General Premier League Thread 2020-21 - Mod Notes in 1st post. [Updated 17/12/20]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,952 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Frank looks like he's staging a sit down protest over his side's defending.

It'd be better if he actually tried to coach a defense. Didn't Derby have a similar problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Lampard and pundits can't use the excuse that Lampard couldn't buy any players due to the ban.

Now that he has bought a new team they look even worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I'd say Kepa is struggling not to smile and laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Lavinia

The sour face on Frank Lampard is a thing of beauty.
    i'll actually have to agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

TitianGerm wrote: »
    It'd be better if ye actually tried to coach a defense. Didn't Derby have a similar problem?

Frank Lampard's Derby County had no stickability, no cohesion in the central midfield so if you got through you'd have a shot on goal.

Can't be too many people surprised by this. Lampard looked out of his depth at times last season when it came to the defense. He'll be sacked by Christmas the way things are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Esse85 wrote: »
    Where is the logic in bringing in a 36 year old CB who's never played in the league before and hoping he's gonna solve your defensive woes?

And made him captain

DVDM93 wrote: »
    [/b]

It's not.

As I've mentioned, the reason I do it is as per the phrase 'give as one gets'.

'it was started and prolonged by a different poster in previous years.' - as another poster has mentioned.

That poster happens to be a United fan. I've never heard it from anyone else so naturally enough it only goes back when United concede.

Anyway, can we all rejoice here & enjoy the hammering Chelsea are getting together? :)

Difference is one poster does it when his team scores.

You are doing it against United.

One is celebrating the other is "giving as good as he gets" even though the perceived gets is just made up in his head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,364 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Robinson has literally only scored one Premier League goal before today, and who was it against?

Y1MPW3q.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

And made him captain

He doesn't even speak English so to make him captain in his first league game is mind boggling :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Looking forward to Franck’s ‘humorous comment, pause, laugh, then “no but seriously” after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Why is Silva captain actually, who's the usual captain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Lavinia

razorblunt wrote: »
    Looking forward to Franck’s ‘humorous comment, pause, laugh, then “no but seriously” after this.
    oh he'll say it was not our day.. sick of it already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Jorginho?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Azpilicueta is captain & Jorginho is vice captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭chips1234

its not even just silva or the fact they made him captain, how the fck is alonso still being trotted out at lb, he has the pace of a tectonic plate at this stage, paint would dry faster etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

Fair enough starting Silva, I can slightly justify that with their defence and him playing in the CL final only a few weeks ago.. but making him captain? Sends the complete wrong message to the squad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,194 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

chips1234 wrote: »
    its not even just silva or the fact they made him captain, how the fck is alonso still being trotted out at lb, he has the pace of a tectonic plate at this stage, paint would dry faster etc

I think Werner feels his 'effectiveness' as well on that side of the pitch. Chelsea set up is not going to get the best out of him at all.

Fair enough starting Silva, I can slightly justify that with their defence and him playing in the CL final only a few weeks ago.. but making him captain? Sends the complete wrong message to the squad.

TBF outside of kante there isn't many other options and he doesn't seem the most talkative out on pitch, like the rest are young lads new(er) players or Alonso, and Willy

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I think Werner feels his effectiveness as well on that side of the pitch Chelsea set up is not going to get the best out of him at all.

why are they shifting him out to the left though also ? they seem to be lacking creatively and if ziyech isnt fit and doesnt hit the ground running i dont see where goals are coming from, havertz will surely only improve i suppose too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭This is it

Is Azpilacuata done? Didn't start their last match either. He'd probably be better at LB than Alonso with James at RB?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Difference is one poster does it when his team scores.

You are doing it against United.

One is celebrating the other is "giving as good as he gets" even though the perceived gets is just made up in his head

I'm sorry Mick, but you're wrong, with all due respect to you my friend.

A quick look in the Champions League thread the night of the Liverpool Atletico game (the last game I can remember Liverpool conceding a goal in that actually mattered) & you'll see MMMMMOOOOORRRRRAAAAATTTTTAAAAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭This is it

This is it wrote: »
    Is Azpilacuata done? Didn't start their last match either. He'd probably be better at LB than Alonso with James at RB?

Genuinely didn't see the teams out after half time. Assist for Dave :D

chips1234 wrote: »
    why are they shifting him out to the left though also ? they seem to be lacking creatively and if ziyech isnt fit and doesnt hit the ground running i dont see where goals are coming from, havertz will surely only improve i suppose too.

actually forgot about pulisic, so i guess they go something like

werner

pulisic ziyech havertz

in some weird all attackers are inter-changeable you score 3 we'll hope to score 10 type of tactics :D

I hope you all piled on for Chelsea win at 3 down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Ah feck, they are gonna come back arnt they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Excellent goal...

"Mount Werner" sounds like something that should be on the National Geographic channel.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

DVDM93 wrote: »

I'm sorry Mick, but you're wrong, with all due respect to you my friend.

A quick look in the Champions League thread the night of the Liverpool Atletico game (the last game I can remember Liverpool conceding a goal in that actually mattered) & you'll see MMMMMOOOOORRRRRAAAAATTTTTAAAAA.

Mod: Respect is a good word.

Please let the above be the last on it and have respect for the purpose of the thread. Lets discuss the thread topic over some extra letters in posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭.G.

Modelled after Kevin Keegans Newcastle.

Sickening.