LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Hackney is only €95 per year.

Ya can’t buy hackney plates anymore, you can buy limo plates at a one off €1000 payment and €150pa to renew it. However insurance for limousines are around €2500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭Top Dog

I think if it's first foreign registration was in first half of 2008 it's on the old cc system so €1809 a year and €2350 if after it.
    Almost. If it's first registration was in the first 6 months of 2008 you get a choice as to which system it gets taxed on, after 06/08 that choice is taken away and it has to go on emissions rates. ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

I Was VB wrote: »
    Ya can’t buy hackney plates anymore, you can buy limo plates at a one off €1000 payment and €150pa to renew it. However insurance for limousines are around €2500.

Takes the shine off it a bit.

The previous reg no of [ 1PER ] is obviously a Persian reference. I would imagine that neither [1 IRA ] or [ IRA 1 ]were available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Casati

Takes the shine off it a bit.

The previous reg no of [ 1PER ] is obviously a Persian reference. I would imagine that neither [1 IRA ] or [ IRA 1 ]were available.

I’d say that the ‘1PER’ reg is worth more than whatever car it’s sitting on now too

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Casati wrote: »
    I’d say that the ‘1PER’ reg is worth more than whatever car it’s sitting on now too

I'd say it cannot be moved as it was given to the Iranian Embassy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I would have thought the Iranians might have purchased 85 ANZ

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/uk/britain-to-reopen-embassy-in-iran-on-bobby-sands-street-31466117.html
    The Iranian government officially changed the name of the street where the British Embassy is based from Winston Churchill Street to Bobby Sands Street in 1981. In response the British government sealed the entrance to the embassy on Bobby Sands Street and knocked through a wall into Ferdowsi Avenue to create a new entry point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

KevRossi wrote: »

What an absolute nugget of a post!

The Iranians, a great bunch of lads.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Nexo

Decent spec on it

Type Value
    VIN
    Model S 500/550 L
    Colour OBSIDIANSCHWARZ - METALLICLACK (197)
    Upholstery LEDER / NAPPA / SEMIANILIN - GRAU (808)
    Production Date 2008-09-02
    Order Nr. 0853701088
    Production Nr. 5257257

GET CONTENT
    Equipment
    197 OBSIDIANSCHWARZ - METALLICLACK
    808 LEDER / NAPPA / SEMIANILIN - GRAU
    182 WANDLER MIT ABWEICHENDER KENNLINIE
    197U OBSIDIANSCHWARZ - METALLICLACK
    205B BEDIENUNGSANLEITUNG U.WARTUNGSHEFT-ENGLISCH
    220 PARKTRONIC Incl. Parking Guidance
    223 Electrically-Adjustable Rear Seats Including Memory Function
    249 Interior Mirror And Driver's Exterior Mirror Automatically Dimming
    255B MB-MOBILO MIT DSB UND GGD
    275 Memory Package
    283B AIRBAGSCHILD - ENGLISCH
    289 Wood/Leather Multifunction Steering Wheel
    297 Roller Blind
    34N STEUERCODE WERK SINDELFINGEN/GRAZ
    383B HINWEISSCHILD BATTERIE - ENGLISCH
    386 Comfort Telephony
    401 Climatised Front Seats
    402 Climatised Rear Seats
    414 Sliding Sunroof
    427 AMG SPEEDSHIFT MCT 7-Speed Sport Transmission
    436 Luxury Head Restraits F. Driver A. Front Passenger
    461 Instrument With Mileage Reading
    477 Tyre Pressure Loss Warning
    527 COMAND APS With DVD Navigation System
    537L GROSSBRITANNIEN UND NORDIRLAND
    540 Electric Sunblind For Rear Window
    551 Anti-Theft Warning System
    581 THERMOTRONIC Automatic Climate Control
    582 THERMOTRONIC Automatic Climate Control In The Rear
    595 Tinted IR Reflecting Lam.glass
    5XXL EUROPA
    600 Headlamp Cleaning System
    616 Bi-Xenon Headlamps W. Headlamp Cornering Fct.
    619 Cornering Light Function
    666 Prod. Prot. F. Freight Pkging W/O Tie-Down Hooks
    731 High-Gloss Dark Brown Burr Walnut Wood Trim
    800A PASSION Exclusive Leather Upholstery
    808A LEDER / NAPPA / SEMIANILIN - GRAU
    809 Technical Modifications
    814 DVD Changer
    817 Housing For Alarm Siren (ATA)
    863 TV Tuner
    864 Rear Compartment Entertainment Package
    875 Windscreen Washer System And Windscreen Washer Nozzles
    876 Ambient Lighting
    882 Interior Motion Sensor
    883 Power Closing
    885 Enhanced Anti-Theft Protection
    889 KEYLESS-GO
    910 Heavy-Duty Alternator
    947 Pennant Holder And Pennant Staff Left
    983 CoC Document EU4 Without Reg. Cert. Part II
    989 Identification Label Under Windshield
    99N STEUERCODE WERK SINDELFINGEN/GRAZ
    A21 SHIFT BY WIRE
    A22 NEUE WANDLERGENERATION
    A24 GELENKFLANSCH 4-ARM 120
    A49 WANDLER MIT 3 REIBLAMELLEN
    A52 R- SCHALTPLATTE MIT VGS 3
    A57 EINBATTERIEBORDNETZ
    F221 BAUREIHE 221
    FV Sedan, Long
    G904 GETRIEBECODE AUSFUEHRUNG 04
    GA Automatic Transmission
    HA Rear Axle
    K10 Software Control For The Active Light Function
    K11 Adaptive Brake Lights
    K13 STEUERCODE FUER SERVICEINTERVALL 25000 KM
    M273 V8-OTTOMOTOR M273
    M55 Displacement 5.5 Liter
    N29 TAUSCHVERBOT KAROSSE/AUFTRAG AB RB OHNE PA1
    R RECHTS-LENKUNG
    R01 Summer Tyres
    R59 LM 9 Spoke Design 45.7 Cm (18")
    U01 Status Display For Rear Seat Belts In Instrument Cluster
    U12 Velour Floor Mats
    U60 Active Bonnet
    U72 DVD-PLAYER MIT REGIONAL-CODE 2 EUROPA,JAPAN
    V24 SPEED- + LOADINDEX 99Y
    VL Left Front Axle Half
    VR Right Front Axle Half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Zurbaran

Truckermal wrote: »
    I'm delighted you held onto it!
    As am I, thanks. The fact that herself overcame her fear to start learning in it rather than getting a smaller car and working from has saved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭milltown

Nexo wrote: »
    reg: 08D121660
    make: Mercedes-benz
    model: S Series
    version: S500 LWB 04DR A
    body: Saloon
    doors: 0
    seats: 5
    reg_date: 2008-09-25
    reg_date_ie: 2012-12-13
    sale_date: 2013-02-21
    previous_reg: 1PER
    engine_cc: 5461
    colour: Black
    fuel: Petrol
    transmission: false
    year_of_manufacture: 2008
    tax_class: E
    tax_expiry_date: 2021-02-28
    NCT_expiry_date: 2020-12-12
    nct_pass_date: 2020-07-27
    no_of_owners: 2

Given the complexity of these cars, a Merc gearbox has the potential to be an expensive failure. You'd want your head examined to buy one with a false transmission,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,502 ✭✭✭ofcork

Guy on high peak autos bought an s class cheap had to spend a bit on it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I Was VB wrote: »

I used to have a 500 SEL insured as a limo on a "weddings and funerals" policy only. It was a grand way around high insurance costs. Was all perfectly legal and above board. Don't know if those policies are available anymore

The only way you can insure, and tax a car as limo class is if they have a limo licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

To be using it for sdp use is actually illegal. Local ex hackney driver was told specifically by his insurance company that sdp is excluded (Liberty).

Was it taxed as a limo? Used as a limo for "weddings and funerals" only and did you have a PSV license?
    If not to any of the 3 then I can't see how it was perfectly legal and above board.

Insurance is rarely an issue for folk on these sort of cars, it's the tax and fuel bills that folk don't want to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Nexo

Augeo wrote: »
    Was it taxed as a limo? Used as a limo for "weddings and funerals" only and did you have a PSV license?
    If not to any of the 3 then I can't see how it was perfectly legal and above board.

Insurance is rarely an issue for folk on these sort of cars, it's the tax and fuel bills that folk don't want to pay.

Yes
    Yes
    Yes

CoBo55 wrote: »
    To be using it for sdp use is actually illegal. Local ex hackney driver was told specifically by his insurance company that sdp is excluded (Liberty).

I was insured for social and domestic also

Yes
    Yes
    Yes

How many weddings and funerals did you work?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,405 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Yes
    Yes
    Yes

Fair play. You only have to do 1 or 2 for it to be legit.

..........Used as a limo for "weddings and funerals" only ....................
    Yes
    beertons wrote: »
    Fair play. You only have to do 1 or 2 for it to be legit.

So long as it's then not used for anything else, if you want to be "legit".

How many weddings and funerals did you work?

I did four weddings ...oh and a funeral ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

I did four weddings ...oh and a funeral ;)

Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,516 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

False. It's only illegal if your insurance is not including SDP cover.
    Most commercial and PSV insurances do cover SDP use too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

So one specific person was told by one specific insurance company, that one specific policy did not allow SDP...but that somehow means anyone using a PSV for SDP is doing so illegally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Boards policing unit out in force today...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Truckermal wrote: »
    Boards policing unit out in force today...:rolleyes:

They sure are, and talking through their respective arses as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

more barge

I’ve held a PSV insurance for 12 years and being in the industry for the same amount of time, I’ve never come across a psv policy that doesn’t allow for SDP on the policy.

If that hackney driver wanted to he could charge his family €0.01 per trip and be Legal, that said i think the story is the work of fiction.

There was a story of a taxi driver been caught bringing his children to school and using the bus lanes, when stopped he had the meter on, when questioned by the gardai why his meter was on he said he was charging the wife to drop the kids into school. If he wasn’t charging the wife he could of been done for improper use of a bus lane and roadtax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 358 ✭✭sugarman20

more barge

and less Marge.

SUBSCRIBE HERE TO KEEP BOARDS ONLINE

Linky