Peak Guardian.... again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Ironing, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

AngryLoner wrote: »

So you saw through their gambit but still fell for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Celticfire

We need more deep holes to throw the writers of horse**** like this into.

Is this yer man that did Tatiana McGrath taking the piss again maybe?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭AngryLoner

KiKi III wrote: »
    So you saw through their gambit but still fell for it?

I never claimed to be clever

The feminists would have us all living in holes in the ground!!!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

There’s no denying that building in China looks like a cock.

what do you expect, at this rate, the architects will be strung up like the Nuremburg trial. This is all getting to be a sick joke

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/uknews/police-forces-should-immediately-record-misogyny-as-hate-crime-says-campaigner-as-labour-mayors-back-plan/ar-BB16quoW?ocid=msedgntp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

This is absolutely peak Guardian; Critical theory opinion pieces that are designed to click bait.

It's a shame as The Guardian was a very good paper several years ago. A lot of people blame Katherine Viner but it was going on for a number of years before she became editor.

I don't know why people pay to read the views of those who should be in a mental asylum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Still waters

Maybe if women were better architects we wouldn't be in this position, get your shìt together ladies, there's more to life than sandwiches and hoovering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Maybe if women were better architects we wouldn't be in this position, get your shìt together ladies, there's more to life than sandwiches and hoovering

Correct. Ironing.

KiKi III wrote: »
    There’s no denying that building in China looks like a cock.

You just have a dirty mind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

There was a woman who took a picture of herself and her daughter in front of a newly erected bridge in Florida a few years ago...she posted it on social media expressing how proud she was to participate in the design and engineering of the bridge and how important it was that women are involved in the process....

The bridge collapsed the next day killing 6 people.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"Upward-thrusting buildings ejaculating into the sky – do cities have to be so sexist?"

891f9ee33524dcff9fdda13d55eb4e41.jpg

"That said, our built environments can still reflect patterns of gender-based discrimination. To imagine the city and its structures as neutral places where complicated human social relations are staged is to ignore the simple fact that people built these places."

No petal, you'll find few women on building sites. Men built these places. If she could wire a plug or put up a shelf without "getting a man in" I'd be gobsmacked.

"Our cities are patriarchy written in stone, brick, glass and concrete.”. See above. The "author" then goes even further down her neurotic fearful little rabbit hole hewn from adolescent angst and ivory tower academia. Go ahead, build your "Feminist City", see how far you get and what form would that even take? Hers seems to be down to naming streets after women, gender exclusive(for women. Of course) busses and trains and snow ploughs that do residential areas first. The sheer breadth of her mind is truly humbling... Hey if buildings are so phallic, maybe caves are the answer. The ancients often saw those as the entrances to Mother Earth. Well if you don't have the men doing the actual heavy lifting that's were you may end up, or would have stayed.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

What's even funnier than these ridiculous articles is the hordes of people losing their absolute shlt over them - often displaying some serious misogyny! Quite ironic, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,247 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Skyscrapers go up because gravity works in the opposite direction. So, is gravity feminist? Is it sexist to aspire to oppose gravity, rather than embrace Mother Earth?

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

What's even funnier that these ridiculous articles is the hordes of people losing their absolute shlt over them - often displaying some serious misogyny! Quite ironic, really.
    When misandry and the neurotic ramblings of idiots are mainstream fare for well respected news outlets then I figure what's good for the goose and so forth. In my case the overwhelming emotion, if I could stretch to one is "ah bless". And I have no problem with being misogynistic towards morons who happen to be female. They practically invite it, by proving how contemptibly idiotic they are. Never mind they usually push a stereotype of Women™ as weak minded neurotic fools and victims with no agency and no responsibility, while demanding rights and respect for nothing. That's misogyny in my book as outside of a tiny minority of muppets it doesn't begin to reflect the women I know and have known in my life.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,732 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

We built this gender neutral city
    With cocks and holes ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

People often tell me The Guardian was good years ago and years ago they were telling me The Guardian was good years ago.

There's a certain class of feminists too that are far more obsessed with men's penises than the men who own them ever were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,732 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Earthhorse wrote: »
    People often tell me The Guardian was good years ago and years ago they were telling me The Guardian was good years ago.

There's a certain class of feminists too that are far more obsessed with men's penises than the men who own them ever were.

As a woman I'd imagine many of the newer feminists would be happier if they were more hands on with the penises, rather than obsessing about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭AngryLoner

Earthhorse wrote: »

It was a darn good read 20 years ago. It was already on the slide when K Viner took over and set the controls for the heart of the sun...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Risingshadoo

But it's a bridge!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

C90-BA3-B0-E416-4507-B6-FC-3-E5572988478.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Wasn't one of Ireland's greatest architects a woman?
    Your one who had Corbusier wreck her gaff in a fit of jealous rage that she was so good.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Wasn't one of Ireland's greatest architects a woman?
    Your one who had Corbusier wreck her gaff in a fit of jealous rage that she was so good.
    Eileen Gray. Yep. Fantastic architect(EDIT: and not just architect either. Had the full artistic package going on. An actual genius). There are quite a few great women architects. They're not to be found among the recent Champagne "feminists" of academia though. Rather than whine about the usual intersectional fripperies they actually go and do stuff, build things, make things happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Wibbs wrote: »
    Eileen Gray. Yep. Fantastic architect. There are quite a few great women architects. They're not to be found among the recent Champagne "feminists" of academia though. Rather than whine about the usual intersectional fripperies they actually go and do stuff, build things, make things happen.

Yes. I've come across this "skyscrapers = willies = male ego" nonsense before, from a man. The common denominator is a failure to understand that a natural solution to density is to build up and that correlation does not equal causation; an ignorance more based on "education" in ideological rubbish masquerading as Arts rather than the gender of the person displaying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I despise the Guardian so am not giving them a click but I get the gist it is just another article complaining about the world and trying to convince the public they are victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,514 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

They do print some rubbish but still my favourite paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

What's even funnier that these ridiculous articles is the hordes of people losing their absolute shlt over them - often displaying some serious misogyny! Quite ironic, really.

OK Karen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

milehip wrote: »
    OK Karen.

I don't think you understand the, "Karen", phenomenon.
    But what a burn, all the same. That's me slithering away embarrassed