What Whisky/Whiskey are we drinking this month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Cazale

Signed up to the https://www.whisky-me.com/ monthly subscription service. £7 a month for a 50ml sample delivered to the house. I'm using a northern address for it.

So far I've got an Aultmore 12 Year and Royal Brackla 12 Year Old. Got a free sample of Wolfburn Batch No.375 when I signed up by using another members affiliate number. So far so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Cazale wrote: »
    Signed up to the https://www.whisky-me.com/ monthly subscription service. £7 a month for a 50ml sample delivered to the house. I'm using a northern address for it.

So far I've got an Aultmore 12 Year and Royal Brackla 12 Year Old. Got a free sample of Wolfburn Batch No.375 when I signed up by using another members affiliate number. So far so good.

That I can get be behind.

Though, wish I knew about it 5 days ago so I could get September's shipment. Roll on October.

Check your pm. I have a referral code for a free whisky. Anyone else thinking of joining pm me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

Just a heads up for anyone looking to pick up a bottle, the Method & Madness online tasting is full now according to O' Briens and looks like they've run out of a few bottles which were previously on sale. I'm planning on popping down to my local shop later to pick up a bottle. Shortlist is;

Knappogue 12/14 YO
    Method & Madness
    Roe & Co Curators Series
    Teeling Single Pot Still

I've had the Teeling before so I'm inclined to try something new, anyone any recommendations or alternatives in around the €40-60 range?

Just a heads up for anyone looking to pick up a bottle, the Method & Madness online tasting is full now according to O' Briens and looks like they've run out of a few bottles which were previously on sale. I'm planning on popping down to my local shop later to pick up a bottle. Shortlist is;

Knappogue 12/14 YO
    Method & Madness
    Roe & Co Curators Series
    Teeling Single Pot Still

I've had the Teeling before so I'm inclined to try something new, anyone any recommendations or alternatives in around the €40-60 range?

The Knappogue 14 is a lovely dram. Definitely pick that over the 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

We had a baby girl this year and I'm going to buy a Midleton for each of her birthdays until she is 21. If it doesn't work out at least I'll have a load of bottles of midleton to drink!

Technically the whiskey is your daughters, and it's up to her whether she lets you drink any of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭actuar90

Looks great and reasonably priced. Pity they don't ship to ROI. What kind of outer packaging does it come in?
    Wondering would I get away with ordering it to parcel motel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭actuar90

New Teelings sounds interesting:
    https://teelingdistillery.com/product/4211/

actuar90 wrote: »
    Looks great and reasonably priced. Pity they don't ship to ROI. What kind of outer packaging does it come in?
    Wondering would I get away with ordering it to parcel motel?

I suspect that is what Cazale is doing :D I'm very tempted by it but say the £8 a month works out at €9+€3.95 PM fee and its not as good a deal as it seems at first. Plus theres always the risk with PM of it getting stopped.
    actuar90 wrote: »
    New Teelings sounds interesting:
    https://teelingdistillery.com/product/4211/

Sounds very interesting but I'd want someone to take the plunge first and tell me what its like :pac:

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 6,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

I suspect that is what Cazale is doing :D I'm very tempted by it but say the £8 a month works out at €9+€3.95 PM fee and its not as good a deal as it seems at first. Plus theres always the risk with PM of it getting stopped.
    Add to that, we still don't know what will happen with Parcel Motel et al come the 1st January when imports from the UK will be liable for customs charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,496 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Alcohol brought in from the UK via Parcel Motel is already liable for duty.

I suspect that is what Cazale is doing I'm very tempted by it but say the £8 a month works out at €9+€3.95 PM fee and its not as good a deal as it seems at first. Plus theres always the risk with PM of it getting stopped.

I get everything delivered to relatives in the North and pick them up every few months when I'm up there. Parcel motel would cost too much.

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 6,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

L1011 wrote: »
    Alcohol brought in from the UK via Parcel Motel is already liable for duty.
    Yep, but alcohol seems to get through more often than not as Revenue only carry out the occasional random check.

From January 1st, everything coming in from GB via Parcel Motel et al will be liable for customs checks so I'd imagine a more rigorous regime will be implemented. Especially when the <€22 Import VAT exemption is abolished from July 1st next. The courier companies could even scrap these services if they don't see them worth the extra hassle. Who knows...

I get everything delivered to relatives in the North and pick them up every few months when I'm up there. Parcel motel would cost too much.

Ah that makes much more sense so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭dobman88

irish_goat wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/Timothyoc/status/1301629529866240000

Hopefully getting a bottle picked up for myself today. Big fan of beer cask aged whiskey.

Sold out in Bow Lane. Got a mate to pop in today for me and they said ring next week to see if any more came in. Was quite popular and flew out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭conor678

Have tried out a new whiskey tasting subscription service from Masters of Malt. I am based in the UK so p and p is cheap. £28 every 2 months (Can do it monthly if you want). Decent selection and a good opportunity to try some whiskeys I wouldn't normally try.

Got:

The Week of Peat (14 yr Single malt) - Had this tonight, very nice. Nice hint of smokiness without being over powering. Similar to Laphroig in my opinion

Legent Bourbon (yet try) but is a collaboration with Jim Bean and Suntory distillery

Teeling Brabazon Series 3 - Really looking forward to this,never had a bad whiskey from Teeling's

Gronte from Mackmyra - Looking forward to trying a Swedish whiskey

Bunnahabhain (12 year old) Had one from this distillery before and was not dissappointed.

The Knappogue 14 is a lovely dram. Definitely pick that over the 12.

Got the knappogue in the end. Will try a drop on Friday.

conor678 wrote:
    Have tried out a new whiskey tasting subscription service from Masters of Malt. I am based in the UK so p and p is cheap. £28 every 2 months (Can do it monthly if you want). Decent selection and a good opportunity to try some whiskeys I wouldn't normally try.

Was looking at this myself. Might have to signup now after seeing your selection!

Can ye link to it there lads?

"Pour & Sip | UK's Best Whisky Subscription Club Curated by Experts" https://pourandsip.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭conor678

It's not bad and I am going to give it a few months to see how it goes. I currently get it every 2 months.

As mentioned I am based in England so p&p isn't too bad and to be honest over s month/2 months the cost is negligible in the grand scheme of things

conor678 wrote: »
    It's not bad and I am going to give it a few months to see how it goes. I currently get it every 2 months.

As mentioned I am based in England so p&p isn't too bad and to be honest over s month/2 months the cost is negligible in the grand scheme of things

That's my thinking as well. Worth getting it once anyway to see how it goes.

You get two free glasses the first month too.

Saw that. Love me a free glass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,208 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

It’s a my Dads birthday. Thinking of buying him a tasing/sample pack. Any good one still available or upcoming. Any I’ve had my eye on have sold out before I got to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,151 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Mellor wrote: »
    It’s a my Dads birthday. Thinking of buying him a tasing/sample pack. Any good one still available or upcoming. Any I’ve had my eye on have sold out before I got to them.

L Mulligans have a few 'watch back' tastings still available i.e. you can watch the recording and they will send out the samples.
    * Paul John Indian whisky
    * Tipperary whiskey

There's also spots left on upcoming tasting for Glen Scotia of Campbelltown:
    http://www.lmulliganwhiskeyshop.com/category-s/125.htm

Otherwise, you could get Kilbeggan, Knappogue, Glendalough, Teelings miniature sets from CWS.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,208 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

odyssey06 wrote: »
    L Mulligans have a few 'watch back' tastings still available i.e. you can watch the recording and they will send out the samples.
    * Paul John Indian whisky
    * Tipperary whiskey

There's also spots left on upcoming tasting for Glen Scotia of Campbelltown:
    http://www.lmulliganwhiskeyshop.com/category-s/125.htm

Otherwise, you could get Kilbeggan, Knappogue, Glendalough, Teelings miniature sets from CWS.
    I’d probably keep it safe and stick to Irish. Can’t recall him ever opening a bottle of scotch.

Anyone try the Tipperary tasting? Not familiar with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,151 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Mellor wrote: »
    I’d probably keep it safe and stick to Irish. Can’t recall him ever opening a bottle of scotch.
    Anyone try the Tipperary tasting? Not familiar with it.

Their Watershed single malt is lovely.
    But I think this tasting is for their cask strength & cask finish releases mostly, so may be 'safe' territory :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,088 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Just heard a relative of mines son started his placement in a whiskey distillery.

2 free bottles per month......sweet.