[Deleted User] wrote: » I smoke weed all day. I break up the weed smoking with video games and masturbation.
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » Again, sounds exactly like my nephew.
Rothko wrote: » Ah yes, the nephew that doesn't exist.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Boffins have come up with a terrifying model to show what an avid gamer might look like in 20 years time.
FTA69 wrote: » World of Warcraft is social? Is it b*llocks. That’s like saying posting on boards is the equivalent of hanging out with your mates or engaging with actual human beings. It isn’t. In moderation it can be ok like, but to define it as a hobby or socialising is ludicrous.
John66 wrote: » And I'm thinking no way as what the f** with the amount of time you currently spend on it how can you study and work part time.
FTA69 wrote: » My experience with people playing that sh*te for hours is that they’re far from social and do unfortunately often correspond to the idea of withdrawn loners cooped up in their rooms. It honestly comes across to me as people dressing up borderline personality issues as being ‘introverted’ or whatever. World of Warcraft is social? Is it b*llocks. That’s like saying posting on boards is the equivalent of hanging out with your mates or engaging with actual human beings. It isn’t. In moderation it can be ok like, but to define it as a hobby or socialising is ludicrous. I dunno, seems to me part of a wider infantilisation of people I see going on. I’m far from an ‘old fogie’ or whatever (I’m 33) and people can do whatever they want but banging away on computer games for hours upon hours a week isn’t healthy by any means.
ancapailldorcha wrote: » This sort of stereotype reminds me of the lads who used to call me boring because I wasn't obsessed with Manchester United, necking shots or driving a 101 with flashing neon lights in circles around my hometown. In every hobby, there's always people who go too far. I'll take my games over spending time with the sort of drunken and odious pond life that takes over the streets by my house on matchdays thank you very much.
FTA69 wrote: » To be fair I never said playing computer games automatically makes you an oddball, it doesn’t. But if the bulk of your free time is spent gawping at a screen shooting avatars or on World of Warcraft pretending to be a dwarf wizard then there’s something awry. I mean people can do whatever makes them happy like but you’ve a lad above there spends the equivalent of a full week at work at that craic declaring “people are sh*t” etc, I just find that bemusing and saddening to be honest but to each their own. Have at it, it’s certainly not for me and very few of my peers in my age group would play computer games regularly.
ancapailldorcha wrote: » 40 hours a week is excessive IMO but I would say the same about going to the pub every night or watching reality TV daily but those activities never draw the sort of censure that gaming recieves.
ancapailldorcha wrote: » I know a few people who play games regularly and only one would fit your stereotype and, frankly when it isn't games it's drinking and watching football matches so I think it's down to the individual rather than the pastime. I had a housemate quit her job and just sit on the sofa playing freemium apps but she had no interests besides blockbuster movies and gossiping about the housemates. 40 hours a week is excessive IMO but I would say the same about going to the pub every night or watching reality TV daily but those activities never draw the sort of censure that gaming recieves.
John66 wrote: » I suppose everything in moderation and there isn't really huge deference between playing computer games, watching telly or YouTube or even posting here. I'm just concern for a lad who I hardly see because he's playing games and only comes out for food and wonder how he will cope on his own.
FTA69 wrote: » They do off me anyway. I hate reality TV and think it’s brain rotting nonsense. I might watch the odd episode of Masterchef the Professionals at a push but that’s it and if people start discussing Love Island or any of that sh*t I’ll usually switch off. As I said, there seems to be a growing infantilisation of people, computer games and weird noncey Japanese cartoons and celebrity culture and all that craic. I’m driven mad from the lot of it.
FTA69 wrote: » As I said, there seems to be a growing infantilisation of people, computer games and weird noncey Japanese cartoons and celebrity culture and all that craic. I’m driven mad from the lot of it.
ancapailldorcha wrote: » I'd also add that for many people, real life can be fierce depressing. Climate change, covid, soaring rents and house prices along with stagnant living standards, etc. Not saying that WoW solves that or anything but I can get the desire for escapism. Topic for a different thread anyway.
Potential-Monke wrote: » I'm here! I'm one of those terrible 'gamers' you're referencing. I spend, oh, I never actually added it up, but I reckon I spend 30+ hours a week gaming. As I'm getting older, I seem to be spending more and more time at it. I'm 37 btw. Yes, I live at home with my parents (if you care to go through my post history, you'll see plenty of reasons why) but basically it works for me and them and there's no complaints from either side. I do my bit around the house, especially the jobs someone 70+ with health conditions can't do. I'm not big into the physical jobs, but my 3 brothers do that while I ensure there's working internet, tv, dodgy box and their phones are working as expected. I'm the tech guy. I do the shopping for them to save them having to go out in this pandemic (both have lung/breathing related issues). I do my bit and spend the rest of my time gaming. In that time, I play mostly single player games, I love a good story and the more immersive the better. And within those games, there's more than a fair share of reading, so you can technically say I do a lot of reading each week. To rob a quick quote from Google: So unlike watching tv (unless it's quiz based shows), i'm actively engaged more than most people while I'm gaming. On top of all this, I have a full time job (nights, i'm ginger so suits me better), I pay bills, I give my bit and help out when I can. I don't put in or out with anyone, and would prefer if people left me alone, because up to 4 years ago I did the whole life/drink/mortgage thing and it nearly killed me. I'm anti-social because, really, people are dicks, and nosey dicks at that (I detest gossip). I have a small circle of friends I use to go into once a week or thereabouts and we'd watch anime, play games or just have a laugh. So yeah, I do all that, but unlike the lad mentioned in the OP, my parents made sure I did my bit around the house and got outside as much as necessary (again, not as much as others because ginger+sun=burn and pain and suffering for my parents). I've been playing since the Atari 2600 days, and actually had a pong console before that. going by a lot of outdated and ill-informed comments on here, I'm a pure waste, according to those who spends upwards of thousands to follow millionaires around the place kicking a ball around, screaming bloody murder because millionaire A didn't do it exactly the way your pudgy arse would. And then said millionaires having life altering injuries until the other millionaire gets a card. Really must get one of those sponges/sprays, because within a few minutes they're perfectly fine again. Do the medical industry know about this magic? So you keep on believing what you want to believe, I'll be here, playing my games and thoroughly enjoying my life. Also, bad parenting is not the kids fault. I feel sorry for him that he's not prepared for life because ye let him play games all the time instead of, you know, parenting.
The Mighty Quinn wrote: » My last real outing was Final Fantasy VIII, then I went back and replayed Final Fantasy VII. That provided an out. I can see the appeal. I've been tempted to try out the updated remake version of it, won't lie.
FTA69 wrote: » They do off me anyway. I hate reality TV and think it’s brain rotting nonsense. I might watch the odd episode of Masterchef the Professionals at a push but that’s it and if people start discussing Love Island or any of that sh*t I’ll usually switch off.As I said, there seems to be a growing infantilisation of people, computer games and weird noncey Japanese cartoons and celebrity culture and all that craic. I’m driven mad from the lot of it.
freshpopcorn wrote: » We can all serotype to be honest. Everybody I know know that's is involved in boxing is a trouble maker for example. Often getting in trouble with the Gardaí. They are rude and aggressive and you'd cross the road nearly to avoid them. However they all claim to have loads of discipline and respect.
TheDavester wrote: » while I'm more of a let people do what they want (once not illegal) but, i dont get the Japanese anime stuff - know one guy in his mid 30's never had a long term job, mostly on pc playing these dungeons and dragon/minecraft type of games, rarely leaves the house - 100 percent agreed more and more of the 20-30's are infantilised and noticing more and more of those in their 20's - 30's (im in that age demographic) are still obssessed with Disney/Pokemon/My Little Pony/Harry Potter/Childrens cartoons...grow up ffs