Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,741 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Lot of cattle bought in Balla to go north today. One 37mt heifer 810kg went 1780. Ya wouldn't get the smell of it in the factory.

What breed was she

Slava Ukrainii

3 yr old bb heifer in gortatlea Fri 765kg €2140.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Serious money there I can't see how he's getting away with his friday sales the numbers are crazy. Few hundred cows then loads of stock bulls....thought with covid sales were to be restricted some bit.
    Fair play though he's pulling cattle and buyers from all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Who2

Anyone see any bull weanlings going through yet? It’s a bit early I know but I’ve a small batch of nov born bulls middling type suckler bred lads 400 kg plus. Hoping to sell soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭lexuslad

Who2 wrote: »
    Anyone see any bull weanlings going through yet? It’s a bit early I know but I’ve a small batch of nov born bulls middling type suckler bred lads 400 kg plus. Hoping to sell soon.

Bought a ch bull weanling October 19 530kg €1080. There was a few 460 -495kg making that and more.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I sold a December born orange and white CHx bull weanling 380kg @ €900 Friday. He was a fair calf but not exceptional and weighed well straight off the cow. Having said that he'd probably have made the same price 6 weeks ago but I had him with heifers I wanted to AI as a spotter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭50HX

Chx bk 575kg 1400
    Lmx bk 525kg 1180

Both 18mnths

Glad i didnt sell em at mart last oct at 700-800euro

In skibb Fri 400kg made €1000 muscle types and big lumps of simmental bulls 500kg were makeing...... 1000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

What breed was she

Good R grade chx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,558 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Just watching the on-line at Carnacross. Ped FR cows selling for great money. Some over €3K.

Social distancing at Granard Mart today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Social distancing at Granard Mart today.

And not a mask to be seen:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭kk.man

And not a mask to be seen:rolleyes:

Farmers are the worst I was at sheep and cattle Marts that just opened and very few observing rules of 2m. Its all about them and their 'business' they seem to think they are immune from Covid. Just reading about a doctor died in a Dublin hospital after contracting it. People don't learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kk.man wrote: »
    Farmers are the worst I was at sheep and cattle Marts that just opened and very few observing rules of 2m. Its all about them and their 'business' they seem to think they are immune from Covid. Just reading about a doctor died in a Dublin hospital after contracting it. People don't learn.

I was in town this morning and forgot to bring my mask and didn't want to be going into a shop without a mask to buy a mask. So I turned around and came home:rolleyes:

I think there'll be some shock if we have to go back to stage 2 again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,741 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

kk.man wrote: »

If a few marts are closed by the Department/HSE/H&S they will cop on fast. The auctioneer should stop the mart and indicate that the mart will not resume until lads stay the require distance apart or move away from ring. It a matter of obeying the rules. If marts do not manage it 2-3 weeks time lads will be hanging out of each other around the ring and 2-3 deep in places.

Slava Ukrainii

I took that pic above from the on-line app. Every other mart seemed to be getting it right. I was in a supermarket today and over 90% wearing masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Dozer1

walked into AIB Monday forgot the mask, nobody in there and the one on customer service shouts no mask no entry, she was dead right and I went back to the car to get it, its just got to become habit.

Auctioneer is Listowel was quite good at shouting at em a few weeks back, but old lads will never learn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I took that pic above from the on-line app. Every other mart seemed to be getting it right. I was in a supermarket today and over 90% wearing masks.

Did you ever really look at the masks, some must've been used many times and left in the car since the beginning of lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭epfff

Just watching the on-line at Carnacross. Ped FR cows selling for great money. Some over €3K.

It was probably small beef finishers driving the trade.
    You know beef is on the up.
    Everybody buy cattle quick.
    Beef is at 370/80 and the same feel good about it as was 7 yrs ago when it hit 465/70

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭cosatron

epfff wrote: »
    It was probably small beef finishers driving the trade.
    You know beef is on the up.
    Everybody buy cattle quick.
    Beef is at 370/80 and the same feel good about it as was 7 yrs ago when it hit 465/70

ha the lad that bought the may calf for 2300 will be sweating on the price of beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,490 ✭✭✭tanko

Some CHX cows that were sold in Ballyjamesduff today, not mine unfortunately.
    880 kgs €1970
    825 1930
    700 1560
    610 1400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

tanko wrote: »
    Some CHX cows that were sold in Ballyjamesduff today, not mine unfortunately.
    880 kgs €1970
    825 1930
    700 1560
    610 1400

Good to see the farmer rewarded for having good culls,hopefully if encourages him to buy replacements.

A buddy had 13 fr bulls at the boat today,they weighted 180kg last back end and cost €190. They wer waving with the hunger, but he minded them well. Never ate ration sold them off grass today €660 the average weight was about 415kg. Great to see if your eyes are open money can be made from beef.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,938 ✭✭✭straight

DukeCaboom wrote: »
    A buddy had 13 fr bulls at the boat today,they weighted 180kg last back end and cost €190. They wer waving with the hunger, but he minded them well. Never ate ration sold them off grass today €660 the average weight was about 415kg. Great to see if your eyes are open money can be made from beef.

I had a fr bull calf 18 months ago that I brought home from the mart because I was only getting 10 euro for him. Sold him last week in the mart for 750 euro. Alot more money to be made in beef than selling fr bull calves....

straight wrote: »
    I had a fr bull calf 18 months ago that I brought home from the mart because I was only getting 10 euro for him. Sold him last week in the mart for 750 euro. Alot more money to be made in beef than selling fr bull calves....

It's great to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

straight wrote: »

That never seems to happen when you'd have a hundred of them

Crap picture, but 350kg €1490. Nice Square roan heifer. Not overly muscly. I'd around €900 with a gun to my head!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Bought similar males last Nov for €800/850 organic. Does somebody know something, the rest of us don't? Hope they're right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭dodo mommy

I've a good quality ch dry cow round 800kg to go. Am I better to factory her or sell in mart?