What is your biggest extravagance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Candie wrote: »
    I spent a lot of money on a special mattress that was made extra firm on one side which is the OH's preference, and has softer support on my side. We also have some original artwork that I bought the husband as a wedding present. I have a thing for nice bedlinen and have definitely spent more than I really had to on that kind of thing, so I suppose that counts too.

Do you ever swap positions when you're on that mattress, just to see what if feels like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭HotMama89

Hate my thin short hair that has never really grown so I spend about 1k every 6 months getting good quality hair extensions. Will also go for luxury hotels on holidays and nights away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Before discovering the watches & timepieces forum ;)
    Which Mrs Banie has put her foot down on, when she found out how much I'd "invested"! :pac:😉

I suppose my biggest extravagance would either have been my tendency to splurge on electronic gear.
    I generally switched TVs on a regular basis, latest phones, Satellite equipment and other things that would catch my eye. Very impulsive spender at times but as I got older that has dissipated.(apart from watches)

I built a ManCave about 4yrs ago that I actually only finished off recently.
    It's a home for my and my son's collections as well as a cinema/gaming room. My son uses it as a study and doss space and it's a study /library/football safe zone for me ;)
    Also as we ran plumbing down there it does occasional service when the outlaws visit as a guest house.
    Lots of bits and between the build cost, fitting it out and the replacement value of the bits in there, I dread to type it but easily €80k all in I reckon. Jesus!!!

More recently my vice has been mechanical watches and 1 rather special tuning fork watch that is away to be refurbished at the mo...
    But soon it will be mine!

Holidays are always good, 1 big family 1 every year with a few breaks away just me and herself too.

I'm lucky in that I have a fair degree of latitude to spend without worrying about rent/mortgage or any other issues.
    Not at all rich, but very financially independent.
    Coming from a family of 8, where often growing up finding which shops would trade butter vouchers for food, borrowing food off neighbours or sitting in the dark after the ESB was cut off...
    It gives me a sense of comfort, safety and accomplishment to know my son won't ever have to face that kind deprivation, despite my being a 40y.o pensioner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I have a gym in my basement, but it's probably paid itself off over the years with the fees I would have paid out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 KoolKluxKlan

Definitely cars, have changed car every 3 years since I was 20, currently on an audi A7.
    Wouldnt really splurge on anything else, probably a bit tight on some things even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

IF I'd bought the reciprocating saw in Lidl for 40€, I'd have considered that an extravagance, seeing as I already have three chainsaws, a circular saw, a table saw, a band saw, a jigsaw and all kinds of other cutting tools.

But I didn't.

Instead, I bought a mini-digger with a whole clatter of attachments for 200 times the price. Just hope it's delivered before the novelty wears off ... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

IF I'd bought the reciprocating saw in Lidl for 40€, I'd have considered that an extravagance, seeing as I already have three chainsaws, a circular saw, a table saw, a band saw, a jigsaw and all kinds of other cutting tools.

But I didn't.

Instead, I bought a mini-digger with a whole clatter of attachments for 200 times the price. Just hope it's delivered before the novelty wears off ... :D

Hope you get good use out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

SnowyMay wrote: »
    Really? What brand, if you don’t mind me asking?

I’d spend about €16 on a pair of tights / stayups (Falke brand) and, bam, ladders in them after about one wear.

Then again, I’m a clumsy biach.. :)

Get a few pairs of Snag tights. They stay up, have lots of sizes and colours, and I've found them fairly durable.

I just pre-ordered the Remarkable 2 which I consider to be reasonably extravagant for a single purpose item, but as far as I'm concerned it'll save me a fortune in notebooks, so it's fair enough. I'm getting less impulsive than I used to be with money. I'd like a new phone, but can't justify it now. I'm not very extravagant. Though, I do go out to eat with friends regularly, rather than going to the pub, but it doesn't have to be expensive, just good.

Actually, keeping my car on the road is probably the biggest extravagance I have.

Hope you get good use out of it

Even if it's just building sandcastles and digging trenches it'd be worth it...
    A skid steer wheeled bobcat, would be an ultimate apocalypse car ;)

But if he masters this?!
    It will be totally legendary!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Been looking at buying into a yacht.
    I was astonished at how cheap shares in some of them can be. An old one well looked after by someone who's handy enough to not need to pay for work can really be buttons. Especially if you find someone who just wants rid, often because they bought in and realise after 10 years that they're never on it.
    You'd spend a lot a more on many hobbies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Diamonds. The really really unethical kind.

My wife

(Or at least my biggest expense)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

The only thing I can think of is concerts. Not that I attend very many. But the ones I do go to are the "aging rocker" types which are usually the most expensive, and which a lot of people would scoff at paying that amount of money for. It's worth it to me though, and you never know when will be your last chance to see some of the classics of rock. Though, alas, as time goes by and these musicians retire or die, I'm spending even less.

Other than that, I'm pretty frugal. Some may call it miserly but I do find great comfort in having a decent nest egg for the rainy day, or job loss or whatever unexpected thing might come down the line. That comfort is worth more to me than the material thing the money could buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭NSAman

I bought an industrial fan for our gaff.

And then the weather went to shit, natch. But I still love it. I was fed up with plasticky ones that break easily. The industrial one is like a wind machine so I cool down AND look sexy at the same time. How conveeeeenient.

8822-EAB1-77-C3-4859-8-F3-E-BFE959-E7-D737.jpg?dl=1

Ahhhh Jaysus never knew Bonnie Tyler frequented Boards!!

NSAman wrote: »
    Ahhhh Jaysus never knew Bonnie Tyler frequented Boards!!

By the way ..this is also the sound track to the best drag entrance EVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭bladespin

Motorbikes, if you’re into them you’ll understand if you’re not then no explanation will help.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

In reality ..i don't really have expenses ....when you can't have them you don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Probably my fortnightly manicures is my main extravagance. I mean, I spend money on other things too, but that's something that's purely for me and totally unnecessary, I just like looking down and seeing my pretty nails!!

That is a necesity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,719 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I would usually say holidays.
    Love really nice hotels and business class fights as well the very odd time.
    But not had one of those in a while!

But you saved up all that money during lockdown...
    And have now spent it all, combining your nails, into 2 huge scoop like meganails?

Like huge cornflake shifters? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

banie01 wrote: »
    But you saved up all that money during lockdown...
    And have now spent it all, combining your nails, into 2 huge scoop like meganails?

Like huge cornflake shifters? ;)

Actually I spent the money I saved on a nice spa day for myself a few days ago, Swedish massage and luxury pedicure and what have ya. Worth every penny!! :)

Coins. Ancient Roman silver. There is some strange thing about imagining the hands each one passed through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

5 ply toilet paper.

Blush_01 wrote: »
    Get a few pairs of Snag tights. They stay up, have lots of sizes and colours, and I've found them fairly durable.

I just pre-ordered the Remarkable 2 which I consider to be reasonably extravagant for a single purpose item, but as far as I'm concerned it'll save me a fortune in notebooks, so it's fair enough. I'm getting less impulsive than I used to be with money. I'd like a new phone, but can't justify it now. I'm not very extravagant. Though, I do go out to eat with friends regularly, rather than going to the pub, but it doesn't have to be expensive, just good.

Actually, keeping my car on the road is probably the biggest extravagance I have.

I like a good pair of tights. I have a Wolford pair from years ago that are in great condition. I had a look at the Snag website. Their sizing is very specific, prominent bum and/or belly, and flat bum/and or belly. I am neither.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

But I didn't.

I have a real hankering on me these past few weeks for a mini digger. There are so many jobs I could do with one. Think they might be quite good fun too, like a bionic arm. It would be great.

My good hard working petrol strimmer (no, you fecking cannot borrow it and give it back making a funny whining noise) and camera equipment are my biggest expenses in life to date. Worth it!

In ordinary expenses the only thing Im a little flaithulach about is Dr Hauschka's skincare products. A tube of Rose cream every couple of months. I just love it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

I've have the same Technics DMC battle mixer for nigh on 20 years. It's extremely basic.
    I'm buying a 2nd hand Pioneer DJM 900 NXS off a buddy for a tidy $750 CAD. This is actually a steal of a deal. Comes with flight case too. We'll see whats up in 20 more years!

KevRossi wrote: »

3. I purchased 5 Jack B. Yeats sketches, and drawings, for about €7,000 in 2010, when I could have spent the money on holidays and having a decent life.
    Marry me?

You're lucky to have gotten anything by JBY for 7 grand. Aside from the monetary investment, which has surely appreciated, it's just a really cool thing to own.

I saw a sketch of his for sale in James Adam & Sons a few years ago, a close-up of jockeys mid-race, with their whips flying, looking very intent. If I'd had the 10 grand, I'd have bought it. Imagine having a Jack Yeats in your house? That's the dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭curiousinvestor

Instead, I bought a mini-digger with a whole clatter of attachments for 200 times the price.

A farm
    A few slatted sheds
    A tractor , all eat money and time
    An X5, oh lord, 1200e tax, the maintenance is shocking,
    A boat, in a shed for 4 years , just dont have the time.