Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So are you single? Argos style....

I assumed. Hope that wasn't creepy. :D

Just don't text me. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Candie wrote: »
    Just don't text me. :)

You wouldn't be saying that if he was a solicitor or an architect.........

All this reminds me of the time I got a pic of a gentlemans genitals from a hidden number. Quite possibly a wrong number, but you never know.

I spent quite a while wondering whose it was. There was a member of my running club I suspected, that member looked like he might possess a similar member, so to speak. It's still one of lifes average-sized mysteries.

Be careful what and who you text, is what I'm saying. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,572 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

All this reminds me of the time I got a pic of a gentlemans genitals from a hidden number. Quite possibly a wrong number, but you never know.

I spent quite a while wondering whose it was. There was a member of my running club I suspected, that member looked like he might possess a similar member, so to speak. It's still one of lifes average-sized mysteries.

Be careful what and who you text, is what I'm saying. :)

Hey I just met you, and this is crazy, but here's my number, so call me maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Hey I just met you, and this is crazy, but here's my member, so call me maybe

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Speaking of creepy. What the f*** is that all about? Sending unsolicited pics of your genitals seems the new normal. Whereas snatching a phone number of a parcel to text someone for a date is the worlds worst. I'm clearly getting old. I cant keep up anymore with the new rules around mating.

Hey I just met you, and this is crazy, but here's my number, so call me maybe

But no pics!

Now that earworm is drilling it's way through my empty head :(

Speaking of creepy. What the f*** is that all about? Sending unsolicited pics of your genitals seems the new normal. Whereas snatching a phone number of a parcel to text someone for a date is the worlds worst. I'm clearly getting old. I cant keep up anymore with the new rules around mating.

Generally, I don't think the pics are as warmly received as the sender might hope, but you have to admire their optimism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

hynesie08 wrote: »
    A man who knows where she lives and has access to a possibly unmarked van checking to see if there'd be anyone else in the house when you're at work??

He might be a burglar, not a creep.....

Is it a white van?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,572 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

But no pics!

Now that earworm is drilling it's way through my empty head :(

Drilling your head sounds good though

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I just remembered. A whole load of delivery drivers, and not just drivers but MEN! They know my address. I'll be sleeping with one eye open tonight.

One Eye Open?
    That's a strange name for a delivery driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

PeePee-over-IP, also known as PoIP is the best way to send the dick pics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

I (generally) greatly dislike this thing of running to public social media to make a complaint to a company about one of their employees/outlets. It's not the fault of the social media advisors (who likely don't even know the employee in question) and they're going to have to take it to private message anyway to get the employee phone number, area, time, etc. There was a similar incident concerning JustEat a couple of years back. A social media mob turned on JustEat - because of course their Twitter is the guy in question. :D

There's also this blame game that emerges - with the company seen as responsible for the individual employee's behaviour. As though the company knew that the staff member would do what the complaint is about. "You should train them better" etc - as if any training is gonna stop one employee from acting the gimp. As if the vast majority of employees don't behave professionally/appropriately. It's like: they don't know who the person is but they've gotta get stuck into someone, so they'll take it out on the social media reps. And it's awful seeing them have to apologise and grovel in response to these accusatory posts.

I feel some people barge onto public social media to air a grievance for the likes and comments to their status.

That said, the guy was some eejit. Whether it's innocent, whether he's handsome or not, even though just a text asking a harmless question... you simply do not take note of a customer's telephone number and contact them outside of a work related matter. You just don't! I worked in customer service - if I took down a customer's number and texted them later, about anything, they would have grounds for a complaint and there would be grounds to discipline me (at minimum). Plus of course there's nothing wrong with feeling a bit uncomfortable when they not only know where you live, they've been there.

That said, it was likely nothing more than him being a dope - but he shouldn't have taken and used someone's personal data. End of. Non negotiable. I think she's being melodramatic (but she does have grounds for complaint that her personal data was misused). And the bitter rants about women and how if he was good looking blah blah (no man would ever treat women differently based on looks of course) neglect that. It's irrelevant.

As someone said, they'd think differently if it were their partner/daughter (insofar as they have a partner/daughter).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

I'm always sorry I reply to these threads.

And yet here you are... over 20K posts on your account, still replying to such threads. :pac:

Always amazed how some people try to pretend they're too important or their time is too precious for such trivial discussions... yet here they are with 1,000's of posts... still taking part in said pointless discussion! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,233 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

He went about it the wrong way but its definitely an over reaction, which doesn't surprise me.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,031 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

MsStote wrote: »
    My fiance is 6ft6 and built like a brick crap house. I know just how cuddly he is. However despite me being physically stronger than most women, I would be unable to over power him. Christ most of the guys I know are well over 6ft and all lovely.
    I NEVER mention skin colour and I have absolutely no idea why you want to use a red herring here.

As someone who is smaller, if my opponent is bigger I will worry. When they know my address it's scary. Then again maybe it was because I was held down outside of a pub by two men and sexually assaulted in front of 20 people, none of whom helped me. I feel safe in my home, I go to extremes to protect where I live but at the end of the day I have to get deliveries.
    Have you any idea what it is like to be overpowered when in a fight? To have some put their body on yours and you can't do anything... You have no idea what that women has gone through, you wouldn't know looking at me.

I'm not some feminist twat, I do not hate men. Do you not think that some woman taking a guys phone number and texting him would be inappropriate. It's invasion of privacy and something people should never have to worry about.

Are you OK with people presuming your boyfriend is inherently more dangerous than a man who's 5'8? Have you asked him about what it's like for people to judge you as a threat just because of your size?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,379 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

No, you just have common sense. Too many people are either attention-starved and crave it, so will make a big hullaballoo out of anything, or spend far too much time watching/reading murder/rape stories that you wonder how they ever leave their house.

I actually seen a gorgeous girl today and was severely tempted to say something to her. Thank god I didn't. I seen the reg plate of her car, so she'd probably be in fear for her life. :rolleyes:

Probably best you don't risk it but instead try to get a job where she has to volunteer to give you her number to receive a service.

Then you can harvest her number and use it for personal reasons by ringing her later and asking her out. She'll love that.

It will make a lovely romantic story you can tell your kids and grandkids a few years down the line.

Serious wtf is wrong with people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,015 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

He should have just thrown the parcel in her garden like fastway do, that way he would never have met her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

I think most men responding saying that it was a thing of nothing and she should have just declined by text are assuming that this was a once off occurrence for her. What they don’t realise is that most women (especially younger and attractive women) will have guys ‘chancing their arm’ a lot. It gets tiresome. Plus, a small number of those guys (repeated for clarity before I’m accused of saying all men are like this, a small number of those guys ) do not take rejection well and turn nasty. And, faced with that potential, it’s not nice to think that this guy has your number and knows where you live. There’s a big difference between a drunk guy in a pub giving you hassle when you’re with your friends and have the safety of a group and a guy who knows where you live doing so.

As an example, I had a guy doing a few jobs here at home for me. Seemed perfectly pleasant, got on with the work without difficulty, bit of small talk while there, paid him and he left. He texted me a few hours later saying he hoped I was happy with everything, I replied to say that I was and to thank him again. He then said “let me know if you want company in that bed anytime” (one of the jobs was assembling a new bed). I ignored that messsge. Later that night, I got a dick pic. I blocked him immediately. A couple of nights later, he turned up at my door at 2am, drunk, banging on the door, shouting and demanding to be let in. I had to call the guards that night. I now have security cameras on the house. It felt like an awful violation and intrusion in to my home. I had done what people say was the right thing initially, in terms of just ignoring him, yet it escalated like that. If I encountered similar in future from someone like this woman did, I think I’d be very likely to complain to his employer as a means of putting an end to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

I think most men responding saying that it was a thing of nothing and she should have just declined by text are assuming that this was a once off occurrence for her. What they don’t realise is that most women (especially younger and attractive women) will have guys ‘chancing their arm’ a lot. It gets tiresome. Plus, a small number of those guys (repeated for clarity before I’m accused of saying all men are like this, a small number of those guys ) do not take rejection well and turn nasty. And, faced with that potential, it’s not nice to think that this guy has your number and knows where you live. There’s a big difference between a drunk guy in a pub giving you hassle when you’re with your friends and have the safety of a group and a guy who knows where you live doing so.

As an example, I had a guy doing a few jobs here at home for me. Seemed perfectly pleasant, got on with the work without difficulty, bit of small talk while there, paid him and he left. He texted me a few hours later saying he hoped I was happy with everything, I replied to say that I was and to thank him again. He then said “let me know if you want company in that bed anytime” (one of the jobs was assembling a new bed). I ignored that messsge. Later that night, I got a dick pic. I blocked him immediately. A couple of nights later, he turned up at my door at 2am, drunk, banging on the door, shouting and demanding to be let in. I had to call the guards that night. I now have security cameras on the house. It felt like an awful violation and intrusion in to my home. I had done what people say was the right thing initially, in terms of just ignoring him, yet it escalated like that. If I encountered similar in future from someone like this woman did, I think I’d be very likely to complain to his employer as a means of putting an end to it.

OK two things. No1 your story is outrageous and definitely a Garda matter but that is nothing like what happened in thise case. Secondly would you prefer to be unattractive? Been approached by women now and again and never been anything but grateful, happy and a bit thrilled. Maybe like being famous approaches to pretty women are just the price to be paid for a huge god given advantage. Still stunned by the sheer vindictiveness of the girl in this case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,103 ✭✭✭Greyfox

He then said “let me know if you want company in that bed anytime” (one of the jobs was assembling a new bed). I ignored that messsge. Later that night, I got a dick pic. I blocked him immediately. A couple of nights later, he turned up at my door at 2am, drunk, banging on the door, shouting and demanding to be let in.

That guy crossed the line into dangerous stalkerland but the argos guy was only guilty of been an eejit. Yes there's a good reason why the woman overreacted but it was still an over reaction. Complaining to argos would of been the correct thing to do, going through social media was completely wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Greyfox wrote: »
    That guy crossed the line into dangerous stalkerland but the argos guy was only guilty of been an eejit. Yes there's a good reason why the woman overreacted but it was still an over reaction. Complaining to argos would of been the correct thing to do, going through social media was completely wrong.

Women (or any one on the receiving end) is the only one in a position to decide what is unacceptable and how they will react. It didn't happen to you, it happened to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Truthvader wrote: »
    Secondly would you prefer to be unattractive?

??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I am actually p1ssed off now that no one texted me.
    They have my details , could they not just stick a ‘ how are you doin’ note when they email my receipt :(

OK two things. No1 your story is outrageous and definitely a Garda matter but that is nothing like what happened in thise case. Secondly would you prefer to be unattractive? Been approached by women now and again and never been anything but grateful, happy and a bit thrilled. Maybe like being famous approaches to pretty women are just the price to be paid for a huge god given advantage. Still stunned by the sheer vindictiveness of the girl in this case

You’ve missed my point. Which is that this incident is likely to be one in a long list for her. And it is irritating. She just wanted to get her parcel. Instead she gets a guy trying to hit on her after a brief meaningless interaction. Imagine this happening frequently. Unwanted unwelcome advances. It wouldn’t take long before you’d be pretty damn sick of it and want to stamp it out.

I told my story as an example of why women get particularly wary and of why the “knowing where you live” thing is an issue. If the guy in my case had been a drunk eejit in a pub who hassled me, I could have left along with my friends safe in the knowledge that was the end of it. But I didn’t have that comfort or security. Neither did this woman. What she was left with was a guy who already displayed pour judgement and lack of boundaries, who also knew where she lived. Damn right she felt unsafe.

You’ve asked would I prefer to be unattractive- I am unattractive. I’m well aware of that. I’m average, on a good day. I’m also over 40. Yet I still get guys trying it on. And some of them get nasty when rejected, which can include comments along the lines of “I wouldn’t have fcuked you anyway” etc when their egos are wounded. Classy guys.

And lastly- you think pretty women should just have to put up with unwanted, unwelcome (and in this case unlawful) approaches just because they’re pretty?? Jesus wept. How about the men making these approaches behave appropriately around women eh, or is tgst too much to ask? .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Nothing like what happened in THIS case, YET. Maybe that didn't escalate similarly because she spoke up immediately. Secondly, you're asking the wrong question and putting the spotlight on her and her looks. It has nothing to do with anything and is a ridiculous line of questioning, I'm sure she and most women would prefer to not be harassed and live with worry about what might happen, as it so often does. There shouldn't be a "price to pay." How about men stop doing **** like this actually.
    Good for you that you have different personal preferences. You are also a man and it doesn't compare as most women can be overpowered and many experience scary aggression. Totally different. And finally, it didn't happen to you, it happened to her. Your experience and your personal feelings and lived experience isn't relevant.

He also broke the law in relation to GDPR. so guilty of more than being an eejit.

I don’t agree with her putting it on social media as a first line, but from what I read she had tried to contact them via other ways without success, and then went onto Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Is it harrassment to be asked out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,103 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Stateofyou wrote: »
    Women (or any one on the receiving end) is the only one in a position to decide what is unacceptable and how they will react. It didn't happen to you, it happened to her.

People don't get to decide if they think a law was broken or not, instead we examine what happened and then decide if a law was broken. Yes the guy breached data protection but in determining what happens next we also have to consider was there malicious intent and it looks like there wasn't any here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

People don't get to decide if they think a law was broken or not, instead we examine what happened and then decide if a law was broken. Yes the guy breached data protection but in determining what happens next we also have to consider was there malicious intent and it looks like there wasn't any here.

GDPR is very strict. It doesn't matter if personal data was used without malicious intent, just that it was misused. You can't have employees keeping data and using it for whatever they see fit, malicious or not.