Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Stabbing in Eyre square

• 14-08-2020 1:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭

no real info.

Walked past it . Its cordoned off. About 15 guards. Cones as markers for the csi team.

Guy was alive going into the ambulance hopefully he pulls through.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

https://galwaybayfm.ie/galway-bay-fm-news-desk/breaking-gardai-investigate-after-stabbing-incident-at-eyre-square/
    A man in his 20’s received a number of apparent stab wounds and was taken to University Hospital Galway for treatment. His injuries are not believed to be life threatening.

Another man in his 40’s was arrested and is currently being detained at Galway Garda Station.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,669 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

A big area around the fountain is still closed off with guards present.

Either he's someone important, or the injuries are some significant than that news report says.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,527 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Either he's someone important, or the injuries are some significant than that news report says.

Or the perpetrator is "important"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

We need a small Garda station on the square with regular foot patrols around the clock to push the scumbags out of the city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭westgolf

biko wrote: »
    We need a small Garda station on the square with regular foot patrols around the clock to push the scumbags out of the city centre.

We need a station with holding cells and a very visible patrol presence PLUS night sittings in the court for the trouble makers.
    See how Killarney deals with these types during their rally weekends as an example. Recent media reports excepted.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,669 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

biko wrote: »

So they'd head down to Spanish Arch instead.

Or any other area that gets pedestrianised.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,206 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Krakow has 'drunk tanks' - You're caught acting the maggot on the street, you're in for the evening. Seems to work well.

Now, on the flip side, you'll also easily end up in one of these if you're simply caught with a can on the street, even if minding your own business.

Surely there's a middle-ground that could be met? Issue with Galway is the place would be busier than CP's used to be on a Thursday night.