Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA discussion thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Why did they take off paul Walsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

kerryjack wrote: »
    Why did they take off paul Walsh

He walked along the sideline about 10 minutes ago looked to be carrying a knock

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

At least we know why they changed the keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

U20's a shadow of the side that beat Cork.

Can't be too surprised considering the break in time since they have played together but that was turgid stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Same As

It was always going to be a huge ask for the 20's today even against an equally depleted Galway team.

Donal O Sullivan, Paul O Shea, Dan McCarthy & Darragh Lyne were huge losses.

For the seniors, thought Gavin White and David Clifford were our standout performers. Moran looking in great shape which is also encouraging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Same As wrote: »
    It was always going to be a huge ask for the 20's today even against an equally depleted Galway team.

For the seniors, thought Gavin White and David Clifford were our standout performers. Moran looking in great shape which is also encouraging.

It looks like we might have a decent bench add Stephen O'Brien, Jack Barry, Gavin Crowley, Adrian Spillane, Brian O' Beaglaoich; Kearney, Geany, O' Donoghue as well as a few more we should be a bit ahead of lastbyear

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Forge83

Same As wrote: »

Gavin White showed some blistering pace today. Back to his best and will be a massive player if championship goes ahead.
    Great to see Peter Crowley back and playing well.
    Any idea why no Jack Sherwood? Player of the county championship...
    Diarmuid O Connor turning into a complete midfielder. Moran played well but he would drive you mad with the same brain farts year on year, wild kicks at points and running into traffic too often. He needs to play the percentage plays better.
    I would say the same for Micheal Burns, very error prone.
    Jonathan Lyne and O Beagloaich come on and we fall apart defensively, I can’t for the life of me see what either of them offer at this level.
    Overall they seemed well drilled in their gameplay especially in the first half. Some of the players looked a lot stronger and better conditioned than previous seasons. Would be confident of beating Cork in Munster semi final based on today’s performance.

Best of luck to the Kerry Hurlers in their League Final today against Antrim.

Just underway now.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Half time down by a point, Mikey Boyle had a great goal chance, keeper mad a great save, gave away a soft goal at the other end as well

Seem to be doing well enough, only Antrim just keeping at arm's length.

Antrim goal straight after ours was the killer blow

Today's league results have largely gone in our favour - hard to see Donegal being too pushed about next weekend if they finish mid-table regardless, and they've Tyrone again in the Championship the week after.

Yeah it's in our hands. Win and we are League Champions. A draw is enough if Galway beat Dublin.

Dublin, Galway and Donegal can also win the League if we lose or draw.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Yeah it's in our hands. Win and we are League Champions. A draw is enough if Galway beat Dublin.

Dublin, Galway and Donegal can also win the League if we lose or draw.

Should this be the way the league is decided going forward, scrap the league final and just let the top team be league champions

At club level that was the plan for Division One of the county league this year until Covid said it wasnt in favour of that plan or any plan for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭wonga77

Thats the way it should be anyways, a team that finishes second should never be called league champions

Ya thats the way it shoul be the championship could be played over 4 weeks from start to finish hurling on a Saturday football on a sunday 32 teams week 1, 16 left after week 2 8 left after week 3 and 4 left after week 5 and alirland finals on week 5, put teams up in a hotel hotels are going to be closed anyway, let them car share to training pitch and matches and pay them well for the 5 weeks, how much has the gaa in the bank, probably millions and now is there time to spend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,496 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

wonga77 wrote: »
    Thats the way it should be anyways, a team that finishes second should never be called league champions
    The argument against that could be that 7 games is just too small a sample size to decide an outright winner.
    Added to that the fact that you have uneven numbers of home and away games.
    One strong team may have to play all the other strong teams away, while another may have the opportunity to play all the other strong teams at home.

If you had a 14 game league with home and away then the argument could certainly be made for top of the table being declared the winner.
    Plus a final, and qualifying for a final does add an extra level of intrigue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Ya thats the way it shoul be the championship could be played over 4 weeks from start to finish hurling on a Saturday football on a sunday 32 teams week 1, 16 left after week 2 8 left after week 3 and 4 left after week 5 and alirland finals on week 5, put teams up in a hotel hotels are going to be closed anyway, let them car share to training pitch and matches and pay them well for the 5 weeks, how much has the gaa in the bank, probably millions and now is there time to spend it.

Players are already put up in hotels? Or are you saying players should give up their jobs and families to live in a hotel for five weeks - for football?

keane2097 wrote: »
    Players are already put up in hotels? Or are you saying players should give up their jobs and families to live in a hotel for five weeks - for football?
    Ya that's what I am saying every senior county team should be put up in a hotel in there own county and kept give them access to what ever they want pools, gym, training pitch. It's only for a few weeks , might be a mad idea but can't see it being played any othr way.

All the players have jobs :confused:

Ya there is probably a few teacher's but a good few students as well, sure what's a few weeks in the big scheme of things, like what's the alternative 2020 championship cancelled and a year wasted for the lads

They should just play on the moon. No Covid there and be good for high fielding.

Dublin would object :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,631 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Ya there is probably a few teacher's but a good few students as well, sure what's a few weeks in the big scheme of things, like what's the alternative 2020 championship cancelled and a year wasted for the lads

If lads need to be staying in a hotel away from their friends and families to play Championship then it should just be cancelled.

Height of madness having lads drive up and down to Monaghan on their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Some of the pro sports are doing the hotel / bubble thing but it’s not viable in an amateur sport where the players have jobs.

I doubt the GAA would even consider it and if they did the level of opt outs for the season would be so huge that it would make a mockery of the competition.

I think Leo Varadkar sent a bit of a veiled message to the GAA last week in relation to the championship, stating that while it is a matter for the GAA they need to ensure played safety, can’t remember the exact words he used but it was something to the effect that players would need to cocoon in order to play the championship. I don’t see it going ahead personally, and if it does I don’t see it being completed.

It would bring team bonding to a whole different level that's for sure, could it be done yes it could, you are not going off to war lads, your talking a month off to play football and bring a bit of excitement in to peoples homes for a few weeks in crazy times let's think outside the box on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,538 ✭✭✭dobman88

It would bring team bonding to a whole different level that's for sure, could it be done yes it could, you are not going off to war lads, your talking a month off to play football and bring a bit of excitement in to peoples homes for a few weeks in crazy times let's think outside the box on this one.

I've seen some absolutle nonsense posted across this website through the years but all your recent posts take the biscuit. Have a think about what you're saying and who you're talking about and why it wouldnt work.

dobman88 wrote: »
    I've seen some absolutle nonsense posted across this website through the years but all your recent posts take the biscuit. Have a think about what you're saying and who you're talking about and why it wouldnt work.
    Fire away tell me why it wouldn't work

Apart from the glaringly obvious fact that these lads all have jobs and lives away from football? Thats just one, pretty big reason why it wouldnt work. Football isnt the most important thing in life now is it.

Are you from Kerry there was a time in Kerry if a job stopped you from playing football you were in the wrong job. Plenty of people speaking out around the country looking for championship to be stopped maybe a few from Dublin that want to hold on to sam for a little while longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭JohnGreenFan

Are you from Kerry there was a time in Kerry if a job stopped you from playing football you were in the wrong job. Plenty of people speaking out around the country looking for championship to be stopped maybe a few from Dublin that want to hold on to sam for a little while longer

I think the glaringly obvious problem here is who is going to pay for the whole team, managers, selectors, physio, nutrionist etc to stay in a hotel, for their food etc? And not to mention are they going to pay the wages of the players so that they can still pay their bills? Or do you expect the companies they work for to pay wages to staff who are gone for a month? Absolutely mental idea. Imagine thinking that holding onto the Sam Maguire was the main issue for some people in a time like this.

:pac: I am indeed. Your thinking is so backward you've shown that you're not to be taken seriously so I'll bow out of this little exchange.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

siblers wrote: »
    If lads need to be staying in a hotel away from their friends and families to play Championship then it should just be cancelled.

Height of madness having lads drive up and down to Monaghan on their own

Did Peter Keane request same?It may be madness but it is certainly safe.

The alternative the required two 52 seater buses..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,631 ✭✭✭✭siblers

seligehgit wrote: »
    Did Peter Keane request same?It may be madness but it is certainly safe.

The alternative the required two 52 seater buses..

The alternative was probably to cancel it. Not right having players and backroom staff travel that distance on their own.

Also, wouldn't the players be mixing as part of the game, warm up etc so not sure separating players was required. Can see why they should be separated from backroom staff alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Forge83 wrote: »
    Gavin White showed some blistering pace today. Back to his best and will be a massive player if championship goes ahead.
    Great to see Peter Crowley back and playing well.
    Any idea why no Jack Sherwood? Player of the county championship...
    Diarmuid O Connor turning into a complete midfielder. Moran played well but he would drive you mad with the same brain farts year on year, wild kicks at points and running into traffic too often. He needs to play the percentage plays better.
    I would say the same for Micheal Burns, very error prone.
    Jonathan Lyne and O Beagloaich come on and we fall apart defensively, I can’t for the life of me see what either of them offer at this level.
    Overall they seemed well drilled in their gameplay especially in the first half. Some of the players looked a lot stronger and better conditioned than previous seasons. Would be confident of beating Cork in Munster semi final based on today’s performance.

Have to say that's a good summary of Sunday. Some good points.

Negatives as you mention would be the management appearing to have a few "favourites" shall we say. Somebody said David Moran looked "in great shape" - thought the opposite myself. Good in the air as ever, but his legs aren't there. You could see it in the County championship and could see it Sunday.

We still have issues defensively. Foley, while decent Sunday, is still not tight or tough enough and apart from Morley and Crowley we really lack a physical edge back there. To see Begley coming on, who I class as a bit of a luxury player, when Graham O'Sullivan, Gavin Crowley and Shane Enright are on the bench and Conor McManus is causing havoc..I dunno. Sometimes you'd wonder are you watching a different game.

On the positive side, while it's horrible to watch at times at least there was a coherent plan without the ball instead of leaving the gaping holes in defence like last year at times. The counterattack game suits a lot of players we have like White (who looks in great shape), Tom O'Sullivan and Paul Murphy.
    Diarmuid O'Connor could turn into the midfield powerhouse we need. On track anyway.
    While Shane Ryan is still a relative novice, thank christ management got him in and gave him his chance unlike Fitzmaurice. His kickouts are decent, still need a bit of work but he is very good and confident with ball in hand and if we were without him you'd be far less confident.

I'd pay €5 to GAAGO for every minute David Clifford plays. He's such a joy to watch.

If we do get a championship, which is by no means certain, looking forward to seeing what sort of a team develops. Some decent options.

U20 game Saturday was a big disappointment with the poor second half. Can't be too hard on anyone with the awful preparation but I thought we died a death physically and tactically aswell. Excuses aside, the decision-making was shocking too often for players who've all played a lot of football in recent months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭conor05

Even though the end scoreline showed a loss by 14 points to Cork (Clare lost to Tipp by 10 points), I was very impressed with some of the young Kerry hurlers last night in the Munster under 20.

A good few of the Kerry starting team are only 18, some of them have 2 years left at this grade.

The standard of hurling will bring them on a tonne and I believe a few of them are going to 3rd level with the intention of playing Fitzgibbon cup, so another boost for Kerry hurling.

Is kerry v Donegal match on tv tomorrow or is it on gaa go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Is kerry v Donegal match on tv tomorrow or is it on gaa go.

It’s on Eirsport afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Same As

Same team as vs Monaghan just announced. Probably changes tomorrow - Isn't there always.

Hopefully they'll pick up the 2 points with no collateral damage and claim the League title.

Mark O'Connor just about to start the AFL Grand Final with Geelong.

Just put it on, Geelong up 42 to 39

Strange to watch a sport in the current environment with supporters at it

Looks pretty much over for them now, unlikely to get three goals in 9 minutes.

First time watching an AFL game. Not a sport I'd see myself getting into. Very little structure to it, like watching an old football game. Belt the ball up the pitch and hope your team mate wins it. Richmond seemed like a very intense team with Geelong struggling to get out of their half. Hard luck for Mark, hopefully he gets another crack at a final in future.

It's seriously ****e

I dont know how many games I have watched this year and teams have been caught on the hop with the playing of the anthem :D

Will take a while for this defensive system to bed in, but all seems fairly ponderous so far.

All change since the water break, a lot quicker with the possession now, and the scores duly follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭benji79

Marc o Se was some player but he’s a fair weak pundit. Nothing insightful or anything interesting in what he says. Never seems sure of himself

Could do with a few tips off his brother who’s the best by a mile these days!

It's seriously ****e

I've been watching Geelong all year and it's an enjoyable game when it's played well (like Football I guess).

It was wet in Brisbane this morning and the quality was fairly low not unlike our own Final in 2015.

Geelong have a few lads that are similar to Kerry footballers. Gary Ablett like Gooch, Tom Hawkins like Star. I was gutted for them.

As for our own men. An easy win in the end. We should be in nice form for the Cork game.

Brosnan is a brilliant addition to the forward line.

The intensity in the tackling from the forwards was brilliant as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

benji79 wrote: »
    Marc o Se was some player but he’s a fair weak pundit. Nothing insightful or anything interesting in what he says. Never seems sure of himself

Could do with a few tips off his brother who’s the best by a mile these days!

At least he wasn't as bad as Rory Kavanagh moaning about the ref giving two textbook black cards for trips with the hand.