The Irish Pub is finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,711 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Plus you have to reserve a table and then gtfo after 90 minutes.

So call the pub to reserve your table.
    Rock up to the place and take your seat. Get your 9 euros bean on toast have maybe 4 pints before you're shown the fcuking door. Price tag about 33 euros. I think 33 Euros would get you a shedload of cans and picnic ingredients and you could stay in the Phoenix Park all day.

Would you be arsed spending that money for 90 mins in the pub and a few pints? The park or a back garden is much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,508 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Folks you can disagree with the OP as much as you like but do not personally abuse any poster.

Posts deleted and warnings issued, any issues with posts or where you think someone is a troll and report it do not call them out on thread it only derails the whole topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Once pubs go down the food route they are no long part of the traditional pub culture imo.

So for me they have slowly dying for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

You will also need an oven to cook the cocktail sausages and a deep fat frier for the wings. You will need a fairly muscular extractor fan for fumes or if anything gets burnt. You will need 2 large fridges, one for raw chicken wings and one for other products that could become contaminated. You might also need a freezer.

Baloney. You think pubs that offered free canapés like wings and cocktail sausages before all this had all that gear out the back? You can bet your life they didn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Augeo wrote: »
    Not everyone who props up a bar 5 times a week or all weekend is an alcoholic.

There's obviously some dependency there. I quit drinking for a month but still went to the pub almost every day and drank copious amounts of sparkling water with lime juice. Because sitting at home can be boring. If the local pub closed I'd find a different one. If all pubs closed (like currently) I'd get beer from the supermarket.

Baloney. You think pubs that offered free canapés like wings and cocktail sausages before all this had all that gear out the back? You can bet your life they didn’t.

I can guarantee you that they're following food safety laws otherwise they're risking getting shutting down.

http://www.nhp.ie/e-learning/failte-approved-pubs#:~:text=The%20first%20set%20of%20regulations,with%20EU%20Regulation%20852%2F2004.&text=All%20food%20businesses%2C%20including%20Pubs,Health%20Service%20Executive%20(HSE).

No need for all that clutter. Cooking stuff isn’t a mystery. Normal fridge does the job grand. Plenty fellas around here who would love a nice bowl of stew, just like a mama used too a make.

You're probably right. You can have one punter at a table chopping the onions, another lad in the corner peeling the spuds into a bucket. You can have a nice lady doing the carrots on the little ledge beside the jacks and another trimming the meat on the countertop. IF any of them slice off a finger make sure and get them out of there. Also make sure they sign the safety waiver form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Lockheed

People who were in the twilight of their lives anyway and a lot in nursing homes that the gov did absolutely nothing to protect. Sad yes of course but no reason to sabotage the economy the way they did. The suicide figures alone for this year will make for sobering reading.

Im guessing that you didn't lose a loved one to COVID19?

With how much so many pubs claim they're barely getting by I don't see how they could possibly get by if they have to open with reduced capacity. But maybe I'm just cynical.

Would you be arsed spending that money for 90 mins in the pub and a few pints? The park or a back garden is much better.

I discovered the joys of drinking by the canals in Amsterdam during the lockdown. The biggest downside was that there was nowhere to take a p1ss. All places closed and all the portable loos in the city were taken away. So we had to stay close to my gaff in order to run in and use the bog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Pubs who want to offer a with food option so that they can open ( talking old style/not normally offering food until now) should offer

2 Pints + choice of Gourmet pie with mash & gravy.
    (Steak, Chicken and Mushroom, Ham &Mushroom + Veggie/vegan option)

€ 15 job done.

*Oh and not cheap pies, decent size made by a specialist pie company. ie a 'GOURMET' pie.

Would be easy to set up on one table.(Microwave, Plates, Cutlery, Napkins)
    Only difficult thing would be the hot plate containers for mash & gravy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Ultima Thule

I think Covid has sorted many a complaint from bar staff, of the paying customers who only turn up 30 minutes before closing, to avail of delayed last orders. Pros and cons and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

I come from a small town that when I was in school had one supermarket, one church, one post office, one secondary school and 13 pubs and a night club that was open every weekend.

These days only five or six of the pubs are open and the nightclub only opens on some bank holidays/ Christmas.

You could look at that a few ways, my take is we were wildly over served in the early 00s. No town that small needed 13 pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭daveville30

I discovered the joys of drinking by the canals in Amsterdam during the lockdown. The biggest downside was that there was nowhere to take a p1ss. All places closed and all the portable loos in the city were taken away. So we had to stay close to my gaff in order to run in and use the bog.

Few tins of stella from a vending machine?

Either they had a kitchen to prepare it or they had a catering company bring it in.

How do you think they prepared wings and cocktail sausages without a kitchen? I'm dying to know? You think they can store boxes of magic chicken wings, which never rot, in the basement with the kegs and then these wings just cook themselves when you click your fingers and arrange themselves on a plate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,055 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The village I live in had 7 pubs 20 years ago and this year 3 were still open.

The future is bleak for 2 of them which were rented out, hard to see how they could make money with only a few people allowed in.

Pubs have been dying for probably 20 years, since drink driving got more serious. The Celtic Tiger boom papered over the problem for a while, but it became very apparent during the recession. People have other things to do now, Netflix, Sky Sports TV at home, treadmills, internet freely available, online dating, the pub will never be as central to life again as it once was. Some will survive though, just won't be as many, there won't be small villages with six or seven pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Either they had a kitchen to prepare it or they had a catering company bring it in.

How do you think they prepared wings and cocktail sausages without a kitchen? I'm dying to know? You think they can store boxes of magic chicken wings, which never rot, in the basement with the kegs and then these wings just cook themselves when you click your fingers and arrange themselves on a plate?

Probably in the domestic kitchen as most pubs, especially rural ones have the proprietors living on site. Freezer and a fryer, nothing complicated about it and the chances of poisonings are slim. All pubs have to offer food I believe, it’s a condition of the licence, correct me if I’m wrong.

Pubs who want to offer a with food option so that they can open ( talking old style/not normally offering food until now) should offer

€ 15 job done.

*Oh and not cheap pies, decent size made by a specialist pie company. ie a 'GOURMET' pie.

You still need a large fridge to store all these gourmet pies. Also the gravy is a meat product. And I don't know if pies are microwaveable. You can't microwave a pizza, can you. It turns to rubber. Just imagine how you would feed guests in your living room if your house didn't have a kitchen?

€ 15 job done.

Without a kitchen it will be difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Without a kitchen it will be difficult.

Key to it is that they have to be Mircowave-able... and would need large fridge for all food storage... should be doable. Kitchen gives you much more options of course, some pubs don't have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,647 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Maybe pubs should start a delivery service. Instead of going to the shop and buying your drink, you can send out for some fresh pints on delivery. It might allow them to reopen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Maybe pubs should start a delivery service. Instead of going to the shop and buying your drink, you can send out for some fresh pints on delivery. It might allow them to reopen.

McSorley’s in Ranelagh is already doing this among others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Can’t wait for my local to reopen. I’ll be heading down there for a feed of turkey and ham, and a dozen pints of fresh stout for dessert.

KiKi III wrote: »
    I come from a small town that when I was in school had one supermarket, one church, one post office, one secondary school and 13 pubs and a night club that was open every weekend.

These days only five or six of the pubs are open and the nightclub only opens on some bank holidays/ Christmas.

You could look at that a few ways, my take is we were wildly over served in the early 00s. No town that small needed 13 pubs.

Well it does if you want to do the 12 pubs of Christmas.

Few tins of stella from a vending machine?

Can't get beer from a vending machine in Holland. You have to go to the supermarket or the night-shop which is open till 2am.

Funnily enough you can scan beer at the self service checkout and not need id. A 10-year old could buy a six-pack. He would need a bank card though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭mikeecho

The Irish pub died long ago, with plasma TVs, mobile phones and WiFi.

I rarely go to the pub, but when I do, I go to one without a TV , without WiFi, and where phones are discouraged.

Drinking, and chatting to strangers, a bar man that can hold a conversation and is a bit of craic, . that's what it's all about.

A rarity these days, even before covid

Pubs have been dying for probably 20 years, since drink driving got more serious. The Celtic Tiger boom papered over the problem for a while, but it became very apparent during the recession. People have other things to do now, Netflix, Sky Sports TV at home, treadmills, internet freely available, online dating, the pub will never be as central to life again as it once was. Some will survive though, just won't be as many, there won't be small villages with six or seven pubs.

None of which provide the ability to engage in real conversation with real people.

"I've just been paid and I'm feeling like a few drinks and going on the pull, what's on Netflix?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,262 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Riddle101 wrote: »

Have you been under a rock for the past three months? That's already happening all over the country.

Probably in the domestic kitchen as most pubs, especially rural ones have the proprietors living on site. Freezer and a fryer, nothing complicated about it and the chances of poisonings are slim. All pubs have to offer food I believe, it’s a condition of the licence, correct me if I’m wrong.

I'll name a few pubs that I've frequented in Dublin:

McNeils Capel street
    Nealons Capel St.
    Brogan's Dame street
    The Glimmerman Stonybatter
    Delaney's Smithfield
    Cobblestone Smithfield.

They don't have so much as a pantry cupboard. The closest thing you'll get to a kitchen in these places is a kettle to make hot whiskeys.