FF/FG/Green Next Government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Great to see the 'pump' ain't broke anyway. :)

https://twitter.com/fionnansheahan/status/1278985904019968000

Gotta keep up with the Healy Raes. Kerry is another planet when it comes to local politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

This craic is going to continue until we change the political system to a list based one or something like that. It is in a ministers interest to take care of their own constituency as they are the ones who will be voting for them the next time.

If you have a Minister for Transport from Sligo, who gets a Dublin underground built to service several million people, but doesn't get the local bypass over the line, the locals down the country are going to make him feel the pain next time out. The TDs know it, the voters know it and it's a symptom of a badly designed system where local heroes are voted in for their local profile and local work but are then supposed to forget their local roots and govern for all the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Yeah. Someone should get €50,000 worth of print cartridges and print off these outrageous scandals.

I think Aengus Ó Snodaigh is on the case!

Did they ever get that new printer into the Dail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,470 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Isn't Sheahan's partner a Fianna Fáilure?

They invented the parish pump!

So is Norma Foley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Isn't Sheahan's partner a Fianna Fáilure?

She's not with Fionnan or FF any more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Yeah. Someone should get €50,000 worth of print cartridges and print off these outrageous scandals.

And SF's closing of ranks is just one of the reasons I won't vote for them. The whole thing just struck me as more of the same.

IF they had said 'look, technically he was entitled (:P) but as a gesture we as a party will pay for xxxx (even 50%) of the cost of the cartridges' then I, personally, would have looked more fondly on them.
    Still won't vote for them for other policy reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,194 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Gotta keep up with the Healy Raes. Kerry is another planet when it comes to local politics.

And the Shinners who drove a coach and four through their own regulations at a recent funeral, it’s been reported.

Now Ms Foster wants the same treatment for the Orange side who will be on the roads soon, it’s reported.

Should be good enough for two or three months of backwards and forwards fcukkery so beloved by the camp followers of both sets of actors.

If the inputs on these respected fora are anything to go by anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Now Ms Foster wants the same treatment for the Orange side who will be on the roads soon, it’s reported.

12th July- isn't it?
    Of course she wants a quid-pro-quo.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,160 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Great to see the 'pump' ain't broke anyway. :)

Foley-Raes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

And the Shinners who drove a coach and four through their own regulations at a recent funeral, it’s been reported.

Should be good enough for two or three months of backwards and forwards fcukkery so beloved by the camp followers of both sets of actors.

I am so sick hearing about that funeral. The North is still such a basket case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Show's her up. Can hardly claim outrage based on safety if she's going to play tit for tat.

I am so sick hearing about that funeral. The North is still such a basket case.

The south too.

Newly formed government. Posts being given out. Seante drawing from a hat. National crises, Covid, Brexit...dig at the shinners, (free pass for the Garda doing the same thing).

MON apology actually knocked a story about the reported number of Covid deaths off the top spot on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Why couldn't Martin and Varadkar share an Aide De Camp?

Why does Varadkar need one? Is he planning on going to war or something?

Bowie wrote: »
    The south too.

Newly formed government. Posts being given out. Seante drawing from a hat. National crises, Covid, Brexit...dig at the shinners, (free pass for the Garda doing the same thing).

MON apology actually knocked a story about the reported number of Covid deaths off the top spot on RTE.

Rubbish, comparing the murder of a Garda in service to another funeral.

Comparing the actions of a disfunctional state to a State where things are done properly, where the leaders follow advised precautions, where the leaders are answerable to the electorate, not to a group of shadowy figures lurking in the background.

Total rubbish, a chara, but you know that, just had to try to defend the indefensible.

Rubbish, comparing the murder of a Garda in service to another funeral.

Comparing the actions of a disfunctional state to a State where things are done properly, where the leaders follow advised precautions, where the leaders are answerable to the electorate, not to a group of shadowy figures lurking in the background.

Total rubbish, a chara, but you know that, just had to try to defend the indefensible.

Didn't defend it once lad.
    Do you think the virus differentiates based on politics? Are we basing right to mourn or attend a funeral based on other peoples opinion of the deceased now?

SF are a party you can vote for should you choose to. Shadowy my hole Bren. Relax yourself and breath in the hypocrisy and waste of public attention. Took your politicians refusing seats out of the papers any way. Took a report on the wrong numbers of covid deaths being released off the top spot. Handy that. 70,000 people signing up for Ireland's Call and only 111 getting contacted, to be passed to a private recruitment agency...not a dicky bird.
    There's your rubbish Bren, that fact it made a headline in the first place.

Do you think the virus differentiates based on politics? Are we basing right to mourn or attend a funeral based on other peoples opinion of the deceased now?

SF are a party you can vote for should you choose to. Shadowy my hole Bren. Relax yourself and breath in the hypocrisy and waste of public attention. Took your politicians refusing seats out of the papers any way. Took a report on the wrong numbers of covid deaths being released off the top spot. Handy that. 70,000 people signing up for Ireland's Call and only 111 getting contacted, to be passed to a private recruitment agency...not a dicky bird.
    There's your rubbish Bren, that fact it made a headline in the first place.

I suppose we can’t expect a crowd who mowed down two Gardaí on duty to much respect for the law.

Pay more attention to alleged and unproven technical matters than cold blooded murder of serving officers.

Kind of sums that crowd up,a chara.

I suppose we can’t expect a crowd who mowed down two Gardaí on duty to much respect for the law.

Pay more attention to alleged and unproven technical matters than cold blooded murder of serving officers.

Kind of sums that crowd up,a chara.

I take it Callinan wasn't invited so.
    No Bren, story was about two funerals. One was a Garda. They didn't social distance.
    The other was a shinner, they didn't social distance.
    One was used for buckets of pretend outrage to distract. The other wasn't. That it really. Simples.
    Shows up the priorities of some politicians and news outlets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

That must be a shock to those people who were saying it was a non-story and she had nothing to apologise for a few days ago. It isn’t going away, is it?

blanch152 wrote: »
    That must be a shock to those people who were saying it was a non-story and she had nothing to apologise for a few days ago. It isn’t going away, is it?

I wouldn't know. She was right to apologise and did fair play.
    You and others dragging it out will likely have the same affect all the 'RA tales did in the run up to the election ;)

Show's her up. Can hardly claim outrage based on safety if she's going to play tit for tat.

Let me get this straight.

If, and it’s a big if, because we have no evidence it will happen, so if Foster copies Sinn Fein and breaks social distancing rules, this shows Foster up, but Sinn Fein are still entitled to a hall pass. Do I understand you correctly?

Just trying to get this straight in my head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Its a sad state of affairs with everything going on that its still headline news.

Like everything, i.e Cervical Scandal, it will just go away eventually

If, and it’s a big if, because we have no evidence it will happen, so if Foster copies Sinn Fein and breaks social distancing rules, this shows Foster up, but Sinn Fein are still entitled to a hall pass. Do I understand you correctly?

No. In fact you couldn't be more wrong.

If Foster is complaining the shinners were irresponsible for not social distancing, (which I agree they were and you know this) and then uses that to justify having an orange march, it means she never had an issue based on public safety.
    You really have to get off this 'one cancels the other out' philosophy. That's all you Blanch.
    Both the garda and SF were wrong not to socially distance. One doesn't excuse the other.
    It's like Varadkar using quotes from Lord of the Rings and Mean Girls, for fun, for an inside joke, disrespecting those who died during Covid isn't cancelled out by FG councillor O'Leary admiring the fascist blueshirts and comparing them to FG of today.

Personally I think it was ill advised - to be charitable - of SF leadership to attend a large funeral during restrictions. I also think MO'N shouldn't have travelled to Dublin when she did.

However, I think having a go at SF members for attending a large funeral when Charlie Flanagan while still Minister for Justice, plus the Garda Commissioner and high ranking members of an Gardaí can clearly be seen attending a large funeral with serious lack of social distancing is a bit hypocritical.

Both funerals were large with a notable lack of social distancing. Both, imho, were disrespectful to those thousands of mourners who couldn't say a proper farewell to their departed loved ones.
    Both could have been properly policed (metaphorically and literally) to ensure social distancing.

In NI the PSNI should have tactfully stepped in, in RoI the Gardaí were, ironically, part of the funeral and ignored what was happening.

If Foster wants Orange Parades to go ahead she's demonstrating she's no better than the rest of them. And turning down a gold plated opportunity to score political points.

The south too.

The point people seem to be missing is that these politicians want us to look up to them. Then they do something so insensitive that they think simply saying sorry is enough.

Regarding the Gardai paying their respects to their comrade, communities around the country have been doing similar guards of honour when they couldn’t attend a funeral. They didn’t cross a border into another state to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭christy c

Took your politicians refusing seats out of the papers any way. Took a report on the wrong numbers of covid deaths being released off the top spot. Handy that.

They have Sinn Fein and their political stupidity followed by their arrogance to thank for that.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Personally I think it was ill advised - to be charitable - of SF leadership to attend a large funeral during restrictions. I also think MO'N shouldn't have travelled to Dublin when she did.

However, I think having a go at SF members for attending a large funeral when Charlie Flanagan while still Minister for Justice, plus the Garda Commissioner and high ranking members of an Gardaí can clearly be seen attending a large funeral with serious lack of social distancing is a bit hypocritical.

Both funerals were large with a notable lack of social distancing. Both, imho, were disrespectful to those thousands of mourners who couldn't say a proper farewell to their departed loved ones.
    Both could have been properly policed (metaphorically and literally) to ensure social distancing.

In NI the PSNI should have tactfully stepped in, in RoI the Gardaí were, ironically, part of the funeral and ignored what was happening.

If Foster wants Orange Parades to go ahead she's demonstrating she's no better than the rest of them. And turning down a gold plated opportunity to score political points.

If the PSNI in NI had “tactfully stepped in” what do you think would have been the outcome?

Not the point.

If there was disorder then rightfully the organisers should be firmly taken to task and SF - if they failed to act with the PSNI to ensure social distancing rules were adhered to - should be rightfully pilloried.
    But the fact remains the PSNI didn't act and that is down to a policy decision with the force - has anyone asked them why they didn't?

In RoI the Gardaí took part. The top brass were there. They could have acted to ensure social distancing in a way that was respectful to a fallen member of the force, the serving members of the force putting themselves at risk of infection, and those whose loved ones had no proper final sending off - no matter how deeply loved they were.
    That did not happen.
    The crowds are there to see for all on-line. There was no social distancing.

No. In fact you couldn't be more wrong.

If Foster is complaining the shinners were irresponsible for not social distancing, (which I agree they were and you know this) and then uses that to justify having an orange march, it means she never had an issue based on public safety.
    You really have to get off this 'one cancels the other out' philosophy. That's all you Blanch.
    Both the garda and SF were wrong not to socially distance. One doesn't excuse the other.
    It's like Varadkar using quotes from Lord of the Rings and Mean Girls, for fun, for an inside joke, disrespecting those who died during Covid isn't cancelled out by FG councillor O'Leary admiring the fascist blueshirts and comparing them to FG of today.

It would be the height of arrogance and hypocrisy for Sinn Fein, their leaders or any of their followers, supporters and voters to complain about anyone else not social distancing following the behaviour at that funeral.

The rush to find "he did it too" this time with unfair comparisons to the garda funeral mirrors the "he hit me first" explanation for the terrorist campaign. It is childish and false at best.

It would be the height of arrogance and hypocrisy for Sinn Fein, their leaders or any of their followers, supporters and voters to complain about anyone else not social distancing following the behaviour at that funeral.

The rush to find "he did it too" this time with unfair comparisons to the garda funeral mirrors the "he hit me first" explanation for the terrorist campaign. It is childish and false at best.

On the contrary the rush to condemn SF when an FG minister and An Gardaí did it too is childish and false at best.

If the rules apply to all of us then the rules apply to all of us.
    Regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,470 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Nobody has yet explained why the comparisons to other funerals are invalid..we have had quite a few and latitude (in layman's terms a blind eye was turned) was given when very obviously, regs were being broken because they were funerals.

The virus does not distinguish between state funerals, the funeral of an SDLP man, a child, an Orange parade or any other large gathering.

SF did not get this right, no doubt about that and I am glad they have apologised for the hurt caused, but the joyful way it is being politically played by the usual suspects is pathetic and looking for a woman to apologise for attending a friends funeral is frankly obscene. Especially from those who could not even bring themselves to say Leo Varadkar was sending the wrong message by publicly drinking cans in the park.

Stop with the hypocrisy.