Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Question about compounding returns on stocks.

• 14-07-2020 8:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭

WARNING: I am a noob at this.

I'm having a back and forth with a friend about compounding returns on stocks.

He said you need to sell your gains and buy back in, otherwise unrealised gains "don't mean sh!t" (his words)

I said leaving your unrealised gains untouched will add to the compounding effect.

Then he said that the "unrealised gains is just a number on a screen and unrealized. If you want to earn money from your profit, you need to realise the profit and then reinvest it."

That doesn't make any sense whatsoever. So from now until I'm 95 years old I have to constantly sell my profit and buy back in? According to him, yes.

So I basically did a "Jimmy went to the shop" hypothetical scenario.

Invest $100 in a stock that is guaranteed to go up 30% per year.

Year 1: $130 (+ 30% of $100)
    Year 2: $169 (+30% of $130)
    Year 3: $219 (+30% of $169)
    etc. etc

He said it doesn't work like that. You have to cash out your profit, and buy back in to get compounding returns. If you don't cash out, he said it will be:

Year 2: $160 (+30% of $100)
    Year 3: $190 (+30% of $100)
    etc. etc

The gains will only be on the original $100.