Guard, de Jag has hands-free! Liveline 25/8 going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,469 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

I spoke to them twice

gubu-on-tv3charlie-haughey-310x415.jpg

PieOhMy wrote: »
    The ones passed were on sandwich st near the gingerman and thinking.bride street

Der actually is a genuinely proud communiddee thereabouts, a lot of Auld Dublin types, proper salt a d'eert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,525 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Charlie haughey was a fecking dodgy crook, I don't think anyone would deny that?

You should be embarrassed to have that surname, but in Ireland you would still be proud of it and get elected pretty much based on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

This is not a topic for a phone in radio show. It is confined to a certain interested cohort. I'm out now.

Unless something of interest pops up with a Gold colour, very unlikely though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Whoever is responsible for the sound balance should have a kick up the hole. The base response is too much and gives his breathiness and snorting, snuffling a weird speaker-rattling quality.
    Like a giant earthworm burrowing through the cemetary.

Yes. I recently got a Sony radio/amp and speakers from the early 80s. The sound quality is unbelievable. Unfortunately during LL they are too good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,259 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

So basically this is

Charlie is a hero - all is forgiven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Next up Jack Lynches family to call BS on the story.....wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Der actually is a genuinely proud communiddee thereabouts, a lot of Auld Dublin types, proper salt a d'eert.

Absolutely, I work with a lad from there in a professional setting. A real class act. As ever the decent people are typically quiet and go about their lives never attracting any attention and suffer as a result of the scumbags placed in the locality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

a whiff of staggering corruption?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Roger_007 wrote: »
    History is nothing more than a fictional version of real events.

Often the real truth doesn't come out until the ones with most to hide are dead, especially in the 20th Century onwards. The various 30, 50 and 70 year rules are put in place to make sure no opprobrium attaches to certain people.
    In previous centuries the only real records were the official ones, but from 1900 onwards the common soldiery and various journalists were equipped with better and constantly improving recording equipment, that could shed light or show the lie of the official version.

So basically this is

The "sweetie" thing was hilarious in fairness....but how many financial scandals was he linked to in the end? He was a seriously dodgy character.

What was one of the estates sold for in the end 45 million?! Ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

So basically this is

I'm only half-listening but it does sound like he's trying to exonerate Haughey.

A blot on his copybook.

He did a good job of blotting it himself.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Whoever is responsible for the sound balance should have a kick up the hole. The base response is too much and gives his breathiness and snorting, snuffling a weird speaker-rattling quality.
    Like a giant earthworm burrowing through the cemetary.

Briony October is not mentioned in sound credits these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Well I switched over to Moncrieff and he is playing the same piece that Pat Kenny played 4 hours ago to slag off Trump.

Should I switch back to Joe's pet project?

Squire Hockey has fallen off his horse

This convo sounds pre-planned

How do you know a politician is cynical? His lips move.

"other things happened"
    Your da was a fecking crook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

sligojoek wrote: »
    A blot on his copybook.

He made a few blots in La Coq Hardi too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

As I predicted, Fianna Fail revisionism delivered by Mr. Duffy and a biased and compromised contributor.

Mr. Duffy one again demonstrates clearly how much of a disgrace he is, and how unprofessional. The original caller was a ruse to get Haughey on, that's all.

I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

You don't need me to tell you not to believe anything on the RTE website.

A blot on his copybook.

His book was nothing but blot!

Briony October is not mentioned in sound credits these days.
    with a name like that she could of done her sound engineering training in the adult entertainment industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭jean contente

Did your fahder steal money from Brian Lenihan's medical fund?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/moriarty-tribunal-haughey-stole-45m-26352058.html
    The former Taoiseach is arguably damaged most by the findings on Mr Lenihan's medical fund.

Up to ?336,000 was raised for the fund, but no more than ?89,000 was needed for the expenses.

And Mr Haughey continued to raise money for the Lenihan fund even when he knew there was enough to cover the medical costs.

"The tribunal is satisfied that a sizeable proportion of the excess funds collected was misappropriated by Mr Haughey for his personal use," the report says.

He's calling him "Heffernan" now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I'm only half-listening but it does sound like he's trying to exonerate Haughey.

De Beatification of Charlie.

"Tell me lies tell me sweet little lies..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭cozar

This convo sounds pre-planned

could be recorded and Joe is in L'Ecrivain as we speak so to speak.

Joe & Haughey remind me of each other a bit... "I did the state some service" types who became squires of de estate so to speak, after coming from humble origins.