Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Last Word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,101 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Maybe I missed it but all I heard about Rabb was them laughing at his hilarious senility of claiming taking the knee originated in Game of Thrones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

pjohnson wrote: »
    Maybe I missed it but all I heard about Rabb was them laughing at his hilarious senility of claiming taking the knee originated in Game of Thrones.

Rabb reckons taking the knee is an act of subjugation but will do it for the queen .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

...and when proposing to his wife to be :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bossdrum

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    He’s an academic so that’s the first red flag but tonight this man was disgusted with UK MP Dominic Raab who gave a reasoned rationale as to why he would not like to take the knee. He was pretty much abused for abstaining from what is an optional show of support for the Black Lives Matter cause. In no way did I think this was compulsory but unfortunately, this is the road we are going down. Conform to the mob or it will consume you.

Unfortunately taking the knee is not optional. Can you imagine the abuse and outrage if any footballer refused to do it the other night in the Premier league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭PhoneMain

Always fascinated by the way Matt talks....

From the back of his throat, in particular words beginning with the ch sound highlight what I'm talking about.

That's all.

I've never taken any notice of Matt but Jennifer Gannon has terrible pronouciation. She never pronounces words correctly and his dialect is terrible. I know she's a TV reviewer but I think if you're job is to appear regularly in spoken media, you should at least put some effort into pronouncing things properly!

As for her views, don't get me started. Joe O'Shea is just as bad. Nearly the only reason I'll listen to TLW anymore is for Cal Thomas, his views are very republican but at least he is willing to criticise the party and Trump. Marion and Matt very seldom criticise someone who has the same views as them. I'd actually like to see Karl Deiter on with Matt to discuss his view of Trump, he put up a very strong argument for Trump on Mario Rosenstocks show a few weeks ago and why he thinks Trump will get reelected.

Sorry, this post was a bit all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Listen often enough but while no lover of Trump find it quite tiresome all his anti Trump stuff he seems to bring into every chance he gets .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭jay0109

"I agree with everything Eoghain said"

It's the weekly 30 min Liberal whingefest on The Last Word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭DrSerious3

jay0109 wrote: »
    "I agree with everything Eoghain said"

It's the weekly 30 min Liberal whingefest on The Last Word

I stopped listening last year, the tv slot and the week trending (as well as the treatment of Cal Thomas) pushed me over the edge. Jennifer Gannon, Eoghan McDermott, Roe McDermott. Who would listen to these to learn something? Just a sample of the clueless contributors chosen these days that say nothing except left-wing platitudes. Not an original opinion between the three of them, really not worth listening to anymore. Matt is a nodding dog as well, only becoming exercised about Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

DrSerious3 wrote: »
    I stopped listening last year, the tv slot and the week trending (as well as the treatment of Cal Thomas) pushed me over the edge. Jennifer Gannon, Eoghan McDermott, Roe McDermott. Who would listen to these to learn something? Just a sample of the clueless contributors chosen these days that say nothing except left-wing platitudes. Not an original opinion between the three of them, really not worth listening to anymore. Matt is a nodding dog as well, only becoming exercised about Trump.

Switched off a few weeks back. I’d spent far too many weeks listening and realising that the only shows Gannon could recommend were related only to feminism, destroying the patriarchy etc etc etc. You can only enjoy that radio show if you have all the “correct” opinions, those held by all the “good” people. Any deviation from that line renders you evil in Gannon’s small world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Dayton Wide Oyster

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Switched off a few weeks back. I’d spent far too many weeks listening and realising that the only shows Gannon could recommend were related only to feminism, destroying the patriarchy etc etc etc. You can only enjoy that radio show if you have all the “correct” opinions, those held by all the “good” people. Any deviation from that line renders you evil in Gannon’s small world.

she's such a hypocrite, drooling over the swedish team last year and she'd have a meltdown if Patrick Frayne (is the other guy?) did the same if it was a female team - she had a meltdown on twitter when someone called her out on it and the today fm crew jumped on him which lost a load of respect for pointing out her hypocritial behaviour

She champions Love Island/Big brother & other reality show crap and she's proudly never seen the Wire/Breaking bad and she claims to be a reviewer...how the feck did she get to be an actual tv reviewer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

DrSerious3 wrote: »

incredibly boring people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭jay0109

That was some promo piece that Tatchell got with Cooper! Don't know how the man can call himself a journalist

jay0109 wrote: »
    That was some promo piece that Tatchell got with Cooper! Don't know how the man can call himself a journalist

What happened? Not going to irritate myself listening to it. No mention of his views on children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭EverythingGood

Listening now and my God that Jennifer Gannon is some dose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,376 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

McDermott, Gannon and their ilk are painful to listen to. Their spiel is very en vogue though.

A few weeks back myself and my wife were driving back from somewhere and were listening to Claire Beck. The tunes tbf were cracking but before her final hour she said she was going to play a song that made her cry at a gig last year. We started guessing. The Freddie Murcury tribute at the Queen gig? Maybe a Prodigy song covered by someone remembering Keith Flint?

Fast forward 30mins. Lizzo gets played. Again, a brilliant song. Claire pipes in as the song ends.

"That brings me back to the Olympia Theatre in November. I remember just looking at the stage and crying cause there were women of all different body types on stage dancing with confidence......."

We both looked at each other and nearly p*ssed ourselves laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭robo

So I think RTE are bringing a big change having Sarah and Cormac on Drivetime & I usually do listen to TLW but after a summer listening to Sarah, there is a chance I will start listening to her and Cormac full time.
    For me, the one thing that will keep me with TLW is the competition...I know, I am easily bought. I have won a good few hotel stays with TLW over the last 15 years.
    So will you be leaving Matt for Sarah/Cormac or even Newstalk's new Hard Shoulder presenter Kieran Cuddihy?

I thought that with Ivan's leaving, they might do one current affairs programme on Newstalk/TodayFM as there is a lot of overlap with topics and guests and they are all part of Communicorp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

robo wrote: »
    So I think RTE are bringing a big change having Sarah and Cormac on Drivetime & I usually do listen to TLW but after a summer listening to Sarah, there is a chance I will start listening to her and Cormac full time.
    For me, the one thing that will keep me with TLW is the competition...I know, I am easily bought. I have won a good few hotel stays with TLW over the last 15 years.
    So will you be leaving Matt for Sarah/Cormac or even Newstalk's new Hard Shoulder presenter Kieran Cuddihy?

I thought that with Ivan's leaving, they might do one current affairs programme on Newstalk/TodayFM as there is a lot of overlap with topics and guests and they are all part of Communicorp.

I deleted TLW from my podcast subs a few months back due to Matt’s clear bias and his unbreakable passion for the lockdown and the government’s response to it. As you might guess, I believe this to be excessive but I subscribed again last week to see how things had transpired in the interim. I lasted half a show and won’t be coming back this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,808 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Matt is on with Mario soon, and Mario is ripping into the Trumps too now on air.

So we will then have Matt on later to continue the hatchet job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

ShagNastii wrote: »
    McDermott, Gannon and their ilk are painful to listen to. Their spiel is very en vogue though.

A few weeks back myself and my wife were driving back from somewhere and were listening to Claire Beck. The tunes tbf were cracking but before her final hour she said she was going to play a song that made her cry at a gig last year. We started guessing. The Freddie Murcury tribute at the Queen gig? Maybe a Prodigy song covered by someone remembering Keith Flint?

Fast forward 30mins. Lizzo gets played. Again, a brilliant song. Claire pipes in as the song ends.

"That brings me back to the Olympia Theatre in November. I remember just looking at the stage and crying cause there were women of all different body types on stage dancing with confidence......."

We both looked at each other and nearly p*ssed ourselves laughing.

"Their spiel is very en vogue though"
    Is it though? Probably going off topic here (apologies!) but this is something I've been thinking about for a while. Is this virtuous attitude actually reflective of society at large, or is it simply perpetuated by a vocal minority in a media echo chamber?

and the Twitterati.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Glad to see you have finally realised the truth ( if at somewhat of a late juncture).
    The problem is that you can switch off the propaganda but it doesn't make it go away. It is everywhere.

The views of the few are being forced on the many. You sometime wonder if even they really believe them themselves.

Don't understand how anyone can still listen to Matt Cooper. Gave up years ago....and I even liked him at one stage.

quintana76 wrote: »
    Glad to see you have finally realised the truth ( if at somewhat of a late juncture).
    The problem is that you can switch off the propaganda but it doesn't make it go away. It is everywhere.

The views of the few are being forced on the many. You sometime wonder if even they really believe them themselves.

Don't understand how anyone can still listen to Matt Cooper. Gave up years ago....and I even liked him at one stage.

Same. It was required listening for me for years but the poor quality of contributors (Roe McDermott, Eoghan McDermott, Jennifer Gannon et al) plus Matt's ever-growing bias has made it unlistenable of late. Such a shame.

robo wrote: »

Quick answer is “yes”, plus as far as I am concerned RTÉ could have left Cormac off the show, frankly. He’s a bit shouty for my taste.

Matt has fallen right off the perch over the last while. A poor mixture of opinionated, uber-woke, slanted contributors has pushed the show completely off course. And as for the Five at Five - lads, just give us the news headlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Agree that Matt cooper has gone down a lot used to really enjoy the show far too much bias no fan of Trump but while hard to find anyone somewhat neutral on him I want to hear a more objective view on issues . I listen to the music slot mainly now handy now with stored stations on radio making channel hopping easy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Butson

You would wonder is it an editorial decision to let Matt now air his personal views?
    Has to be or else he just doesn't care as much as he used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,801 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Butson wrote: »
    You would wonder is it an editorial decision to let Matt now air his personal views?
    Has to be or else he just doesn't care as much as he used to.

Complete lack of balance on a lot of topics. Has given the vintners the freedom of the airways for the last 3 months and allowed Cribben and co spout their bull**** about publican's and their so called controlled environment etc. Can't turn it on most days without him talking about his never ending refund saga with Ryanair. Some of the contributors are worth listening to the likes of Gyder and the personal finance/consumer guy. The less we hear from Matt the better the quality of the broadcasting. He's no Bill O'Herlihy and too much ego at the moment.

Cape Clear wrote: »
    Complete lack of balance on a lot of topics. Has given the vintners the freedom of the airways for the last 3 months and allowed Cribben and co spout their bull**** about publican's and their so called controlled environment etc. Can't turn it on most days without him talking about his never ending refund saga with Ryanair. Some of the contributors are worth listening to the likes of Gyder and the personal finance/consumer guy. The less we hear from Matt the better the quality of the broadcasting. He's no Bill O'Herlihy and too much ego at the moment.

He's pissed with Ryanair cos O' Leary wouldn't contribute to his book on them.

It seems to me that Matt’s more pissed that he hasn’t got his refund yet. He goes on about it enough, that’s for sure.

A poster also asked about editorial decisions. I’m not sure exactly how this works, but would Matt have an awful lot of influence, if not control, over editorial content decisions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,808 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Bit of a balls up there on TLW.

GP on chatting about diabetes, made a mess of her chat and apologised to Matt and asked could she start again, he said you're grand it's not a problem that's why we record these pieces.

And off they went back to the start with Matt reading out the same script etc again.

But they forgot to edit it out obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

NIMAN wrote: »
    Bit of a balls up there on TLW.

GP on chatting about diabetes, made a mess of her chat and apologised to Matt and asked could she start again, he said you're grand it's not a problem that's why we record these pieces.

And off they went back to the start with Matt reading out the same script etc again.

But they forgot to edit it out obviously!
    :D:D:D The fall in standards isn't exclusive to their contributors then