Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blackface

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

The world has gone and got itself crazy.

A film that depicts racists as backward and thick is going to be deleted from existence.

What is the logic behind that statement?

If you think that applying logic to the ideology that being offended is more important than anything else, then you are sorely deluded.

Jimmy Fallon had to apologise and actually made a grovelling apology for dressing as his friend (who took no offense) 20 years ago for a comedy sketch.

People are ****ing stupid. Being offended is a status symbol.

If the little bitches weren't too busy watching Ru Paul and Dance Mom's they'd be trying to "cancel" blazing saddles and anything else from the past that mentioned anything "problematic"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

I actually thought all this **** had gone away when covid started, people were less concerned over trivial stuff and Facebook etc was a better place for a bit.......roll on the last couple of weeks and we back tippy toeing around the overly sensitive!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

A film that depicts racists as backward and thick is going to be deleted from existence.

Same logic as removing Little Britain hoss ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

cj maxx wrote: »
    Somewhere there's a photo of a 24/5 yo cj maxx in Rasta gear with a mop on his head ( ala dreads) and smoking massive cone joint. I really hope it never gets out :(

We have a photo of us dressed up as ghosts for halloween using white pillow cases over our heads, like a white hood...i don't know what is worse, that our parents didn't notice their kids looked like they were attending a klan meeting, or that they did and they took photos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

What has logic to do with the modern activists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

World Snooker Federation will be changing the black ball to a rainbow coloured "all inclusive" coloured ball next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Delighted with himself, innocent but lethal now. Im Sure Paul McGrath was stunned seeing things like this

jr9omb7zqgb21.jpg

I couldn't see any other thread about this.

https://news.sky.com/story/little-britain-removed-from-iplayer-and-netflix-after-blackface-criticism-12003558

In a nut shell comedians are having to apologise for black facing themselves in their sketches over the years.jimmy fallon apologising for a sketch he did on snl 20 years ago.
    Its absolutely pathetic and a world gone mad.
    Little Britain is one of them.that is comedy gold and having to apologise for some sketches now is a disgrace.
    Its like erasing bits of history just because it offends a certain section.
    There's isnt a race on the planet that hasn't had the piss taken out of it.
    A load of bollox.

I'm starting to hate the left at this stage.

Even though I would consider myself left, a collection of 1950s Bishops at this stage.

Puritanical, control freak shower of snobby c678s.

Ahh, that felt good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

Danzy wrote: »
    I'm starting to hate the left at this stage.

Even though I would consider myself left, a collection of 1950s Bishops at this stage.

Puritanical, control freak shower of snobby c678s.

Ahh, that felt good.

When either the left or right become extreme they start to look very similar.

The mindset, the psychological needs are the same.

Politics or religion is just a vehicle.

Jesuit, Radical Socialist, Fascist, all interchangeable, just riding the horse that came along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Indeed the horseshoe theory

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horseshoe_theory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,054 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

major bill wrote: »
    I actually thought all this **** had gone away when covid started, people were less concerned over trivial stuff and Facebook etc was a better place for a bit.......roll on the last couple of weeks and we back tippy toeing around the overly sensitive!!!

These whiney bastards are back when CV19 is now old news and seems to be on the way out.
    A few days ago, a Gaelgoir was whining on about the govt Covid booklet not being in Irish, we are getting back to normal service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭rodDaly69

Because that is the general mentality of those that scream racist as a pastime.

Even us paddies get a digging in it: "we'll take the n****** and the c*****, but we won't take the Irish!"

https://youtu.be/boO4RowROiw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I don't see how comedians playing black characters in their show is racist.

So are we saying now that in the future we can't have a white comedian impersonate or characterise a famous black person in a humorous manner and it automatically means it's rascist?

That's not right and it's not the definition of racism as far as I am concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Yes we are supposed to be politically correct and sensitive to all minoritys.
    But it's a bit ridiculous to criticise programs made 10 or 20 years ago when attitudes were different about race, minority groups or women's rights.
    If a actor wants to apologise now for portraying black people in an insensitive manner that, s OK
    Things are getting better now, there's lots of programs featuring actors from various minority groups and it's no longer acceptable to have
    old stereotyped characters shown in drama, s or comedy programs.
    20 or 10 years ago there was a limited range of
    parts for Asian or black actors on TV.
    Now there are programs like blackish,
    where most of the cast are from minority groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭OU812

Wouldn't get away with that these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

It's only a matter of time until Father Ted is mentioned. Dick Byrne and the lads dressing up as The Supreme is ripe for a picking by these pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

kowloon wrote: »
    Was anyone pissed off by Tropic Thunder? I remember plenty of black comedians defending it. I'll hazard a guess that a lot of the people outraged over it were outraged on someone else's behalf.

Tropic Thunder was brilliant, and Robert Downey Jr's performance really made it

No doubt the film "True Identity" where Lenny Henry goes whiteface will also be banned and removed from You Tube and other services?

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Tropic Thunder was brilliant, and Robert Downey Jr's performance really made it

Was a good film up to the silly rescue mission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Why has this 'racist' film not been banned yet by the PC freaks of this world. ''Racism'' it seems only goes one way....

White_Chicks-209366455-large.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,669 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

OU812 wrote: »

Wouldn't get away with that these days

fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,828 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

KevRossi wrote: »
    I support this as it means RTE can get Twink the fu*k off the Telly for good.

This is from The Live Mike a few years back.

I remember Derek Davis blacking up as Mr T on a few occasions.

KevRossi wrote: »
    I support this as it means RTE can get Twink the fu*k off the Telly for good.

This is from The Live Mike a few years back.

Racism and misandry, rubbing her hands I'd say thinking of the shekels - two trips to the LLS to "apologise" for her behaviour... No apology for the latter though - "arrah, sher ya know it was just a bit of Craic Ryan - no harm at all in it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

We have to reform the world to be a nicer and more progressive thinking place guys. It is about time Fr Ted was banned, there is b****face in that and its clips are consistently used by racists.

I never thought so many people in this country were cracked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

I remember Derek Davis blacking up as Mr T on a few occasions.

Incredible. He should be brought in for questioning. How can anybody think this blatant rasism dressed up by the perpetrators is “a bit of craic”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

HBC08 wrote: »
    I dressed up as Ali G for Halloween in 2005.

Thats me ****ed now if I ever want to run for office.

Least that was a good costume. I went as Phil Babb when I was younger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

Paddygreen wrote: »
    Incredible. He should be brought in for questioning. ...

That could be messy. You wouldn’t get a word out of him anyhow.