Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline Lockdown: a second squirt will keep dat scrolling finger safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

dvcireland wrote: »
    Ray Darcy...A Life at the Sound Desk - A beginners dummy's guide to radio production.

FYP, caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭bmorrissey

Joe took a beating today, has a lot of wounds to tend to tonight...now to move on to D'Arcy being smug about his new book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

Best show in a long time. Good to see Duffy getting it in the neck for a change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

gmisk wrote: »
    Ah here.

Your saying the catholic church needs to put out the begging bowl? They have billions sorry utter rubbish.

It costs money to run a parish however you think things work.

Would they arrest people going to mass if the churches decided to open regardless?

Churches are open. Anyone can go in an pray.

Its the lack of Mass thats giving some people withdrawal symptoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,898 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Time does really fly when your listening to this rubbish in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,255 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Would they arrest people going to mass if the churches decided to open regardless?

If they started charging for the body of Christ they'd probably slip in under the take away food clause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭golondrinas

dvcireland wrote: »
    allelujah-can-i-get-an-amen.jpg

Remember the guy years ago who went up in a tower🰠and said God told him not to come down until he got 6 million dollars💰. The rednecks of middle America paid up. I kid you not.

It costs money to run a parish however you think things work.
    I am well aware of that....but the parish is part of the overall church no?
    Surely they have cash reserves, from bingo, the whist, the collection plates etc.

They should be supported by the larger church when they have billions in the bank. They are already tax exempt.
    The vatican bank has at least 8 billion in assets (that was 2015)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

I only got the start and bits and pieces but the show is an ongoing parody of the original idea now. The topics are chosen by de brutish presenter and they force people to ring in and then try and ambush them. Plus everyone except de crazies just laugh at the whole thing. God save us Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭golondrinas

Ah here.

Your saying the catholic church needs to put out the begging bowl? They have billions sorry utter rubbish.

Sell a couple of paintings out of the Vatican. Sorted for another few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,239 ✭✭✭✭walshb

If it's law breaking I should hope so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭boardise

walshb wrote: »
    If it's law breaking I should hope so...

We might yet see the first Covid martyrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I see I missed GOLD of some description. Should I subject myself to the whole show or just de GOLD bit and dat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

That school bus driver must be wondering will he get on at all today.

I wonder what befell him :)

I see I missed GOLD of some description. Should I subject myself to the whole show or just de GOLD bit and dat?
    It was a lot of fun.
    Joe got serious stick!
    I would give it all a spin tbh one of the more fun recent shows imo

Did joe throw him under the bus so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Did joe throw him under the bus so to speak

Karma is a bitch,:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

He’ll be cast down tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,552 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Perhaps he got notified as being a close contact and Joe is banking it away until he gets the results of his test back.

Dats was DEFINITELY YIZZER who rang in as a Padre and insulted Joe.... ADMIT IT ;););)

I thought the researcher-receptionists rang de padre?

Dey have yer fone number, caller.

Wonder what'll be in tomorrow's fake email?

Dear Joe,

Yer show is only brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant wunderful fantastic and dat.

I do be do be do be do be lovin’ how you are so impartial and dat and brilliant at chairing de debates. I also love how you do take de (unfair) criticism so well - day padre was a bad bad bad bastard priest so to speak as they say. The cheek a him to make a sly insinuation like dat, you’d never do dat to a guest. And he rang you actually.

You are an amazing frontline wurker and your wurk is essential now more dan ever. You save more lives dan de doctors and nurses, and we need more of dem - if only de gubbermint wood listen to yer brilliant idea to let all de chislers do medicine we’d have more doctors in 6 years. Shure is it any wunder you’re paid more than the Taoiseach or a hospital consultant - you save more lives than all of them combined? It’s a raise you need.

Finally, can I just say how great it is to hear your dulcet tones every day and your unique pronunciations. Dare does be too much proper English spoken by poshos in dis country, we need more wurkin class peeple with wurkin class accents and wurkin class wurk ettics in power and dat.

Yours etc.,
    Mrs. Duffy,
    Dollymount.
    Expunge wrote: »
    Two ad breaks back to back?

What are the producers doing exactly for their 85000 Euro per year?

I suspect they’re on more than €85k, but even if they were “just” on €85k it’s not bad for max 3 hours a day (incl. a lunch break) is it?

Dey have yer fone number, caller.

They do, but I’m on the naughty list.

Dear Joe,

Yer show is only brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant wunderful fantastic and dat.

I do be do be do be do be lovin’ how you are so impartial and dat and brilliant at chairing de debates. I also love how you do take de (unfair) criticism so well - day padre was a bad bad bad bastard priest so to speak as they say. The cheek a him to make a sly insinuation like dat, you’d never do dat to a guest. And he rang you actually.

You are an amazing frontline wurker and your wurk is essential now more dan ever. You save more lives dan de doctors and nurses, and we need more of dem - if only de gubbermint wood listen to yer brilliant idea to let all de chislers do medicine we’d have more doctors in 6 years. Shure is it any wunder you’re paid more than the Taoiseach or a hospital consultant - you save more lives than all of them combined? It’s a raise you need.

Finally, can I just say how great it is to hear your dulcet tones every day and your unique pronunciations. Dare does be too much proper English spoken by poshos in dis country, we need more wurkin class peeple with wurkin class accents and wurkin class wurk ettics in power and dat.

Yours etc.,
    Mrs. Duffy,
    Dollymount.

I suspect they’re on more than €85k, but even if they were “just” on €85k it’s not bad for max 3 hours a day (incl. a lunch break) is it?

Mr Duffy himself could be a nurse or doctor. You arrive into hotspittle procedure room with a dose of ascites and he drains off dat big ball of fluid from yer belly on the right side, den according to his rule book of medical logic he places a trocar in your left abnormal and pours it back in dat hole. You tank him for his service on de way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

As me mother usta say God rest her "shur we soon won't be able to open our mouths"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

Thoroughly enjoyed Mr Duffy getting a well deserved few jabs today. Put me in great form for the rest of the day. He really doesn't take any kind of criticism well; wonder what the big baby will say about it tomorrow.

Well one thing you can bet your ass on is you're going to pay for that GOLD today.

I'm going to start an off the top of my head list of people Mr. Duffy has been rude to (please feel free to add to it):
    Cllr. Seamus Trainor ("Don't you be givin' me any of yer auld guff")
    Sean Deegan (Retired Immigration Officer)
    Michael O'Leary (on more than one occasion)
    Fr. Brian McKevitt (editor of Alive! Magazine)
    Blind Boy ("can you speak wit yer real voyis?")
    Prof. Michael Barry
    Police Commissioner Aloysio Falcao (De Rio Garda,"it's nodda croyme in Ireland"
    Chris Fogarty, Sculptor ("is everybody in America Chris" x 1,000)

Also, and I include these as even if you disagree completely with their thinking they don't deserve to be treated rudely by the supposedly impartial host who's not allowed to give his opinion......:rolleyes::
    Many Trump supporters
    Many IRA/Republican supporters

And:
    The countless number of callers who were told to hang on until after the break only never to be heard from again......

Does Shane O'Curry count?