Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nightlife in Waterford in 80s,90s, early 2000s

• 24-09-2020 2:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭

I am in my 20s and when I talk to people in maybe their 30, 40s, 50s etc I feel like going out on the town in Waterford was better in the 80s, 90s, 2000s. I'm curious why people feel this way. Lack of drugs? No social media? The different fashion. Happy to hear people's experiences.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,703 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

lack of drugs! fcuking hell! twas always fairly ****e to me, but sure im an aspie, seen some rocken gigs though

• Registered Users Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭bullpost

I am in my 20s and when I talk to people in maybe their 30, 40s, 50s etc I feel like going out on the town in Waterford was better in the 80s, 90s, 2000s. I'm curious why people feel this way. Lack of drugs? No social media? The different fashion. Happy to hear people's experiences.

80s - Very vibrant pub scene, no home-drinking and no social media to zombiefy us.

bullpost wrote: »
    no social media to zombiefy us.

Was a student in WIT there 1996 - 2000

A couple of garda raids on the Roxy about the most notable. But no social media to suggest the right virtue signals one should be doing etc. Alternatively go to the Ard Ri Hotel on the Hill, but bare in mind the management would let any old riff raff gatecrash your college party, the staff could'nt care less.

The Bridge Hotel was more professional to host things like the Computer Science Ball etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Music music music! Every Friday or Saturday night there was someone somewhere who you'd not be appalled to listen to for 60-90 minutes be it the actual Waterboys or Human League or some proficient covers band and then the disco!

the bok, the bok, the bok, ffs!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,553 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Def Leppard played one of the gigs down there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

Lack of drugs :D:D

The late 90's early 00's ,the celtic tiger was booming,block layers taking home 2k and more a week ,coke was hitting Waterford in a big way ,pubs and clubs were packed no social media no phones you just met up and had a good time!

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭aziz

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Def Leppard played one of the gigs down there

That gig in Katie's was Rick Allen's first gig after losing his Arm,he wasn't supposed to play the full gig as they had the drummer from status quo there to back him up ,but the stage was too small for two drum kits so he had to play the full gig by himself

• Registered Users Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭hardybuck

There was also a steady influx of people from outside town coming down for the night to socialise from surrounding counties, and from places like Dublin.

This was before Kilkenny became the place to go to, and they've taken at lot of that crowd away from Waterford.

In my opinion a lot of this could be revived by more residential development in the city centre which faces a daily exodus of people after the shops shut in the evening.

At the moment if you come out of a restaurant around 9-10 and are thinking about having a drink, the streets are far too quiet and it can feel a bit unsafe. No buzz around the place. Any later than that and you can encounter a pretty messy crowd who've done their pre-drinking and are falling into the clubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭BBM77

Going out was very different in the 80s, 90s, 2000s. As others have said, there was much less home drinking/house parties, no smoking band and people talked to each other more pre mobile phone days.

Everybody looks back at their twenties with rose tinted glasses. Of course there were dick heads in the 80s, 90s and earlier 2000s. However, I do think there is a nastier atmosphere about the whole going out thing that was not there to the same extent as in the 80s, 90s and earlier 2000s.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Flow Motion

I socialised in town a lot from the Summer of 1990 till probably 2010-ish. It was a completely different town to go out in than now I reckon. Lots of choice of pubs, clubs, & music throughout that 20 year period. Initially Breens/The Bridge was the place to be & go to. Then Preachers. Flow Motion @ the back of Egans. The Roxy. The Metroland. Big dance music scene mid 90's. Even the smoking ban did not put much of a dent in pub trade as we were in the midst of the Celtic Tiger. As others have said a lot of the pubs were jammers. Many people went out to watch the Premier League before came affordable to get it at home. So the pubs would be busy even on midweek especially from Wednesday on (college night). Not much aggro apart from the odd local headdaball. It was a great place to socialise and go out in. Then you have place like The Forum, Club LA, Junction Bar, Sinnotts, Sheffs, The Reg etc. There was always a big choice on offer no matter what your taste. The major difference IMO is the lack of social media up to say the mid 00's. People could let themselves go w/ being photographed & shared to the wider world. The absence of phones meant people talking face to face constantly. Looking back I guess this, cheap off licence prices, the crash & recession, house parties, the healthier lifestyle movement accelerated the decline in town. Also people forget that the closure of the Glass had a major economic impact of a small city like Waterford. People were earning big bucks and the shops & pubs prospered off the back of that. Also if you were one of my generation that got a huge mortgage on a modest house in the boom times that subsequently shrunk in value than going out on the razz every weekend would have vanished. So a perfect storm of events tore the heart out of the nightlife scene. Take a pub like Geoffs for example; back in the 90's, even after the extension in size, it was purely a drinking pub and a place that you could find yourself queueing to get into @ the weekends anytime after 8 o'clock @ night. There wasnt even standing room on a usual Sat night FFS! Within a decade they began serving food and today I reckon it makes more on food than it does on booze. Take a look in there on a Saturday night and its mostly families dining than people drinking. Not that I am saying that it is a bad thing but anyone below the age of say 35-ish would not recognise this pre mid Noughties version of Waterford.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭hardybuck

I also don't think that the current generation of 18-30 year olds drink as much as their predecessors from previous generations.

Drink is more expensive, and contains more calories, than certain chemical alternatives.

hardybuck wrote: »
    I also don't think that the current generation of 18-30 year olds drink as much as their predecessors from previous generations.

Drink is more expensive, and contains more calories, than certain chemical alternatives.

hard to tell, am i right in saying alcohol sales are slowly falling?

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭JimWinters

There was never really the going out crowd in Waterford to support two full clubs, there was always one busy club and half full. Late bars killed the nightclubs in town, why would people pay in to a nightclub when they can stay in a bar wth the same closing time? There was a race to the bottom in the late 00s where clubs dropped the price of drink and free entry. They've never fully recovered from that, Waterford people won't pay in.

Bars and clubs used to busy four or five nights per week, at the start of this year it was barely busy on a Saturday night. Predrinks have killed the town too with pubs not getting busy until 11 on a Friday or Saturday three or four busy hours a week aren't enough to sustain many businesses.

Many of the venues in town are seen with rose tinted glasses, the music of their time and great mates around are what made the great nights out for people in venues like The Roxy, The Reg, Axis Mundi, Metropole, Bridge Hotel, Preachers, Club LA, Merlins, Oxegen, Rubys, Ten, Factory, Foundry, Shortts, Kazbar and others. There was some great nights for big acts in town too!

Geoffs has been the one constant through it all...

JimWinters wrote: »
    There was never really the going out crowd in Waterford to support two full clubs, there was always one busy club and half full. Late bars killed the nightclubs in town, why would people pay in to a nightclub when they can stay in a bar wth the same closing time? There was a race to the bottom in the late 00s where clubs dropped the price of drink and free entry. They've never fully recovered from that, Waterford people won't pay in.

Bars and clubs used to busy four or five nights per week, at the start of this year it was barely busy on a Saturday night. Predrinks have killed the town too with pubs not getting busy until 11 on a Friday or Saturday three or four busy hours a week aren't enough to sustain many businesses.

Many of the venues in town are seen with rose tinted glasses, the music of their time and great mates around are what made the great nights out for people in venues like The Roxy, The Reg, Axis Mundi, Metropole, Bridge Hotel, Preachers, Club LA, Merlins, Oxegen, Rubys, Ten, Factory, Foundry, Shortts, Kazbar and others. There was some great nights for big acts in town too!

Geoffs has been the one constant through it all...

I don't get the love for Geoffs. Is it the large smoking area ??

The staff in there can be very rude and the place itself doesn't have that pub feel. Your not allowed sing or have too much craic

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭kuang1

The staff in there can be very rude and the place itself doesn't have that pub feel. Your not allowed sing or have too much craic

Yes I was having too much craic there one night and got warned. Then we started having the normal amount of craic and they left us stay.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭dzilla

kuang1 wrote: »
    Yes I was having too much craic there one night and got warned. Then we started having the normal amount of craic and they left us stay.

Me a few friends breached the level of craic allowed to be had there also one night and where advised to bring the craic level down a notch.

True Story

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Flow Motion

Geoffs is the thinking mans pub. The art of conversation & good music on rotation. Hence the absence of TV's. Depends on what you are into. Downes is in a similar vein to Geoffs. Not everyone wants to have to be able to shout over breakbeats and wade through messy lairly lads whos idea of the "craic" only belongs in the dressing room or one of those "Brit Abroad" tv shows :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Murphy2020

Really enjoying this thread. My nights out in town started early 1998 to end of the 00's before kids arrived. After that it was random nights out when babysitters allowed ðŸ˜
    1998 to 2000: Egans, Flare, Flo Motion, Preachers, Temple Bar, The pulpit, Club LA and the Junction Bar, Fitzgeralds
    2000 to 2002: Rubys, Merlins, Muldoons, Flashs
    2003: Axis Mundi and The Old Stand
    2004 to 2005: Gingerman, Masons, Muldoons, Oxygen, Revolution, Geoffs, Kazbar
    2006 to 2009: Harvey's, Rubys Lounge, Woodman
    2010 onwards: The Reg
    Now the pubs I prefer are Tully's, Walsh's, Jordan's, The Tap Room, Geoffs
    Any I've forgotten??

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭Rustyman101

Murphy2020 wrote: »
    Really enjoying this thread. My nights out in town started early 1998 to end of the 00's before kids arrived. After that it was random nights out when babysitters allowed ðŸ˜
    1998 to 2000: Egans, Flare, Flo Motion, Preachers, Temple Bar, The pulpit, Club LA and the Junction Bar, Fitzgeralds
    2000 to 2002: Rubys, Merlins, Muldoons, Flashs
    2003: Axis Mundi and The Old Stand
    2004 to 2005: Gingerman, Masons, Muldoons, Oxygen, Revolution, Geoffs, Kazbar
    2006 to 2009: Harvey's, Rubys Lounge, Woodman
    2010 onwards: The Reg
    Now the pubs I prefer are Tully's, Walsh's, Jordan's, The Tap Room, Geoffs
    Any I've forgotten??
    original olde rogue n Bobby mc gees, loved the rogue back in the day !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

aziz wrote: »
    That gig in Katie's was Rick Allen's first gig after losing his Arm,he wasn't supposed to play the full gig as they had the drummer from status quo there to back him up ,but the stage was too small for two drum kits so he had to play the full gig by himself

Not his first gig, that was Connolly Hall in Cork (I was at it).
    My have been his first on his own though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Treated their former staff like sh1te, the staff that were great to go into and have a chat with. There's one or two stories i know about the place that keeps me away from it, the management are full of themselves. It's completely lost that interaction between staff and the customer.
    Massive shame how that place has turned out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

Boooourns wrote: »
    Treated their former staff like sh1te, the staff that were great to go into and have a chat with. There's one or two stories i know about the place that keeps me away from it, the management are full of themselves. It's completely lost that interaction between staff and the customer.
    Massive shame how that place has turned out.

The staff don't really come across as friendly or personable. Not the sort of place I'd want to have a relaxing drink. So much they could be doing with the large smoking area too instead of it been filled with furniture falling a part because it looks "retro" or some ****e.

Roanmore wrote: »
    Not his first gig, that was Connolly Hall in Cork (I was at it).
    My have been his first on his own though.

Yeah, I can't remember the tour dates but they were I think two gigs before the Katie's gig and they were able to use the back up drummer and Katie's was the first he played solo and I think the next solo gig was monsters of rock in donington,

Oh yeah, talking of Geoff's
    I can't understand how one pub can employ so many arsehole bar staff.
    Even going back 35 years when I first went in there, in was the same.
    A couple of them were fine but then you had the ones that would bar on because you looked at them side ways or some other bull excuse

aziz wrote: »
    Yeah, I can't remember the tour dates but they were I think two gigs before the Katie's gig and they were able to use the back up drummer and Katie's was the first he played solo and I think the next solo gig was monsters of rock in donington,

http://www.deflepparduk.com/2016newsnov184.html

Great read up on it

I was at a Leppard gig in the 3Arena a couple years back and Rick Allen paid tribute too Ballybunion and that was in fact the first time Allen played on his own

http://www.deflepparduk.com/1986ballybunionmedia.html

I suppose a band like that have played 1000s of gigs and surely most of its a blur.

Yeah that's the story that Clive from the first link told me,
    Ballybunion was the first solo gig but Waterford was the first without the safety net( second drummer) if that makes sense

• Registered Users Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Was club La ( pronunciation like the a in bla) in Waterford. Been racking my brain for the name of the club I was brought to in 96.

Got a laugh at the lack of drugs comment in OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 376 ✭✭Santan

One thing that makes me teary eyed, every Saturday night my father, me with him, driving my sisters into town dropping them off at eagans I think, and then the golden prize, up to Johnny Walker's for chips, the best chips in town in the 90's, great times

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

Back in 2003, Des Bishop did a show where he worked low paying jobs across Ireland. In one he went to work in Abrakabra on John Street ( Where Apaches is now). Mad to see how much times have changed in Waterford. . Not a fan of his comedy but the series was entertaining and better than most ****e on RTE these days

https://youtu.be/S2ecKb-XmBI