Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,180 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

his actual family

edit. im prob been unfair to that poor girl also

I just saw that her daughter died in a car crash recently. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

his actual family

im sure yer wan has moved on

She has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,180 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

She has.
    i can only imagine the yarns Delaney spun her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,095 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

More dirt about poor John.

https://twitter.com/marktigheST/status/1287163010482675712

With the book coming out in September, I'd say every Sunday between now and then will have another revelation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

Robxxx7 wrote: »
    I wonder if this is his essential business (management consultancy)
    https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/12555218/officers

seems to tie in with his age etc

What could these possibly be doing as essential work for public bodies on covid-19? I hope it is the 'essential' business as the judge, who didn't cave to the 6 months to go through files request. Providing for his family? Would that be the same family that income was allegedly hidden and understated in family court?

How does he get to decide what falls under legal privilege?

Would it not be the case that the prosecution sift through the evidence, pick out what they want and then JD and his lawyers try to claim legal privilege?

I can just see JD waving his hand over a whole bunch of files and mumbling 'legal privilege' before then tying up the courts with more legal wrangling while the prosecution try to get hold of them. I don't understand how that can be allowed.

Maybe this has been answered somewhere but i'd have thought the same. Documents including digital records were seized were they not? So wouldnt the ODCE know what is contained but that whatever is under legal privilage is inadmissable. Surely the seized files were not sitting with the ODCE under lock and key when there is info that would indicate the messing that was going on. If he under declared earnings in family court is there a type of perjury issue. His former wife and family could pursue that also if they were angered enough by the deceipt and sunsequently relevant documents relating to that become admissable?

Was there any fraudulant activity that could end up with Garda investigation or was ass covered by inflating expense accounts for example, surely then there would be potential issues on tax declarations on BIK?

Will Walshe face any sanction from the Law Society. If she blatantly ignored governance guidelines how is her position within the FAI tenable. JD must have had some serious control over her for her to take the risks for a couple of grand. Conflict of interest creeps in to things if she was acting as a personal solicitor and FAI solicitor - where does legal privilage stop and start in relation to personal or FAI legal advice.

The book will be interesting, i've no doubts that there will be more detail on how internal FAI info was leaked, maybe not whom though. Details on the payment proposal of Europen prizemoney to club(s)!? Im sure with the rep of JD that all legal angles are covered.

Things fell apart for Delaney and with his arrogance he probably still cant accept that his legal bluff was called. He fled like the spineless bully but I still want to see him have to actually answer for at least some of his actions and not hide behind a prepped statement. Gross misconduct has to evident somewhere that could void pension payoff?

Mostly questions if anyone has a grasp on the legals of these things??

Nesta99 wrote: »
    Things fell apart for Delaney and with his arrogance he probably still cant accept that he is legal bluff was called.

Things were always going to fall apart.

A man way out of his depth, completely inept at his job.

All a matter of just milking it for as long as he could.

The endless collection of bootlickers he accumulated certainly helped him hang in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,583 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Things were always going to fall apart.

A man way out of his depth, completely inept at his job.

All a matter of just milking it for as long as he could.

The endless collection of bootlickers he accumulated certainly helped him hang in there.

Good ol' Noel Kennedy from the Sligo-Leitrim league still has his nose firmly lodged in his rectum.

https://twitter.com/NoelKennedy3/status/1287361685821566977

The FAI should point out that Delaney took the magic money tree with him so there isnt any beans in the coffers to honour any agreement on MacSharry Park!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Oat23 wrote: »
    Good ol' Noel Kennedy from the Sligo-Leitrim league still has his nose firmly lodged in his rectum.
    ]

Wonder is Michael Healy Rae still up there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Zebra3 wrote: »
    More dirt about poor John.

https://twitter.com/marktigheST/status/1287163010482675712

With the book coming out in September, I'd say every Sunday between now and then will have another revelation.

Can anyone link the full article? Would like to read that.

I'd love to get a read of it myself.

I worked for an organisation in London that allowed us take rent from our gross income, pay the landlord and then we were taxed on the remainder. The Inland Revenue put a stop to the practice in due course as it was basically a tax dodge. We know the FAI paid JD's rent directly but I wonder if such a method was used also as a double score for the unprofessional accountant?

Nesta99 wrote: »
    Maybe this has been answered somewhere but i'd have thought the same. Documents including digital records were seized were they not? So wouldnt the ODCE know what is contained but that whatever is under legal privilage is inadmissable. Surely the seized files were not sitting with the ODCE under lock and key when there is info that would indicate the messing that was going on. If he under declared earnings in family court is there a type of perjury issue. His former wife and family could pursue that also if they were angered enough by the deceipt and sunsequently relevant documents relating to that become admissable?
    Will Walshe face any sanction from the Law Society. If she blatantly ignored governance guidelines how is her position within the FAI tenable. JD must have had some serious control over her for her to take the risks for a couple of grand. Conflict of interest creeps in to things if she was acting as a personal solicitor and FAI solicitor - where does legal privilage stop and start in relation to personal or FAI legal advice.

Discovery and disclosure would only relate to documents that were not seized or are not in the possession of the ODCE. And civil law works the other way around, a party cannot go on a trawling exercise and demand that everything be handed over, they have to specify the nature of the documents they want and why they will assist the consideration of the matter. Criminal law and in particular disclosure by a prosecution is a bit more comprehensive alright.

I think Walshe would have some sympathy from.colleagues. In that sitting on a committee does not AFAIK preclude a Solicitor from acting for members of that committee. In fact, think of your standard, say, Golf Club committee, or local charity...usually the whole reason a Solicitor may be on it is because s/he has friends on it, and they would continue to act for them personally. On the face of it it's not clear to me how a conflict arises. However, there may be specific rules about remunerated positions and/or in house Solicitors (though not sure she was one for the FAI). It can be difficult to be precise about where input as a committee member and legal advice starts, I think the best advice is simply say in the first line of the latter "I'm giving this advice in my role as a Solicitor, not as a committee member"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,473 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

think this thread title should be re-titled to John Delaney and his enablers. (the other directors and staff of the FAI, who enabled him)

And the fans, leagues, regional associations and clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

Split views on FAI strategy set the tone for vital week (Indo)
    It seems that the former Irish international is set to stay on beyond his initial six-month term.

"I'm not contracted but I will be around for the near future in terms of what's required"

"I'm unelected and the temporary contract that my buddy created for me has expired."

"I'll leave once we've removed the council members who like to hang around too long, like myself, and we've pushed through our version of reforms to commercialise Irish football."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

"I'm unelected and the temporary contract that my buddy created for me has expired."

"I'll leave once we've removed the council members who like to hang around too long, like myself, and we've pushed through our version of reforms to commercialise Irish football."

Niall Quinn is a P****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/split-views-on-fai-strategy-set-the-tone-for-vital-week-39421415.html

After reading the article above I'm more confused than ever.

What exactly is the situation atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,218 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Should read I'll leave once I've done my job for Redstrike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,412 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Every time I see this thread refreshed after a few weeks I’m expecting to find out that he caught COVID

Wonder what happened to the FKW cardboard cut out of him from his own 50th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

Should read I'll leave once I've done my job for Redstrike.

Redstrike would come under the heading of "Commercialise Irish Football" on Quinn's to-do list.

Their ideology is apparent: https://redstrike.com/

Redstrike would come under the heading of "Commercialise Irish Football" on Quinn's to-do list.

Their ideology is apparent: https://redstrike.com/

That would be nice!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Niall Quinn has spoken about the latest saga.

https://twitter.com/VMSportIE/status/1291422456822071300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Mark Tighe revealed the release date for his book on Delaney.

https://twitter.com/marktigheST/status/1295447509326794761

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,412 ✭✭✭✭CSF

CSF wrote: »
    Every time I see this thread refreshed after a few weeks I’m expecting to find out that he caught COVID
    Still not COVID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭shanec1928

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,707 ✭✭✭irishgeo

shanec1928 wrote: »
    looking forward to the book.