Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Rail Jobs Discussion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Contrails wrote: »
    Anyone know if the internal CIE and external application processes are two separate channels or are they just all thrown together in the end?

Together. When I did phase 2 earlier this year, there were guys from DB etc doing the test at the same time.

I just got the email from them inviting me to do the tests - they have those test forms on the email!

Ah sorry I didn't know you had applied. I thought you were just asking in general!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Passed the initial application process. Onto the online tests now.
    Would be a nice change in career.
    Anyone currently working for as a train driver any info on the job?
    Also anyone any info on the various stages? Is it extremely tough? I'm not great at interviews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

I just got the email from them inviting me to do the tests - they have those test forms on the email!

Gone cross-eyed after doing them :D:D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Gone cross-eyed after doing them :D:D:pac:

havent done them yet - will look at them tomorrow. did look at the sample test which were easy enough to understand - the find the letter test was hard enough as I wasnt really sure what I was to do (i found them but never counted)

is the test itself in a similar vein? easy enough but under pressure due to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Contrails

prinzeugen wrote: »
    Together. When I did phase 2 earlier this year, there were guys from DB etc doing the test at the same time.

Thanks. That's interesting. Wonder why they bother taking applications from CIE separately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭sweet_trip

It gets harder! You will find that out if (hopefully) you get to phase 2 in the test centre.

Honestly I'd say I haven't a hope. Some of those tests today were tough enough. Started out grand but as it progressed I found myself getting flustered.

Some very specific wording, and paragraphs, also very easy to get tricked by some of the answers. I think I did alright but if I get through them...then the next hurdle will be a killer unless there are some companies doing practice tests/training days that'd help me.

It's a long process. So many tests and interviews it seems.

Phase 2 isn't even half of it.

The samples are deceptively easy. When you do the actual test you'll be rode sidways.

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    Passed the initial application process. Onto the online tests now.
    Would be a nice change in career.
    Anyone currently working for as a train driver any info on the job?
    Also anyone any info on the various stages? Is it extremely tough? I'm not great at interviews

Skim through the posts here from about November onwards. A few of us posted info about tests, medical, interviews etc.

sweet_trip wrote: »
    Honestly I'd say I haven't a hope. Some of those tests today were tough enough. Started out grand but as it progressed I found myself getting flustered.

Some very specific wording, and paragraphs, also very easy to get tricked by some of the answers. I think I did alright but if I get through them...then the next hurdle will be a killer unless there are some companies doing practice tests/training days that'd help me.

It's a long process. So many tests and interviews it seems.

Phase 2 isn't even half of it.

I won't give to much away as I am going for the job again, but read what's there.
    Quality not quantity. There are some tests that a NASA scientist would struggle to complete in the time given so don't worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭MrBumBum

It's so long since I've done it I cant remember.
    What sort of tests were in the online assessments?
    It opened with a few questions about irish rail and the scenarios where you pick an answer... if you passed that, what was next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

The link is dead already, was the application portal due to close today? Was meaning to apply. Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,834 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Coybig_ wrote: »
    The link is dead already, was the application portal due to close today? Was meaning to apply. Pity.

They appear to have capped at 5,000. Given how few they got last time I am sure it will open again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭gonzo1

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    They appear to have capped at 5,000. Given how few they got last time I am sure it will open again next year.

Do you know why they got so few the last time ? I think they capped it at 20000 the last time ? So many falling at the various stages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭MrBumBum

gonzo1 wrote: »
    Do you know why they got so few the last time ? I think they capped it at 20000 the last time ? So many falling at the various stages?

Almost 27000 applied last year. Every step has a standard that has to be met so each phase eliminated more and more.
    Even interviews have to be scored and a certain standard reached, if you dont reach the standard they cant hire you plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Tomas99286

Can someone help me out I done the second stage of the online tests, there was one of them I didn't fully complete time ran out I done it the 5th of September haven't gotten a reply, I did get a email the other day to trial test from OPC but it has nothing to do with the application has anyone else heard anything that might have done them around that date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Sixtoes

Just completed 2nd phase: the miniSCAAT, Rules Acquisition Aptitude Test (RAAT) and the Locomotive Driver Situational Judgement Test (LM SJT).

Fair play to anyone who managed to complete miniSCAAT in the time given:eek:
    Rules Acquisition Aptitude Test was tight for time also.

Good luck to all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Did they ever contact anyone not in Dublin? I applied for Waterford, got an email a few times saying your application is still open in a file in a filing cabinet, never a dear john, and then invitation to reapply.

I'd say there's not a smell of a job for anyone outside of Dublin and maybe an odd one in Cork. Just a PR exercise to include the rest of us so we can't say we were left out. haha

I won't be doing the tests this time around. Best of luck to anyone who is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Did they ever contact anyone not in Dublin? I applied for Waterford, got an email a few times saying your application is still open in a file in a filing cabinet, never a dear john, and then invitation to reapply.

I'd say there's not a smell of a job for anyone outside of Dublin and maybe an odd one in Cork. Just a PR exercise to include the rest of us so we can't say we were left out. haha

I won't be doing the tests this time around. Best of luck to anyone who is.

Buddy applied for Cork, and was offered DART in Dublin, turned it down and was told you're on a panel/list for Cork for 2 years from whatever point of passing his medical or interview, last year, cant remember what he said TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

Are applicants closed for the train driver positions? Can't find it on their website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭dzsfah2xoynme9

radiata wrote: »
    Are applicants closed for the train driver positions? Can't find it on their website

Yeah it closed a few days ago. Someone said here that it was only open to 5,000 applicants. I managed to get through the first part and did the 3 online tests. Just waiting to see now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Sixtoes wrote: »
    Just completed 2nd phase: the miniSCAAT, Rules Acquisition Aptitude Test (RAAT) and the Locomotive Driver Situational Judgement Test (LM SJT).

Good luck to all.

Was about to start the second phase tests there about an hour ago and the internet went down. Thank fupp I didn't start them.

What sort of time is given for each individual test to complete them?

You are not expected to be able to do it all. It is almost impossible anyway unless you work for NASA. Some people might get through it all and be 50% accurate while others may only get through 2/3 of it and be 95% accurate.

It gets worse if you get further through the process. In one test you will only be able to do 14-17 questions out of 30 in the time given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mightydrumming

You are not expected to be able to do it all. It is almost impossible anyway unless you work for NASA. Some people might get through it all and be 50% accurate while others may only get through 2/3 of it and be 95% accurate.

It gets worse if you get further through the process. In one test you will only be able to do 14-17 questions out of 30 in the time given.

I thought my eyes were going to fall out of my head on the last mini SCAAT :o
    Not hopeful but sure look, worth a shot anyhow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Sixtoes

Was about to start the second phase tests there about an hour ago and the internet went down. Thank fupp I didn't start them.

What sort of time is given for each individual test to complete them?

I think it was 60mins, 25mins then feck all for the last!

Thanks a million. Need to bloc off some time tomorrow afternoon and needed an idea of what would be ahead of me.

Did they want you to include selecting the first letter in each row of the miniscaat or just the proceeding times it appeared along the line? If that makes sense?

Because when they were looking for it I selected the first in each row also.

sweet_trip wrote: »
    Did they want you to include selecting the first letter in each row of the miniscaat or just the proceeding times it appeared along the line? If that makes sense?

Because when they were looking for it I selected the first in each row also.

Yes, select the first letter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭dzsfah2xoynme9

Any ideas how long it'll be before we hear back about the 3 online tests?

Thanks a million. Need to bloc off some time tomorrow afternoon and needed an idea of what would be ahead of me.

Didn't find it as taxing as I thought it was going to be. The miniscaat especially was a lot less intensive than I was expecting.

Now obviously that means nothing til I get results back but fingers crossed.