Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Property Market 2020 Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Chiparus

bubblypop wrote: »
    It's the sheer amount of choice of things to do in Dublin that makes it better then other cities.

Can you go for coffees, dinners, drinks, visit galleries, museums, cinemas etc etc in other cities? yep, course you can, but there is a limited amount of these things, Dublin gives people more choice.
    City living isn't for everyone, but for people who enjoy city living then Dublin is the best choice.

How often do you go to the museum?

I have homes in the city and the country, I cant wait to get out of Dublin ( where I grew up)- because there is nothing to do, especailly during the lockdown

Chiparus wrote: »
    How often do you go to the museum?

I have homes in the city and the country, I cant wait to get out of Dublin ( where I grew up)- because there is nothing to do, especailly during the lockdown

I actually do visit museums and galleries, not every week, but I would think every month.
    I am never bored in Dublin, not during lockdown, unlike my hometown, where there is literally nothing to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,949 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

The Spider wrote: »
    I take it you’re from Dublin? Newsflash 95% of people from the country, or outside Dublin, are literally only there for jobs, most of them would be gone in a heartbeat if they could but are stuck there because of work.

WFH will allow people to get out and have a decent quality of life, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, you’d need 150 grand a year in Dublin to have the same lifestyle you’d have in Waterford or Kilkenny on 55 grand, so in that sense it’s an absolute no brainer to get out of Dublin

Have you actually sat down and worked it out and how did you come to 150k v 55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Timing belt

It's the sheer amount of choice of things to do in Dublin that makes it better then other cities.

Can you go for coffees, dinners, drinks, visit galleries, museums, cinemas etc etc in other cities? yep, course you can, but there is a limited amount of these things, Dublin gives people more choice.
    City living isn't for everyone, but for people who enjoy city living then Dublin is the best choice.

I take it your young and don’t have a family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 VegggieMonster

schmittel wrote: »
    Would you be tempted by Wicklow town if the same house was 350k as opposed to 500k?
    Yes. And there are some houses within that price range there actually. So I think commuting 3 days a week from Wicklow would not be the end of the world.

I take it your young and don’t have a family.

I wish!!
    I'm actually 45, so kind young maybe......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Leozord

The confirmation bias is strong here sometimes

Some other poster was claiming that company X allowed a thousand people to work from home hence, a thousand new vacancies will be soon available in Dublin and the market crash was at the corner.

See, Dublin is expensive, among the most expensive cities in Europe. But it is a capital city, full of life, has its "big smog problems", some rough areas but still, the most active, alive, international city in the country. It is where the jobs are, big parties, cultural events, a good range of stores, restaurants, parks, easy access to airport and so on.

A lot of those high paying jobs are filled with people who are not from Ireland. They would like to stay in Dublin or the closest possible (eg.: Lucan)

Not every worker who can WFH here is some sound lad from Laois who will grab the first opportunity to gtfo from Dublin and live the Irish dream in the country.

With all due respect, comparing Dublin with Waterford is utterly b*lix. Don't know even where to start.

I wish!!
    I'm actually 45, so kind young maybe......:D

And do you have kids? The reason I ask is if you don’t have family in Dublin childcare is crazy money and you don’t get do half the things you mention.

Leozord wrote: »
    The confirmation bias is strong here sometimes

Some other poster was claiming that company X allowed a thousand people to work from home hence, a thousand new vacancies will be soon available in Dublin and the market crash was at the corner.

See, Dublin is expensive, among the most expensive cities in Europe. But it is a capital city, full of life, has its "big smog problems", some rough areas but still, the most active, alive, international city in the country. It is where the jobs are, big parties, cultural events, a good range of stores, restaurants, parks, easy access to airport and so on.

A lot of those high paying jobs are filled with people who are not from Ireland. They would like to stay in Dublin or the closest possible (eg.: Lucan)

Not every worker who can WFH here is some sound lad from Laois who will grab the first opportunity to gtfo from Dublin and live the Irish dream in the country.

With all due respect, comparing Dublin with Waterford is utterly b*lix. Don't know even where to start.

Dublin will always be attractive to people as it’s the capital city what we are saying is that there is a large cohort of people that would choose to live somewhere else if they still had a Dublin salary.

Maybe the confirmation basis is the other way around where people are justifying decisions they have already made. There are two sides to every coin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Dublin will always be attractive to people as it’s the capital city what we are saying is that there is a large cohort of people that would choose to live somewhere else if they still had a Dublin salary.

Maybe the confirmation basis is the other way around where people are justifying decisions they have already made. There are two sides to every coin

MNC can relocate the jobs abroad and have people WFH in Croatia or Poland for half the wages. There's always a *strong* push in MNC to drive jobs to lower cost economies where possible. Right shoring / best shoring BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭PropQueries

I would agree with you once you live here. Many country people for the first year or so here actually do yearn to return back to their home town. However, after a few years, moving back becomes less and less attractive due to what you said.

But will they be given the opportunity or be forced to settle into city life in a few years if they can indeed WFH in their home town. It is university and jobs that force many of them to Dublin initially. If that changes they most likely will have very little interest in moving to Dublin.

For the young people already settled here, if will come down to the price premium of Dublin vs elsewhere. What price premium will they believe is worth it? Will they pay 50% more to live in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭you2008

China’s growth is due to cheap labour and a massively undervalued currency that has been manipulated to give unfair advantage. ’

And Irish growth is not due to low Cop Tax and give advantage? I am not see you value point .........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Chiparus

I actually do visit museums and galleries, not every week, but I would think every month.
    I am never bored in Dublin, not during lockdown, unlike my hometown, where there is literally nothing to do!

It could be what you are interested in , If im in Dublin there seems nothing to do, except shop - even then it is all chinese tat.

Museums - well I hardly go, national gallery I might go once in 5 years.

Most people live in Dublin in small houses because thats where the work is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 VegggieMonster

Re moving out of Dublin, our choices will be as different as our family, work situation, lifestyle choices are so let's hope it works out well for all, whatever the 'well' means for each of us and our families.

It could be what you are interested in , If im in Dublin there seems nothing to do, except shop - even then it is all chinese tat.

I think maybe you need to get out more! There is so much more than shops in Dublin!
    Can I ask what you would find to do in a country town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Hubertj

Re moving out of Dublin, our choices will be as different as our family, work situation, lifestyle choices are so let's hope it works out well for all, whatever the 'well' means for each of us and our families.

Totally agree with you. It is all about flexibility so that people can make best decision for themselves and families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭PropQueries

I’m not so sure. I’m originally from the country and very few of my country work colleagues many years ago believed it was far superior to their home towns, at least not for their first few years here. Most went back home most weekends for the first few years

It’s all about the social network. It takes many years to build it up and that’s what makes where your living situation bearable.

If the young workers only need to come up to Dublin two or three days a week and still live in their home town at weekends they won’t get the chance to build this social network in Dublin and can’t miss what they haven’t experienced.

Would someone really want to relocate from their home town to live in e.g. Lucan?

As stated here, many HR departments are already worried about the social impact of their WFH policies on their non-Irish employees. Younger Irish employees who actually do have the option to return to their home town and to their existing social network most likely will.

That’s the first link in the chain of future demand for housing in Dublin that will be broken by WFH.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,697 ✭✭✭hometruths

awec wrote: »
    I personally wouldn’t. Would you?

Public transport options that far out are terrible and if anyone thinks that’s going to change in the short or medium term they are delusional.

Absolutely I would.

Yes. And there are some houses within that price range there actually. So I think commuting 3 days a week from Wicklow would not be the end of the world.

Me too. Who'd have thought it awec? The poster that this choice is actually relevant too would consider Wicklow town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

None of these things compensate for never getting to own a home. I was a huge one for gigs and events in Dublin, and I'd absolutely miss being able to pick up a Matcha latté and a burrito for lunch, but absolutely nobody presented with the binary of "Dublin or House" is going to have the Dead Zoo or Lolly+Cooks in mind if the alternative is having a two bed complete with a garden and a remotely functional work/life balance.

Not for me, I would choose to live in the city over buying a house in the country.
    for some people I guess owning a house is the most important thing in their life. It wouldn't be for me, I would choose lifestyle over house ownership

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

Not for me, I would choose to live in the city over buying a house in the country.
    for some people I guess owning a house is the most important thing in their life. It wouldn't be for me, I would choose lifestyle over house ownership

We are getting fairly inpatient for a house now as we'd like to start a family.

Covid has really accelerated our desire to get out of an apartment and it's also helped our buying power not insignificantly. We still want value tough.

I wouldn't move to the country, we have zero social circle there, unless they all moved to wicklow town it just wouldn't be attractive to us. Its more than the desire for a house, it's the desire for a life. Location is as important as just getting a house somewhere.

There are so many individual factors at play here for everyone it's hard to cast a sweeping net, which is why I think sweeping statements like '95% of non-dubliners will leave', it shows a lack of understanding of the many variables at play when buying a house.

Hopefully, if loads of people relocate to wicklow we might get somewhere closer to the city for cheap:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Valentin_N

Can the "WFH" and "Dublin vs rest of the country" topics be forked into separate threads to keep posts on the subject?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Ah would ye stop with the "so much more to do" spiel. I'd understand if we were talking about London or Berlin but Dublin FFS. It's one step above a provincial city. Even the museums and theatres are low grade imitations of what you would find in a real European capital. It's availability of work that is the only reason people are there.

The second WFH becomes a long term reality you will see a mass exodus from its overpriced confines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

Ah would ye stop with the "so much more to do" spiel. I'd understand if we were talking about London or Berlin but Dublin FFS. It's one step above a provincial city. Even the museums and theatres are low grade imitations of what you would find in a real European capital. It's availability of work that is the only reason people are there.

The second WFH becomes a long term reality you will see a mass exodus from its overpriced confines.

Prime example of the lack of understanding I'm talking about right here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Hubertj

Damn country folk coming to the big city and taking all the jobs. Go back to your own county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭snotboogie

In terms of Waterford and Kilkenny, having no university is a big loss. If you have a family you are going to be paying huge money to send your children to Dublin to study. Hospitals is another big one, if you happen to get sick, you will have consistent awful commutes to one of the big hospitals. Less important but still a factor is the airport, if you are traveling more than once per quarter, you are going to save a lot of hassle by living in Dublin. Nightlife and Restaurants are on a whole other level in Dublin than in Waterford and Kilkenny. Cultural events like big sports matches, concerts and (even) museums are almost exclusively in Dublin.

Cork has some of these things; a University, major hospitals, an Airport (with limited routes), is quite close to Dublin in nightlife and restaurants but way behind on cultural events. Limerick and Galway have a bit less again; they both have a University, kind of share an airport (it's more Limericks than Galways) are behind Cork on food and nightlife (Galway would be closer to Cork than Limerick). Kilkenny and Waterford have none of these things, which is a huge step down from the other three cities, nevermind Dublin

There are also a ton of people who live in the city because work dictates that, but who'd love to leave because they have different hobbies.

They couldn't give a stuff about pints and lattes because they want to spend all their free time mountain biking for example.

WFH will enable them to keep their job and enjoy their hobbies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭The Spider

snotboogie wrote: »
    In terms of Waterford and Kilkenny, having no university is a big loss. If you have a family you are going to be paying huge money to send your children to Dublin to study. Hospitals is another big one, if you happen to get sick, you will have consistent awful commutes to one of the big hospitals. Less important but still a factor is the airport, if you are traveling more than once per quarter, you are going to save a lot of hassle by living in Dublin. Nightlife and Restaurants are on a whole other level in Dublin than in Waterford and Kilkenny. Cultural events like big sports matches, concerts and (even) museums are almost exclusively in Dublin.

Cork has some of these things; a University, major hospitals, an Airport (with limited routes), is quite close to Dublin in nightlife and restaurants but way behind on cultural events. Limerick and Galway have a bit less again; they both have a University, kind of share an airport (it's more Limericks than Galways) are behind Cork on food and nightlife (Galway would be closer to Cork than Limerick). Kilkenny and Waterford have none of these things, which is a huge step down from the other three cities, nevermind Dublin

I wonder how all the people who live there manage, they must be completely unaware of the great nightlife, 8 euro pints, and how quickly you can get to an airport just in case you need to get to Monaco after a few pints. Oh and what do they do if they need to go to hospital, getting all those taxis to the few hospitals in Dublin must be pricey?

We all know Klkennys nightlife is notoriously terrible usually a few lads drinking some cans and poking a cow with a stick.

And I heard a rumor that there were actual restaurants now and that Supermacs had finally lost its stranglehold on the south east, granted they still serve you you’re dinner in an old shoe, but plates are a Dublin thing really.

But wait I heard there was a hospital in Waterford, babies are even born there whoda thunk it?

schmittel wrote: »
    There are also a ton of people who live in the city because work dictates that, but who'd love to leave because they have different hobbies.

They couldn't give a stuff about pints and lattes because they want to spend all their free time mountain biking for example.

WFH will enable them to keep their job and enjoy their hobbies.

I dunno, I couldn't tell you a mtb trial anywhere close to my hometown, could point you to plenty within 20 mins of where I live in Dublin.
    Not everyone who likes city living is interested in drinking!

I think WFH will give some people the opportunity they have been waiting for, but for anyone settled with family, it's not so simple.