Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHEAPO-ECO-MANIACS (sub-500euro)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

How are people buying cars these days? I wouldnt mind a cheap run around as a backup for herself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭corks finest

Seems like a great value little runaround? I had one before and they're a bit of a gem in the Fiat stable!

MmUwNmJjODc4OGM2MTQ0M2M4YTIyODc3MWUxNjk0YTkD6rDPr6IaJGcvYVsiYO2raHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDUyNjE2NzZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-panda-new-nct-/24589513

Asking €480 with a fresh year's test, small bit of tax left. Definitely been worse sheds for the same money in this thread recently :pac:

Thoughts?

5 previous owners ? Say it'll be a money pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

That's not a particularly high amount of owners, one every 3 years or so?

I dont think it'd be a money pit at all. And if it was a sh1tter, you couldn't allow it be a money pit for the purchase price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Peter T

Its a fiat panda. You'd probably replace a fair amount of stuff for the price of 4 tyres on any modern car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

5 previous owners ? Say it'll be a money pit

My brother ran a cheap Skoda Fabia for a year, think he was the 13th owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Seems like a great value little runaround? I had one before and they're a bit of a gem in the Fiat stable!

MmUwNmJjODc4OGM2MTQ0M2M4YTIyODc3MWUxNjk0YTkD6rDPr6IaJGcvYVsiYO2raHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDUyNjE2NzZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-panda-new-nct-/24589513

Asking €480 with a fresh year's test, small bit of tax left. Definitely been worse sheds for the same money in this thread recently :pac:

Thoughts?
    That was the wife's car (until yesterday). We were only selling as she 'inherited' my mother's car a couple of months ago. The mother was finally put off the road by her doctor.
    Had it 3 years, only put up 5k or so annually. Only issue was the crank sensor packing in a year ago . A quick Google with the fault code and a Tenner to the nearest breaker sorted it.

Other than that it's been totally reliable. We originally bought it to keep herself going for a few weeks but she liked the thing so much she kept it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    That was the wife's car (until yesterday). We were only selling as she 'inherited' my mother's car a couple of months ago. The mother was finally put off the road by her doctor.
    Had it 3 years, only put up 5k or so annually. Only issue was the crank sensor packing in a year ago . A quick Google with the fault code and a Tenner to the nearest breaker sorted it.

Other than that it's been totally reliable. We originally bought it to keep herself going for a few weeks but she liked the thing so much she kept it.

Someone got a decent little cheap car from you.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-x-type-2-0d-classic-model-full-leather/24871326

NTNjMWJiNjI4MTZkMzIxNjk4ZjkwY2ZkMjQ4NmYxNTi73mwLR9KZwiB7Q9jpD7sdaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDcyNzcxNTB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

07 diesel X type estate, tested til September, €390

Flywheel a bit noisy. If its not too bad it could be worth a punt at 300ish, drive it into the ground and you'd probably get a few quid back if you sold it for parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

With the NCT extension you even get to January 6th 2021 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭BOSTIK

2002 1.4 petrol Saloon Civic for €300 and NCT till November due to COVID extension. Very low mileage for an 18 year old car and the windscreen might need a clean

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/civic/25019554

NWE1MmJkMGQyNDRmZTE5OGMyZGJlMjY0NmZjMzVhOTBEtF-tAE0SupFDjBAR1xf0aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDgzOTE0Mzd8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

BOSTIK wrote: »
    2002 1.4 petrol Saloon Civic for €300 and NCT till November due to COVID extension. Very low mileage for an 18 year old car and the windscreen might need a clean

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/civic/25019554

NCT is actually only extended until September, not November as stated in the ad

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-starlet-1998-low-miles-nct/25049327

YTUxZjA2MDA3YjExYjlkZDgyNDdkMzFjZjcxMTc4YWGjiFI7rIpClPBO17bxfszxaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDg2ODI2Mjh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Low mileage 3 door Starlet with test til December, €450

Provided it could be insured this would make a fantastic runaround.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭clio_16v

Bargain of the year there. Would sell for double that
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-starlet-1998-low-miles-nct/25049327

YTUxZjA2MDA3YjExYjlkZDgyNDdkMzFjZjcxMTc4YWGjiFI7rIpClPBO17bxfszxaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDg2ODI2Mjh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Low mileage 3 door Starlet with test til December, €450

Provided it could be insured this would make a fantastic runaround.

Same owner for the last 8 years too, I'd say its a pretty genuine example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

That car will outlive half the people posting here if it's looked after.

If it does ever fail to start it will either be a flat battery or there will be no petrol in it.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-volkswagen-bora/25090177

NmVjNDg0YzdhMWJiOWY2ZTU4NjAxNGM1MmM5YzdlMjEuWEFm3jnsTJEivCF1Qv88aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDkwMzMxMzZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Tidy looking diesel Bora with Covid test til October, €350

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭selectamatic

That's an excellent find especially with it appearing to be such a straight honest car and it being a comfortline.

Nice colour and all too.

Its a wonder its not on a set of rs6s with a 20 inch sun strip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Brother in law has a 01 1.4 thats still going, drinks as much oil as petrol:pac: his is the exact same spec and colour that was the best colour imo.
    The boot is absolutely huge in them its done some hauling through the years.

Told me this year his insurer literally told him they wont even offer a competitive renewal next year:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭barry181091

I messaged at 11pm for the craic, really was in great nick, already sold! :o

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-1-3-98/25099437

Y2ZjZTY0MDE5YzJjMjI0Zjk1YmFjMGI5MmMxNmEyMDl_9QRHZBaCMTXPZUE4nU6JaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDkxMDk1OTN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

98 Corolla 1.3 with Covid test til October for €250 and the seller is open to negotiation

Looks decent for the money!

Gone already!

Nice days work if you can get it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭tinofapples

MWE0M2NiY2E1Nzg2YmExN2E5NGViN2MyMjEzNzVjY2SU3zx3gzd_0VFTjezhwaVWaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDk3MjAwODN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

MK4 1.4 Golf with 120,000 miles
    Comfortline, looks very clean, comes with 2 keys
    Both NCT and tax until the end of August and recent service and good tyres
    Asking €450

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭almostover

Grand yoke for a new driver on a budget: https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-getz-2005/25172910

Practically a free car given it has 2 months tax and 6 months test:
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-2002/25170102

passat.jpg

Very hard to see the condition in pics, but looks like drivers door was swapped at some stage and the inside could do with a hoover
    According to the ad, the timing belt and water pump were done 6 months ago and turbo done 2 months ago
    Tyres 80%, almost new alternator belt and brake pads good
    If it's any way reasonable, it has NCT until Feb next year and asking price is €450
    These cars will go on forever if they are kept serviced any way right. It's the 1.9TDi version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25213808

€100 Ford Focus with test until September and two days tax.

Looks like it had a happy life, if this was anywhere near Dublin I’d of bought it.

In all fairness, how wrong could you go for €100 and it looks a lot better than ones years newer that are up for sale too!