Stories from the great recession years

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

pgj2015 wrote: »
    fuel prices were really high during the recession because the government kept throwing 10 cent onto a litre every time there was a budget, I definitely paid 1:77 for a liter of petrol. I remember paying 99 cent a litre during the boom, maybe around 2004.

They decreased a lot around 2009. It was as low as 88c where I live for a while. It meant spins to Enniskillen cost next to nothing. Prices from late 2009 early 2010 agree with that. It continued to rise from 2010 onwards.

file:///C:/Users/HP/Downloads/FuelpricesHistory_March16.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Mike3287

Eddie Hobbs

All that comes to mind from the recession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

fuel prices were really high during the recession because the government kept throwing 10 cent onto a litre every time there was a budget, I definitely paid 1:77 for a liter of petrol. I remember paying 99 cent a litre during the boom, maybe around 2004.

I remember paying €.99 for petrol. I filled the car one day to the throat, it came to €100. Now I'm pretty sure a ford Mondeo doesn't have a 100l tank. I paid fcuk all the bastard. In the boom people were stupid spending money and not looking at what they were been charged for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,178 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The 1.70 era was because oil prices rocketed in the early days of the recession; the taxation was still the same as then when you could get diesel for 99.9 in a few stations before May this year. Its gone up again, a bit.

It corrected down to 99.9 for petrol / 95 for diesel very briefly after all that before going to more normal levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

L1011 wrote: »
    The 1.70 era was because oil prices rocketed in the early days of the recession; the taxation was still the same as then when you could get diesel for 99.9 in a few stations before May this year. Its gone up again, a bit.

It corrected down to 99.9 for petrol / 95 for diesel very briefly after all that before going to more normal levels.

where were people getting 99 cent diesel this year? lowest i have seen it this year is 1:07 per litre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

where were people getting 99 cent diesel this year? lowest i have seen it this year is 1:07 per litre.

It was 1.04 in my town for at least a month during lockdown. It's gone back up to 1.09 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,288 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I remember in December 2008 fuel in my town went down to 99 cent per litre.
    People were delighted with it because it made going to Newry a little more affordable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭antimatterx

It was definitely less than €1 when I was in first year, so that was around 08/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

I read about a man who had two Tvs stacked on top of each other

Sound only worked on one and vision only on the other

Problem was to match sound and vision up when changing channels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Mike3287 wrote: »
    Eddie Hobbs

All that comes to mind from the recession

On his money makeover show he told a bride to be to add more invites and ask for cash donations as the extra heads would cover the cost of the wedding.

Ok we all know this happens but the blunt way he put it was pretty cold.

If you got a late invitation to that wedding you know your presence was not wanted, only your cash! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Geuze wrote: »
    The economy contracted sharply during Q2.

If there is a recovery during Q3, then will that even count as a recession?

A recession is typically defined as two consecutive quarters of negative growth.

Those opened the last month or so are reporting 60- 70% down, can't see it picking up for the rest of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

mikemac2 wrote: »
    On his money makeover show he told a bride to be to add more invites and ask for cash donations as the extra heads would cover the cost of the wedding.

Ok we all know this happens but the blunt way he put it was pretty cold.

If you got a late invitation to that wedding you know your presence was not wanted, only your cash! :pac:

Or only invited to the evening, watery tea and salad sandwiches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Fck me, but I'll never forget the great 08 recession. Never. Every Thursday we used to have meetings with a list of names to see who we could get away with laying off for the following week. At the start they were permanent redundancies, but then we got down to skeleton staff it was temporary layoffs. We worked week to week - the business would be in danger of going under and then we'd get a bit of work in and we'd be going for another month. We paid nobody, had creditors hounding us for cash, but we couldn't get paid for anything either though - there wasn't credit to be got. Businesses just leaned on each other. It was the same everywhere.

Businesses desperate for work, competitors cutting the hole out of the price of jobs just to get a days pay - doing work for what seemed to me to be a loss, then customers bitching at me that I was ripping them off when so-and-so can do if for a hundred quid cheaper.

i will never EVER again take liquidity and a profitable business for granted. The 08 recession made me respect the sh!t out of every single euro we earned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

buried wrote: »
    The 08 recession I was living in a house with three other lads, all of us renting the property from this f**king absolute muck savage no mark foundation level neck merchant. As thick as he was, he knew the game was up, because the year beforehand in 2007 he offers the four of us to buy his mould infested $hitheap for the "bargain" price of 250,000euros each, "Ye'll make a fortune lads, shure they are going to need to knock this thing in order to make a laneway down the back to build a housing estate", This is how this shyster twank tried to sell it. "Down the back" was a flood plain that was 10 feet underwater in the winter of 2010. Two of the lads I was living with were even considering this lads offer. Moved out shortly after that. Don't know what happened. Probably the place got flooded too and they are all still in there.

Wait so there was a 4 of yous and he offered 250k each? :pac:
    So he thought his craphole was worth a million? Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

2008/9 was when it went down. Height of the boom would have been around 1.35-1.40

2010 was around 1.25 and up to 1.60 in 2012 and it slowly came down after that until now the greens if the fookers get in will send it up sky high altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭chops018

Seeing as I started the Celtic Tiger Stories thread I will give a reply to this.

I graduated in 2009 with an Honours Degree. Was basically on the dole for 2009/2010, so I went back and did a Masters in 2010/2011, finishing up summer 2011 but took it easy until January 2012. Absolutely feck all happening around those years. Not even joking when I say you'd have barely got a job in the local petrol station/tesco etc., let alone with your degree/masters. I ended up working in a cinema after my masters finished which was only meant to be for a few months but stayed for nearly 3 years. It wasn't too bad though, I was young and actually had great craic working in the place and learned a lot of life lessons that come with that type of job. I did part time hours mostly there and I was on the x's and o's (a lot of people were, I'd say it was abused a lot, you filled in the form yourself every week) and this let me study basically full time for my FE1 exams (entrance exams to be eligible to train as a Solicitor) and I did free "interning" work in a local firm and then a jobbridge (as I was on the x's and o's I was eligible for jobbridge) in another firm but I stayed working in the cinema some evenings and weekends at the time while also studying for my last couple of FE1 exams, don't know how I did it thinking back as I'd have been out drinking most Saturday's too. This got me good experience on the CV and I had most of my exams and led to my first "proper job" in an office with decent pay and at the same time the country was starting to pick up again and I went on to qualify.

Most people I knew back then were on the dole or else their job wasn't very secure, or else like me we graduated but continued on working in our part time retail jobs for a while. Knew one or two teachers who had secure jobs but no one in the private sector. The rest - emigrated to Australia etc. for a few years.

I did get offered a good opportunity around March 2012 to work in the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg, and even had set in motion moving over to do it, but I broke my leg a few weeks before and then my dad got diagnosed with a bad illness so I didn't want to uproot my life. The lady was very nice and said they hire for that type of job every year and to apply again in a few months but at that stage I had started my FE1 exams and was getting experience in firm's so I didn't bother.

I remember talking to my dad about it all and he said the 80's recession was worse as back then they had feck all but nowadays everyone still had an iPhone and TV and internet etc.

We also chatted before (he was born in 1951, died the end of 2018, RIP) about how he was literally born shortly after WW2 and him and his generation basically seen nothing but everything getting better from cars, technology, jobs, wages etc. without the climate change stuff being factored in and basically the most economically prosperous period in the history of the planet (whether that's good or bad I don't know). He agreed. But he was very much of the opinion to me that I shouldn't dwell on that stuff and to enjoy the time I am in now. Good advice. He was always generally happy with what he had now that I think about it. Even when he was on his way out, he kept saying how lucky he was to get to his age and have a family and that he saw different parts of the world, he said he'd have liked more time but ultimately he lived his life and was happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Sheep_shear

I'll never forget the slightly older men in my life, who had worked proudly and hard all their life, having to queue up for the dole and in the knowledge that they would never work again.

I knew in passing some younger lads who took the fast way out of it all.

The sheer sense of dread and finality to it was a lot. I mean I'm sure a lot of you remember Morgan Kelly, he wrote this in 2010
    Sovereign nations get to make policy choices, and we are no longer a sovereign nation in any meaningful sense of that term.

From here on, for better or worse, we can only rely on the kindness of strangers.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/if-you-thought-the-bank-bailout-was-bad-wait-until-the-mortgage-defaults-hit-home-1.674081

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Fianna fail are back in now, just about.

That didn't take long eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,744 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Sky King wrote:
    That didn't take long eh?

Ah shur we love not changing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I worked for a Consultancy in the Construction Industry.

In 2008, including my bonuses, I was on about €120k. By 2011, the company had gone bust and I was on a 1-month rolling contract getting €50k. I was told a few times that they would have to let me go, but come the end of the month there would be just enough work to justify keeping me on an extra month - this went on for nearly 2 years.

Seriously considered heading to the UK in 2012 but managed to hang in there. I really hated the work and the company but there was literally nobody else hiring.

I was really lucky that I hadn't taken on a lot of debt during the boom. Myself and my wife were pretty cautious with borrowing money.

I think things are going to get very bad in the next few years but I'm as well prepared as I can be. My job is reasonably secure (and enjoyable) and I've fcuk all debt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Sheep_shear

One of the stories from that period that still makes me smile was early 2009, two friends and I were renting a flat and the lease was coming to an end. Landlord rang me up and asked if we'd take the place for another year at a rent reduction of 33%