The Irish Pub is finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Nearest town had something like 14 pubs, now only 7 still going. Of that 7, 2 of them serve food regularly, 4 have some form of recorded music or live music. Most of them are near deserted Mon through Thurs.

2 are old soaks type hangouts that are unlikely to survive beyond the demise of the current owners and/or their regulars. The only saving the rest is they are owner occupied and run. If it was a city I'd say only one of the 7 might be viable and even then it would be a struggle. If the whole lot of them closed it wouldn't worry me in the slightest as I might go there once or twice a year if even that.

_Brian wrote: »
    This a thousand times over.

Irish people need to break their relationship with pubs and excessive drinking culture. Hopefully the remaining pins will have to substantially increase prices so going for one pint is no big deal, but makes full days and nights drinking less of a thing.

€1 onto a pint is nothing if you are going for one or two.

Lovely, you don’t like pubs so let’s force those who do out of them. Pretty bad at attitude especially since pubs are such a great place and source of enjoyment for so many. Also the amount of jobs you are happy to see lost.

I can’t wait for corona to feck off and be back to in to the pub at least twice a week. The pub has so many different but great types of evening/night to offer too. Really miss going straight to the pub Thursday evening/night after work for pints with the work friends, the weekend session, the all day on the beer two days in a row weekends, the occasional visit to the early house for pints at 8am on a Saturday morning, nice evening out with my wife and lots of drinks, the quiet few with my dad down the local chatting about farming and sport etc.

_Brian wrote: »
    This a thousand times over.

Irish people need to break their relationship with pubs and excessive drinking culture. Hopefully the remaining pins will have to substantially increase prices so going for one pint is no big deal, but makes full days and nights drinking less of a thing.

€1 onto a pint is nothing if you are going for one or two.

Translation: I hate pubs and don’t go into them, so this opportunity to let them die out, and drinking alcohol made as hard as possible, should be seized

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

what do you think the first weekend the pubs open is going to be like? im talking about the pubs that open in July.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

pgj2015 wrote: »
    what do you think the first weekend the pubs open is going to be like? im talking about the pubs that open in July.

If you're talking about Pubs which only serve alcohol. Then it will depend on what the updated guidelines are like.

They will almost certainly have to be tweaked

ShyMets wrote: »
    If you're talking about Pubs which only serve alcohol. Then it will depend on what the updated guidelines are like.

They will almost certainly have to be tweaked

But will it be like paddies day or even more mental?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

It comes back to the guidelines. If they are similar to what is already there, I can see a lot of people not bothering with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Lovely, you don’t like pubs so let’s force those who do out of them. Pretty bad at attitude especially since pubs are such a great place and source of enjoyment for so many. Also the amount of jobs you are happy to see lost.

I can’t wait for corona to feck off and be back to in to the pub at least twice a week. The pub has so many different but great types of evening/night to offer too. Really miss going straight to the pub Thursday evening/night after work for pints with the work friends, the weekend session, the all day on the beer two days in a row weekends, the occasional visit to the early house for pints at 8am on a Saturday morning, nice nice evening out with my wife and lots of drinks, the quiet few with my dad down the local chatting about farming and sport etc.

Your wife sounds like a lucky gal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,152 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'm pretty sure they've already said it'll be table service only. 2 metres from each other though probably drop that to 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Hairy Japanese BASTARDS!

They should've stopped off sales during Covid as well.

God knows some people could cut down. Myself included.

Let he without sin cast the boulder. If my girlfriend wants to have a night out with the ladies, I'm not exactly going to stand in the way. Nor will she if I frequent the local for a few jars of a Wednesday evening. Respect is a two way street.

Bit of a difference between a quiet Wednesday evening and regular 2 day weekend benders though.

ShyMets wrote: »
    It comes back to the guidelines. If they are similar to what is already there, I can see a lot of people not bothering with them

I can see it being mayhem to be honest, look at the way arthurs day was or st. stephen's night after the pubs being closed for 1 day. the young crowd will go crazy I think. the publicans cant control people once they get out on the streets.

Bit of a difference between a quiet Wednesday evening and regular 2 day weekend benders though.

Two solid days on the beer would be an occasional event rather than regular (unfortunately).

They should've stopped off sales during Covid as well.

God knows some people could cut down. Myself included.

That would have been madness, beer is about the only thing that kept a lot of people sane of the last few months.

Two solid days on the beer would be an occasional event rather than regular (unfortunately).

Do you mind me asking how old you are?

I’m mid 30’s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I don't think the Irish pub is finished at all in Ireland but do think only the stronger pubs will survive the days of a call country town having 10 pubs are over, not sustainable and never really were anyway.

There are about 7,000 pubs in Ireland now, a reduction of 1,500 since 2005. It's probably fair to say we will lose another 1,500 in the coming years but it won't die out.

Some people won't return to the pub for financial or health reasons, they might have ditched the drink during the covid crisis or decided they prefer to drink at home but anyone living alone cannot wait to be back in the pub, mixing with people again, especially single people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

No need for personal insults

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,711 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

How mane people here would bother with the pub under the booking, distancing rules and needing to buy a meal, and a 90 or 120 min time limit? I know I wouldn't. I might go once for novelty value but I probably won't go until the new rules aren't necessary anymore.

I liked the pub for a "couple of beers" after work on a Friday and end up staying for hours when the craic is good. Or going to watch a match with the lads in a packed pub.

The new rules don't allow for any of the reasons I used to like the pub. I won't be bothering with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,286 ✭✭✭jackboy

How mane people here would bother with the pub under the booking, distancing rules and needing to buy a meal, and a 90 or 120 min time limit? I know I wouldn't. I might go once for novelty value but I probably won't go until the new rules aren't necessary anymore.

I liked the pub for a "couple of beers" after work on a Friday and end up staying for hours when the craic is good. Or going to watch a match with the lads in a packed pub.

The new rules don't allow for any of the reasons I used to like the pub. I won't be bothering with it.

For years the Irish mocked the continental version, the cafe bar. Places like that are no craic, was said, who would want to go to those places. This new version of the Irish pub is far, far worse than those cafe bars. At least they could chill out with a couple of drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Why do we go to pubs ? To relax, socialize, have an enjoyable time...

In what’s being proposed it’s going to be impossible to relax, impossible to socialize ‘properly’ and have an enjoyable time ? I think customers and staff will be on edge.

It doesn’t sound much like fun to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I know a town where only one out of four is planning to reopen, one already has a for sale sign up. Same story all over the country. Tourist traps will be the only places where there won’t be mass casualties. Only 50% planning to reopen on the 29th. That’s a lot of jobs permanently removed from the economy by bat flu hysteria.

Pardon my ignorance, but why is this a bad thing? A lot of damage has been done to society and plenty of money has been pissed down the drain. It's time for men to stop relying on pubs for a social life, make friends and get back to their families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,649 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

You think an alcoholic is going to magically take up windsurfing or needlepoint because his local shuts down?

I would imagine - as a recovering alcoholic myself - that the need to get drink at any cost - means most of the all-day pub lads - the barfly types - will be drinking from home or for the social aspect, at another alcohol dependant’s gaff. I’ve no doubt that they’re doing this already. If they have families - wives and children - I imagine being at home rather that in the pub every evening and all day at the weekends must be causing ructions for quite a few.

Some may well decide that it’s not worth the hassle going back to the pub with all the social distancing restrictions, which would I imagine be pretty hard to stick to once you’ve had about 7 or 8 pints down your gullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,239 ✭✭✭HBC08

Those rules are only for the 3 weeks til 20th July.
    I'm not sure what the pubs will look like when they do open though,it'll be different alright.
    I've booked a slot on thurs in a local restaraunt/pub.They sent an email with all the restrictions for customers,im interested to see what itll be like.
    I'm also booked for a haircut on sat,already been told theyre not allowed trim the beard,again im interested to see how it goes.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I would imagine - as a recovering alcoholic myself - that the need to get drink at any cost - means most of the all-day pub lads - the barfly types - will be drinking from home or for the social aspect, at another alcohol dependant’s gaff. I’ve no doubt that they’re doing this already. If they have families - wives and children - I imagine being at home rather that in the pub every evening and all day at the weekends must be causing ructions for quite a few.

Some may well decide that it’s not worth the hassle going back to the pub with all the social distancing restrictions, which would I imagine be pretty hard to stick to once you’ve had about 7 or 8 pints down your gullet.

There’s always the sanctimonious ex-something everywhere, but just because you had a problem with it you have absolutely no authority to say if someone else can handle it.

Absolutely could not be arsed with all of that. Why not just invite people around and do a barbecue?

I think there is still a big appetite for the pub, though.I don't want to incriminate anyone, but a pub that I'm very fond of has been doing a fairly steady trade throughout the pandemic -- this is one of those bars that is even buzzing on a Christmas day, you have to go around the yard and knock on the back door. People love their pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,649 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

There’s always the sanctimonious ex-something everywhere, but just because you had a problem with it you have absolutely no authority to say if someone else can handle it.

Erm...where did I say I had a problem with people going to the pub and drinking? I know that drinking is no longer for me and for those who also crossed the line into alcohol dependency, but most people can drink normally and who I am to judge them or tell them that they should stop drinking?

The pub is an important social outlet for many, but that number has been in decline over the past 15 to 20 years as lifestyles change. The number of pubs is in decline. This is not my opinion - it is a fact. Also I think the challenges and logistics of just how pubs are going to operate with social distancing protocols will certainly not be without its problems.

But I suppose that because I had serious issues with alcohol I am not allowed to comment on this thread in any shape or form? Oh right...and here was little me thinking we lived in a free country. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Agree 100%. I've no problem in saying I'm a big fan of the pub, but not in the current, proposed guise. All these rules and regulations, whilst necessary for the moment, undermine the ethos of the pub. Whilst I go to the pub to meet my friends, work colleagues, family, etc., I'm also going for the unknown - the spontaneity of a night out, meeting strangers, old friends, acquaintances, etc. This cannot be replicated at home drinking a few cans, or having a BBQ. It also cannot really be facilitated with the current restrictions. The sooner a vaccine becomes available, the better!

Absolutely could not be arsed with all of that. Why not just invite people around and do a barbecue?

I think there is still a big appetite for the pub, though.I don't want to incriminate anyone, but a pub that I'm very fond of has been doing a fairly steady trade throughout the pandemic -- this is one of those bars that is even buzzing on a Christmas day, you have to go around the yard and knock on the back door. People love their pubs.

You have to bear in mind that inviting people over isn't an option for everyone for a myriad of reasons.

Personally I'm living at home so I cant be inviting friends over here, ditto for my friend I usually meet on Friday.

Then others may have a wife and kids at home or some other awkward situation.