Joe Duffy, International Man of Misery, sez Farewell to Fungus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,281 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

sligojoek wrote: »
    Not up this way. I've had a few calling to the door selling TVs, kitchen knives, watch n pen sets etc
    Sorny TV's and Cazio watches?

Not up this way. I've had a few calling to the door selling TVs, kitchen knives, watch n pen sets etc

This one sounds about as threatening as Daniel O'Donnell it Brian Kennedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I assume everything had a certificate of origin and came with a year’s warranty ?

"security guards on high alert"

why is that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Do they power-wash driveways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Daz_ wrote: »
    Shock horror - traveller child stays in school like everyone else and gets an education .

It must be bloody hard for a lot of those kids if the background home environment isn't conducive to the routine of getting out and off to school, day in, day out, year in, year out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

you can see that he gets it. Once you make a decision to improve yourself and integrate into the society youve no problem. its up to each individual person

Yeah, strange variation in accents amongst travellers. I wonder if some maintain the affiliation (cant think of a better word) even generations after they've settled down.

A few near us down home are 2nd generation, but would never talk about it or refer to it.

We had a Traveller lady living on our old middle class road in south suburbs, married to a non-Traveller countryman who was lovely. He had got an inheritance and decided to raise family in a Dublin, but sadly died soon after. She never fitted in, in spite of every effort by the neighbours, after he died. She used to go around with a hand cart to the local shops, and was always unfriendly. One time Mum made an effort to exchange a chat she responded "sorry, but I don't really talk to strangers, you have to be careful around people".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Would it be anything to do with large numbers off them attending funerals en masse.

Fair play to this first guy.

But he has to know why society views most of his fellow travellers in a poor light.

One swallow doesnt make a summer I'm afraid.

Travellers seem to have an attitude that they shouldn't have to buy their own house like the rest of us.

How many kids has he had in the last 3 years while waiting fur his free house.

you can see that he gets it. Once you make a decision to improve yourself and integrate into the society youve no problem. its up to each individual person

It’s always better to light a candle than to curse the dark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Did that last caller say that 84% of travellers are unemployed? Wow. That says a huge amount

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    It must be bloody hard for a lot of those kids if the background home environment isn't conducive to the routine of getting out and off to school, day in, day out, year in, year out.

And that seems to be the fault of the white Irish settled community.
    Not the parents fault at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

no mention of the big traveller funerals during the lockdown?

boat loads coming over from the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,469 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

did the tipperary housing issue get resolved?

Land for horses
    At the centre of the disagreement leading to the delay in the six Traveller families moving into the homes is whether or not Tipperary County Council should provide stables and land for their horses, which, to these families, is an intrinsic part of their culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Can anyone list the contributions that they have made to society...its all take take, stroke, nod and a wink....robbing scams etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

vicwatson wrote: »
    Did that last caller say that 84% of travellers are unemployed? Wow. That says a huge amount

He lists many statistics but he never went on to explain about them.
    I wonder why so many are unemployed????

most of them by bill hooks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,469 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

no mention of the big traveller funerals during the lockdown?

boat loads coming over from the UK?
    and hospitals inundated with groups of them bypassing covid-19 precautions

Yer man with the horse must be getting a bit impatient at this stage?

Depends on how you term employment, ie being a taxpayer.

Bit of a vicious cycle. Maybe 90% of employers wouldn't hire them, how many would enter a business transaction with them? So where do you start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭bigroad

Well there will be plenty of room for travellers soon ,when the build all the houses on the old Rte land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Abel Ruiz wrote: »
    And that seems to be the fault of the white Irish settled community.
    Not the parents fault at all.

I've met a few settled ones and they get it. I think the reason they settled was to get a house and an education for the kids. Perhaps the other way around.

Whatever reason, it works for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

what about the responsibility of the travelling community not to destroy estates they move into?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,722 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

The problem is for every one Nordie traveller guy, there are 9,999 Margaret Cashes.

There are many genetic illnesses that only travellers carry because of their interbreeding.

There's only so much you can do. To be honest I have a pain in my neck these guys holding out their hands looking for handouts.

Let's not mention the Carrick mines fire was caused by a traveller using a chip pan and leaving the cooker on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

It's all the councils' faults.

Nobody to blame for carrickmines except the drunken drugged people who went to sleep with the chip pan left on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,376 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Yeah.....first guy falls back to the usual 'someone else's fault'

It appears there's still much he needs to learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Can anyone list the contributions that they have made to society...its all take take, stroke, nod and a wink....robbing scams etc.

Are we back to the Cowens again?