dominatinMC wrote: » Agree 100%. I've no problem in saying I'm a big fan of the pub, but not in the current, proposed guise. All these rules and regulations, whilst necessary for the moment, undermine the ethos of the pub. Whilst I go to the pub to meet my friends, work colleagues, family, etc., I'm also going for the unknown - the spontaneity of a night out, meeting strangers, old friends, acquaintances, etc. This cannot be replicated at home drinking a few cans, or having a BBQ. It also cannot really be facilitated with the current restrictions. The sooner a vaccine becomes available, the better!
Sheep breeder wrote: » Something similar on an odd Friday night to meet lads to get info and a bit of craic about local gaa banter. On Saturday nights four of us always went to the pub in two different villages on alternate weekend with 3 and 5 pubs and would always be something on in one of the pubs and always someone to see or meet. In the last two years the pubs have slowed down with less people out and very few to meet and have craic. If you want to see someone about work it’s done by phone. The same for arranging to go shooting, the gaa has killed the pint after matches craic with bringing teams out of their area to play matches and charging larger fee into matches. Never really drank at home till Covid, can get 20 bottles for 17 euro in Lidl and don’t have to look at smart arse bar men.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » How mane people here would bother with the pub under the booking, distancing rules and needing to buy a meal, and a 90 or 120 min time limit? I know I wouldn't. I might go once for novelty value but I probably won't go until the new rules aren't necessary anymore. I liked the pub for a "couple of beers" after work on a Friday and end up staying for hours when the craic is good. Or going to watch a match with the lads in a packed pub. The new rules don't allow for any of the reasons I used to like the pub. I won't be bothering with it.
L'prof wrote: » Quick lads, I’ll meet ye all down Patsy’s
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » I don't want to incriminate anyone, but a pub that I'm very fond of has been doing a fairly steady trade throughout the pandemic -- this is one of those bars that is even buzzing on a Christmas day, you have to go around the yard and knock on the back door
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » The next time I go into Patsy's bar in Borrisokane, I don't want to just sit in the corner, 2 meters from my friends, and chat for an allotted timetable. I want to sing "Come Out Ye Black And Tans" with people I haven't seen since the Leaving Cert
dominatinMC wrote: » the spontaneity of a night out, meeting strangers, old friends, acquaintances, etc. This cannot be replicated at home drinking a few cans, or having a BBQ.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » Absolutely could not be arsed with all of that. Why not just invite people around and do a barbecue? I think there is still a big appetite for the pub, though.I don't want to incriminate anyone, but a pub that I'm very fond of has been doing a fairly steady trade throughout the pandemic -- this is one of those bars that is even buzzing on a Christmas day, you have to go around the yard and knock on the back door. People love their pubs.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » How mane people here would bother with the pub under the booking, distancing rules and needing to buy a meal, and a 90 or 120 min time limit? I know I wouldn't. I might go once for novelty value but I probably won't go until the new rules aren't necessary anymore.I liked the pub for a "couple of beers" after work on a Friday and end up staying for hours when the craic is good. Or going to watch a match with the lads in a packed pub. The new rules don't allow for any of the reasons I used to like the pub. I won't be bothering with it.
ReginaldSmythV wrote: » There’s always the sanctimonious ex-something everywhere, but just because you had a problem with it you have absolutely no authority to say if someone else can handle it.
JupiterKid wrote: » I would imagine - as a recovering alcoholic myself - that the need to get drink at any cost - means most of the all-day pub lads - the barfly types - will be drinking from home or for the social aspect, at another alcohol dependant’s gaff. I’ve no doubt that they’re doing this already. If they have families - wives and children - I imagine being at home rather that in the pub every evening and all day at the weekends must be causing ructions for quite a few. Some may well decide that it’s not worth the hassle going back to the pub with all the social distancing restrictions, which would I imagine be pretty hard to stick to once you’ve had about 7 or 8 pints down your gullet.
ShatterAlan wrote: » You think an alcoholic is going to magically take up windsurfing or needlepoint because his local shuts down?
Jimmy Garlic wrote: » I know a town where only one out of four is planning to reopen, one already has a for sale sign up. Same story all over the country. Tourist traps will be the only places where there won’t be mass casualties. Only 50% planning to reopen on the 29th. That’s a lot of jobs permanently removed from the economy by bat flu hysteria.
RocketRaccoon wrote: » Your wife sounds like a lucky gal.
RocketRaccoon wrote: » Do you mind me asking how old you are?
Marshall Large Chihuahua wrote: » Two solid days on the beer would be an occasional event rather than regular (unfortunately).
Hairy Japanese BASTARDS! wrote: » They should've stopped off sales during Covid as well. God knows some people could cut down. Myself included.
RocketRaccoon wrote: » Bit of a difference between a quiet Wednesday evening and regular 2 day weekend benders though.
ShyMets wrote: » It comes back to the guidelines. If they are similar to what is already there, I can see a lot of people not bothering with them
Deleted User wrote: » Let he without sin cast the boulder. If my girlfriend wants to have a night out with the ladies, I'm not exactly going to stand in the way. Nor will she if I frequent the local for a few jars of a Wednesday evening. Respect is a two way street.