Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

I wouldnt know where to start with getting it checked, would I just look for someone local to the seller to check it over?

Thanks for that list. Thought I might get away with seeing and buying in the same day but leaving deposit is not a bad idea to sort insurance.

Remap doesn't really put me off as long as the car would be fine when inspected. Maybe not smart of me

Will have to check mot history and do cartell.

Its got active suspension and the m performance brakes which I would have to go to UK otherwise to find a car with i think. Not really sure what else it does or doesn't have but ill find out. Don't think missing anything else would be a deal breaker for me

What about this one FF? Bit more, and not a 335d but still 6 pot diesel with 4wd.

https://www.usedcarsni.com/2015-BMW-3-Series-XDRIVE-M-SPORT-AUTO-273897914?pagepc0=2

I've never seen that colour on a non m car before.

273897919.1920.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,566 ✭✭✭JoeA3

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Very bare spec, which if it was me would put me off. Needs premium pack, tech pack and comfort pack for me anyway.
    When you go to sell that car you will be told it’s a poverty spec car and everyone wants fully loaded ones. Good to get an idea of price for one though. I looked at a few previously on autotrader and with vrt was calculating that a reasonable one could be brought in for about 60k if doing it yourself, but obviously there is a bit of work in doing that.

To the uninformed, what exactly is it missing? What’s in those packs? It looks a nice car and in the pics it looks to be full of toys?

He’s a sound fella to deal with incidentally. I almost bought a car off him a few years ago when that garage was Cumiskeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,678 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

vintagevrs wrote: »
    What about this one FF? Bit more, and not a 335d but still 6 pot diesel with 4wd.

https://www.usedcarsni.com/2015-BMW-3-Series-XDRIVE-M-SPORT-AUTO-273897914?pagepc0=2

I've never seen that colour on a non m car before.

g]

Nice colour and its LCI but too much money for me for nicer paint :D any other recommendations completely welcome though. The 335 I linked is only 2 hours away from me in clare which is a bonus as well for getting a lift there

Yeah no hassle. It's not LCI by the way, so does make the 335d seem very well priced!

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Yeah no hassle. It's not LCI by the way, so does make the 335d seem very well priced!

Shows how much I dont know then! The 335d seems fair price alright from looking at what they'd be coming in from uk its not bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

JoeA3 wrote: »
    To the uninformed, what exactly is it missing? What’s in those packs? It looks a nice car and in the pics it looks to be full of toys?

He’s a sound fella to deal with incidentally. I almost bought a car off him a few years ago when that garage was Cumiskeys.

Tech pack would give you the likes of the H/K loud speaker system and a head up display. Premium pack would give you electric memory front seats and a sunroof. Comfort pack would give you a heated steering wheel and keyless entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,566 ✭✭✭JoeA3

HK speakers would be a must alright. In a 65k car! The standard non HK audio in BMWs is appalling, it’s like using your phone speaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭carsfan2

JoeA3 wrote: »
    HK speakers would be a must alright. In a 65k car! The standard non HK audio in BMWs is appalling, it’s like using your phone speaker.

In fairness you get a speaker upgrade in the m340, I think it’s called professional speaker system and is probably just about ok.
    It’s the manual seat adjustment and lack of lumbar that I wouldn’t get on with.

On autotrader there are a fair few of these relatively bare spec cars. Any car with a few packs on it tends to get sold quick enough.
    With hard brexit looming I assume that would bring an end to U.K. imports so time may be running out. I was half thinking of asking Morrissons to give me a price to bring one in and take a trade in of my own but reckoned it would be far too much when I did my own sums. I reckon they would price a 2019 car at 70k which is too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,963 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

carsfan2 wrote: »
    In fairness you get a speaker upgrade in the m340, I think it’s called professional speaker system and is probably just about ok.
    It’s the manual seat adjustment and lack of lumbar that I wouldn’t get on with.

On autotrader there are a fair few of these relatively bare spec cars. Any car with a few packs on it tends to get sold quick enough.
    With hard brexit looming I assume that would bring an end to U.K. imports so time may be running out. I was half thinking of asking Morrissons to give me a price to bring one in and take a trade in of my own but reckoned it would be far too much when I did my own sums. I reckon they would price a 2019 car at 70k which is too much.

I wonder were these the cheap lease ones that were seen last year ?

I like this, not sure if I'd buy one though. Would the novelty of the manual tire quickly. Prob a rare enough car.

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/202008232840453

No spec at all really apart from the sunroof. No pro nav, hk or electric heated seats. All things I could live without no prob though, esp the electric seats as I'm the only one who drives the car...

f50cb77e0e1049708033777076904eb9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭Technique

The colour/spec combination would make it a hard sell in a few years. You'd be better holding off for a nicer one, even if it's a bit more expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

As a general comment. Loads of people on here with huge knowledge of BMWs I don't know much about them I have never owned one but would like a G20 330i a lot so I am starting to learn a bit about them. With other brands let say Audi an A5 for example in S-Line spec typically the spec is the spec you don't see ones going around with ball loads of extras or packs on them. Even seeing an Audi with a Sunroof is quite rare. Which that is kind of accepted on here and in general as it doesn't seem to effect their appeal same with other brands there isn't much talk on Extras.

Then you mention BMW on here and all you get is I wouldn't touch that car unless it has W,X,Y,Z packs on it and all these extras listed. Which as I said I am not that up on it but have read the brochure on G20 and the standard M-Sport spec is quite good hell even the sport spec is not bad granted minus some of the sporty external features. To me parking sensors, rear view camera, Auto lights / wipers, cruise control, LED/Xenon lights, Leather seats, a decent infotainment system in standard guise the cars have all that.

I just don't get the whole that car will be unsellable down the road without electric seats, a sunroof, heads up display etc. Surely there isn't that many people that see this level of extras as absolute must have features. Typically the BMWs with all these extras are a good bit more expensive than just standard cars so you are paying for them even at a used level.

TBF maybe when I test drive a few and see them in person my view will change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

CIP4 wrote: »
    As a general comment. Loads of people on here with huge knowledge of BMWs I don't know much about them I have never owned one but would like a G20 330i a lot so I am starting to learn a bit about them. With other brands let say Audi an A5 for example in S-Line spec typically the spec is the spec you don't see ones going around with ball loads of extras or packs on them. Even seeing an Audi with a Sunroof is quite rare. Which that is kind of accepted on here and in general as it doesn't seem to effect their appeal same with other brands there isn't much talk on Extras.

Then you mention BMW on here and all you get is I wouldn't touch that car unless it has W,X,Y,Z packs on it and all these extras listed. Which as I said I am not that up on it but have read the brochure on G20 and the standard M-Sport spec is quite good hell even the sport spec is not bad granted minus some of the sporty external features. To me parking sensors, rear view camera, Auto lights / wipers, cruise control, LED/Xenon lights, Leather seats, a decent infotainment system in standard guise the cars have all that.

I just don't get the whole that car will be unsellable down the road without electric seats, a sunroof, heads up display etc. Surely there isn't that many people that see this level of extras as absolute must have features. Typically the BMWs with all these extras are a good bit more expensive than just standard cars so you are paying for them even at a used level.

TBF maybe when I test drive a few and see them in person my view will change.

BMW have marketed these packs as must haves. Nearly like another spec level. Buy them though and your money is gone. However, your money is gone anyway as these cars are depreciating by the amount of a new 1 series inside 3 years.

I've never seen a brand where a near 200bhp diesel engine with good performance and economy is so derided either, somehow its not a real BMW. Ever since the 520d became popular, its been slated on here by a huge number of people because its not a 6 cylinder. I had an f10 530d and I tell you one thing, I wouldn't pay the big extra money for one over a 520d if I bought new. No way, bit of extra shove on acceleration but day to day they are the same car.

BMW seems to attract comments other brands don't, I agree with you there. Most of the extras in those packs I can do without, some are nice to have though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,922 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

CIP4 wrote: »
    To me parking sensors, rear view camera, Auto lights / wipers, cruise control, LED/Xenon lights, Leather seats, a decent infotainment system in standard guise the cars have all that.
    Funny enough, looking a 2018 5 series and rear camera is far from standard. Not even standard on the msport plus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Buying new , I would never pay for equipment packs but when buying used I would always look to buy as high spec a car as I could. The extras obviously do not hold their value so if you can get a used car with them it is more desirable and nicer to live with on a daily basis. Lower spec cars are not unsaleable but will take much longer. That 340i that Vintage linked is a case in point.
    To be fair the new G20 3 series is way better equipped than BMW's of old. If you had been looking at a 3 series of ten years ago you might be surprised how poorly equipped they were as standard.

With regard to Audi specs, I don't want to come across as anti Audi as I have had a few and would again but I think they do not attract the same car enthusiast audience as BMW.
    They are posh volkswagens with nice styling and higher quality interiors and many people are happy to drive any Audi because it is an Audi regardless of what kit it does or doesn't have.The same holds true for lots of people that buy BMW but I think more car enthusiasts are into BMW and picky about the spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

I've never seen a brand where a near 200bhp diesel engine with good performance and economy is so derided either, somehow its not a real BMW. Ever since the 520d became popular, its been slated on here by a huge number of people because its not a 6 cylinder. I had an f10 530d and I tell you one thing, I wouldn't pay the big extra money for one over a 520d if I bought new. No way, bit of extra shove on acceleration but day to day they are the same car.

Agree 100% and have said this on boards a few times in the past. This whole thing of "it's not a real BMW unless it has 6 cylinders" is complete rubbish. I remember the first time i test drove a 535d f11 and the thing that hit me straight away was how nose heavy it was compared to my 525d f11 (2 litre) at the time. The 525d just felt lighter, more balanced and better handling. Slower, yes, but not by that much in normal use at all. Much better economy of course too.

Why isn't the same said of Mercedes or audis, of which 90% are the "wrong" engine too? Boards can be very odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Wailin wrote: »
    Agree 100% and have said this on boards a few times in the past. This whole thing of "it's not a real BMW unless it has 6 cylinders" is complete rubbish. I remember the first time i test drove a 535d f11 and the thing that hit me straight away was how nose heavy it was compared to my 525d f11 (2 litre) at the time. The 525d just felt lighter, more balanced and better handling. Slower, yes, but not by that much in normal use at all. Much better economy of course too.

Why isn't the same said of Mercedes or audis, of which 90% are the "wrong" engine too? Boards can be very odd.

6 cylinder petrol, yes. Not an argument. Diesel is a different beast.

Well, I gave an example of diesel since I went from a 2 litre 215bhp to a 3 litre 310bhp so I do know how they compare. Dont forget the 3 litre adds a lot of extra weight to the car that affects performance and handling too.

BTW does the same apply to audi and Mercedes in your eyes too?

BMW markets itself as a drivers car so I guess people want the best engines. Audi tend to focus on class leading interiors and tech while merc lead on comfort. However, I agree with you, bmw and bmw only get slated when it's not a 6 cylinder which is wrong. They're no longer enthusiast drivers cars anyway and the lines between all 3 brands usp have been blurred considerably. Very little between driving, tech or comfort in any of them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭maddness

The current generation 520d is a cracking car. It’s fast enough for most, handles well and is a lovely place to sit.
    I’d a rental last year for a month and got 61mpg from it too so they are very cheap to run.
    In isolation they are all the car you ever need but I love petrol cars and fast cars so I’d rather spend my money on a BMW with the ‘proper’ engine. If my circumstances change as they might due to COVID and I end up back in a 2.0 four diesel I’ll manage just fine too, just without the smile on my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭Casati

Well, I gave an example of diesel since I went from a 2 litre 215bhp to a 3 litre 310bhp so I do know how they compare. Dont forget the 3 litre adds a lot of extra weight to the car that affects performance and handling too.

BTW does the same apply to audi and Mercedes in your eyes too?

I think it applies to Audi more so than BMW or Mercedes but that’s for a different reason - generally you need to go to six cylinder to get Quattro and without that it’s hard to see the point of shelling out a small fortune on an Audi badge when a Skoda or VW is basically the same thing.

The BMW six petrols have always been lovely cars but it’s a long time since they have been common - when the reasonably priced 320i and 520i moved to four cylinders it was hard to see the unique selling point but they still sold - the BMW fans focused their eyes on 330i / 530i but now they are gone they need to look to the 340i/ 540i - but the prices are eye watering.

Most BMW drivers are not enthusiasts however, so they are of course v happy with the 20d’s with nice spec, which in their own right are fabulous cars too

The biggest driver with how fast a used BMW sells seems to be year / mileage / price combination. Extras don’t sell a car with high mileage or the wrong look.

As long as it’s M Sport it will sell easily but dealers have buyers for any low mileage SE’s too and they hold a higher percentage of new value too. If I was buying new I’d probably get an SE with extras that I deem essential - lumbar support / adaptive cruise
    but buying secondhand an M Sport 40i is on the wish list

Did a motorcheck on that 335d, nothing out of the ordinary except it had a personal uk plate removed October 2019 and was sold November 2019.

It says 1 owner on the ad but thats just typical donedeal

Going to ring for some insurance quotes tomorrow...

Service history would be something I'd really focus on too. Especially with a remap, I'd look for regular yearly oil changes. If the history is a bit sketchy, I'd walk away to be honest.

Casati wrote: »
    I think it applies to Audi more so than BMW or Mercedes but that’s for a different reason - generally you need to go to six cylinder to get Quattro and without that it’s hard to see the point of shelling out a small fortune on an Audi badge when a Skoda or VW is basically the same thing.

The BMW six petrols have always been lovely cars but it’s a long time since they have been common - when the reasonably priced 320i and 520i moved to four cylinders it was hard to see the unique selling point but they still sold - the BMW fans focused their eyes on 330i / 530i but now they are gone they need to look to the 340i/ 540i - but the prices are eye watering.

Most BMW drivers are not enthusiasts however, so they are of course v happy with the 20d’s with nice spec, which in their own right are fabulous cars too

The biggest driver with how fast a used BMW sells seems to be year / mileage / price combination. Extras don’t sell a car with high mileage or the wrong look.

As long as it’s M Sport it will sell easily but dealers have buyers for any low mileage SE’s too and they hold a higher percentage of new value too. If I was buying new I’d probably get an SE with extras that I deem essential - lumbar support / adaptive cruise
    but buying secondhand an M Sport 40i is on the wish list

Jaysus lads you’d give an Audi driver a complex !

I had probably 10 BMWs down the years , loved them all but last 5 cars 4 have been audis and can’t say I missed the BMWs .

I think the a5 trumps the 4 and bmw don’t have an etron rival yet but the 3 and the 5 beat the a4/a6.

A7 is nicer than the old 6 grand tourer imo

Horses for courses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭MarkN

Good video Mark, what a cracking looking car. Makes me want an A7 now, not RS obviously but a more mundane version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

I'm running a 340i F31 which I imported recently, complete with the MPPSK. 2016 version so the all important RWD....

The B58 engines are an absolute peach....well worth the effort to import one should anyone be thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭eljono

Currently have a Mk7 GTI and really like it. It has good tech, good performance and is easy to live with. The only downside really is boot space, ideally would like to have more space as I end up dropping the rear seats a lot and that's not ideal. 

So toying with the idea of getting something older and more focused as a weekend car and something a little larger as the daily. 

Trying to think of cars that fit the following criteria with more boot space than a Golf but aren't S-class size. Budget is up to 35k.

Want:
    • 2013+
    • Adaptive cruise
    • Memory driver's seat
    • Split fold rear seats
    • 200bhp+
    • Fun to drive, decent ride and handling
    • Decent boot
    • Lowish miles for age

Nice to have:
    • Towbar or ability to add one  
    • Android Auto
    • Sunroof

Where I'm struggling is finding something larger but not too large, that is still fun to drive, practical and has the spec I've listed. A 430i/d GC or 330i/d estate would be ideal but I haven't seen any with adaptive cruise. A Golf R estate would also be ideal, but I haven't seen one with memory driver's seat.

Any suggestions that I'm missing? 

eljono wrote: »
    Currently have a Mk7 GTI and really like it. It has good tech, good performance and is easy to live with. The only downside really is boot space, ideally would like to have more space as I end up dropping the rear seats a lot and that's not ideal. 

So toying with the idea of getting something older and more focused as a weekend car and something a little larger as the daily. 

Trying to think of cars that fit the following criteria with more boot space than a Golf but aren't S-class size. Budget is up to 35k.

Want:
    • 2013+
    • Adaptive cruise
    • Memory driver's seat
    • Split fold rear seats
    • 200bhp+
    • Fun to drive, decent ride and handling
    • Decent boot
    • Lowish miles for age

Nice to have:
    • Towbar or ability to add one  
    • Android Auto
    • Sunroof

Where I'm struggling is finding something larger but not too large, that is still fun to drive, practical and has the spec I've listed. A 430i/d GC or 330i/d estate would be ideal but I haven't seen any with adaptive cruise. A Golf R estate would also be ideal, but I haven't seen one with memory driver's seat.

Any suggestions that I'm missing? 

boot in the audi a5 or a7 are large aswell given its a h/b if you can get the spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭eljono

Cyrus wrote: »
    boot in the audi a5 or a7 are large aswell given its a h/b if you can get the spec.

I did consider a 2017+ A5 SB but they don't seem to come with adaptive cruise, at least based on the descriptions in the ads.

A7 is a lovely looking car, though right at the top end of what I'd consider size wise. I did a search on Donedeal for ones in budget with "adaptive" keyword and none of them appear to have adaptive cruise.