Tall tales, urban legends and spoofers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,658 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

I remember hearing one years back about this lad driving home very late at night through woods or some other atmosphericly appropriate landscape and comes across a young woman lying unconscious in the middle of the road. He's about to stop and see what's wrong but gets "a feeling" and instead drives around her and stops about a hundred metres up the road where he gets out and looks back. He sees about a dozen or so figures standing around the spot all looking after him.

There's one that seems to be well known but iv'e only ever heard it on this site about so and so's aunt goes to america and gets into a lift with a black lad who says "hit the floor" and she panicks and cowers on the floor but it turns out to be Will Smith or Denzel Washington.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

I've heard a rumour that 9\11 wasn't an inside job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

that Lidl & Aldi was started by two German brothers that went their own separate ways

* fact of the matter it was started by two different families from different parts of Germany that have absolutely no connection to each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭brianwalshcork

The lidl/aldi spoof is probably coming from Aldi Nord / Aldi Sud.

The original Aldi company in Germany was split into two - north Germany / South Germany, over a disagreement on the sales of cigarettes.

‘Irish’ Aldi is Aldi Sud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Earthhorse wrote: »
    I once heard tale of a boards thread that stayed on topic.

Urban myth, never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Gerbilling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Sardonicat wrote: »
    It hasn't been called Loan Parents for over a decade either. But carry on. I'm sure a few equally angry and ignorant people as yourself feel validated by your nonsense posts.

It was never called 'the dole' or 'the scratcher', but everyone i know calls it one or the other, nobody calls it Jobseekers Allowance or Jobseekers Benefit.

I know some people who refer to Intreo as 'Fas' or indeed 'AnCo'. It's colloquialism, nothing wrong with that.

The original Aldi company in Germany was split into two - north Germany / South Germany, over a disagreement on the sales of cigarettes.

‘Irish’ Aldi is Aldi Sud

Aldi Nord and Sud was set up and owned by two brothers, Karl and Theo Albrecht. The names stands for Albrecht Discount. They have Germany divided into two parts and they take over different countries on agreement. They do not compete with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

KevRossi wrote: »
    It was never called 'the dole' or 'the scratcher', but everyone i know calls it one or the other, nobody calls it Jobseekers Allowance or Jobseekers Benefit.

I know some people who refer to Intreo as 'Fas' or indeed 'AnCo'. It's colloquialism, nothing wrong with that.

Aldi Nord and Sud was set up and owned by two brothers, Karl and Theo Albrecht. The names stands for Albrecht Discount. They have Germany divided into two parts and they take over different countries on agreement. They do not compete with each other.

So relieved you cleared up that controversy for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Pkiernan wrote: »
    So relieved you cleared up that controversy for us.

You're welcome. Thanks for taking the time out to read it and comment on it. Glad you found it useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Were Aldi Nord and Sud in the same office or just down the corridor from each other?
    Asking for a friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

That somebody invited Gay Byrne to their Birthday party and the end of the night he presented them with an envelope containing a bill for his appearance fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

‘Irish’ Aldi is Aldi Sud

Is this a common thing in Germany or something?

Like with the Dassler brothers splitting their shoe company between Adi Dassler and the guy who formed Puma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

You're welcome. Thanks for taking the time out to read it and comment on it. Glad you found it useful.

Did you know that Aldi backwards is idlA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,974 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Sardonicat wrote: »
    You're right, I wouldn't believe it. If she wasn't long in the country she wouldn't have been entitled to anything other than a small payment from a community welfare officer who, until recently, came under the auspices of the HSE and operate , still, in separate premises from 'Social Welfare Offices' which haven't been called that for well over a decade. 'Likewise, emergency payments are awarded by Community Welfare Officers, in their offices, not in 'Social Welfare Offices" 'Single Mothers' hasn't been called that for over 20 years. So yeah, you're spoofing in the spoofer thread.

There's also the fuel allowance in summer thing...

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,086 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

The bit about aldi nord and sud, where the name comes from and the practice of not competing is good knowledge (assuming it's true).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

With the whole African buggy thing tho... I've lost count how many times I've heard it. All originating from a friend, or a friend of a friend, or nephew, niece etc. If it was a true story there would had to of been 10 thousand people waiting for a bus at that bus stop :pac:

A favourite one on here especially was people of say a left leaning persuasion whod rage at this story used often repeat the opposite side of the coin story about a Garda boarding a bus and making straight for the only black person on the bus to ask for his ID only to be ****ed out of it As Gaeilge "to the applaud of the passengers" :pac:

Ditto when any anti multiculturalism thread comes up the amount of people on here who have African neighbors they just saw heading off to hurlin training I'd have expected every inter county team to be half African by now

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Treppen wrote: »
    Friend in the CIA (or a Muslim) says there is going to be an incident in the city this weekend so avoid going in.
    I told a Muslim friend I was heading down to Limerick next week end and he warned me not to go there :eek:

Because "It's a kip"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

In 1951 a man appeared out of nowhere in the middle of New York.
    He subsequently gets hit by a car and dies.
    When the police get to the body they find that he was wearing clothes from the previous century.
    In his pocket was money which was no longer in circulation, beer tokens for a bar that didn't exist and letters dated from the 1800s as if written the same day.
    Guy turned out to have been missing since 1877 or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

'Paul Pfeiffer' from The Wonder Years grew up to be Marilyn Manson (completely untrue). He's a lawyer or accountant or something.

Haddaway (early 90s Euro Dance) was Tony Yeboah's strike partner at SV Hamburg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Urban legend
    Everyone has a friend who bought a coffee and a donut in a cafe but as said cafe was packed they had to share a table with some guy, turnS out that guy started to eat the donut in front of her.. and she couldn’t say anything just sat there in shock as he continued to eat it. She eventually started to give out to him and picked up her coffee and stormed out... only to find her own donut in her pocket on the way home...
    I’ve heard this story so many times...

Spoffers:
    My friend, let’s call her Mary McDonald told me Ronald McDoanld was her uncle all the way through primary school. I 100% believed her... for years, I believed it for years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Mary Lou McDonald is the daughter of Ronald.

I just made it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I've heard tons of urban legends over the years. I can't remember most of them. These aren't accurately remembered, these are just the jist of the stories.
    (All pre Internet)

A party in some bedsit/terrace house in city centre, and everyone wasl taking drugs (acid in one version, Ecstacy in another etc.), electricity went out, One guy stumbled into a room and realised there was two guys having sex with a girl, said she was loving it, all of them out of it invited him to join, gurning etc.. joined in, electricity came back on and it was his sister. :eek::rolleyes:

Another, Farmer catches two lads hunting on his land, calls one of them over, tells him he will let them stay there for the day/week if he puts down one of his cattle that has some disease/condition and doesn't want to pay the vet bills. He agrees, goes back to his friend who asks what he said. "Ah... he's a bollix, he's always giving out, f**k him" - and shoots the said cow. At which point the other guy continues to shoot the other cows until the guy stops him and tells him he was joking.

Two lads are driving and see a lad they know, and tell him to get in the car. He gets in the back seat and asks where did they get the car from. They tell him they robbed it from some guy that they all dislike (ex teacher/bouncer/local busybody etc..) and are going to trash it.

They turn around and he is slashing the backseats with a pen knife. It's actually one of their parents cars..

Loads more. I have one friend that can remember everything (he is probably the one that keeps them going). Whereas I literally have huge memory gaps, so I could be told them again and probably wonder if they're true.. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

The American who asked "Why did they have to build Windsor Castle under the flight-path of one of the busiest airports in the world?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Pre Internet there were always urban legends about famous people who had dropped out of the spotlight. Bobby MacFerrin of "Dont worry be happy" fame had blown his brains out being one example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Lived near a lake growing up, and we were told to watch out for otters what would bite your ankle and never let go. Never seen an otter in my life despite living near a lake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭beerguts

This one did the rounds while I was in college.

Young lad picks up strange loner girl in a nightclub. Goes back to hers and they start at it. She insists an inserting the end of a towel into his arse as its a kink of hers, Young lad doesn't give a **** and lets her go ahead with it. He starts pumping away into her and as he tells her he is about to cum she grabs the other end of the towel and whips it out of his arse. This causes him to lose control of his bowels and he ****s all over her and the bed.
    Embarrassed he runs into the bathroom and gets a bit of courage after a few minutes to come out and apologise to the girl, only when he does come out she is rolling around in the **** frigging herself. Poor lad then runs out the apartment leaving the strange young wan to her scat fetich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

The big one during the Celtic Tiger was that a couple had their wedding booked for Castle Leslie/ Ashford Castle. They then received an offer to have their wedding cost fully covered and mortgage paid off if they move the date as Paul McCartney & Heather Mills/Posh and Becks wanted to have their wedding/ renew their vows that very same weekend. Happened with an awful lot of 'friends of friends'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

They know somebody who's relative was working in the twin towers in 2001 and on the morning of September 11th they were delayed and didn't make it into work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

When I was in second year college, there was 7 lads living in the house. There was no internet apart from in the computer labs in the university so we had never heard of all the urban legends. One of the lads living with us was from Chicago and was doing a masters. I remember him telling us that when he was doing his undergrad in Chicago his girlfriend lived in a sorority house. Her roommate was a goth and always was vocal in her bedroom antics. He said his girlfriend came home late one night and heard the girl screaming so didn’t turned on the light and presumed she was just having her usual rough s3x. Next morning her roommate was found in a pool of blood in her bed and daubed in the wall in blood was ‘bet you’re glad you didn’t turn on the light.’. Stupidly we fell for it hook line and sinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Another one that was doing the rounds was a wife saw on tv the plane crashing into the WTC and franticly called her husband who worked there. He answered without a care in the world and said he was bored at his desk, all the while in his mistresses bed. Talk about getting snared if true, heard something similar about a businessman who said he was on the Malaysian airlines flight that went missing but was shacked up in a hotel bedroom with his secretary. Called his wife to say he landed.