when results aren't there eg Ancelotti at Bayern. Mourinho multiple times.

henke wrote: »
    Regardless of opinions on whether Lennon is a good manager or not he needs to start getting positive results soon. It doesn't matter how good a manager you even the best ones get sacked when results aren't there eg Ancelotti at Bayern. Mourinho multiple times.

Agreed, next 5-6 league games are must win, hes on his last chance now and things need to turn around very quickly , until someone puts forward a realistic alternative i still think he is the right man for the job

The only reason he got the job is because he was free, and the only reason fans accept him is because of his address.
    Ronnie Deila got ran for alot less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Things haven't been right all season. Starting with Leigh Griffiths not having the professionalism to be fit for the start of it. Then the fall out with the Bolingoli covid breach. Then all the speculation about Eduards possible move and him and others subsequently getting covid and missing quite a few matches including the first Old Firm game. Throw in Forrest's long term injury. The poor form of Ajeti and Duffy since their arrival. The demise of Scott Brown. Lots of other players not playing well.

The miserable European form. The woeful Old Firm loss. The manager looking more unable to turn things around every week. Poxy coronavirus and no fans. And all this for Celtic's biggest season in a long time and the chance for bragging rights for decades to come. We can only hope there is some sort of massive turn of form but its not looking good.

It's come from the same place as every other performance this season. Deluded beyond belief

https://twitter.com/CelticFC/status/1324477888477958150?s=19

Agreed, next 5-6 league games are must win, hes on his last chance now and things need to turn around very quickly , until someone puts forward a realistic alternative i still think he is the right man for the job

Do you honestly see Lennon turning this around and getting the team back on track with a run of 5 or 6 wins?

I can't see it myself, there are very few positives in the team at present to see where we'll get some consistency.

Laxalt has been decent, Frimpong excellent going forward but poor at the back and Griff starting to look sharp, apart from that it's a sh!tshow

They were in the championship for 3 years, I completely disagree, what he did with Hibs was imo a very good achievement, certainly not a "failure"

Any manager would've been expected to get Hibs up that season, Hearts and Rangers had gone up the previous years and Hibs were left as the big fish in a small pond.

Next four games all away, motherwell hibs Sparta and millan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

US2 wrote: »

And Rangers next four all at Ibrox. Hamilton and Aberdeen in league and two in Europe.

If anything the gap will widen over the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,596 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Had to laugh when the Irish t.v. analysis said that Celtic will be disappointed as Sparta were the weakest team in the group.

It's very clear they aren't.

RoryMac wrote: »
    Do you honestly see Lennon turning this around and getting the team back on track with a run of 5 or 6 wins?

I can't see it myself, there are very few positives in the team at present to see where we'll get some consistency.

Laxalt has been decent, Frimpong excellent going forward but poor at the back and Griff starting to look sharp, apart from that it's a sh!tshow

Before tonight I actually thought yes that there had been signs of improvement in the last two games, but tonight was shocking. I just dont see the point in getting rid of Lennon when not a single credible alternative has been put forward???

Yeah I hoped rather than believed he could do it before tonight but not anymore, I just can't see where a run of form is coming from in this side.

I've no idea about an alternative at the minute but it has to be something the board are looking at in the background. As someone said above our next 4 games are away and I don't see how he survives that with how we're playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Draw , Draw , Loss , Loss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The only reason he got the job is because he was free, and the only reason fans accept him is because of his address.
    Ronnie Deila got ran for alot less.

How many trebles did Ronny win??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The alternative would be a manager that does tactics and doesn't keep picking players who cost us games. I'm sure the overpaid suits at the club can find someone who fits that description and if not, they can feck off as well.

Just a few years ago we managed to get Brendan Rodgers as manager. To suggest the best we can get is someone who got binned by Bolton and Hibs is ridiculous.

Brendan Rodgers? The failed Watford and Reading manager??

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Draw , Draw , Loss , Loss

Win, win, loss, loss.

Keep the faith! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭henke

Who are the alternatives that are available? I hear some people touting Eddie Howe but I am unsure myself. He plays a nice brand of football but his teams shipped a lot of goals and he squandered some money on flops.

The alternative would be a manager that does tactics and doesn't keep picking players who cost us games. I'm sure the overpaid suits at the club can find someone who fits that description and if not, they can feck off as well.

Just a few years ago we managed to get Brendan Rodgers as manager. To suggest the best we can get is someone who got binned by Bolton and Hibs is ridiculous.

Could we have a name maybe??

And the Bolton and Hibs quip is beyond silly.

Hibs as I have already pointed out he brought from the Championship to the Europa League in one season and they were one of the best teams in the SPL. He left by mutual agreement for non-footballing reasons.

Bolton, the club was a sh*t show, the club was in financial ruin and the players weren't paid for the last 6 months he was there, its not by accident that they are in the fourth tier of English football now. Lennon's biggest error here was taking the job inn the first place.

Lennon is under serious pressure and has serious questions to answer over the current form of the team, but this attempt to re-write history is laughable. A large cohort of fans didn't want Lennon back at the club and have been sitting on their hands for the last two seasons waiting for a chance to stick the knife in.

Lenny has been at the club for a total of 12 seasons and been a huge part of our most successful period ever and deserves better.

henke wrote: »
    Who are the alternatives that are available? I hear some people touting Eddie Howe but I am unsure myself. He plays a nice brand of football but his teams shipped a lot of goals and he squandered some money on flops.

It's hard for any one on here to name someone, we don't know how much the club will spend, or who's available. I think anyone coming in would give the players a lift now. They don't like Lennon and won't improve . I'd t ake Steve Clarke. Decent job at killie and seems to have turned the Scottish team around. Howe did a fantastic job at Bournemouth until he had money to spend.

I'm not saying I want Clarke btw, but anyone will be better than Lennon now, when u lose the dressing room there's no getting it back