Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

The White Jesus is getting crucified in here.

Haha haven’t seen one good point/argument yet, just name calling.

Nothing so. Grand job.

You can bring a horse to water, but cannot make it drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,655 ✭✭✭endainoz

Haha haven’t seen one good point/argument yet, just name calling.

Copernicus is name calling? Your very sensitive, not gone for your imaginary pints yet?

endainoz wrote: »
    Copernicus is name calling? Your very sensitive, not gone for your imaginary pints yet?

And still no counter argument

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Jaysis even Conor McGregor is having a poo now, when he can lecture on accountability you know you fecked up

I think he could be a neighbour of Hogan's at the K Club.

Now if there is one 60 year old that could do with a slap.....

And still no counter argument

About what exactly? Your adding nothing to this thread, just trying to rise people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,909 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Cork Lass wrote: »
    You must also remember that he was not the people’s choice. He was elected to the Dail on the 6th count and now he’s basking in the glory of the title he has coveted for years to the detriment of the people. Another self-serving bureaucratic gob****e.

That is one of the more stupid lines SF have put out since the election.

It doesn't matter a fcuk what count you're elected on.

Sometimes a minister or even outgoing taoiseach will encourage no.1 votes to go to their running mate, confident that they will have enough support to get in anyway (doesn't always work.)

I didn't vote for him, but then I don't live in Cork so didn't have a say :rolleyes:

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

is_that_so wrote: »
    They'll be back in 2022, you know ... if this government survives!

I love how the irish keep giving these feckers one more chance to destroy the Country.

Trump has "Make America Great Again", Varadkar and Martin clearly "Make Ireland part of the 3rd World"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 111 ✭✭Wild Field 1831

Liamo57 wrote: »
    This event was organised by FF's Donie Cassidy and attended by a lot of Westmeath senators and councillors. The level of conversation at the tables would be of a very high intellectual content involving Greek Mythology, Anthropology and the chances of St. Lomans winning this years Westmeath junior B final.

Donie Cassidy, a man who looked for traveling expenses for old Midland Health Board meetings he never attended. Had to deal with the sleveen a lot.

It's tempting but the "winter" argument doesn't stack up because we should be using the summer months to build up more herd immunity if and a very unlikely if there is a so called second wave but it is hard to see how a second wave could present itself because, as I keep saying, nobody is getting sick and nobody is dying.

Can you stop spouting utter imbecilic nonsense please.

200 new cases the other day, that's not "nobody".

Fewer people dying but there is more experience in treating it now. Some still getting very ill and ending up in intensive care and will have a very long recovery ahead of them.

But you don't care because you want to go to the pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 111 ✭✭Wild Field 1831

Fewer people dying but there is more experience in treating it now. Some still getting very ill and ending up in intensive care and will have a very long recovery ahead of them.

Well said. And many very sick at home I know who caught Covid recently. You won't appear in hospital or ICU figures but you may end up with CFS, respiratory problems etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Your not giving the youth much credit there. If they are coming of voting age now then they grew up as teenagers during the recession. They voted green for sure, but definitely not FF, probably done by closet FF fans who also slammed them in 2008.
    You're only being baited with nonsense from that parabellum, I'd pay no need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭xl500

Sure look what they done immediately upon taking power

Look at the recent voting scandal in the daily both deputies when initially approached denied any knowledge only fessed up when the video could not be denied but the two of them have been looked after by MM
    Dooley has been appointed to the Senate despite being rejected by the people in a general election and a Seanad election and Collins had been given a junior ministry it stinks and typical FF

They will never change and only when they are gone will we get rid of this type of politics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

What is nonsense about it, would you mind explaining? What person that lived through the destruction those ****ing ***** and the greens put on the economy would ever vote for them again? A protest vote doesn’t cut it - nobody is thick enough to vote back in a shower of ***** that wrecked the country as 2 fingers to FG unless they don’t have experience of them first hand

The greens are explainable with the gullible thick young vote and their hero Greta but FF??? Explain that one

Good call, thanks for the advice. My ignore list is getting a good few additions today!

Oh no don’t ignore me, whatever will I do i now that endainoz has blocked my posts on boards :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

The more and more I think about this, the more wound up I am getting over it. I have spent hours and hours almost every single day scouring the internet and applying for any applicable job I can find. Every few days I have been getting emails back from indeed letting me know that 1,050 people applied for job a, 1,300 applied for job b, and 1,500+ applied for job c. Rarely have my applications even been looked at (which I can't fault the recruiters for because looking at that many CVs for a single position just isn't possible). This has been a immensely depressing time for me, and for many of us.

This is all because of lockdown and the slow down in the economy. I have adhered to all the restrictions, I like most of us spent months existing almost entirely indoors barring an occasional food run or 2km (and later 5km) walk, which I tried to do at awkward hours to avoid too many people being out together. Business owners have seen their livelihoods take a serious dip, and their employees have found themselves out of work for the better part of half a year. People have seen their loved ones pass away, and have not even been able to attend their funeral. Leaving cert students have seen years of hard work leading up to their leaving certs go up in flames, with little idea of what will become of them. Like so many, my short term plans have been obliterated, and my medium/long term plans have been stepped back possibly by years.

Last week I finally got a job interview, and it appeared to go very well (and I say that as someone who is usually a sceptic/overly critical of myself after interviews). I have been refreshing my emails almost every hour in hopes of having an update, only to find out yesterday that the position has now been placed on hold as it required those in it to be physically present. This was extremely disappointing, but again a sacrifice that has to be made because it beats the alternatives of soaring death rates.

To find out that those in power give zero sh*ts about any of this, and are more than happy to travel the length of the country and laugh at not only the rules they are imposing on everyone else, but frankly the hardship and sacrifice that millions have gone through across the nation for no other reason than to mingle, while they take the risk of spreading covid amongst themselves before returning to every corner of the map to rush us into another full on lockdown, is more than a slap in the face.

I don't think I was even this disgusted at our government during the days of Brian Cowen drunkenly slurring his way through interviews and Mary Harney giving out to us for "finding deals" that she had herself encouraged after telling us we were living beyond our means and essentially to blame for one of the worst recessions anywhere in the globe in 2008 (which also set people in my age bracket back years in terms of our long term goals and forced many of us to leave the country to find work).

If appropriate action is not taken - including every single attendee being removed from their positions and if possible legal action taken against each and every one of them - and cases continue to rise, sending us back to needing to close the country down again, I would do my best to adhere, but frankly would not really have much to say against those who don't.

As long as this post is, it doesn't even begin to address how seethingly angry I am about this disgusting lack of regard for the country they supposedly preside over that these people have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,322 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

New Cases != New sick. All it tells us is people caught a virus (which could very well be asymptomatic). OUTCOME of cases is the key metric that's not often highlighted.

Few people are getting seriously sick with this. Even fewer are dying. Both of these things are great news.

But I digress.. there's an entire forum for this CV-19 discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

The more and more I think about this, the more wound up I am getting over it. I have spent hours and hours almost every single day scouring the internet and applying for any applicable job I can find. Every few days I have been getting emails back from indeed letting me know that 1,050 people applied for job a, 1,300 applied for job b, and 1,500+ applied for job c. Rarely have my applications even been looked at (which I can't fault the recruiters for because looking at that many CVs for a single position just isn't possible). This has been a immensely depressing time for me, and for many of us.

This is all because of lockdown and the slow down in the economy. I have adhered to all the restrictions, I like most of us spent months existing almost entirely indoors barring an occasional food run or 2km (and later 5km) walk, which I tried to do at awkward hours to avoid too many people being out together. Business owners have seen their livelihoods take a serious dip, and their employees have found themselves out of work for the better part of half a year. People have seen their loved ones pass away, and have not even been able to attend their funeral. Leaving cert students have seen years of hard work leading up to their leaving certs go up in flames, with little idea of what will become of them. Like so many, my short term plans have been obliterated, and my medium/long term plans have been stepped back possibly by years.

Last week I finally got a job interview, and it appeared to go very well (and I say that as someone who is usually a sceptic/overly critical of myself after interviews). I have been refreshing my emails almost every hour in hopes of having an update, only to find out yesterday that the position has now been placed on hold as it required those in it to be physically present. This was extremely disappointing, but again a sacrifice that has to be made because it beats the alternatives of soaring death rates.

To find out that those in power give zero sh*ts about any of this, and are more than happy to travel the length of the country and laugh at not only the rules they are imposing on everyone else, but frankly the hardship and sacrifice that millions have gone through across the nation for no other reason than to mingle, while they take the risk of spreading covid amongst themselves before returning to every corner of the map to rush us into another full on lockdown, is more than a slap in the face.

I don't think I was even this disgusted at our government during the days of Brian Cowen drunkenly slurring his way through interviews and Mary Harney giving out to us for "finding deals" that she had herself encouraged after telling us we were living beyond our means and essentially to blame for one of the worst recessions anywhere in the globe in 2008 (which also set people in my age bracket back years in terms of our long term goals and forced many of us to leave the country to find work).

If appropriate action is not taken - including every single attendee being removed from their positions and if possible legal action taken against each and every one of them - and cases continue to rise, sending us back to needing to close the country down again, I would do my best to adhere, but frankly would not really have much to say against those who don't.

As long as this post is, it doesn't even begin to address how seethingly angry I am about this disgusting lack of regard for the country they supposedly preside over that these people have.

Great post. I understand your anger.

It's frightening when you think of the countries general view in relation to many things, killing unborn babies, sinn fein ect

Isn't it rather hypocritical to go on about "killing unborn babies" while at the same time not giving a shyte about the guidelines which are intended to prevent many thousands of born people dying?

FF have never gave a **** about the people of this country, the recent pay rises and the “tough ****” reply we got, and now this act of complete idiocy when they better be praying for public compliance while they do something else. FF are scum and always have been and always will be, only interested in their own benefits from being in government.

The greens I can’t even be bothered writing about - an imbecile party full of tree huggers and naive gob****es who would rather cut carbon at the cost of driving Irish families in to borderline poverty than anything else. How anyone votes for these ****heads is beyond me and how they even formed part of this government still has me baffled - they were roundly rejected by the vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Well you can if you are SF but look at the disaster NI was for 3 years.....

What 3 years, I presume it has been the model statelet for the other 95 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Barry Cowen was the first Irish politician that I can remember who stood down because of negative public opinion.
    Has it ever happened before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,875 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I’m surprised you, or anybody else expected any better from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

That is one of the more stupid lines SF have put out since the election.

It doesn't matter a fcuk what count you're elected on.

Sometimes a minister or even outgoing taoiseach will encourage no.1 votes to go to their running mate, confident that they will have enough support to get in anyway (doesn't always work.)

I didn't vote for him, but then I don't live in Cork so didn't have a say :rolleyes:

No point giving out to the Shinnerbots. They havent got the hang of democracy and P.R. yet.
    Cushy Butterfield wouldnt allow a running mate in Dublin Central as she wanted the polltopper title

Edgware wrote: »
    No point giving out to the Shinnerbots. They havent got the hang of democracy and P.R. yet.
    Cushy Butterfield wouldnt allow a running mate in Dublin Central as she wanted the polltopper title

But but but the peeeeple voted for channnngggee :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,879 ✭✭✭appledrop

Here we go news at 6!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Barry Cowen was the first Irish politician that I can remember who stood down because of negative public opinion.

I don’t know. In fairness to Colleary, it’s the first time in my lifetime I’ve seen an Irish minister resign without the whole public backing charade and u-turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,322 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Alan Shatter and Frances Fitzgerald both resigned under the previous FG Governments (both as a result of the fallout of the AGS whistleblower scandal)

The latter is an MEP now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

appledrop wrote: »
    Here we go news at 6!

Extended