LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Harcrid wrote: »
    Some two tone silver going on there around the door too. With an ABC error that's strong money.

Yes I thought that but think it's just the way the light is hitting it. Don't know if it was that that was drawing my eye to the driver door - looks off, or something going on - maybe it's just the paint. Indeed all could be quickly cleared up on closer inspection no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

€4500, these have started to go crazy money. The €56 tax for V8 power would be nice. NCT is up this month too which might raise alarm bells...

MDAxYTU1Nzc0OGIwYTUyMzVjNjRkYjkwZTU2OTVmNGL9t-Lhx8QRHhDwWQEqiD1eaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTUyMzI5Nzh8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-ls400/25803733

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

The holy grail, an LS on classic tax!

Looks mad on ZV plates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,816 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

RX8 wheels kill it, jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

First pic, epic... when I saw the Mazda wheels I wanted to...

streetfighter2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭lassykk

How is it on ZV plates when it's 1990?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

lassykk wrote: »
    How is it on ZV plates when it's 1990?

30 years old, so can get ZV plates, probably registered early 1990.

I think that car looks expensive for Ireland, as we're so used to seeing them around the €1,000-2,500 mark. They can be easily €5K+ in the UK. If you have a few bob (and space) it would be worth buying a few W140's up, their price is going to go nuts when they hit 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,769 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's expensive because it's on cheap classic tax and people will pay more for the ones with cheap tax. The cheaper ones are on the top cc based rate. Swings and roundabouts. That's how it works here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

bazz26 wrote: »
    It's expensive because it's on cheap classic tax and people will pay more for the ones with cheap tax. The cheaper ones are on the top cc based rate. Swings and roundabouts. That's how it works here.

same reason 07 Lexus hybrids are worth absolutely half nothing but the 08-09 ones make strong money. a few hundred quid a year in tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Nexo

Well spotted, I was trying to work out where I had seen those wheels before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,516 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

bazz26 wrote: »
    Swings and roundabouts.
    And with that car, a lot of roundabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

same reason 07 Lexus hybrids are worth absolutely half nothing but the 08-09 ones make strong money. a few hundred quid a year in tax.

Exactly why I would buy the 07 because I never taxed any of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Truckermal wrote: »
    Exactly why I would buy the 07 because I never taxed any of them!

you just drive them for a while and sell them or dont even bother doing it because you do so little driving and or . risk of being caught so low?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭gussieg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Idbatterim wrote: »
    you just drive them for a while and sell them or dont even bother doing it because you do so little driving and or . risk of being caught so low?

Do very little driving and live in the back of beyond so no chance of being caught! I sold my LS so have nothing now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,338 ✭✭✭mullingar

If you want a reliable luxobarge, this is the car to get.

I'm driving an LPG'd one daily for the last few years, outside of usual maintenance, it's only cost me €300ish in non-maintenance parts.

Idbatterim wrote: »

I drove my 530d for the guts of a year with no tax (and it was out over 7 months previous to me buying it) but I drive only motorways every day. I'm in Dublin, but the fear of getting caught isn't massive when you're not driving on normal roads.

In saying that... I now drive a 460 and taxed it the day I bought it, it ran out today and I'll be taxing it again, but I've no idea why as my driving habits haven't changed :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

I drove my 530d for the guts of a year with no tax (and it was out over 7 months previous to me buying it) but I drive only motorways every day. I'm in Dublin, but the fear of getting caught isn't massive when you're not driving on normal roads.

In saying that... I now drive a 460 and taxed it the day I bought it, it ran out today and I'll be taxing it again, but I've no idea why as my driving habits haven't changed :confused:

ANPR cameras are a lot more common now.

I just taxed mine today, €400 for a measley three months, mind you it was out since August 2019 so €400 for the year ;)

Sorry, I know I’ll get stick for this, but, people shouldn’t be driving these cars if they can’t tax them. Or am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Kilboor

Sorry, I know I’ll get stick for this, but, people shouldn’t be driving these cars if they can’t tax them. Or am I missing something?

It is illegal.

Why shouldn't they be driving cars? It's their own risk and they know it. It doesn't affect insurance policies for most providers and doesn't affect any other road users.

It's not NCT or Insurance but yes it is "illegal" in the sense you'll get a fine and/or a "sort out that tax will ya" warning from the guards.

Kilboor wrote: »
    It is illegal.

Why shouldn't they be driving cars? It's their own risk and they know it. It doesn't affect insurance policies for most providers and doesn't affect any other road users.

It's not NCT or Insurance but yes it is "illegal" in the sense you'll get a fine and/or a "sort out that tax will ya" warning from the guards.

Eh, who said they shouldn’t be driving cars?
    As you said yourself it is illegal and I suppose it’s there risk to take. Something similar popped up here before regarding driving untested cars.
    I just find it strange people are actually bragging about these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭pah

The fine for not displaying toad tax is €60. If it's expired more than 2 months it can be seized. General fee for release around €125.

I wouldn't do it myself but at the higher end of 1800-2300 per annum I can see why somebody would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,685 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

pah wrote: »
    The fine for not displaying toad tax is €60. If it's expired more than 2 months it can be seized. General fee for release around €125.

I wouldn't do it myself but at the higher end of 1800-2300 per annum I can see why somebody would.

Single lad in a car is far more likely to be left at the side of the road than a family. I wouldn't risk it.
    ( I have been known to buy tax and book NCT while waiting in a checkpoInt queue though)

I just taxed mine today, €400 for a measley three months, mind you it was out since August 2019 so €400 for the year ;)

Lucky you, €511 for me :(

Just as an aside, I haven't been stopped by a guard in over 3 years, nor have I gone through a checkpoint in that time.

It's cheaper to get caught 10 times than to pay my tax yearly... It's not that I'm 'flaunting the law' by not paying it, it's just that... Well to be painfully true, I'm just not bothered most of the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

The old tax system is scandalous but this is kind of a bulls*t thread if the viability of driving a Luxobarge is enabled by breaking the law in not taxing it.
    It's a bit like the shower of scheisters driving around on ringer classics and scam Range Rovers. Ruining it for enthusiasts. ZW my a*se.

I have 2 2.2 vehicles. I HATE paying the tax on them. But I've grown up. It is what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Because now you're driving a Luxobarge, not a local drug dealer's car.

Charging 1500/1800/2300 for tax should be illegal.

If I can sneak away for a while without it I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

A friend of mine was caught without tax for over 18 months, they took the car and they impounded it. He got it back but they made him produce proof of tax, he has to then pay 18 months back tax plus fees and 3 months future tax.

That said he’s out of tax again and no sign of a new disc coming lol