Who's your favourite Irish person of all time and why?

• 03-09-2020 09:56PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Erranged

Mine is Paul McGrath

Because of his class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Deranged. More like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,477 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Jack Charlton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Stephen O'Malley

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

That's easy. John Hume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Joey Dunlop because of his abilities on a bike, his humble ways and his humanitarian work that he never once advertised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭brilou23

Fr dougal McGuire. A great priest and pillar of the Catholic community. He helped a local priest win the golden cleric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Five Eighth

.anon. wrote: »
    That's easy. John Hume.
    Totally agree. Refer to thread on John Hume's legacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Aul Mr. Brennan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

My son, because he's my son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

A very hard question or a very easy one if we can mention our family members

Vestiapx wrote: »
    My son, because he's my son.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

Des Kelly the carpet man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Bosco and Dustin the Turkey... Happy days and simpler times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,311 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Me Ma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Robert Mugabe . Great fcucking Craic for a game of pool and a few beers. HON THE BOBBY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

Barrack O Bama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I can include myself when deliberating this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭E mac

Tom Crean proven hard as nails guy who saw parts of the world most of us will never see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Fortycoats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

My dad.
    Easy answer but true. Would have been 100 next year!

Yeah fair play to Tom Crean too, him going out there at that time was akin to lads going walking on the moon a few decades later. For some people probably still is.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭13Ballymore

Dr Noel Browne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Me Ma

Your ma's your oul one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Grot bags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Parsnips

Fook that celebrity worship.

My Wife #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Ryan Tubridy.

For the uniquely punchable irish head on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,986 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

E mac wrote: »
    Tom Crean proven hard as nails guy who saw parts of the world most of us will never see.

Must have had balls a big as Jupiter to undertake THREE separate expeditions to the Antarctic. He did the three and was actually away on expeditions for nine years in total. That’s mind blowing.. over 1901-1917 the three expeditions... back then, no googmaps, no internet, iPads, satellite phones, no anything apart from yourself, friends and resourcefulness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,887 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Brother Kevin Crowley of the Capuchin day centre for homeless people.

He does what I could not do, would not do. He does it selflessly and without ego. Unlike some of his counterparts in other housing charities, he seeks no limelight, stays out of politics, has spent his entire life dedicated to the care of others.

I'm not religious, but the fact he is, is irrelevant to me. He is the best of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,986 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Brother Kevin Crowley of the Capuchin day centre for homeless people.

He does what I could not do, would not do. He does it selflessly and without ego. Unlike some of his counterparts in other housing charities, he seeks no limelight, stays out of politics, has spent his entire life dedicated to the care of others.

I'm not religious, but the fact he is, is irrelevant to me. He is the best of us.

My Aunt works there and she’d concur 100%. His predecessor the late Fr Leonard Coughlan too was an absolute gent and a giant amongst men for the selfless work they are their teams did and do... for anybody who thinks that superheroes are just in Hollywood movies and comic books, just get yourself down to church st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭E mac

Strumms wrote: »
    Must have had balls a big as Jupiter to undertake THREE separate expeditions to the Antarctic. He did the three and was actually away on expeditions for nine years in total. That’s mind blowing.. over 1901-1917 the three expeditions... back then, no googmaps, no internet, iPads, satellite phones, no anything apart from yourself, friends and resourcefulness.

Part of what I admire about him is also what is frustrating...he never spoke about his time at sea. What stories he must have had. Although I suppose he'd be wasted on us on the late late .."was it very cold in the Antarctic ?'