Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs!

• 04-09-2020 12:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭

Any advice on a few nice pubs and Restaurants for 20's girls to go to this weekend?

Bit of life, Craic, no accordians please, enough of them around.

Mid budget Restaurant, Fancy burger, Bunsen type place would be nice, few cocktail's etc, Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,593 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

All pubs are closed and craic is cancelled. So is live music.

There are restaurants which may have a table for you.

Try Sliders in Quay Street, or the Stock Exchange in Shop St.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

I wouldnt go to the places mentioned above as for me they reek of of tackyness.

Id go taylors, carrolls, O connels

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

I don't know if it's a group of 20 or girls in their 20's . Music is stopped most places due to covid but most pubs are open. If you are in your 20's the super pubs are open

• Registered Users Posts: 7,386 ✭✭✭JoeA3

The Front Door or the Dail bar are probably what you're looking for.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Theres this thing called coronavirus going around...maybe check that out...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭LostDuck

All pubs are closed and craic is cancelled.

Most pubs in the city are back open and will serve you a plate of something with your pints.

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭septictank

JoeA3 wrote: »
    The Front Door or the Dail bar are probably what you're looking for.

The Dail is booked out, but good call.

Thanks for that, doesn't mean you have to crawl under a rock and hide.
    Take the usual precautions we've been doing for the last few months and it will be safe enough, life goes on.

I don't know if it's a group of 20 or girls in their 20's . Music is stopped most places due to covid but most pubs are open. If you are in your 20's the super pubs are open

Just a group of 4 girls down for the weekend, first time in Galway. Not looking to go on the lash, more a few drinks and a bite in a nice fun place.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,593 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

empacher wrote: »
    I wouldnt go to the places mentioned above as for me they reek of of tackyness.

Id go taylors, carrolls, O connels

Pre Covid, Carrols was definitely accordions. Taylors too, sometimes.

Very few 20-something places around, really.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 greenerie

Caprice is gorgeous for a girl's dinner and drinks, been there loads with friends. Definitely call to book ahead but I really recommend it. Dela or 56 Central are good too

• Registered Users Posts: 11,913 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Handsome Burger, Caribou, Seven, Buddha Bar/Asian Tea House (assuming it's open), Dough Bros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Supermacs and down the Sparch afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Your Face wrote: »
    Supermacs and down the Sparch afterwards.

BYO Buckfast

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

Is Hyde open? Might fit the bill.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭spurshero

Pre Covid, Carrols was definitely accordions. Taylors too, sometimes.

Very few 20-something places around, really.

What are you talking about ? Busker Browne’s kingshead front door Dail seven 1520 all within 2 mins of each other and suitable for people in there 20s

• Registered Users Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

You could always head out to Clifden

• Registered Users Posts: 7,386 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Is that the place over Easons that changes its name every month?

You could always head out to Clifden

Bit far out, Salthill is as far as they are going out f town.
    Clifden is very trad, diddle idle as far as I remember, prefer more contemporary vibe. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

septictank wrote: »
    Bit far out, Salthill is as far as they are going out f town.
    Clifden is very trad, diddle idle as far as I remember, prefer more contemporary vibe. :D

Think he meant for the golf :)

Doh, hate when you miss one like that. Another fine mess.

The girls hit Hyde and 1520 and sampled An Pucán and McGettigan's during the day, no complaints so far.

They must have been very hungry.

LostDuck wrote: »
    They must have been very hungry.

Fine girls lol. Nah there on their 3rd day today, but yeah they know how to spend money alright.
    The food thing in pubs is probably like Dublin, buy a portion of chicken wings and chips and your sorted, leave half behind, off to the next spot.
    Between 4 it doesn't break the bank. Haven't heard how things are being policed in Galway yet.

Lovely. How long more are they around? So the rest of us know to keep a wide berth.

They had a good time, if a bit quite. Decided to leave a day early as something came up back home.

Hyde, Seven (Not the food), and Pucán get a nod, so thanks for the tips.

Ok Duckie, safe to come out now.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

They're very welcome back to visit once the covid is gone.

Ok Duckie, safe to come out now.

Phew.

Presumably this is the same group of girls in their 20s from Dublin that did the round of the Cork City pubs a few weeks ago.

I hope they heed the advice today that "it is now really important that people in Dublin keep their social contacts as low as possible" (Dr Ronan Glynn).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭45mhrc7evo1d3n

The food thing in pubs is probably like Dublin, buy a portion of chicken wings and chips and your sorted, leave half behind, off to the next spot.

Between 4 it doesn't break the bank.

Am I understanding this correctly? In Dublin a group of 4 can order one portion of wings and chips along with drinks for all 4?

Phew.

Presumably this is the same group of girls in their 20s from Dublin that did the round of the Cork City pubs a few weeks ago.

I hope they heed the advice today that "it is now really important that people in Dublin keep their social contacts as low as possible" (Dr Ronan Glynn).

Yes same group, not going out of the country, staying home this year.
    One of the group works in a Dublin Hospital and they are all front line in one way or another.

Dublin numbers were crap today.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Yes same group, not going out of the country, staying home this year.
    One of the group works in a Dublin Hospital and they are all front line in one way or another.

Dublin numbers were crap today.

Being a front line worker then they should know better, for a few weeks we have been asked to keep our contacts low. Going on a pub crawl during a pandemic in multiple cities is idiotic to say the least. Tell them to grow up and have some cop on.

These are the people that are making it hard for other pubs to open and keeping people out of jobs.