Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beggars knocking on front doors

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I always say thanks but no thanks to anyone at the door selling something. It's very simple to say.

At the moment our doorbell isn't functional so we ignore all:)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Two Mormons rocked up to my door one time. “I bet you never seen two guys like us before”. Actually yes I have ye must all come out of the same mould. I offered them tea but they declined.

I also had a Jehovah’s Witness. Although I called her Jehovah Fitness. The wife was not impressed when she came home from town and I was talking shíte with her.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Why would anyone in their right mind give these people anything, they have umpteen amounts of charities and welfare and housing thrown at them.

The ones begging on the streets tend to have substance abuse issues or mental issues. Not hard to tell.

The Roma gypsies are bred to work as beggars or thief's and that's it, the men run the women like it's a full time job, they're out quite early and tend to be dropped off to certain spots or bus it too but meet up to transfer the cash etc they get.
    Many now have free travel now also and those that don't are using child leap cards that often have up to €150 on them.....

Amazing that a beggar can afford such luxury and have you ever seen a beggar that isn't fat? Unless bad on the drugs or drink......

They really get so much and housing I actually can't understand how people don't understand in a lot of cases they're doing better then many working.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭anewme

kenmc wrote: »
    BS. Why do they think it's ok to knock on someone's door to try sell them something they haven't requested? The person could be sick in bed, sleeping after a night shift, just after settling a baby for a nap or what not. If anyone wants to switch provider, there's several ways to do so at their convenience - internet of course primarily, but also stands in shopping centre, advertising etc not to mention junk mail.

There's absolutely no excuse for disturbing people in their own home. You don't see them providing their own home address or personal phone number to allow prospective customers to call over to their place whenever the notion takes them.

Shower of cnuts.

I suppose it's doing what you need to survive.

There are people who would rob the eye out of your head, so people doing door to door to keep going dont bother me.

I'm old school and every thing from carpets to vegetables to the pools was door to door, so I dont have an issue with it, once people are polite.

I don't see the need for calling them cnuts. It could be someone trying to find their way. I'm lucky to have never had to do door to door, but I've done sales along the way and will always treat others doing that role as individuals and with respect.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭mistersifter

An old traveller woman sometimes calls around my estate (in Kildare).

She usually has a buggy and is looking for food. Haven't seen her in a while though. She could be dead.

Probably done it all her life. Didn't mind her at all.

Now, the fúcker I found dismantling my carefully packed skip bag looking for 'a lawnmower' - that's a different kettle of fish. His name was Miley and he offered to take my skip bag away for half the official price. I declined.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭KilOit

Happened in the 80's around Tallaght a lot, we'd either egg them or set them on fire whichever was handiest

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

topper75 wrote: »
    I would say. Teaching that other poor sinner soul not to covet his neighbour's goods. Lights up Heaven, that sort of ministry.

I can assure you the man is in heaven, he was a top class man,patriot, neighbor, father and grandfather.

Resilient too unlike a lot of folk these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,824 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Pkiernan wrote: »
    It doesn't add any security to your house. If you want to feel otherwise, go ahead and keep on dreaming.
    They don't t prevent anyone entering your property.

Strong, less pickable locks and guard dogs are more effective

Not sure that you quite understand the "tin hat " reference, but then again you're not as smart as me.

It does quite simply. It makes your house more secure because it is a deterrent.

If I have Mercedes AMG in my driveway, a 64 inch TV on my wall, a lot of silverware all viewable, my neighbor has similar... I have an alarm, cctv, the neighbor doesn’t... which house will the burglar try hit ???

Yes, my neighbors house, the cameras willhave done their job as a deterrent. It might also do the job of gathering evidence for my neighbor... which if the scumbag is caught, convicted and sentenced courtesy of the camera... word gets around the criminal fraternity... “fûck... down in Kenwood Grove they got CCTV, yeah be giving that place a wide berth”.

Cameras systems are now cheap enough, you can get your house rigged up for about 1400 give or take. I went for HD which is unreal quality, you could read the headlines of someone’s paper walking past it's that clear.

The price of the technology has come down, its now more accessible for people but the quality has gone up. I can see all the cameras on iPad, smartphone AND smart tv....

anewme wrote: »
    I'm looking into this, but am concerned it may make people think there is sonething worth stealing as not many others have it. Will upgrade alarm first, I dont have the one to phone as installed 14 years ago.

I was thinking the same. But then because of how cheap the systems are becoming, how easy it is to access and store the footage I’d say within the next few years they will become very commonplace.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

They are casing the joint or they are maybe under the influence of drugs.
    The city centre is quite busy, pubs are open, cafes are open.
    We have a good welfare system , there's no good reason to be knocking on doors asking for money. People give money to beggars in the city centre maybe because they might be homeless.
    All the beggars I see are young , in thier 20s.
    I get people just walking up to me asking for a euro.

Unless you live in a mansion you don't need to install camera, s install an alarm system if you feel worried.

riclad wrote: »
    Unless you live in a mansion you don't need to install camera, s install an alarm system if you feel worried.

But what is the difference between a mansion and an ordinary house in terms of CCTV ? I might not have 100,000 under the floorboards or a collection of jewelry but the possessions I have I’ve had to work damn hard for. My safety, peace of mind and security is something I covet and enjoy too.. guitars, family heirlooms, all my Dads paintings and wood art mean a lot... I intend to keep and enjoy everything. For the price of the purchase and installation, well worth it.

Strumms wrote: »
    I was thinking the same. But then because of how cheap the systems are becoming, how easy it is to access and store the footage I’d say within the next few years they will become very commonplace.

Yes will definitely become commonplace. A lot of new builds offering them as standard now.

Nope, the need to have an alarm was back 20 plus years ago, so you are running a fair bit behind.

I'm not a security expert I know people that have alarm systems, sensors on windows etc when they go out they turn on the alarm. I don't know anyone that has camera, s installed in the house,
    But if you wish to do so go ahead.
    And it depends on where you live.
    Of course you have the right to install whatever you want to if you can afford it
    Are you saying every house has an alarm ? Since the year 2000.
    Lets say Joe lives in a house he has a laptop and 2 tvs, he's supposed to spend 1200 euro on security camera, s?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭mikemac2

I remember this back in the 90´s

Travellers looking for milk, sugar, butter, etc

We were always told while you were at the front door a youngster was around the back scoping your house and taking bicycles from your back lawn but well we never got robbed

Hadn't heard of it since, here we are in 2020
    Feisar wrote: »
    I also had a Jehovah’s Witness. Although I called her Jehovah Fitness. The wife was not impressed when she came home from town and I was talking shíte with her.

You had 0% chance there ;) Even if you converted for her she would choose a long time pioneer/missionary over you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

mikemac2 wrote: »
    I remember this back in the 90´s

Travellers looking for milk, sugar, butter, etc

We were always told while you were at the front door a youngster was around the back scoping your house and taking bicycles from your back lawn but well we never got robbed

Hadn't heard of it since, here we are in 2020

That’s rubbish. He was shimmying up the drain pipe and in the small bathroom window.

Nope, the need to have an alarm was back 20 plus years ago, so you are running a fair bit behind.

You need both really or at least both are a good to have / great to have.

If you are having a week away somewhere and a desperate mong wants to break in, believes you have valuables and cash... the CCTV should be a deterrent, definitely be an evidence gatherer.

The alarm will be a deterrent too and will alert neighbors, Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭mikemac2

That’s rubbish. He was shimmying up the drain pipe and in the small bathroom window.

hah a house of eight and one bathroom

I had more trouble getting into the bathroom than a burglar :pac:

I have never had 1 person knocking on my door asking for a euro in the last 30 years
    Every week someone asks me for money on the street.
    I think it's weird to knock on a door asking for money,
    Even homeless people are receiving welfare payments, there's free soup kitchens free food all around the city centre . There's no one in Ireland starving.
    The point of the alarm system is it puts people off trying to break in
    A potential burglar will not know you have cameras installed before he breaks in unless they are on the walls outside

I'm not a security expert I know people that have alarm systems, sensors on windows etc when they go out they turn on the alarm. I don't know anyone that has camera, s installed in the house,
    But if you wish to do so go ahead.
    And it depends on where you live.
    Of course you have the right to install whatever you want to if you can afford it
    Are you saying every house has an alarm ? Since the year 2000.
    Lets say Joe lives in a house he has a laptop and 2 tvs, he's supposed to spend 1200 euro on security camera, s?

Every house has an alarm.

My question is if they should have CCTV.? My alarm has sensors but could be ringing away jf I'm not there and I dont know.

Interesting discussion as is what I'm thinking about ATM so thanks for the responses. My house does look like its well kept and has a nice car so could attract the wrong attention.

Would it not be more effective to have an alarm that has a sim card it sends a txt or email to your phone or it has an app that tells you if it has gone off. It uses the 3g network to txt or email you.
    See homesecure. ie
    This is not an ad I just googled 3g alarm ie

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Every house has an alarm.

Mine doesn’t.

I grew up in a housing estate where house alarms went off all the time. No one investigated, or cared - we just cursed them. The alarm would blare all day until the person came home. Same thing occasionally happens in the estate i live in now. When I hear an alarm, I don’t think “oh no, their house is being broken into!” I think “fücking alarm better stop soon”, and turn up the music. So does everyone else.

I remember staying with a mate in Finglas once. I was in the spare room, and it was a roasting night, so I got up and opened the window. Next thing the alarm starts blaring. I open the bedroom door, and my mate’s legging down the stairs in his boxers with a baseball bat in his hand, while his girlfriend’s screaming in terror.

I guess monitored alarms are better, but my dad once had to abandon Christmas with us on the west coast because he got a call from Phone Watch that the alarm was going off in his house in Dublin. The neighbour he had as a nominated key holder was away. So he had to get the train all the way back to find it was a false alarm.

Brother has a monitored alarm with fire detection. Twice the Fire Brigade have been called out to the house for burned toast. Edit: I remember now, it wasn’t burned toast, it was steam from the shower. Alarm was set off while his wife was in the shower at home alone. Phone Watch phoned her, but she didn’t hear the call, so when she didn’t answer they phoned my brother, who was 15 miles away at work and couldn’t verify that the house wasn’t on fire, so the Fire Brigade was dispatched.

So, for peace of mind. I’ve decided not to bother with an alarm.

Would it not be more effective to have an alarm that has a sim card it sends a txt or email to your phone or it has an app that tells you if it has gone off. It uses the 3g network to txt or email you.
    See homesecure. ie
    This is not an ad I just googled 3g alarm ie

If you have alarm AND camera, you get notified if there is an issue AND you can see on your phone what’s happening, why the alarm is going off...

App will say : kitchen door

You can see that the kitchen door has been jammied open, you don’t need to be alternating between cameras, just call the Gardai.

If he gets away there is video evidence of some sort.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

If you have alarm AND camera, you get notified if there is an issue AND you can see on your phone what’s happening, why the alarm is going off...

You can have just the cameras with motion detection and notifications, and you can instantly see what’s going on from anywhere without your house making an annoying noise that everyone will just ignore and hate you for.

So when it turns out to be the cat bumping off the window, you know you can relax.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭1874

I do the same myself with the doorbell. I don't want to spend 10 minutes on the doorstep fending off someone from a marketing company trying to sign me up for electricity.

I just say, no thanks, Im in a contract already anything from 1-2 yrs and I just started it, usually they make some suggestion about contacting them when the contract is finished, I watch them leave, end of, whats annoying is when you cant answer and they keep coming back or persistently ring the doorbell, Ive bollocked some out of it following night shift and the doorbell is disconnected.

I live in a decent area but there have been one or more two burglaries, certainly a couple more than you be used to hearing about word gets around via the residents association Facebook and WhatsApp ... one thing too that’s been noticed is the regularity of vans that seem to be of the habit of driving around the estate, early evening, at relatively slow speed... occupants seemingly casually casing houses and cars....

The beggars are often doing this too. Getting an up close and personal appreciation of who is around, who might be vulnerable by calling to your front door, it’s been happening too with reasonable regularity.

A car in the cul de sac was attempted to be stolen last week, window smashed but the lads got away without taking the car.. due to a quick thinking neighbor who disturbed them.

The van, a green Toyota hiace according to the witnesses is linked to a criminal gang.

Fools giving them a reason to keep coming back by giving them anything or buying crap off them, there may be a few genuine cases, hadn't come across it since the 80's, but its wide open to give them an excuse to scope out places.
    A few years back some guy waved me down in a retail carpark, I thought lookign for help, asked if he needed a push or a jumpstart, he said No, he needed €20 for petrol, promptly told him to fcuk off, I may have suggested I was calling the Gardai (not that it would do any good) just so he wouldnt bother anyone else with his scam. I felt he could have quickly turned aggressive, getting annoyed I preempted that myself, but others might be intimidated into giving assistance.

Same reasoning applies to locking the door. It’s the illusion of security.

so just leave it unlocked and wide open?

Two Mormons rocked up to my door one time. “I bet you never seen two guys like us before”. Actually yes I have ye must all come out of the same mould. I offered them tea but they declined.

I used to just turn them away, but if Im in the mood for a wind up or a laugh, I question them on stuff they come up with, did not get any hotties turning up, I didnt know there were any, I might join up for a stint if so :), that said we agreed that commercialism is ruining the earth, from what I recal, they might believe in some kind of rapture type scenario, I scoffed at some of their ideas though, I think they knew they couldnt save my soul/harvest it when they are backing away down the driveway.

I suppose it's doing what you need to survive.
    There are people who would rob the eye out of your head, so people doing door to door to keep going dont bother me.

I'm old school and every thing from carpets to vegetables to the pools was door to door, so I dont have an issue with it, once people are polite.

I don't see the need for calling them cnuts. It could be someone trying to find their way. I'm lucky to have never had to do door to door, but I've done sales along the way and will always treat others doing that role as individuals and with respect.

bollocks, they are doing at the expense of vulnerable people,

App will say : kitchen door

You can see that the kitchen door has been jammied open, you don’t need to be alternating between cameras, just call the Gardai.

If he gets away there is video evidence of some sort.

what system are you using? pm? app/s?
    Ive some cctv up and a doorbell camera, dont want to tempt fate but I think if people see it, they might think twice as they know they might be identified, in reality, my system doesnt sound as good quality as what you're saying, I couldnt read number plates, I bought as a bundle from a place that provides security equipment, its BNC cables and power supples to each camera though.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,094 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Living rural again, haven't had any callers to the house and don't anticipate any either as the electric gates and big stone wall means that nobody bothers.

I remember seeing the first "sorry we missed you" leaflet in the post box at election time and it hit home just how lucky we had it.

Saying that, we had 8 cows break into the back garden last month.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,814 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

boys will be boys, terrible upbringing, an apology and underlying mental issues/disorders will save any criminal in this country

'he's/she's a nice harmless grand fella/girl'

Not a fan of answering the door unless i get a text/message saying 'im outside' or if its family who have keys. If i ordered something id rather collect it at the store/take away instead of having the door almost been knocked down at 7am etc

• Registered Users Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Do you still get wandering tramps of the Johnny Fortycoats variety or are they a thing of the past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Do you still get wandering tramps of the Johnny Fortycoats variety or are they a thing of the past?

Jaysus Fortycoats god love him, he must have moved on from this world awhile ago.