Worst work event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

bear1 wrote: »
    I assume it didn't end there ;) probably ended in the other part of her body.

You should apply to be a detective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Funny enough I'm in the investigative department of a financial institution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Any meeting where there are too many people in the room and you start to fall asleep from the lack of oxygen,that and the boredom of being at a meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I assume it didn't end there ;) probably ended in the other part of her body.

Sounds like hard evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

1999, the last time my company gave free drink at their Christmas party. In no particular order:

Young intern was hammered on free wine by 8pm. Went to the CIO to tell him how he appreciated the opportunity he was given and puked all over his shoes while talking to him.

Executive PA (married) was dancing with some young lad who chanced his arm and threw the lips on her. Cue the lights coming on as the music ended and everyone staring at them. She runs off ashamed and he strolls over to the lads chuffed with himself.

2 lads on the way home decided to pick a fight with a homeless guy. One of them ends up in hospital and the other has a couple of teeth knocked out.

The following year the party was split into individual departments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Most these stories revolve around alcohol, we really do have a terrible relationship with the sauce in this country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

Worked in this place with this crazy CTO (a company that was far too small to have a CTO, but this was the early 2000s). He'd work for four days straight (though the night and all), then just disappear for two days to a local pub and go on a bender. Bosses would have to go looking for him for client meetings.

We had a Christmas party somewhere in rural Wicklow. About 7 pm, the GM of the company was sitting beside the CTO at the meal, and said that he was going to keep up with him drink for drink. CTO basically said "No, seriously, don't even try. It won't end well." and actually meant it, but of course GM said "Challenge accepted!".

I have a photo of the two of them from 8.30 pm. GM is completely unconscious on the table (with the meal still going on around him), CTO is smiling away. GM had to be carried to bed by 4 people soon after.

We left the party around 3 AM. CTO was heading to the resident's bar on his own at this stage.

Next morning, we get up to head home. GM is obviously dying, no surprise there. But there's no sign of CTO. We assume he's dying in his room, so we leave him and head off.

Next Monday we're all back in the office, GM is obviously somewhat sheepish, but there's no sign of CTO. He doesn't turn up all week, doesn't answer his phone. Sometime the next week, he rocks in to the office as if nothing happened.

Turns out the resident's bar closed at 6 am, so he decided to get a taxi to Wexford. I think there was an early house there at the time (or at least he thought there was). He then spent the full week there AWOL on a complete bender. I'm not sure if he even took his bag from the xmas party hotel, but even if he did, he would only have had clothes for an overnight stay. No repercussions of any kind for his absence, just him being him. Needless to say, the company didn't last long.

Pics or gtfo :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Bosco13

Ma had an Xmas do where they got thrown out because the boss lost the head and started throwing barstools at people.
    Another year he fired all the polish workers because one danced with his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

so following on from the worst scandals at work thread, it got me thinking about past company parties which were an utter disaster for those involved or random workers :)

Guy in my previous company worked alongside his wife.
    We had a integration party but she didn't attend but he did.
    Fast forward the evening and an open bar is opened for us all after the usual crappy quizzes etc are completed and everyone is knocking back drinks and dancing.
    Later on in the evening and one of the guys is heading to the jacks and opens one of the stalls to find the husband getting a bj from one of the girls in the company who was friends with the wife.
    Said girl ends up getting pregnant but tight lipped on who the father was even though the rumours were already deep into everyone's mind.
    Wife never found out amazingly and he and the lover quit soon after.

Another lad on the same night drank way way too much and stumbled over to the management table, proceeded in puking his lungs out on their table and then fell asleep in his vomit on the table.
    He had to be picked up and brought home.

So.. who else? :)

Sounds like my idea of hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Salvadoor

Office Christmas party, free booze, dancing like a good thing.

Ended up messing with one of the office security guards. I grabbed his leg which came away in my hands (I did not know he had a prosthetic), he headbutted me, I threw his leg away across the dancefloor in retaliation.

Bouncers threw us both out of the venue. Fortunately I was able to leg it (:pac:) away before he regained full mobility.

Going past the security desk for the next few months was kinda awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Keyzer wrote: »
    Most these stories revolve around alcohol, we really do have a terrible relationship with the sauce in this country...

But what were you expecting in the worst work party thread.....the vol au vents were dry and the band were out of tune?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

GOCs. Hated them.

Funerals. Usually highly emotional affairs, with full military honours, major figures attending (like the Prez). Emotional because the victim was usually youngish (20s to 40s), with wives and families. Horrible affairs.