Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Madeleine McCann

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Some of the posters actions here remind me of this class act

21E13E0E00000578-3004290-image-a-4_1426864350217.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Some of the posters actions here remind me of this class act

21E13E0E00000578-3004290-image-a-4_1426864350217.jpg

Who is that? Was she somewhat involved in the case? One of the friends at the dinner that night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Yes, I'm an eejit too, so please tell me: who's that person? And how relevant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Her name is Brenda Leyland. She got kicks from sh1t posting conspiracy theory's about the McCanns. Ended up doing herself in after getting confronted by the media. Sad, sad woman

Ah janey, the poor crathur. She had little enough in her life, to be reduced to that.
    Lesson: it's always better to grant good faith. Everyone is probably doing the best they can at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

I'm pretty certain I know who it is. Its kind of obvious to anyone reading the thread.

I can’t be bothered reporting the messages. I’m sure the mods could easily trace the IP address but let’s face it. Someone with a lot of mental health issues like this needs to be pitied more so then anything else.

The above post demonstrates why you were banned before.
    I'll say goodbye in case the opportunity doesn't present itself before you go.

What rules have I broken in this post?

Day Lewin wrote: »
    Yes, I'm an eejit too, so please tell me: who's that person? And how relevant?

This unfortunate woman was living a very lonely life, estranged from her adult children and pretty much isolated. She was completely consumed by the case and her obsessive hatred of Kate McCann, a person she’d never met and knew very little about. She tweeted little 1000s of times calling for all kinds of retribution against the parents until she was “door stepped” by Martin Brunt of Sky News and ended up on TV.
    Faced with the consequences of her obsession and with nowhere to turn she ended her own life a few days later.

There have been other cases where a child was snatched, sometimes in broad daylight, when they were out of a parent's line of sight.
    (That Jamie Bulger case - ugh - awful)

I bet the parents feel pretty bad, every one of them, - to say the least.
    I wonder do they all, always, get hate mail?

Fortunately, this kind of child disappearance is really, really rare: a kid is far more likely to be killed if a parent forgets to do up a seat-belt, and then has a car accident - etc etc etc
    They must still hate themselves afterwards.

I hope they don't all get hate mail.

I hope it never happens to anyone I know, or anyone, ever, really.

But there will always be ghouls who love to gloat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

There have been other cases where a child was snatched, sometimes in broad daylight, when they were out of a parent's line of sight.

Fortunately, this kind of child disappearance is really, really rare: a kid is far more likely to be killed if a parent forgets to do up a seat-belt, and then has a car accident - etc etc etc

It was so in the open and in the public that flaws in their parenting was hugely open like any of us would be in that situation. Every detail analysed by ppl playing detective, I’ve done it and so has everyone else but to send them stuff personally is another level. Madeline gets forgotten to result which is the real shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭limnam

People seem to mistake anger towards the parents recklessness with a lack of empathy for the parents of a kidnapped child.

It's possible to understand or empathise with the level of personal torture,heartbreak,anguish etc they have to go through every day and still feel angry towards the selfish and reckless behavior that provided the opportunity.

It's not one or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Well said. There is a horrible ghoulishness to the whole thing that leaves a horrible taste in the mouth, especially in this case.

Not only are the parents in this case constantly hated on for making a terrible mistake I'm sure they would take back in a heartbeat given the chance, but to compound their guilt and grief, they are the victims of the most vicious type of hate campaign on top of that.

The accusations of being child traffickers, selling their child to the highest bidder, manslaughter, concealment of her body, ridiculous conspiracy theories involving paedophile rings and being part of a government cover-up etc.

Imagine having all that aimed at you while going through the worst nightmare imaginable. I don't know how they're still standing to be honest with you. I don't think I'd be strong enough to take that kind of sustained abuse and protect my remaining children from such hateful accusations at the same time.

It's just unimaginable to me.

I imagine they don't, most likely because they were not in the boozer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,152 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Boozer = evening meal with wine, just in case you weren't aware of official Irish standards of alcohol consumption.

Do you suppose Portugal has a law banning the sale of alcohol before 10:30 because half the country are alcoholics?

cnocbui wrote: »
    Boozer = evening meal with wine, just in case you weren't aware of official Irish standards of alcohol consumption.

Do you suppose Portugal has a law banning the sale of alcohol before 10:30 because half the country are alcoholics?

Trying to fancy up what they were doing. Doesn't change what they were doing.

I'm not sure what Portuguese alcohol sales law has to do with the reckless nature of someones behavior.

limnam wrote: »
    I imagine they don't, most likely because they were not in the boozer.

Yeah, the McCanns weren't 'in the boozer' either, but don't let that stop you sticking it to them, eh?

I don't see why you can't answer without personalizing it to me.

Can you stop doing that?

I don't see why you can't answer without personalizing it to me.

Can you stop doing that?

Personalising how exactly? I was quoting your post, who else should I have directed my answer to?

You are fierce sensitive for someone who is prone to repeatedly posting personalised comments towards the McCanns...

Personalising how exactly? I was quoting your post, who else should I have directed my answer to?

You are fierce sensitive for someone who is prone to repeatedly posting personalised comments towards the McCanns...

Let me show you

"but don't let that stop you sticking it to them, eh?"

I'm not "sticking" it to anyone. I'm giving my opinion of why people may not give so much hate in the other incidents.

Let me show you

"but don't let that stop you sticking it to them, eh?"

I'm not "sticking" it to anyone. I'm giving my opinion of why people may not give so much hate in the other incidents.

In my opinion, your post was clearly sticking it to them, albeit in a completely hyperbolic fashion. The boozer, lol.

It's not 'personalising' to reply to a direct quote with an opinion on that quote. Such sensitivity!

In my opinion, your post was clearly sticking it to them, albeit in a completely hyperbolic fashion. The boozer, lol.

It's not 'personalising' to reply to a direct quote with an opinion on that quote. Such sensitivity!

As the poster.

I can tell you, you're wrong. I've asked you before to stop getting personal with me. You can reply without adding in the personal jibes. There's no need for it

I don't make any against you. Do me the same courtesy . I'm not asking a lot.

Trying to fancy up what they were doing. Doesn't change what they were doing.

I'm not sure what Portuguese alcohol sales law has to do with the reckless nature of someones behavior.

Limnam, when you repeat over and over and over and over and over and over the very same point (and in so many ways too “on the lash” “in the boozer” “on the piss) is it that you are concerned that new posters won’t know that the McCanns had decided to eat dinner and drink a bottle of wine in the dining area whilst making regular checks? Or do you have to keep reminding yourself, over and over and over? Or do you just like how it looks when you write it down?
    You do know that that is the content of almost all your posts on this thread?
    I’m just interested as to what your objective is. Are you repetitive in other aspects of your life?

splinter65 wrote: »
    Limnam, when you repeat over and over and over and over and over and over the very same point (and in so many ways too “on the lash” “in the boozer” “on the piss) is it that you are concerned that new posters won’t know that the McCanns had decided to eat dinner and drink a bottle of wine in the dining area whilst making regular checks? Or do you have to keep reminding yourself, over and over and over? Or do you just like how it looks when you write it down?
    You do know that that is the content of almost all your posts on this thread?
    I’m just interested as to what your objective is. Are you repetitive in other aspects of your life?

There was a question as to did parents in other cases receive the same backlash.

I gave my opinion why I felt they didn't

I don't see the big deal.

As the poster.

I can tell you, you're wrong. I've asked you before to stop getting personal with me. You can reply without adding in the personal jibes. There's no need for it

I don't make any against you. Do me the same courtesy . I'm not asking a lot.

Report my post if you believe I was personally insulting you. The mods can decide if you have a case.

Otherwise, put me on ignore if you do not want me to engage with your posts in the future.

It really is funny to me how sensitive some posters can be, especially those who see nothing wrong with personally denigrating real life people, yet get extremely touchy if they feel their character is being impugned in some slight way...

There was a question as to did parents in other cases receive the same backlash.

I gave my opinion why I felt they didn't

I don't see the big deal.

But you more or less limit your contribution to the thread to this one point. And you appear to have an overwhelming urge to make the same point over and over in as many derogatory phrases as you can muster. No you’re right it’s not a big deal at all. It would just just cause me to conclude that for a poster with so many posts on a thread, you’ve a terribly limited opinion/knowledge of the whole case. Little point in engaging any further with you on it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

A lot of sensitive folk on here alright..................

splinter65 wrote: »
    But you more or less limit your contribution to the thread to this one point. And you appear to have an overwhelming urge to make the same point over and over in as many derogatory phrases as you can muster. No you’re right it’s not a big deal at all. It would just just cause me to conclude that for a poster with so many posts on a thread, you’ve a terribly limited opinion/knowledge of the whole case. Little point in engaging any further with you on it either.

so don't engage....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭flasher0030

At least the chats about the suspicious behavior of the parents has stopped. And ramblings about evidence implicating them.
    Where’s CallmeHal when you need him to throw fuel on the fire?

so don't engage....

Fair enough. If I spot you posting anything other then stuff involving the phrases “on the lash” “in the boozer” or “on the piss” (none of which apply to the McCanns on the night in question according to the bill for their entire table) then I’ll be re-engaging , but I won’t hold me breath...

At least the chats about the suspicious behavior of the parents has stopped. And ramblings about evidence implicating them.
    Where’s CallmeHal when you need him to throw fuel on the fire?

What I definitely dont see any more is any of the leading amateur armchair body language consultants giving lengthy diatribes about how Gerry scratching his nose during certain questions in interviews, for example,proved his guilt beyond any reasonable doubt . Mostly because Sandra on Facebook read it in an article in the Daily Mail.
    I miss that kind of stupid.