Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,505 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

buried wrote: »
    If ye want your moneys worth from yere yearly licence fee, look no further than listening to Joe Duffy on liveline earlier today where he completely and totally lost his $hit while at the same time got his entire perpetual sat down arse handed to him

Tell us!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,442 ✭✭✭✭elperello

If ye want your moneys worth from yere yearly licence fee, look no further than listening to Joe Duffy on liveline earlier today where he completely and totally lost his $hit while at the same time got his entire perpetual sat down arse handed to him

You might like to check out the guy he was up against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,970 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Some driven stult with issues had a go?

Hardly got his arse handed to him.

Some clip tried to link The Taoiseach with the gaydar stuff?

Had form apparently..

The Dufficer had to refute that surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

elperello wrote: »
    You might like to check out the guy he was up against.

lol Joe and his researchers had him well checked out already and they still let him up on it, and he still made a fools arse out of Duffy. If you think Joe & the crew came out well of that holy $hitshow you'd want your brain checking man.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,207 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Sorry, I really don't have the answer to your questions.

Maybe they feel that it is worthwhile to have a golf commentator. Perhaps it is even cost effective given the interest in the sport.

Fair enough, it just seems like an unnecessary resource to have in RTÉ (However I don't listen to RTÉ radio so was unaware that guy spends a lot of time on the radio).

Basically his job is to watch golf, and keep himself up to date on the goings on in the golf world, while maybe actually commentating for 4 days a year on the 1 golf tournament that RTÉ actually broadcast.

In a broadcaster running a €10M+ deficit, I can't see the logic, I'm sorry.

Some driven stult with issues had a go?

Hardly got his arse handed to him.

Some clip tried to link The Taoiseach with the gaydar stuff?

Had form apparently..

The Dufficer had to refute that surely.

He did Brendan, he got it handed to him like Moses got handed the tablet up the mountain

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭TheRepentent

He did Brendan, he got it handed to him like Moses got handed the tablet up the mountain
    What was the call about? Dropped my dad home and it was on the radio about Russell being a nazi...was that it ?

It was about the Russell statue being defaced with the rainbow colours. If you were only half listening to it, I recommend you go on the player and listen to all of it, in its entirity. Your paying handsomely for it anyways so you may as well.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Fair enough, it just seems like an unnecessary resource to have in RTÉ (However I don't listen to RTÉ radio so was unaware that guy spends a lot of time on the radio).

It not my sport at all.

I don't play or watch it but I know people who love it almost like a religion.

Maybe it's a case of RTE not having the budget to cover the big events but by having a knowledgeable correspondent they manage to make do.

lol Joe and his researchers had him well checked out already and they still let him up on it, and he still made a fools arse out of Duffy. If you think Joe & the crew came out well of that holy $hitshow you'd want your brain checking man.

Depends on where you start from.

If you have an antipathy towards JD you will of course not be choosy who you support against him.

If you align with MS that's between you and him.

My brain is fine, thanks for your concern.

Who is MS?
    I can't get to listen back just yet.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Who is MS?
    I can't get to listen back just yet.

Sorry I'm a devil for the shorthand Malachy Steenson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭DrSerious3

Sorry I'm a devil for the shorthand Malachy Steenson.

In fairness, Joe was embarrassing in that debate. He is an establishment shill.

If you have an antipathy towards JD you will of course not be choosy who you support against him.

I don't align with anything except what I hear for myself with my own ears. I have no clue who or what "MS" is.

I know what a holy show is though, and today it was Joe Duffy.

Or "JD" or whatever you are having yourself.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

I'll ask this question again because you ignored it previously. What is with your hard on for all things RTE?

Do you work there?

Went ‘top note’ very quickly I thought.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭Biafranlivemat

Good article on “The Den” on
    https://www.thejournal.ie/dustin-the-den-5130813-Jun2020/

Best part is
    “The reason it actually worked is because RTÉ had feck all involvement. That’s why it worked, if they tried it they’d end up with Echo Island meets The Nuacht. Echo Island, if you remember that muck, was basically a programme where children could go out and play for 25 minutes and get some air, and then come back in. “

I think I read a story on Zig and Zag in Hot press, how the creators made the puppets only the night before the first broadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Good article on “The Den” on
    https://www.thejournal.ie/dustin-the-den-5130813-Jun2020/

Best part is
    “The reason it actually worked is because RTÉ had feck all involvement. That’s why it worked, if they tried it they’d end up with Echo Island meets The Nuacht. Echo Island, if you remember that muck, was basically a programme where children could go out and play for 25 minutes and get some air, and then come back in. “

I think I read a story on Zig and Zag in Hot press, how the creators made the puppets only the night before the first broadcast.

Basically hit the nail on the head

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭Biafranlivemat

fritzelly wrote: »
    Basically hit the nail on the head

And back in the 80's the RTE budget had to be a fraction of what it is today.
    Amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

And back in the 80's the RTE budget had to be a fraction of what it is today.
    Amazing.

And just think what RTÉ was dealing with in the late 80s early 90s a recession, a cap on advertising, no increase in licence fee (one of the lowest in Europe) and all out strike from workers, introduction of competition.

Yet in terms of Children's content.

The Den
    Bosco/The Morgets
    2 Saturday morning kids programmes (though largely dropped in the mid-1990s)
    The Beat Box/2TV
    Jo Maxi (and yes echo island)
    Blackboard Jungle

Now I know times have changed but even the amount that they are doing in terms of Animation and more expensive content is much less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,834 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Elmo wrote: »
    And just think what RTÉ was dealing with in the late 80s early 90s a recession, a cap on advertising, no increase in licence fee (one of the lowest in Europe) and all out strike from workers, introduction of competition.

Yet in terms of Children's content.

The Den
    Bosco/The Morgets
    2 Saturday morning kids programmes (though largely dropped in the mid-1990s)
    The Beat Box/2TV
    Jo Maxi (and yes echo island)
    Blackboard Jungle

Now I know times have changed but even the amount that they are doing in terms of Animation and more expensive content is much less.

S@ttitude, Twotube, and a few others emerged (and were silently killed off) in the 2000s. I think once the internet got into everyone's homes, RTE were slow to compete, and have been playing catchup since then. (And failing it too).

There was less animation, but the quality of it was closer to Disney levels than it is now. (I mean, Don Bluth Studios used to be here... and he was a former Disney guy).

Now, the quality is poor, the animation is poor, and it takes YEARS for funding to be gathered, and years more to pay it back. (I went to a filmmaker's discussion on this-it was sad hearing both the love of filmmaking, along with the pain of funding, that went into it... and how you're paying it back for years after).

Ireland is getting more, recognition, for their film/ animation work... but honestly, standards have dropped. There's far better work being done on Netflix, in tv productions, than there is in Irish animated/ film productions.

There was less animation, but the quality of it was closer to Disney levels than it is now. (I mean, Don Bluth Studios used to be here... and he was a former Disney guy).

Now, the quality is poor, the animation is poor, and it takes YEARS for funding to be gathered, and years more to pay it back. (I went to a filmmaker's discussion on this-it was sad hearing both the love of filmmaking, along with the pain of funding, that went into it... and how you're paying it back for years after).

Ireland is getting more, recognition, for their film/ animation work... but honestly, standards have dropped. There's far better work being done on Netflix, in tv productions, than there is in Irish animated/ film productions.

more of an issue with animators who last year over took both TV and film production as the biggest employer (or at least the biggest spender) in that industry in Ireland.
    S@ttitude, Twotube, and a few others emerged (and were silently killed off) in the 2000s. I think once the internet got into everyone's homes, RTE were slow to compete, and have been playing catchup since then. (And failing it too).

S@ttitude I was trying to think of the name of that show, from Cork right?

Twotube axed during the overhaul of RTÉ YPP Dept, in 2016 when they promised they were investing in independent producers and not cutting funding. and then cut funding!

more of an issue with animators who last year over took both TV and film production as the biggest employer (or at least the biggest spender) in that industry in Ireland.

Yup... but once other companies offer to do stuff for cheaper, as is happening now, whilst offering better quality, then the industry here will collapse.

It can take 7 years to get funding for a production (you often hear of the passion projects) and many industries are moving away from certain types of animation, because competition is leading to cheaper, but poorer quality productions.

I followed up on a number of animation productions, done here in Ireland, that snagged a major license deal... the product they delivered was not good, and ended up being dumped on youtube. It was originally meant to air in Canada, the US, and later the UK.
    S@ttitude I was trying to think of the name of that show, from Cork right?

Twotube axed during the overhaul of RTÉ YPP Dept, in 2016 when they promised they were investing in independent producers and not cutting funding. and then cut funding!

Yup, 2tube/ Twotube. It's where RTE trained in a lot of new talent (new at the time) like Sinead Kennedy, and Brian Ormond, to name a few.

Some went into production, documentary making etc, others moved on to presenting other shows, and some mightily f**ked up their careers (Brian Ormond, for one).

I followed up on a number of animation productions, done here in Ireland, that snagged a major license deal... the product they delivered was not good, and ended up being dumped on youtube. It was originally meant to air in Canada, the US, and later the UK.

Would be interested in seeing these, did they get paid?

Yup, but the costs were minimal, compared to the output of the product. Ananimation production can cost about 600-700 000 euros. For a major license, this can be a pretty small loss, despite being major money for a studio.
    (In comparison, US productions can cost about 2.5 million euros per episode. But they are also 22 minutes long, compared to the short animation Ireland produces).

If it's s**t,you just dump it on the internet. If its good, you contact the company and maybe ask em 'okay, how much would it cost to do another 13 or 26 episodes?'

Anyways, this was a major announcement about 2 years ago.

http://www.iftn.ie/news/TelecomsNews/?act1=record&only=1&aid=73&rid=4292082&tpl=archnews&force=1

And it sounded like a major coup for them, for real.

Unfortunately... the final product was rather.... not good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEgYDW5SUM4

A planned season 2 was axed before it aired. The animation is even more limited than a Rocky and Bullwinkle cartoon. Like someone booked a team on fiverr to do it.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yabba-Dabba_Dinosaurs#:~:text=The%20series%20was%20intended%20to,year%20before%20the%20series%20aired.

Ah fer GOD'S SAKE...

Just seen the ad for the new 'RTE chat show'... Summer at Seven...

Not a single layoff at RTE, but they're happy to peddle out more shows to keep people paid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Turned over to Des Island discs. Heard him on about gender recognition and stereotypes.

Click

Is there any end to it?

sligojoek wrote: »
    Turned over to Des Island discs. Heard him on about gender recognition and stereotypes.

Click

Is there any end to it?

No Joe, and if you had any sense there would be no start to it.

Now have a cup of Ovaltine and wait for auld turnip head to come on.

Should calm you down.

Just hearing on The Last Word that Dee Forbes is to appear in front of some committee to claim they have seen a 35% reduction in income and an increase in costs.

Figures suggest they need €100 - €125 million .

It really is a basket case. As a boss she has failed miserably. If it was the private sector she'd have been shown the door ages ago.

And they will still continue to pay out crazy salaries to not so talented presenters because "They are worth it".

Will these huge losses be discussed on Live Line I wonder?