The head on him

• 10-08-2020 06:43PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Remember when we used to be able to go on holidays abroad? Yeah, good times.

Well it's a common experience that, when away on foreign shores, we can recognise a fellow Irishman at 300 yards. I would point out the paddies in a haystack and the wife (non national ie: foreign) would often question how I could make that determination of someone she wouldn't pick out of a crowd. The answer was invariably the same; the head on him.

I smile at the recollection but if push came to shove I don't think I could quite quantify the qualities of the ceann in question.

The head on him - what does it actually mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Rimmy

His head looks like someone from Ireland. Pretty easy to distinguish nationalities.

Line up an Irish man, a Chinese man and a Nigerian and pretty sure I could pick out the Irish person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Did he have a GAA jersey on him? That’s often a giveaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Its one of the cringiest things ever when Irish people scoff at Irish people for wearing GAA jerseys or whatever when abroad. Like imagine if it was a group of Germans wearing football jerseys, nobody would bar an eyelid but because their skin is as bit milky and they're wearing a jersey, it's "embarrassing".

But I can spot an Irish lad abroad. Will be wearing a snapback and some t shirt that is way too small for him and outrageously short shorts. I call it "I'm trying to fit in but stick out like a sore thumb" irish college lad abroad

I was in a restaurant in Spain a few years ago and the waiter could tell people's nationality just by looking at them.

I put him to the test and he got 14/14.

Its one of the cringiest things ever when Irish people scoff at Irish people for wearing GAA jerseys or whatever when abroad. Like imagine if it was a group of Germans wearing football jerseys, nobody would bar an eyelid but because their skin is as bit milky and they're wearing a jersey, it's "embarrassing".

Do Germans wear football jerseys while away on holidays? While not attending a football match / tournament or watching a match in the pub etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Do Germans wear football jerseys while away on holidays? While not attending a football match / tournament or watching a match in the pub etc?

I'd say so. This is a people who love the sandle so I wouldn't put it past them.

I like playing that game in the airport when waiting

Quite often, yes.

I'd say so. This is a people who love the sandle so I wouldn't put it past them.

Yes, never trust the Germans. Capable of anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Usually a inflamed and blistered lobster red “tan” is the give away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,951 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I was in a restaurant in Spain a few years ago and the waiter could tell people's nationality just by looking at them.

I put him to the test and he got 14/14.

He guessed because they were the ones that asked for tomaho sawwwwse

I throw them off the scent by asking for catsup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭JeffreyEpspeen

I've been mistaken for Polish by Irish people and Polish people. One time a group of Polish lads adopted me into their group in the nightclub under the assumption I was one of them but basically told me to **** off when I told them I was in fact Irish.

I think it's because I'm 6 ft. 3 and have an awful dour demeanour about me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,797 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Yes, never trust the Germans. Capable of anything.

Stealing all the sunbeds at 5.30 in the morning

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Couldn't put it any better than the master himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,435 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Did he have a GAA jersey on him? That’s often a giveaway.

In 2001, I was in the Valley of Kings in Egypt, dressed in black shirt, black jeans, and black steel-toe-capped boots, when I noticed a yellow-belly Wexford jersey on some lad. :D I didn't approach him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭dh1985

In 2001, I was in the Valley of Kings in Egypt, dressed in black shirt, black jeans, and black steel-toe-capped boots, when I noticed a yellow-belly Wexford jersey on some lad. :D I didn't approach him...

What was the story with your own get-up. Were you excavating the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Throw a 5 cent coming on the ground..... You'll definitely know he is Irish, but moreso Cavan man

Eh? An Irish person wouldn’t strain their back for their €5, let alone 5c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I'd say you were melting that day fair play to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,647 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I've been mistaken for Polish by Irish people and Polish people. One time a group of Polish lads adopted me into their group in the nightclub under the assumption I was one of them but basically told me to **** off when I told them I was in fact Irish.

I get mistaken for Polish a lot but i'm Irish, my great grandfather was English. I was just asking someone lately though about something, I was in a nightclub in Germany and this German woman came over and started talking to me in English, I was wondering how she knew I wasn't German.

How square is your head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I get mistaken for Polish a lot but i'm Irish, my great grandfather was English. I was just asking someone lately though about something, I was in a nightclub in Germany and this German woman came over and started talking to me in English, I was wondering how she knew I wasn't German.

I've been mistaken for being Polish too by an English work college.

Mind you, he was a fairly simple chap so...

How square is your head?

is that a polish or Irish trait?

Never laugh if trying to pretend you are polish, gives you away every time. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

The head on him...

He'd make a b1tch eat her own pups :)

dh1985 wrote: »
    What was the story with your own get-up. Were you excavating the place

Graverobbery outfit.

Stealing all the sunbeds at 5.30 in the morning

If you want a window into how depraved mankind can be, visit Munich. The birthplace of “munting” I believe.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    is that a polish or Irish trait?

We have big round heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,951 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Used see that kind of get up in the Harriers in Tullamore in the 90s.